FB Twitter

JP Sloop, Co. Down

JP Sloop, Co. Down

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
5.0


You can’t miss St John’s Point Lighthouse in gorgeous County Down. Its strikingly tall tower is marked with vibrant bands of yellow and black. (The colours which distinguish it from other lighthouses are known as its daymark). Pets are not permitted.

A lovely seaside break

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautifully restored lighthouse-keeper's cottage - very well furnished and in a wonderful location. While it looks and feels remote, in fact the property is easily accessible and a good base to explore from. We had an easy day trip to Belfast and other outings around the Mourne Mountains and around the shores of Strangford Lough - the western shores in particular have a number of gems to discover. It is an easy walk along the road into Killoch for local shopping but quite an arduous one (the route is not always very clear) back along the shoreline on the Lecale Way. Bird life is plentiful over the sea and on shore - watch out for the peregrine nesting near the top of the lighthouse! In darkness, the atmosphere is magical with the light sweeping across the bay. A lovely place to unwind.



Nadine replied 1 day ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we love to hear what our guests think , come back again soon.

A magical stay at the lighthouse

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our experience of staying at JP Sloop was first class! The cottage was bright, clean, tastefully decorated and very comfortable - especially the bed! The interior has as much character as the surroundings and the excitement of staying next to a working lighthouse is enhanced by all of the lighthouse literature and memorabilia inside.

The views of the sea and over to the Mourne Mountains from the master bedroom window were exquisite and it was a beautiful to watch the view change during the day and evening as the morning mist evaporated and the sun set over the water.

We were delighted to hear a knock on the door on our first night to let us know that dolphins had been spotted nearby, with an offer to come and view them through borrowed binoculars. Such a special moment during our anniversary weekend.

The lighthouse itself is just majestic and we stood in awe underneath it during the day and especially once it got dark outside and we were able to watch the sweeping beams move over our heads, from our little garden terrace. Mesmerising!

The whole experience was just magical and all the local beauty and places of interest like the early Christian church ruins, the little bays and the brilliant seafood restaurants just made our 10th wedding anniversary truly special. Thank you very much!




Nadine replied 10 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's great to hear what our guests think, come back again soon.

Amazing experience

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This needs to be seen to be believed. The pictures look amazing but it is even more striking and wonderful when you actually arrive. Everything about the stay was of the highest standard, the house is amazingly fitted, the decor is superb and the attention to detail is very high. We were met by a very warm and friendly lady who showed us around and was very helpful with local knowledge. Would recommend this to anyone wanting to try a truly unique holiday experience.



Nadine replied 13 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we love to hear what our guests Think , come back again soon.

AMAZING! Absolutely the highlight of our trip.

Review submitted on Wed, 31 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
JP Sloop exceeded our exceptions. It was absolutely the highlight of our trip to Ireland. We loved the location, the atmosphere, and the accommodations. Although tucked away and secluded, JP Sloop is nearby a lot of smaller towns that give you excellent food and fun things to do during our stay.



Nadine replied 27 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back and visit in the near future.

Magical place

Review submitted on Fri, 26 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
fantastic unspoilt location, the cottage was so warm & comfortable. We had a fantastic welcome from Susan , home from in regards to anything you might need . I would return in a heartbeat ❤️



Nadine replied 36 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back in the future.

LIghthouse retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Irish Landmark Trust website promised us character, comfort and natural beauty at the JP Sloop - this property delivers all three! We found the property easily, well, the lighthouse does stand out! We were met at the property by our host, who showed us all over the property, explained heating and other details, and also left scones and jam for us! The property was absolutely spotless, very warm and comfortable, and with all the mod cons you'd need, including a really good shower! The location is spectacular, the sea is on your doorstep and the area is just beautiful. We didn't have wifi or tv and we didn't feel the need of either, it was a fantastic retreat. We were within driving distance of shops and restaurants, as well as historical points of interest and areas of natural beauty, such as Castle Ward, Downpatrick, Tollymore Forest Park, Silent Valley, Mourne mountains etc. The lighthouse itself is also of historical interest and a thing of beauty! We will definitely be staying here again!



Nadine replied 79 days ago
Really delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the wonderful feedback, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, come back again soon.

Lovely Easter Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at JP Sloop for four nights over the Easter Weekend. We were greeted by Suzan, the very helpful house keeper. She had prepared the cottage to a high standard, and left us some lovely home made Jam. The Cottage has plenty of room, the Double bedroom is massive. Everything you could need in the kitchen, board games and books in the lounge.

We also got to meet the visiting niece of Henry the retired lighthouse keeper. She told us all about the light house, and her memories about the light house as she grew up, the history etc. Really interesting, and it was nice of her to share time with us.

We would be happy to stay again, although if I do I would stay in the other Cottage at St John's Point which is also owned by the Landmark Trust. JP Sloop doesn't have a sea view, as the cottage sits behind a high wall shielding the lighthouse complex. The other cottage is on the other side, and has a view over the wall. If the other cottage isn't available, then still book JP Sloop as the setting is amazing, you won't be disappointed, but book the other cottage if you can.

Finally to set your mind at rest, the fog horns are no longer used. So no need to worry about sleepless nights in bad weather.





Bookings Officer replied 80 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Sloop in Co. Down. We are glad you had a nice time and got to meet some of the locals and got some time with them. Although the fog horns are not longer in use they are checked once a month by the lightkeeper but always at a decent hour of the day I assure you. We hope to perhaps welcome you back to another Irish Landmark Trust property in the future.

The Perfect Getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our three days in the light house keeper's cottage came about as a result of my son's favourite story book "The lighthouse keeper's lunch".In was in fact the perfect antidote to busy modern life and all of the family enjoyed our break. Boardgames, family time, reading and just escaping the hustle and bustle of busy jobs and traffic. Falling asleep with the sound of the waves on the rocks outside and the beam from the lighthouse sweeping repeatedly through the skylight was so soothing that going to bed was a novelty in itself. In one sense it felt like we had been away for a week and yet our time there flew by and we were sad to find ourselves packing up.



Bookings Officer replied 86 days ago
Thank you so very much for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay at Sloop. It really is wonderful to hear that you had such a great time and really embraced what Irish Landmark Trust properties are all about. We really hope to perhaps welcome you back again in the future for another stay at Sloop or indeed another Irish Landmark Trust stay.

Lighthouse magic

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely weekend in St.Johns Point. The cottage was very nicely furnished ,well equipped and cosy. The location is great-remote but not isolated with great views of the Mourne mountains and out to the Isle of man. The caretaker was very obliging and left us a nice welcome pack and the lightkeeper's niece took up up the Lighthouse tower-great views from the balcony!

The area is lovely-we went to Strangford and took the ferry to Portaferry and visited the magnificent Mount Stewart house and gardens.Nearer to home there is a nice little pub at Minerstown.Newcastle with it's long beach,restaurants and icecream parlours was a hive of activity on a sunny Sunday.

We really enjoyed the weekend and would recommend St.John's Point.




Nadine replied 120 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, so glad you enjoyed your stay, would love you to come back and visit in the near future.

New Year

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent New Year's Eve here and loved it. It is a warm house and all facilities were in working condition. If you want solitude and quietness we would highly recommend it. It is a great place.



Nadine replied 192 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, so glad you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, come back again soon.

Excellent

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about J P Sloop cottage was wonderful, beautiful location and really well equipped, Suzan friendly and helpful



Nadine replied 204 days ago
Thank you for your lovely feedback, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

Review of JP Sloop

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful few days in this magic location. The house was immaculate with some local cakes waiting for the cuppa!



Nadine replied 260 days ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your great feedback, come back again soon :)

Cosy get-away within the sound of the crashing waves

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A cosy and comfortable bolt hole in a great location. More spacious than expected. Very clean. Perfect for a relaxing break.



Nadine replied 280 days ago
Thank you for your feedback, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon :)

Loved it! Would highly recommend!

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great place! The Lighthouse is in a remote area and it is an absolutely beautiful setting. When you're laying in bed at night you can hear the waves crash. Most nights (when it wasn't too windy) we sat outside and enjoyed wine while watching the lighthouse's light and gorgeous pink-orange sunsets.

The cottage is very cute and cosy. It's done up really well and has everything you need (well except wifi and a TV!). The kitchen is very modern and has all necessary amenities to cook. The heating worked really well so we were never cold. The bed was also very comfortable. They've done a good job decorating the place so it looks good and has some authentic pieces.

On arrival we were met by Suzan who was very nice, friendly and accommodating. We were late to meet her due to the fact that we got a bit lost but she was very kind and flexible. She also told us everything we needed to know about the space.

There is no doubt you need a car to go anywhere. There is a nice beach but not too many walks in the near vicinity. You are also in accommodation that is attached to the part-time light housekeeper but we only saw him once in the three days. We had a great time and would definitely come back.





Nadine replied 290 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, would love to see you back in the near future.

Lovely stay at the Lighthouse

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed for 5 nights at JP Sloop, Co Down. The St. John's Point Lighthouse accommodation was beautiful!! I was originally booked for 3 nights, but couldn't bear to leave, so I booked 2 extra nights. Suzan is very easy to work with, and always responds to emails or texts quickly. Mr. Henry, the lighthouse keeper, is extremely charming and a sweetheart. I enjoyed hearing his stories about the lighthouse and learning about how he builds boats. This is a one-of-a-kind stay and I will definitely stay here again if I am in the area!!



Nadine replied 325 days ago
Really delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your lovely review, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, come back again soon.

Amazing stay in just a beautiful house and location.

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location and accommodation are just spectacular. We had a great stay and the house is well presented. If you want to get away from the world and have peace and quiet this is the place to go.



Nadine replied 345 days ago
Thank you for the wonderful feedback, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it'a always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, come back again soon.