FB Twitter

Lomond Cottage

Lomond Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 43 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.7
Location
4.7
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


Lomond Cottage is one of three cottages which are part of The Gardeners Cottages. The
cottage sleeps 4 persons with a 5<sup>th</sup> person on a bed-settee. <br>
The cottage is situated in the wooded grounds of Arden House which is on the
shores of Loch Lomond. The row of Cottages is built along one side of a
magnificent Victorian walled garden which is available for the recreation of
guests.<br>
<br>
The cottage is well equipped with all that is needed for a comfortable stay and
wireless, broadband, Internet access is available for use by guests.</span><br style="mso-special-character: line-break;">

Fantastic short break

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All that I can say is fantastic it's about the 6th time I have been .superb in every way 5 stars fab if I could give it six I would great quiet location but central for visiting elswere . Andy and Avril the owners can't do enough for you superb hosts and very knoledgeable of the area and attractions .I highly recommend this as a holiday to remember the attention to detail of the cottages can't be bettered very luxurious



Perfectly peaceful, well located and welcoming

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Andy and Avril made us very welcome, and provided a great property for our short stay. Every convenience was available, and more if required including bikes and even wedding clothes should they be required!
The location is ideal for accessing the loch and hills, but only 5 mins drive from local shops and other attractions in Luss and Balloch.
We booked a one bed but were provided the two bed which would be ideal for a family or two couples. Television service, hot water and heating were all without a fault.

We will certainly be back, and will recommend to anyone for a short stay or a week or more break.

Michael and Nicola, visiting from Abu Dhabi.




Comfortable Cottages

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Relaxing stay for all the family taking part in the great Scottish Swim in Loch Lomond, Ideal location, peaceful but near to all amenities.



A great time

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time, great location and comfortable cottage. Would definetely recommend for a family



Short break

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lomond Cottage was clean, cosy and so relaxing. Jackie was friendly and attentive. Will definitely be back for a longer stay!



Short stay

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good communication prior to stay, very helpful. Cottage and grounds very well maintained and good quality throughout. All clean and fresh, including kitchen items. Nice welcome touch of flowers, snacks, tea and coffee, milk. Enjoyed the gardens and rural location. Very well equipped store housing books, dvds, maps etc. Seems the owners have thought of everything! Unfortunately didn't meet them as they were away but cleaner manager very friendly and helpful, making for a very nice stay, thank you.



Comfortable place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent cottage for 2-4 people. Near Loch Lomond, nice base place for exploring The Trossachs area.



90

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay! Beautyfull area, with nature all around you. Andrew is a really nice person and explains everything.



Hidden Beauty

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful property, great location wonderful management. A very relaxing property, we really enjoyed our stay.



A lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent cottage in fantastic surroundings. Andy and Avril provide excellent customer service always going above and beyond for the customers .....we will be going back sometime soon



A beautiful situation, a lovely quaint cottage and a warm welcome

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Selfishness should dictate that I do not review this place - I want to keep it a secret; all to myself!
The situation is idyllic, right by the loch. The cottage is quaint, very clean and very comfortable. The owners, Avril and Andy, are lovely people and do their utmost to make one feel welcome.

I had a wonderful time there, and recommend the Gardener's Cottages to anyone wanting to stay in this part of Scotland.




Heaven in Arcen

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friend & I booked the cottage for a week as it is very close to Cameron House Hotel where we had bought vouchers for a seaplane flight. The weather was disappointing but the cottage certainly wasn't. We received a very warm welcome from Avril and Andy and were delighted with the cottage and its facilities. The family of Oystercstchers in the garden provided additional entertainment. We'd certainly go back again!



Welcoming Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely quiet retreat from the rush of modern life. Along with the welcome pack we felt very much at home in the cottage. The kitchen and second bedroom are on a different level and the galley kitchen is very small - but well equipped. The cottage is really only suited to two people - for us the second bedroom was used to keep the suitcases and other travel stuff. Andy was very helpful with local knowledge - eg - best Supermarket was Waitrose in Helensburgh. Shower was disappointing as it relies on gravity - that means the water pressure was poor - but you get used to it (we stayed three nights).



Lovely Easter Break

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a lovely little cottage set in beautiful gardens. " bedrooms, just enough room for my wife and 2 teenagers. 5 miles from Helensburgh so not that far from shops etc. Good self catering facilities. Would have been nice if we could have brought our wee dog for an extra charge but overall I would totally recommend this place.



Stayed 3 nights for family wedding

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Apr 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very friendly and welcoming owners. Cottage was clean, tidy and had every amenity we required. Beautiful gardens and fantastic location. Would recommend it to family and friends.



2017 stay

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at lomond cottage almost every year for the past 15-20 years and we have always loved it. The cottages are well equipped and comfortable. The owners Andy and Avril are extremely kind and helpful. This year mg sister and her family stayed at Linnhe cottage and they loved it also. I can not recommend the cottages enough



A wonderful stay at Lomond Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a wonderful two nights in Lomond Cottage. The cottage was beautifully well-kept and even nicer than I imagined from the pictures, with access to a pretty walled garden. The owners, Avril and Andy were both incredibly friendly and helpful, lending us their bikes and give us tips on where to go and what to do. They also supplied the cottage with shortbread, fudge and fresh flowers for our arrival, which was a lovely touch. We hope to return again soon!



Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Feb 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An excellent cottage, would recommend highly for exploring Loch Lomond and surrounding area. Good facilities in the cottage itself. Not far from Helensburgh for shopping and restaurants.



cute but small

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A cute cottage although on the small side for 4 adults and 1 baby; hardly any room to walk around the cot in the bedroom and the dining table needed to be moved into the middle of the living room to seat all. Well equipped kitchen with useful addition of washing up liquid, kitchen roll and foil.
Information provided was a little out of date regarding taxis and restaurants.




Great retreat near the loch

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay in the Gardeners Cottages. While easily accessible by car feels like you are miles away from everything. Having a nearly 2 year old with us was no problem here with lots of green space, a cot and box of toys was lent to us. Loved our stay and will hope to return.



Cottage review

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage was in a great location for us (we were going to a wedding at Cameron house), well equipped and well decorated. Only problem was a very damp smell which I think came from the bathroom (which was definitely clean I just think it's maybe a ventilation problem) and made the bottom bedroom and particularly the mattress smell musty too. It improves with the windows open but not sure what the best way to sort would be. Other than this everything was perfect and very easy to arrange.




Two night break

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here as a family with two young children for a wedding just up the road. Found the accommodation beautiful and the owners so helpful and friendly. With football goals, croquet and badminton sets to use in the play field and a short drive from Glasgow and Luss, this is a perfect place to unwind and explore the area. Thank you!



A hidden gem by the loch

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage had everything we could possibly need but the massive surprise was all the hidden outdoor areas for the kids (and adults!). The walled garden was just beautiful and the field with all the outdoor games (football,croquet etc) was very thoughtful. The added surprise of discovering the loch through the forest was the icing on the cake. We are looking forward to returning there already!



Lovely cottage - good location for wedding venues

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked to stay in The Gardener's Cottages as we were going to a wedding at The Cruin. The cottage was very clean and comfortable. We were very impressed. The only small disappointment was that we thought we'd read online that The Cruin was a 6 minute walk from the cottages, when in fact it was around a 20 minute walk. However, the cottage itself was great!



3 Days Near Loch Lomond

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was certainly comfortable and my husband and I appreciated the small touches of providing the short bread biscuits and the carton of milk on arrival. Avril and Andy were friendly and helpful with information on what to do in the area. The grounds were lovely and peaceful.



Wonderful stay in Lomond Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were staying this weekend for a friends wedding. The cottage was perfect; clean, comfortable and it had all the mod cons. Having looked at other places in the area I would say it was excellent value for money.



two week stay

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Lomond cottage for two weeks with other members of our family everyone enjoyed there stay at the Gardiners cottages , we have stayed here on many occasions on our visits back to our home land ,it is close to my home town of
Helensburgh which has not changed much in 56 years still the same small seaside town.




Getting away from it all

Review submitted on Thu, 12 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage in a great location with easy access to Loch Lomond. We were there specifically to see the Hill House in Helensburgh so that was easy to get to as well. The owners were very welcoming and helpful.



The gardeners Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed for 2 nights. The cottage was very clean and well equipped. If your looking for a relaxing and quiet location then I would highly recommend the gardeners cottages.



relaxing retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The gardeners cottages are lovely and cozy. The owners were very welcoming and available although not intrusive. We needed a break and it did the trick. We would recommend the gardeners cottages' we were extremely lucky with the weather although the owners have an excellent range of DVDs and books. All areas were covered.



Great place to stay in a perfect setting.

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time at the gardeners cottages. We hired all three cottages for a two night stay while we were attending a family wedding at the nearby Cruin. All three cottages were of the highest standard and had all the home comforts you could ask for. There was even milk in the fridge for a tea on arrival along with tablet and shortbread.! The decor was in keeping with the cottages, lots of beautiful wooden furniture and tartan sort furnishings but don't let the quaintness fool you, modern gadgets such as tassimo style coffee machines, flats screen tv's and docking stations are prvoided for your comfort. Andy and Avril gave us a warm welcome and although they are on-site and at hand, they gave us lots of privacy as well. You can have acess to their beautiful walled garden and also a laundry room should you require it. Fabulous place to stay on a stunning setting.



A great escape from the city

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage tucked away in the loch lomond countryside,a friendly welcome on arrival ,lovely surroundings to relax and unwind,with the loch on your doorstep it is the perfect place



Lovely cottage in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was perfectly equipped, cosy and clean. The surrounding area was very pretty and it was easy to access other parts of loch lomond. Andy and Avril were fantastic hosts and we look forward to coming back again!



Excellent location and facilities

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the Gardener's Cottages most comfortable and cosy even in the midst of autumn wind and rain. This is a good spot as a base for touring and not too far from good walking opportunities.



Another great week spent in the gardeners cottages

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first stay at the cottages was in 1999 and we have been coming back every year (just about) ever since - says it all really.
It is a great base for exploring this part of beautiful Scotland and there are lots of things to do.
Each cottage has a selection of brochures to choose from and also there are a number of visitors books in each one so that you can see what other visitors have seen and recommended during their say - brilliant idea.
Andy and Avril were as warm and welcoming as always, nothing is ever to much for them.
The cottages are a great place for families as well as couples, i really can not recommend this place highly enough, well worth a visit.




Fantastic Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our staying in this cottage. The faciliaties and services are excellent and the location is very convenient. The owners are very friendly and helpful.Strongly recommended.

Thank you very much




Lovely setting but a few down-sides

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A beautiful setting and a quaint cottage. Having access to the walled garden was particularly enjoyable. Our only disappointments were the poor water pressure / flow in the shower and kitchen, and the difficulty in opening the windows from the top during the night, which made it stuffy.



Lomond House

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Aug 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Was greeted by Jackie who was a very nice lady who because we arrived early cleaned our cottage first.
Allowing us to drop off our baggage.
Ideal location on the loch especially so as we was working at The Carrick golf club. Only down side was we didn't realise we had to bring our own towels but all in all excellent stay and we are def booking for next years event




A great place with friendly people!

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I spent two nights at The Gardeners Cottages with some friends in July 2015. A wonderful place, full of surprises like the putting green and beautiful walled garden with lots of herbs for cooking! Andy and Avril were lovely hosts too, made us all feel very welcome and were always happy to help and offer advice.



Fabulous in every way

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying at Lomond Cottage and it was fabulous in every way. The setting was stunning and the cottage was so cute. It had everything we needed and more - especially the amazing walled garden which was perfect for a late afternoon wine or two. The hosts were so kind, helpful and generous and really made us welcome. We wished we could have stayed longer and will definitely try to come back one day.



Wonderful Stay by the Loch

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were attending a wedding a couple of miles from the cottages so we booked them for the location primarily. Very pleased we did as couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The cottage and setting were lovely,location perfect. Really well equipped with everything you could need. We had such a warm welcome from Avril & Andy who were so friendly and helpful. I would heartily recommend a stay at the Gardeners Cottages if you're visiting the area.



A few comments of our feelings

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jul 2015
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We found the property too small. The water in the kitchen sink didn't flow properly so it took a long time to get water to wash even a cup. There was supposed to be a path to the loch but on arriving were told new people were renovating there and didn't like people on their beach so if we did walk to the loch to keep the visit short. The price we paid is in line for Loch Lomond but way too high for the property we rented. We have rented other properties in the area and this place was definitely not the quality we have come to expect for this price. Sorry negative feedback but this property was a disappointment so I can't recommend.



Beautiful cottage in a perfect location

Review submitted on Tue, 19 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lomond cottage forms part of a beautiful terrace of former gardeners buildings around the outside of the Arden House walled garden. The cottages have all been sympathetically renovated and the walled garden itself is in incredible condition. The owners of the garden and cottages Andy & Avril met us on arrival and there was special "Gardeners Cottages" tablet (a scottish type of fudge) waiting for us on the dining table along with fresh flowers in every room and even milk in the fridge! The cottage itself had an updated kitchen and bathroom (with high quality toiletries), beautiful living room (fresh flowers, tartan cushions, TV & DVD player) and two spacious bedrooms (both with high quality John Lewis bedding). There is a laundry room annex to the terrace that also has a large chest freezer for communal use and a great selection of DVDs, maps and books. The walled garden is filled with mature plants and shurbs (the flowers for the cottage and freshly picked from here) and there is a large communal conservatory that would be perfect for indoor/outdoor dining (complete with 2 x BBQs). There is also a herb garden that you are encouraged to sample from (we used some chives and rosemary for our dinner). Next to the walled garden there is the "willow garden" with a putting course and plenty of other sports equipment (badminton, croquet etc).

The cottage is just 100m from Loch Lomond itself and only 4km from Balloch. We will definitely stay here again!