FB Twitter

High Borrans, Grove

High Borrans, Grove

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 26 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.7
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Grove Lodge is located on High Borrans Farm. Modern and stylish, this 1-bedroom self-catering lodge offers welcoming views across the surrounding fields, slimline dishwasher, island breakfast bar, unlimited WiFi for streaming services, radio system which can be played through the ceiling speakers, free standing bath and walk in double width power shower. Sorry, no dogs accepted.

Excellent holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed for two nights and it was amazing. The location is perfect, quiet and remote but close enough to shops and restaurants. The lodge its self was just fab too. Comfortable and clean and very smart. Would definitely stay again.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location and property were fantastic.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk from High Borrans



Oliver from Loughborough stayed at High Borrans, Grove for 2 nights in October 2020


Beautiful lodge and perfect location for a relaxing holiday.

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was spotlessly clean and finished to a very high standard. The location was perfect for us because we needed to relax and recharge after working non stop through this awful pandemic. It was lovely and peaceful but still only 10 minutes from Windermere. This holiday exceeded our expectations.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peaceful setting and the stunning lodge.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We love Coniston Waters and would definitely recommend eating at The Bluebird Cafe on the lake.



Caroline from Hull stayed at High Borrans, Grove for 7 nights in August 2020


A wonderful few days in the Lake District

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and I had a really lovely time at High Borrans Grove, the farm is nicely tucked away and in a picturesque location. The lodge was immaculate and decorated beautifully. The location was perfect too, it is 10-15 mins drive away from Windemere and very close to Ambleside and Grasmere. We also hired the electric bikes, I would highly recommend spending a day on the bikes exploring the beautiful surrounding areas. Overall, I would highly recommend one of the lodges at High Borrans and hope to return one day. My only (tiny) negative point was that the TV remote didn't work very well but we managed! 10/10.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The beautiful lodge and the surrounding areas.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Hiring electric bikes for the day

Lois from Birkenhead stayed at High Borrans, Grove for 3 nights in August 2020


Perfect little break away

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Such a beautiful lodge! The minute we walked in, we were blown away by the modern interior and cleanliness overall! This was our first time visiting Lake District so we wasn’t sure what to expect but the lodge made us feel at home and comfortable straight away. We stayed two nights but wished we stayed longer as this is the perfect little break away for couples. We look back at our photos now and can not wait to book again!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The privacy at our lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Kayaking



Farzana from London stayed at High Borrans, Grove for 2 nights in August 2020


Hidden gem

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From booking, the communication was great. Clear instructions and information. The lodge is hidden away off the main roads, allowing you to fully escape the busy life. However only a short drive from Windermere and the lake. The lodge is perfect - it has everything you need and is extremely clean and fresh. Amazing views from the decking and the only sound you can hear are a few sheep in the neighbouring field.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Home comforts

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Hiring the electric assisted bikes



David from Sutton Coldfield stayed at High Borrans, Grove for 4 nights in August 2020


Excellent Stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay. At first we were apprehensive as it was our first break away since the UK lockdown. However, we were pleasantly surprised at how well it was handled, and will definitely be returning in the future.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Cleanliness

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Lovely walks surrounding



Lauren from Hartlepool stayed at High Borrans, Grove for 2 nights in July 2020


A much needed break

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Much needed respite, having lost my Dad a few weeks earlier.

Fantastic location and lovely walks.

We’ll be back (once the current situation regarding Covid 19) is resolved.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peaceful location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Just take advantage and appreciate your surroundings



Catherine from Oldham stayed at High Borrans, Grove for 3 nights in March 2020


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 294 days ago
Thank you for the kind comments and five-star ratings, Catherine. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your break in the Lakes. High Borrans Grove is a great place to escape to. With walks direct from the door and a fabulous lodge for relaxing. Where better to be? We wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Another lovely stay at High Borrans

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Last year we stayed in the Shepherd’s Hut but this year we stayed in a log cabin. Both were enjoyable experiences but we appreciated the extra space in the cabin.
Extremely well appointed and in excellent condition. A first class base for exploring the delights of this part of the Lake District.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The unexpected good weather for the time of year.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visit the Hooked restaurant in Windermere if you enjoy a fresh fish meal.



David from Hertford stayed at High Borrans, Grove for 6 nights in November 2019


Can't wait to come back!

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely fantastic lodge in a beautiful setting. Have recommended to family and friends and will absolutely be returning to High Borrans! Everything you need with the highest possible quality inside. Some lovely personal touches too which made the stay so much better than in a hotel or B&B.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The surrounding countryside

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Windermere river cruise



Richard from Ebbw Vale stayed at High Borrans, Grove for 3 nights in November 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 329 days ago
Thank you for your excellent review and ratings Richard, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. High Borrans Grove is a fantastic one-bedroom lodge, perfect for a relaxing and tranquil retreat. Located on a working farm and with some of the most incredible views, it is a great getaway from everyday life! We are so pleased to hear you wish to return and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Stay at Grove

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Nov 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We cannot recommend High Borrans more, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay from start to finish. The condition of the lodge (Grove) was immaculate and was complete with all essentials as well as homely touches. Just a 10 minute drive into Windermere the location was good with some lovely views surrounding the lodges. We would most definitely return and have already recommended High Borrans to our family and friends. Thank you for a lovely week.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Excellent condition of lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk up Wansfell Pike from Ambleside



Bryn from Colwyn Bay stayed at High Borrans, Grove for 4 nights in October 2019


Third visit

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to High Borans and will not be our last. Guaranteed peace and quiet, sadly good weather not guaranteed! Have stayed in Holt and Grove and could recommend either. Great place for a break, good walking and Kendal and Windermere bothclose by. The Italian restaurant in Windermere, San Pietro, and The Mortal Man at Troutbeck are excellent places to eat.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The great sheep escape and roundup by the farm collie!

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk up Orris View, which is about a 2 hour round trip from the Lodge.



Mike from Knaresborough stayed at High Borrans, Grove for 4 nights in September 2019


Immaculate

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Modern light coloured lodge with all you need for 2 people in quiet location with countryside views along a narrow country lane with roomy parking alongside.Has double shower and a bath handy breakfast bar and complete kitchen and more than enough storage.Leads on to enormous balcony with patio furniture

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Space and modern living it's not a dark old cedar lodge

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Combined Windermere cruise with train trip



Michael from Winsford stayed at High Borrans, Grove for 2 nights in September 2019


Fantastic accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I love our stay in the lodge and would recommend it to any one, it is peaceful and the owner have thought everything through to make your stay as good as it could be. I would live there if I could. Perfect

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Boat trip on lake



Peter from Leamington Spa stayed at High Borrans, Grove for 6 nights in September 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
We are delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay in High Borrans Grove, Peter. Thank you for your excellent review and ratings. We completely agree with you, this is a fantastic one-bedroom lodge where you could spend all your days enjoying the tranquil setting and glorious views. Thank you for recommending this lodge to others and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another perfect stay.

Peaceful Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge ‘Grove’ is spacious, comfortable, clean and very well equipped with a spacious veranda with good outdoor furniture to relax and enjoy the sunshine. Whilst just off the beaten track there are many walks from the property including into Windermere within 20/25 minutes so not always necessary to use the car.
Located on a working farm it’s nice to see/hear the sheep, cattle and working dogs as you drive through to the lodge location.
Cathy likes to say hello shortly after arrival which is a nice personal touch and is always on hand if any problems occur.
The whole team work hard to ensure the lodges are kept in tip top condition and are a real credit to them.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peaceful location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A cruise on Windermere and the walk on the far side of the lake

Donna from York stayed at High Borrans, Grove for 7 nights in September 2019


Weekend Break

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful, clean lodge with peaceful surroundings. Nice walk into Windermere. We would definitely recommend these lodges and we will definitely be back.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peacefulness

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking into Windermere down the quiet country lanes



Darren from Wigan stayed at High Borrans, Grove for 3 nights in August 2019


FANTASTIC STAY

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A quiet and fantastic stay for the lake district, would recommend it to everyone, would definitely stay again

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Quiet and peaceful

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
A trip on the lake



Peter from Great Yarmouth stayed at High Borrans, Grove for 7 nights in July 2019


Tranquil break

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second visit to High Borans, third coming up in September. Ideal place for peace and tranquility. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peace and quiet.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk round Buttermere.



Mike from Knaresborough stayed at High Borrans, Grove for 6 nights in July 2019


Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review and ratings Paul, we are delighted you enjoyed another stay at this fabulous lodge. High Borrans, Grove is a lovely and peaceful one-bedroom lodge with views to enjoy all year round. A great place to stay and relax! Thank you for recommending this lodge so highly and we look forward to welcoming you back in September.

Peace & quiet.

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely clean lodge. Def need a car as well off main road. Nice quiet location with just sheep & birds making noise. Child free so no noise from them. Ideal to sit on balcony & chill out.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge it self.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Hired a boat on Lake Coniston. Much quieter than Windemere.



Nicola from Coventry stayed at High Borrans, Grove for 7 nights in June 2019


Relaxing Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed over the bank holiday weekend and were stunned by the beautiful lodge (we stayed in grove) and its surroundings. We could not fault a thing!!!! The whole lodge was spotless and there was everything that you could need provided.
We would highly recommend these lodges, you will not be disappointed.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Relaxing with luxury

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking



Michelle from Burton-on-trent stayed at High Borrans, Grove for 2 nights in April 2019


Perfect

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my husband stayed at High Borrans for our honeymoon and had such a wonderful time. The location is stunning, peaceful and relaxing. The lodge itself was exactly as shown when we booked. Comfy, clean, spacious and well decorated. A lovely scenic drive to lodge was beautiful to see every time we went out and returned. There’s lots to do and see around the lakes, so everyday was an adventure. We didn’t want to leave and can’t wait to go back.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lodge was peaceful and quiet even on a working farm and with stunning views.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visit Rydal lake for a lovely walk and great views.



Alicia from Stockton-on-tees stayed at High Borrans, Grove for 7 nights in April 2019


Lovely long weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a fabulous weekend getaway to High Borrans Grove. The lodge was amazing, spotless and the kitchen was well equipped. Also very close to lake windermere/Grasmere for day trips. Would love to return in the spring for another stay. Highly recommend!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Mountain views in the morning

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk up scandale beck from ambleside



Emily from Carlisle stayed at High Borrans, Grove for 2 nights in November 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the review and leaving such great comments, Emily. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at this fabulous lodge. A cosy, well equipped and immaculately presented one bedroom lodge - and with glorious views. This is a great place to stay. Thank you for highly recommending and we are delighted to hear you will be returning in the Spring.

Short getaway

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Nov 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Both me and my partner absolutely loved staying here, we have previously stayed in the Hazel cabin and was disappointed it had been booked - however Grove was just as great and we couldn’t decide which one we preferred! Really great cabins

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
How the cabin feels like a small home away from home

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Visited Loughrigg Fell, great walk and able to walk into caves. Or for those who love sticky toffee pudding, visit cartmel for the Home place



Jodie from Rushden stayed at High Borrans, Grove for 4 nights in October 2018


Perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd stay at High Borrans but first in Grove. The lodge was immaculately clean, warm and comfortable and had everything we needed for our 2 nite stay. Perfect location for us to spend quality time together as we both have busy very demanding jobs. Would definitely recommend and while were there we booked for a 4th visit early next year.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The peace and quiet

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
The walks along the bridle path



Jane from Chorley stayed at High Borrans, Grove for 2 nights in October 2018


Beautiful lodge in a great location

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked into High Borrans, grove for a short weekend break. The lodge itself was beautiful; well designed, spacious, comfortable and extremely well appointed. We wanted for nothing while staying there. The location was very convenient for many of the lake districts attractions and we had a great weekend away staying here. We will certainly return and can’t recommend High Borrans highly enough for a short stay or a longer break.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The beautifully designed lodge.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Tarn Hows in Coniston



Jennie from Stockton On Tess stayed at High Borrans, Grove for 2 nights in October 2018


Perfect location.

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely site, very peaceful and quiet.
Had a good holiday, well placed for walking.
Would book again in same lodge as location was perfect.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Peace and quiet.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walking from high Borrans onto the high street.



Trevor from Scarborough stayed at High Borrans, Grove for 7 nights in June 2018


Perfect, woolly neighbours!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect getaway - this is a working farm with all the paraphernalia you’d expect, but the lodges are modern, comfortable, clean and cosy. Everything has been thought of, including excellent WiFi, kitchen appliances and anti-steam bathroom mirrors. Visit in the spring and you’ll get the added bonus of lambs and their mums, beautifully pottering about! This is the idea place for city folk looking for home comforts, but is as far away from the city as you could imagine.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The modernness of the lodge.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Hiring a boat on Lake Windermere



Hannah from Brentwood stayed at High Borrans, Grove for 5 nights in April 2018


Fiona - Lake Dsitrict Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great review, Hannah and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at this fabulous lodge. A gorgeous place to stay and a fantastic location for an unforgettable holiday in the lake district. Indeed the ideal place for those looking for all home comforts and in one of the most beautiful parts of the world. Beautiful scenery and a luxury lodge in a peaceful location. Perfect!