FB Twitter

Clifton

Clifton

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
89% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.2
Location
4.7
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.2


3 Double Bedrooms, 3 Twin Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Enclosed Private Patio and Garden with BBQ, Parking for 3 Cars, 1 Pet Welcome

Girly stay

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Apr 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very spacious accommodation very close to the city centre. Could do with touching up in a few areas but was ideal for what we all needed. Lovely garden and excellent bedrooms. Slightly difficult to sleep due to hearing traffic noises outside. A great little gem close to the centre of York, an excellent find. Only other negative would be the driveway is very very narrow and we struggled getting 3 cars on the driveway. The owners and. Are takers were lovely and accommodating. I would definitely go again.



Faults

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house was very good for what we wanted as a family . But a little tlc is needed in places . The bath room on the top floor no hot water would come out harldy a small trickle if that and only one light bulb was working . The kitchen sink tap lose could do with a larger frying pan for the amount people . BBQ not use able only small things but hope they help . Over all we loved the house very much and poss would use again with other family members .



Helen replied 10 days ago
Dear Raymond, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for letting us know about the water, tap and BBQ I have alerted the owners who are sorting the problems this week. Kind regards Helen

Lovely well located property in York

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed here with a party of eleven for my friends hen party. It was a lovely well presented property, clean, and well equipped. The location was excellent, just a short walk into the centre of York. This was my second time at this property and we would definately stay again.



York with friends

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Feb 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good location a little bit of a walk into York (15 minutes), 6 comfortable sized bedrooms, great for a get together with enough comfortable seats for everyone, kitchen / dining area very large & seats 12 comfortably.
Only negative was not enough bathroom facilities for 10 women but we managed with good communications and relays. Lovely garden area although not the weather for us to use it this time, good parking & free !
We would definetly use this property again.




Clifton House York

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jan 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A large comfortable house with a pleasant enclosed rear garden.
Ideally placed for walking into the city centre - just 10 minutes away.
We easily parked our 4 cars in the allocated space.
Just 5 minutes walk from the house is the river and green space for walking dogs.
There are 2 nice pubs within 100m of the house plus a small number of food shops.
Our only negative experience was that the bins were full on arrival and although we immediately left them at the front of the house as directed they were not emptied consequently we were left to pile our rubbish up in plastic bags in the back garden. This is the second time we have stayed at Clifton and on both occasions this has been the case.




Helen replied 108 days ago
Dear John, I apologise for the issues with the bins, unfortunately over Christmas and New Year bin collection is disrupted, however, the care taking team should have taken the rubbish away so you had an empty bin for your stay. Kind regards Helen

Family Christmas shopping break

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely made up with this house, we were a family of 12 ladies and this was just what we needed. 15 minute walk into town, very spacious house, brilliant facilities.

The house was clean, warm, comfortable etc.

If I had any fault it would be that with three larger cars it was difficult to park in the spaces provided but that's it, no other issues at all.

We would gladly book this house again

Loved it!!!!




Good place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place with plenty of room.the only thing it would benefit from is an extra shower or bathroom.
Enjoyed our stay and would be happy to book again.




Fantastic hen do setting

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all arrived on the Friday and couldn't believe how big the house was, spotlessly clean and fully equipped kitchen for the well needed breakfasts! Lovely finishing touches of cakes and some fizz left for our arrival and Rachel the housekeeper was lovely and made us feel welcome. Perfect location only 15 walk from town centre. Would definitely recommend and go again.



Family occasion

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Easy access to city attractions marred by busy road during night.
Detail fixtures and fittings poor.
Electric kettle unsafe - reported to housekeeper. (This had already been mentioned previously in early August!)
Would not recommend without many reservations.




Helen replied 235 days ago
Dear Joe, We are sorry that you did not enjoy our stay at Clifton as many of our previous guests have been very happy with the property. Clifton is located in the heart of York a busy city and as with most city centre locations they come with a certain degree of noise. The house has recently had been upgraded with many pieces of new furniture and has also undergone redecoration and we have had positive feedback aabout it. We market the house as a "value for money" property and as such we feel that the fixtures and fittings are of a good standard for a house charging £36.00 per person per night compared with other self catering properties or B&B I am sorry you experienced a problem with the kettle, I believe you met Rachel as you arrived several hours prior to check in time and she did say if you needed anything to call, I am sure she would have had a new kettle with you within a matter of a few hours. We appreciate your note and a new kettle was purchased for the guests that arrived on your departure date. Kind regards Carol Campbell Owner

Beautiful place to stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clifton is a beautiful place to stay - absolutely perfect for our girls weekend. The rooms are spacious and really comfortable, lovely garden, and the kitchen/dining area is great. The customer service has been flawless from Holiday Homes Group, who we booked it through. The kettle could do with replacing as it's leaky, and it would've been great to have had some hand soap in the bathrooms but other than that it was wonderful. Thank you!



Ideal for a hen party

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jun 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I hired the house for a hen party and it was ideal. It was an excellent size in good condition with plenty of space for us all. Rooms were simply furnished but had everything you needed for a weekend stay.

There was no guest book or tourist information which would have been handy and there wasn't any information on the house or where to leave the keys etc. Being such a big house more parking would have been useful too.

We had a pleasant stay.




Great Hen Party!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely, clean house with friendly staff. Great location, perfect for our hen party and any other large groups requiring a house within walking distance to York



Beautiful house

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at clifton for my hen party. The house is beautiful, very clean and spacious. Lots of room in the living room and kitchen for 12 people to sit. Nice walk into York, would highly recommend the house, we all want to go back.



Just perfect

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of 12 of us stayed here for a hen do over bank holiday and it was fabulous. The location was great - just a short walk into the centre. The booking and checking in/checking out process was easy and the house was lovely. There was a huge garden and plenty parking!! We couldn't have wished for anything better!!



My sisters hen weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 14 May 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clifton was the perfect destination for my sisters hen party. It has a large comfortable living room which was a great place for all the girls to get together, have a drink and play our silly games. The kitchen diner was perfect for sitting together when we were eating. Its a shame we didn't get the weather to make use of the lovely garden. The bedrooms are all comfortable and clean. The house is only a 10-15 minute walk from York town centre which was ideal. Overall great location and fabulous house, would be even better with a hot tub in the garden!



Hen weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and 9 other ladies stayed at Clifton cottage for two nights for my friends hen weekend. The house was very spacious and never felt cramped. The kitchen / dining area was perfect for group entertaining and the large dining room table was big enough for a meal. There were plenty of glasses and pans to cater for 10 people. The dishwasher was very useful but we just needed a few extra dishwasher tablets. The only complaint we had was that there was not a single full length mirror and for 10 girls getting ready for a night out in York this was noticeably missing! The location was perfect. It was a short walk to the centre or a very cheap taxi ride. I would definitely recommend this property!!



Wedding Party

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a party of twelve eight adults four children under eight. the downstairs accomadation was excellent with a large kitchen bathroom and lounge .Two of the first floor bedrooms provided plenty room with good access to the other two single bedrooms and bathrooms .The third floor consisted of bathroom two bedrooms one double and two single beds which was k if your legs were short Easy walking into York city. Nice garden for the kids to play.



Disappointing

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Mar 2016
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
1.0
Lovely big house - so much potential.
Nice side of town.
Disappointed by budget furniture presentation and lack of attention to detail which made it feel more like a student let.