FB Twitter

JP Sloop, Co. Down

JP Sloop, Co. Down

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 27 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
5.0


You can’t miss St John’s Point Lighthouse in gorgeous County Down. Its strikingly tall tower is marked with vibrant bands of yellow and black. (The colours which distinguish it from other lighthouses are known as its daymark). Pets are not permitted.

Quite and Quant.

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Sloop which is much like the Ketch. Both are very well maintained, clean and comfortable. Lovely walks to nearby villages. Downpatrick town has everything you need to do a shop and much more. Recommend St John's Point highly.



Excellent weekend spot for a family of four

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a beautiful house, warm and cosy on a cold weekend. We were warmly welcomed by Suzan, who included a pot of her excellent home made jam. House was well furnished and equipped with games, washing up supplies and kitchen cupboard essentials (do bring binoculars if you have them). Castle Ward and Dundrum Castle were good for kids. The view of the Mournes from our bedroom window was stunning. Overall, we had an excellent weekend.



Darren replied 5 days ago
Delighted to hear you had such a lovely, warm welcome and that you really enjoyed your stay in Sloop. It sounds like the kids and adults all had something to enjoy.The Mourne mountains are quite a view to wake up to aren't they!? John's Point is such a special location and we're happy you agree. We hope you can come stay with us agin in the not too distant future.

Fairytales

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location was perfect, beautiful sunrises & sunsets looking out to sea and the majestic Mourne Mountains. The hopynotic light is St John's Lighthouse over head. The accommodation is superb, surpassed all expectations. It truly was a fairytale come true for me. Romance, adventure & tranquility



Darren replied 13 days ago
A beautiful review, thank you! It sounds like you had an amazing stay and really appreciated the property and the stunning setting it's in. We're delighted you had such a great time and you're very welcome to return for more fairytale experiences.

Fantastic

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place!
We will come again!

Clean, well stocked, comfortable beds. Great value! So happy we stayed here!




Darren replied 39 days ago
Thank you for the lovely review. We certainly think it's an amazing place too! We're so glad you had a fantastic stay and you're very welcome to return!

Marvellous

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 2 nights here and absolutely loved it. The place is simply perfect and the view is breathtaking. Absolutely recommended.



Darren replied 33 days ago
What a wonderful review. You can't beat perfection! Thank you so much for taking the time to recommend Sloop to the rest of the world and we'd be delighted if you came to stay in any of our properties in the future.

Magical stay

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family stayed in JP Sloop and had the most wonderful time. We had a lightening storm which was magical. It's the kind of unusual holiday that's only improved by bad weather!! Sleeping within the arc of the lighthouse beam iis a special experience. The beds were so soft it was like sleeping in a cloud. The house itself was so cosy we were reluctant to leave. Thank you ILT, Henry and Susan.



Bookings Officer replied 84 days ago
Thank you for your review. It is true that whether it is glorious or thunderous weather a stay at a lighthouse station is pretty incredible (I prefer the stormy conditions myself I have to say). Delighted to hear that you had a lovely stay.

Magical

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Unforgettable weekend away, beautiful house, amazing location, all the comforts you could want. We didn't want to leave. The first of many visits to lighthouses in Ireland. Already planning the next trip!



Bookings Officer replied 84 days ago
Great to hear you had a nice stay at Sloop and that you hope to visit more lighthouses around the country. I highly recommend you check out Great Lighthouses of Ireland - http://www.greatlighthouses.com - if you have a particular interest in lighthouse visits and stays at other lightkeeper's cottages. Hope to welcome you to another property soon.

Too short a break

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful location with very well renovated accommodation, well equipped comfortable and cosy. Made all the better by meeting the completely fascinating, welcoming and wonderfully friendly Henry and his lovely wife who live in one of the cottages on site. Only complaint was that we couldn't stay longer. Highly recommend.



Bookings Officer replied 84 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your recent stay at Sloop in Co. Antrim. It is great the hear that you had the opportunity to meet the Local Lightkeeper and get to really enjoy the location. Hopefully we can welcome you back to this, or indeed another, Irish Landmark property.

Amazing!

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is absolutely stunning. The key hand over was so easy. Paula the house manager left a home made cake and lovely tray with teapot&cosy on the table. Cannot recommend more highly!



Bookings Officer replied 91 days ago
Wonderful to read such a great review of your recent stay at Sloop, at St. John's Point in Co. Down. Please do recommend us to as many people as possible and help Irish Landmark rescue more properties in need in saving. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Indeed one of the Great Lighthouses of Ireland!

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is indeed one of the Great Lighthouses of Ireland. We enjoyed our stay at the cottage very much and especially loved the views from the dining room and from the master bed room. Perfect base for daytrips to the Mournes. We would highly recommend this cottage and look forward to come back one day.



Bookings Officer replied 91 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you recent stay at Sloop went. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time and that you would recommend this property to others. It would be fantastic to welcome you back again in the future. Thank you again for supporting Irish Landmark Trust.

Wonderful

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic stay at JP Sloop. Loved everything about he house, I was a relief lighthouse keeper in the past and it's great to see how these buildings are being restored. Brought back many memories in my teens where I was stationed at a couple of different lighthouses. A unique holiday for our children, and lots to see and do within the locality, Mount Stewart, Castle Ward etc... The house is magical and the setting remote enough, but 50 minutes into Belfast. Loved the 'wet' room, and the bedrooms and cosy and lovely to hear the wind and waves at night. The beam of the light is lovely, the one thing I don't miss is the fog horn. Will be back John's Point again.



A lovely seaside break

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautifully restored lighthouse-keeper's cottage - very well furnished and in a wonderful location. While it looks and feels remote, in fact the property is easily accessible and a good base to explore from. We had an easy day trip to Belfast and other outings around the Mourne Mountains and around the shores of Strangford Lough - the western shores in particular have a number of gems to discover. It is an easy walk along the road into Killoch for local shopping but quite an arduous one (the route is not always very clear) back along the shoreline on the Lecale Way. Bird life is plentiful over the sea and on shore - watch out for the peregrine nesting near the top of the lighthouse! In darkness, the atmosphere is magical with the light sweeping across the bay. A lovely place to unwind.



Nadine replied 118 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we love to hear what our guests think , come back again soon.

A magical stay at the lighthouse

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our experience of staying at JP Sloop was first class! The cottage was bright, clean, tastefully decorated and very comfortable - especially the bed! The interior has as much character as the surroundings and the excitement of staying next to a working lighthouse is enhanced by all of the lighthouse literature and memorabilia inside.

The views of the sea and over to the Mourne Mountains from the master bedroom window were exquisite and it was a beautiful to watch the view change during the day and evening as the morning mist evaporated and the sun set over the water.

We were delighted to hear a knock on the door on our first night to let us know that dolphins had been spotted nearby, with an offer to come and view them through borrowed binoculars. Such a special moment during our anniversary weekend.

The lighthouse itself is just majestic and we stood in awe underneath it during the day and especially once it got dark outside and we were able to watch the sweeping beams move over our heads, from our little garden terrace. Mesmerising!

The whole experience was just magical and all the local beauty and places of interest like the early Christian church ruins, the little bays and the brilliant seafood restaurants just made our 10th wedding anniversary truly special. Thank you very much!




Nadine replied 127 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's great to hear what our guests think, come back again soon.

Amazing experience

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This needs to be seen to be believed. The pictures look amazing but it is even more striking and wonderful when you actually arrive. Everything about the stay was of the highest standard, the house is amazingly fitted, the decor is superb and the attention to detail is very high. We were met by a very warm and friendly lady who showed us around and was very helpful with local knowledge. Would recommend this to anyone wanting to try a truly unique holiday experience.



Nadine replied 130 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we love to hear what our guests Think , come back again soon.

AMAZING! Absolutely the highlight of our trip.

Review submitted on Wed, 31 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
JP Sloop exceeded our exceptions. It was absolutely the highlight of our trip to Ireland. We loved the location, the atmosphere, and the accommodations. Although tucked away and secluded, JP Sloop is nearby a lot of smaller towns that give you excellent food and fun things to do during our stay.



Nadine replied 144 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back and visit in the near future.

Magical place

Review submitted on Fri, 26 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
fantastic unspoilt location, the cottage was so warm & comfortable. We had a fantastic welcome from Susan , home from in regards to anything you might need . I would return in a heartbeat ❤️



Nadine replied 153 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back in the future.

LIghthouse retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Irish Landmark Trust website promised us character, comfort and natural beauty at the JP Sloop - this property delivers all three! We found the property easily, well, the lighthouse does stand out! We were met at the property by our host, who showed us all over the property, explained heating and other details, and also left scones and jam for us! The property was absolutely spotless, very warm and comfortable, and with all the mod cons you'd need, including a really good shower! The location is spectacular, the sea is on your doorstep and the area is just beautiful. We didn't have wifi or tv and we didn't feel the need of either, it was a fantastic retreat. We were within driving distance of shops and restaurants, as well as historical points of interest and areas of natural beauty, such as Castle Ward, Downpatrick, Tollymore Forest Park, Silent Valley, Mourne mountains etc. The lighthouse itself is also of historical interest and a thing of beauty! We will definitely be staying here again!



Nadine replied 196 days ago
Really delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the wonderful feedback, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, come back again soon.

Lovely Easter Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at JP Sloop for four nights over the Easter Weekend. We were greeted by Suzan, the very helpful house keeper. She had prepared the cottage to a high standard, and left us some lovely home made Jam. The Cottage has plenty of room, the Double bedroom is massive. Everything you could need in the kitchen, board games and books in the lounge.

We also got to meet the visiting niece of Henry the retired lighthouse keeper. She told us all about the light house, and her memories about the light house as she grew up, the history etc. Really interesting, and it was nice of her to share time with us.

We would be happy to stay again, although if I do I would stay in the other Cottage at St John's Point which is also owned by the Landmark Trust. JP Sloop doesn't have a sea view, as the cottage sits behind a high wall shielding the lighthouse complex. The other cottage is on the other side, and has a view over the wall. If the other cottage isn't available, then still book JP Sloop as the setting is amazing, you won't be disappointed, but book the other cottage if you can.

Finally to set your mind at rest, the fog horns are no longer used. So no need to worry about sleepless nights in bad weather.





Bookings Officer replied 197 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Sloop in Co. Down. We are glad you had a nice time and got to meet some of the locals and got some time with them. Although the fog horns are not longer in use they are checked once a month by the lightkeeper but always at a decent hour of the day I assure you. We hope to perhaps welcome you back to another Irish Landmark Trust property in the future.

The Perfect Getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our three days in the light house keeper's cottage came about as a result of my son's favourite story book "The lighthouse keeper's lunch".In was in fact the perfect antidote to busy modern life and all of the family enjoyed our break. Boardgames, family time, reading and just escaping the hustle and bustle of busy jobs and traffic. Falling asleep with the sound of the waves on the rocks outside and the beam from the lighthouse sweeping repeatedly through the skylight was so soothing that going to bed was a novelty in itself. In one sense it felt like we had been away for a week and yet our time there flew by and we were sad to find ourselves packing up.



Bookings Officer replied 203 days ago
Thank you so very much for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay at Sloop. It really is wonderful to hear that you had such a great time and really embraced what Irish Landmark Trust properties are all about. We really hope to perhaps welcome you back again in the future for another stay at Sloop or indeed another Irish Landmark Trust stay.

Lighthouse magic

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely weekend in St.Johns Point. The cottage was very nicely furnished ,well equipped and cosy. The location is great-remote but not isolated with great views of the Mourne mountains and out to the Isle of man. The caretaker was very obliging and left us a nice welcome pack and the lightkeeper's niece took up up the Lighthouse tower-great views from the balcony!

The area is lovely-we went to Strangford and took the ferry to Portaferry and visited the magnificent Mount Stewart house and gardens.Nearer to home there is a nice little pub at Minerstown.Newcastle with it's long beach,restaurants and icecream parlours was a hive of activity on a sunny Sunday.

We really enjoyed the weekend and would recommend St.John's Point.




Nadine replied 237 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, so glad you enjoyed your stay, would love you to come back and visit in the near future.

New Year

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent New Year's Eve here and loved it. It is a warm house and all facilities were in working condition. If you want solitude and quietness we would highly recommend it. It is a great place.



Nadine replied 309 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, so glad you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, come back again soon.

Excellent

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about J P Sloop cottage was wonderful, beautiful location and really well equipped, Suzan friendly and helpful



Nadine replied 321 days ago
Thank you for your lovely feedback, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

Review of JP Sloop

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful few days in this magic location. The house was immaculate with some local cakes waiting for the cuppa!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your great feedback, come back again soon :)

Cosy get-away within the sound of the crashing waves

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A cosy and comfortable bolt hole in a great location. More spacious than expected. Very clean. Perfect for a relaxing break.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon :)

Loved it! Would highly recommend!

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great place! The Lighthouse is in a remote area and it is an absolutely beautiful setting. When you're laying in bed at night you can hear the waves crash. Most nights (when it wasn't too windy) we sat outside and enjoyed wine while watching the lighthouse's light and gorgeous pink-orange sunsets.

The cottage is very cute and cosy. It's done up really well and has everything you need (well except wifi and a TV!). The kitchen is very modern and has all necessary amenities to cook. The heating worked really well so we were never cold. The bed was also very comfortable. They've done a good job decorating the place so it looks good and has some authentic pieces.

On arrival we were met by Suzan who was very nice, friendly and accommodating. We were late to meet her due to the fact that we got a bit lost but she was very kind and flexible. She also told us everything we needed to know about the space.

There is no doubt you need a car to go anywhere. There is a nice beach but not too many walks in the near vicinity. You are also in accommodation that is attached to the part-time light housekeeper but we only saw him once in the three days. We had a great time and would definitely come back.





Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, would love to see you back in the near future.

Lovely stay at the Lighthouse

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed for 5 nights at JP Sloop, Co Down. The St. John's Point Lighthouse accommodation was beautiful!! I was originally booked for 3 nights, but couldn't bear to leave, so I booked 2 extra nights. Suzan is very easy to work with, and always responds to emails or texts quickly. Mr. Henry, the lighthouse keeper, is extremely charming and a sweetheart. I enjoyed hearing his stories about the lighthouse and learning about how he builds boats. This is a one-of-a-kind stay and I will definitely stay here again if I am in the area!!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Really delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your lovely review, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, come back again soon.

Amazing stay in just a beautiful house and location.

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location and accommodation are just spectacular. We had a great stay and the house is well presented. If you want to get away from the world and have peace and quiet this is the place to go.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the wonderful feedback, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it'a always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, come back again soon.