FB Twitter

Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House

Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 85 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.5
Location
5.0
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.9


The houses, in their elevated setting, make an ideal location for relaxing and getting away from it all. The views from every angle are awe inspiring and breathtaking.

Galley Head lighthouse station is close to the award winning village of Clonakilty. This vibrant market town is must see for tourists. Guests can enjoy a wide range of activities from dolphin and whale watching, surfing at Inchydoney Blue Flag Beach or a historical walking tour of Clonakilty. The houses are also within easy reach of Cork City and Airport. (40 km)

Special Notes: There are cliffs nearby and children should be supervised at all times.

Special place for us

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful to return to Galley Head - magical! We waited 10 years to come back. First time with 1 boy now with 3!

Niamh from Galway stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in July 2017


Nadine replied 4 days ago
Really delighted you came back to visit , thank you for your feedback, come back again soon.

Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a magical family at Galley Head. House manager Gail gave us some great tips on suitable places to visit with small children.

Guest from Dublin 6 stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in July 2017


Nadine replied 7 days ago
Thank you for your feedback, we love to hear what our guests think, would love to see you back in the near future.

WE WERE STRUCK BY THE QUALITY OF FURNISHING AND KITCHENWARE.GAIL WAS EXTREMELY WELCOMING AND HELPFUL

Review submitted on Fri, 26 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
WE WERE STRUCK BY THE QUALITY OF FURNISHINGS AND KITCHENWARE.GAIL WAS EXTREMELY WELCOMING AND HELPFUL AND TAKES GREAT PRIDE IN HER FAMILY'S LIGHTHOUSE HERITAGE AND IN HER WORK. THE ONLY THING THAT DISAPPOINTED ME WAS THAT WE LOCKED THE GATES BEHIND US, THIS MAKES THE LIGHTHOUSE EXCLUSIVE AND NON- ACCESSIBLE TO LOCALS.AS INTEGRAL PART OF OUR COUNTRY'S HERITAGE? I BELIEVE THESE BUILDINGS BELONG TO THE NATION AND EVERYONE SHOULD BE ABLE TO SHARE IN OUR MARITIME PAST.I UNDERSTAND THAT SOME LIGHTHOUSE GUESTS MAY NOT WANT TOURISTS HANGING AROUND BUT WHAT ABOUT OPENING THE GATES FOR A FEW HOUYRS A DAY? AS I SAID, OUR STAY WAS EXCELLENT BUT THE EXCLUSIVITY IS THE ONE ASPECT THAT WOULD DISCOURAGE ME FROM STAYING THERE IN THE FUTURE AS IT GOES AGAINST MY PRINCIPLES.


Susan from Ennis stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in May 2017


Amazing!

Review submitted on Sun, 21 May 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed the Galley Head 1 so much! Views are amazing! Gerald and Alex were very friendly and helpful. Their history of the lighthouse makes the place come alive Andrew looked at as a home. Gerald goes out of his way to accommodate all. We were so privileged to have taken a tour of the lighthouse. Only small item I could say needs attention isn't the water pressure in the ough pressure for the tub but not the shower. Thank you Gerald and Alex!

Pamela from New Concord stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in May 2017


Four Girls Celebrating a Big Birthday

Review submitted on Wed, 17 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Galley Head is an amazing, majestic place. The scenery, the house everything was amazing. The House is a perfect chill-out zone, great for us to catch up. We arrived Friday evening and didn't leave until Sunday lunchtime. The walks around the Lightkeepers house were great and helped to blow our hangovers off! Highlight was meeting Gerald, the Lighthouse Keeper, who gave us a tour of the Lighthouse on a dusky Saturday evening. A fantastic asset for the Landmark Trust. Gail was so helpful to us also, a great set up all around. A little gem.

Guest from Youghal stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in May 2017


Bookings Officer replied 60 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to let Irish Landmark know how you enjoyed your recent stay. We are delighted that you had a nice time and do hope to perhaps welcome you back again to another of the properties Irish Landmark care for.

A magical place...

Review submitted on Sat, 13 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a magical place to get away from it all. Gerard and Gail were so warmly hospitable and friendly, Highly recommended.

from stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 5 nights in April 2017


Nadine replied 70 days ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon :)

We had a fantastic stay in this very special place

Review submitted on Thu, 04 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really loved everything about it especially the beautiful and tranquil setting. It's a very special place. You feel very connected to the natural world there and wonderfully disconnected from the stresses of modern living.

Edel from Cork stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in April 2017


Bookings Officer replied 81 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to let Irish Landmark know how you enjoyed your stay. We are delighted you had a nice time. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to another Irish Landmark Trust property in the future.

Disappointed stay at Gallyhead

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Apr 2017
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Very disappointed with the condition of the house, not clean, no toaster, only one lamp between all of us, rubbish shower with just a trickle of water, no cushions on the very hard chairs. No firewood just for the first night, arriving at 4pm with tired children to a cold house. Front gate not on, it was just left propped against the wall, having a toddler with us we really needed it to close to keep him safe in the garden. Very limited cooking utensils, the whole place especially the exterior walls could do with a good paint. Overall a bit of a miserable place really, but wonderful views. Overpriced for the American market we think. Comfortable bed though. A pity we don't have more positive stuff to say.

Elizabeth from Dublin stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 5 nights in April 2017


Location is everything

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location was stunning as expected and the remoteness was relaxing and rejuvenating. One or two more road signs and better directions may have helped us find our way but we found it eventually. We were coming from the west not thru Clonakilty.

Debra from Playa Del Rey stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in March 2017


Nadine replied 103 days ago
Thank you talking the time to write this review, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

an amazing experience

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Mar 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The perfect place where relaxing and escaping from everyday routine,but not only... meeting Gerald..the lightkeeper was fantastic...his story-telling about the lighthouse and his life were charming and made us think over the meaning of life, and the importance of living it fully...daily...through the stormy winds which sometimes may bend us ...(and recover as well!!) And the soothing tranquillity of a sunny day...just like the one we could enjoy before goin'...before leaving our new sheer 'nirvana'....a mere revelation or the discrete illumination of a "match struck unexpectedly in the dark"...

Cosima from Bari stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in February 2017


Nadine replied 140 days ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, come back again soon.

One safe place in the middle of storm

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Feb 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The galley lighthouse one , is an excellent tranquil place to stay . Real peaceful and you get to see storm and still be safe within the confines . We had a great welcome from the manager Gail . The house is warm you can really experience the history of the place . My young son was so impressed wanted to book the two houses so the grand parents could stay next door . If s holiday were you want to experience all sort of weather this is the place . The only fault I would see is the road up has lots of potholes needs maintaining . And of course to look out at a lighthouse every night is a great experience .

Barbara from stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in February 2017


Nadine replied 146 days ago
Thank you for your feedback, really delighted that you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back in the near future.

World Class Location!

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location, breathtaking views, well protected by walls from impressive cliff's with waves breaking down below. We experienced it through a raging storm and a still starry night a few days later- majestic!Gail Butler who looks after the property is an enthusiastic bundle of energy and has an infectious enthusiasm and love for the place which was a great introduction.
Comes HIGHLY recommended!


Patrick from Dublin stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in January 2017


Bookings Officer replied 173 days ago
Thank you so very much for taking the time to let Irish Landmark Trust know how about your recent stay at Galley Head Lightkeeper's House 1. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful time. I do hope that we have another chance to welcome you back.

Galley Head, beautiful place to switch off

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hello, we had a great time in Galley Head, we loved the house and the fact that we could see the lighthouse working in the evening, even from bed!

I just have a couple of small suggestions (and they are only that, suggestions, there is no aim of criticism here):

- I missed a side lamp in the living room I could use as reading lamp (it is such a quiet place, conductive to reading), the only side lamp that is there is a beautiful lighthouse keepers lamp, but it cannot be used as a reading lamp.
- I missed a visit to the lighthouse; we were told to keep an eye to somebody who might come to the lighthouse at some point, but we never saw him. Maybe if there was an option to request a visit with the booking?

In any case, my family and I had a great time and might come back!

Regards,
Laura


Laura from Dublin stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 4 nights in January 2017


Nadine replied 196 days ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your review and suggestions , we can not take requests with the booking for visits to the lighthouse , would love to see you back perhaps at another Irish Landmark property.

amazing place

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This has easily been the most relaxing trip either of us have ever had. Gail and Gerard were so lovely and accommodating. We will definitely return , hopefully next year

Brid from Dublin 4 stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in November 2016


Nadine replied 249 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay at Galley, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties :)

Perfect place to rejuvenate

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful scenic place to stay with wonderful views and lots to see and do nearby. Noisy neighbours staying in adjacent cottage but no complaints otherwise.

Siobhan from Dublin 24 stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in November 2016


Nadine replied 259 days ago
Thank you for your feedback , so glad you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties in the future.

Amazing stay at a beautiful Irish Lighthouse

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Oct 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you would like to do something completely different during your tour of Ireland a stay at Galley Head is perfect for you. We stayed Sept.10-13, 2016. The weather was wonderful with a mix of sunshine and the experience of a gale one day with lots of wind and rain. We enjoyed every minute. The location was beyond beautiful. There are castle ruins within walking distance which completely sparked our curiosity. Walks along the cliffs were breathtaking. The accommodations were adequate and comfortable but if you are looking for luxury you won't find it here. The light keeper and his family do not live on the property but did visit us while we were there. We were given a tour of the lighthouse itself and told a bit of its history. They are very friendly and nice people. I would highly recommend a stay at Galley Head to complete your tour of Ireland. The memories will stay with us for our lifetime. Happy travels.

Gerald from Redding stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in September 2016


Nadine replied 265 days ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back in the near future :)

Loved the place

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Can't say more just loved it, the place, the views, being so close to the lighthouse which I had been able to see each night as I grew up locally


Kathleen from Balli Namuck stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in October 2016


Nadine replied 280 days ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, come back again soon.

Great getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was traveling in Ireland for two weeks and galley head lighthouse was definitely the highlight for me. Breathtaking scenery and total peace and quiet there from everything except the sound of the ocean. Totally worth every penny. I would highly recommend to anyone visiting Ireland and looking for a quiet getaway to stay at galley head

Eric from St. Thomas stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in September 2016


Nadine replied 285 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear what our guests think , come back again soon.

Awesome

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was so awesome. Totally recommend it. Standing under the lighthouse in the dark watching the lights and the stars, incredible. The second night it was storming and the sea foam was blowing everywhere. The wind was howling.

Guest from Arizona stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in September 2016


Nadine replied 298 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this email, so glad you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear our guests comments, come back again soon.

Beautiful location!

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Loved our stay here - so dramatic and rugged. It's close to some lovely beaches and towns. Thanks so much! Would love to return some day. House was well kept and well equipped. Had a lovely farmhouse feel to it.

Natasha from Glasgow stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in July 2016


Nadine replied 356 days ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, come back again soon.

Escape to Galley Head

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a wonderful location and the accommodation was very comfortable (lovely and cosy) and well presented throughout. What really made a difference was the personal touch offered by Gail when we met to collect the keys and see the house. It really is lovely that the link to the Butler family is maintained in this way and we loved reading the family history and the history of the lighthouse itself. Gail was also great at explaining what was on offer locally by way of sightseeing, swimming and dining out. Anyone can stay at a hotel on holidays but this building is a unique part of our heritage and it was a privilege to feel part of it, if only for a short time. When you lock the gates behind you, you really feel that you have turned your back on the rest of the world and there is only you, the lighthouse and the sea (and a lovely open fire)!

Lisa from Dublin stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in May 2016


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear you had a nice stay at Galley Head Lightkeeper's House and thank you for your kind words. We hope to perhaps welcome you to another Irish Landmark Trust property sometime in the future.

Staying local and enjoying it

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Light-keeper's House we stayed in was wonderful. It had a lovely blend of the old and the new - we knew we were in an authentic light-keeper's house but the facilities were modern. We thought we would miss the tv but didn't at all. We were there for three days but the furthest we travelled was as far as Clonakilty for shopping. We walked around the Light-keeper's house, we went to two local beaches and we spent time just looking out to sea and spotting seals but no whales. Gina who looked after us was friendly, chatty, open and very responsive when we had an issue with the heating. She held a wealth of knowledge on the House and its history. This is a great place to get away from it all and to be in the middle of magnificent natural beauty.

Noel from stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in February 2016


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed you stay, it's always great to hear what our guests think, would love to see back perhaps at another one of our properties.

Favourite Winter Break

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Feb 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My husband and I stayed in the Lightkeepers House no 1 at Landmark Trust's Galley Head property in West Cork we experienced excellent weather and found it very exciting indeed to stay in this historic and romantic house. We were thrilled with the authenticity of the interior décor and most of all with the view of the Lighthouse itself. The beam sweeping through the night into the bedroom will long stay in our memories. On the last night there were needlepoints of rain highlit against the lighthouse beam -unforgettable. The Victorian shutters were in perfect working order for those that would find the light too bright. The books in the living room added to the atmosphere, and we enjoyed hugely lighting the open fire . We were very lucky with the lighthouse keeper Gerald Butler showing us around the magnificent lighthouse itself. We bought his excellent memoir and I am reading it now, keeping our favourite winter break very much alive. Gail Butler our concierge was most helpful and guided us to the best shops cafes etc. Only negative notes - the early departure time of 10 am - the kitchen chairs too low and the living room armchairs rather uncomfortable. Hope one day to experience the Wicklow Lighthouse experience.



Carole from Dublin stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in February 2016


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another magical Irish Landmark :)

Favourite Winter Break

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Feb 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My husband and I stayed in the Lightkeepers House no 1 at Landmark Trust's Galley Head property in West Cork we experienced excellent weather and found it very exciting indeed to stay in this historic and romantic house. We were thrilled with the authenticity of the interior décor and most of all with the view of the Lighthouse itself. The beam sweeping through the night into the bedroom will long stay in our memories. On the last night there were needlepoints of rain highlit against the lighthouse beam -unforgettable. The Victorian shutters were in perfect working order for those that would find the light too bright. The books in the living room added to the atmosphere, and we enjoyed hugely lighting the open fire . We were very lucky with the lighthouse keeper Gerald Butler showing us around the magnificent lighthouse itself. We bought his excellent memoir and I am reading it now, keeping our favourite winter break very much alive. Gail Butler our concierge was most helpful and guided us to the best shops cafes etc. Only negative notes - the early departure time of 10 am - the kitchen chairs too low and the living room armchairs rather uncomfortable. Hope one day to experience the Wicklow Lighthouse experience.



Carole from Dublin stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in February 2016


Unique and memorable visit !

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked Galley Head lighthouse for 3 nights in Feb 2016 to mark a special birthday for my husband. There were four of us in total.
We had a truly unique & memorable stay. The lighthouse itself is absolutely magical & the flashing light hypnotic!The location is spectacular with amazing panoramic views. We were incredibly lucky with the weather which really added to the whole experience. However I'd equally love to experience this location in a storm! Our host Gail and the lighthouse keeper Gerald & his partner Merie could not have been more obliging & helpful. We were lucky enough to get a private tour of the lighthouse during our stay. Gerald's knowledge was most impressive.Make sure to ask him for a copy of his book which is a really interesting read! The accommodation itself is rustic and comfortable though not luxurious by any means.The house was well heated all weekend.However the water pressure in the shower wasn't great .We booked a local taxi firm on two occasions to bring us into Clonakilty and back. There are plenty of really good restaurants to choose from in Clonakilty,which is about 10 km away. If you want to get away from it all and are looking for a really beautiful secluded location, then this is the place for you! We definitely hope to return!


Carmel from Dublin 6 stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in February 2016


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

January break at Galley Head

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at the lighthouse. It was really warm despite the storms and the views are magnificent. The fire lighting in the sitting room was very welcoming and Gail the house manager was very helpful. Would love to stay there again.

Guest from Newbridge stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in January 2016


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, we would love to have you back in the future.

If you love to stay in a beautiful unique place...

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you love lighthouses, Gerald Butler will not disappoint you. We were able to tour the light in daylight and at night, and take in as much lighthouse information of the area as time permits. And it was great just to be at home there…We had a group of 8, so we lived in both houses and shared the biggest kitchen.

Kathleen from Temple City stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in August 2015


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your great feedback, so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Galley Lighthouse, would love you to come back in the near future.

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


Michel from Dublin stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in December 2015


Living room

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Dec 2015
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
1.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are regular guests of Gallley Head and love the location. Gail the house manager is very welcoming and excellent. Our complaint is the living room has a couch that is not suitable to use any more and needs to be thrown out - hence we spent the entire weekend sitting in the kitchen also the carpet is totally rotten this also needs replacing. The kitchen could also use an update on utensils and a toaster! We would not be returning to this particular house with the condition of the living room. This made our weekend stay less enjoyable than before.

Guest from stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in November 2015


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for review of your stay. As you know Irish Landmark Trust is a non-profit charity and we have 26 unique properties that require constant maintenance. We have to budget for each one and replace furniture and other items when we have the funds to do so. I am glad to inform you that there is a budget in place for Galley Head so we hope to be able to get that in motion. Donations, including furniture that is in good condition, are always welcome.

The perfect place to experience a storm!

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Nov 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Galley Head during Storm Barney and were cosily tucked up inside while the storm raged outside - it was great! We had to cut our stay short as there was a problem with the water supply - an Irish Water problem NOT a Galley Head/ Landmark Trust problem. The local property manager and the staff in Landmark Trust were super in terms of trying to rectify the problem and, when that wasn't possible facilitating our relocation. It is remote but that's its appeal and Clon is only 15 minutes away. We will definitely be back to Galley Head and hope to stay in other Landmark Trust properties too.

Vida from Dublin 6 stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in November 2015


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, so sorry your stay had to be cut short but delighted you enjoyed your time at Galley, would be great if you came back to stay at Galley or another magical Irish Landmarker :)

Amazing place!

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Nov 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really nice time at the Galley House lighthouse. Due to us getting caught in bad traffic leaving dublin we didn't reach the lighthouse until after 9pm. The host was very understanding about this and still took the time to show us around. The Fire was ready to be lit and the house was warm. Supplies in the cupboard were in short supply, we were very thankful that one of our wine bottles was a screw top. it also took us a while before we found some tea towels. Apart from that it was amazing to be able to spend a weekend in the presence of the lighthouse. I guess you could call it a childhood dream for both of us lived out in real life. I just wish it could have been longer. I would like to return someday and would like to stay for a few days longer but the one thing that would prohibit us from doing so is the cost of staying, we understand that the cost is well spent but for us to consider it as a viable option for a week long holiday the cost would be quite prohibitive. Again its not something that will stain the memory of what was an incredible weekend.

from Dublin 20 stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in November 2015


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, really would love to see you back in the near future.

A privilege to experience living as the lightkeepers would have with more mod cons of course!

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved staying here, house & scenery were unique, the family story & history of the keepers made it very personal. The diverse weather added to the magic, we had rain & gales on the first day followed by blue sky's and 17 degrees and the most amazing scenery. All our friends are jealous!

Geraldine from Cashel stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in October 2015


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review and great feedback, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, be great to see you back in the near future.

A delight stay in a unique location - a must for lighthouse addicted folks

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Oct 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A dream became reality with our stay at the Galley Head Lightkeeper's House during our journey through the southwest of Ireland. And it exceeded our dreams !
A unique place at a unique spot with a marvelous history to tell - we immediately felt in love.
Starting at the gate with a friendly welcome from Gail and then the last meters you drive on the small path between the white dry wall and then you stop just in front of the lighthouse.
Gail is a wonderful host and even part of the history, but that's something she shall tell you herself :)
The house is a beauty and the big kitchen with the wood table a dream. There is not a lot of luxury to expect but furnished with style.
Then you have to wait till it get's dark and the mystic and magic of the light starts - combined with the cozy peat fire ... in a real isolated spot ... just fabulous.
With some luck you get that chance for a visit of the lighthouse guided by the last active lighthouse keeper of Ireland - just not to be topped.

Sorry that I can't criticize on any thing - expect the stay was too short ...


Frank from Baden stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in September 2015


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, delighted to hear such great feedback, so glad you enjoyed your visit to Galley Head, come back again soon.

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


Sherry from Ballinamult Via Clonmel stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in October 2015


Beautiful

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was relaxing and we enjoyed the beautiful coastline from our double aspect room. It was great to meet Gail who had all the history of the lighthouse as she is married to the youngest of the Butler family who were all born there. The surrounding areas were lovely to explore. Beach walks, pub lunches, we couldn't ask for anything better. Despite the position of the light keepers house we were very cosy with the open fire and central heating. Galley Head Lighthouse is something very special. We will be back.

Sarah from Cashel stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in October 2015


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, thank you for the great comments, look forward to your return.

Exhilarating and Life Expanding Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beyond Expectations! Feeling the breeze whip off the ocean while watching the waves crash into the cliffs felt
so exhilarating and mind boggling, the power and strength of nature surrounded us. The walks from the lovely
household were so serene. To show up to a fire in the fireplace began our arrival of such warmth and welcome.
Not only was the home clean but also quite "homey", with a nice selection of books, too.


Dennis from Traverse City stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 4 nights in September 2015


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for taking the time to write this review, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties.

3 lovly days

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After driving for 3 weeks the 2500 km of the Wild Atlantic Way, we were a bit exhausted and enjoyed to stay at the quiet and peaceful place at Galley Head. Also the weather was nice, so we could sit outside, look over the sea, read a book and just relax.
Thank you again for the very lovely service of Gail Butler which made everything so easy.
Best regards
Claudia Straub


Claudia from stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in August 2015


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties.

Fantastic Stay: Aug 2015.

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The views and location are totally amazing, and so too the passion of the House Managers. The Irish weather is not unknown for throwing tantrums, but there is no day (or night) in Ireland where Galley Head isn't spectacular.

If you want to spend a lot of time sitting out on the wall looking out to sea and listening to the surf, bring a decent jacket, but aside from that, Galley Head has everything. Although the location was perfected by nature eons ago, the addition of a lighthouse made the place even better!

The care and dedication of the Butler family to both the property, and to guests also is fantastic.


Guest from Sallins stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 14 nights in August 2015


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your time at Galley Head, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

Beautiful place

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoy the 2 days in Galley Head, that's a wonderful place, thank you very much ! All the history of the lighthouse stays there, that's a pleasure to learn about it !

Guest from stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in August 2015


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the feedback, its always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties.

Once in a lifetime

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There's honestly no place like it. The view is like nothing else in Ireland.
The facilities are perfect and the owner was so nice to deal with. It's s bit away from the town so you need to be prepared. It's expensive but worth it.


Zoe from Monaghan stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in July 2015


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay thank you for your feedback, come back again soon.

A step back in time!

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jul 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous views in a really great location. The house has that old world feel with modern conveniences. The best bit for us was the lighthouse at night - looking at the beams of light over the sea. There are no distractions (telly/wifi) so if you want to get away from it all this is the place to go. The only downside was the bed - which was too small for the two of us!

Gail was a great host and provided up with loads of local knowledge - places to eat and visit.


Guest from Dublin stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in July 2015


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay at Galley Head. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the Landmark Experiance and we hope to welcome you back again in the future to another of our properties.

A stunning location!

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A stunning location with fabulous views, a unique experience and a retreat from the world! The house is a well maintained, clean and simple property at the top of Galley head overlooking the Atlantic and a lighthouse at the end of the garden. Marvellous for that special break away and good for body, mind and soul to absorb the beautiful seascape. Gail( house manager) was very accommodating & helpful. Will definitely return.

Caroline from Co Dublin stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in July 2015


Driveway Condition

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jul 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The only reason I marked down the condition to 'OK' was the that the driveway of the property was ina poor state of disrepair; and I don't think that it would take much to remedy this issue. Otherwiser a fantastic property in an excellent location.

Guest from Dublin stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in July 2015


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Galley Head Lightkeeper's House 1. As Galley Head Lightkeeper's Houses are located on a working lighthouse station, Irish Landmark Trust unfortunately is not responsible for the driveway to this station. We look after the properties only. However, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Galley Head Lightkeeper's House 1.

Stay at Galley Head

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing location and facility, but a new sofa is desperately needed, and the shower is very poor -- especially for the price paid. Upgrade a bit and I'd have no complaints.

Guest from San Marcos stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in July 2015


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and suggestion, glad you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back.

Spectacular scenery and history

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jun 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The view alone would be enough to recommend staying at this property. It is spectacular. You can really experience the wildness and changing moods of the ocean. What a source of comfort the light must have been to sailors in earlier centuries.
Add to this the story of the last lighthouse keepers, how they lived and what hardships they must have endured, and you have quite an informative and interesting experience.
The accommodation has enough modern facilities to make it comfortable, but retains enough of the old to allow and understanding of how people lived in earlier centuries.


Guest from Sydney stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in May 2015


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review , it's always nice to hear such positive feedback, would love to see you come back in the future.

We'll Be Back

Review submitted on Sun, 31 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lighthouse is a property of the Irish Landmark Trust (ILT). We booked it through their website with no difficulties. The text says that there is a minimum 3 night stay but I put in for 2 nights and it was accepted. The text also says that they are very strict about the number of people in the party. We were 4 adults and a child. Each unit is denoted as sleeping 4 and the ILT office in Dublin insisted that we couldn't have a 5th person even if a child. That turned out for the best anyway as by renting both units we had the entire facility to ourselves. I can't imagine sharing that experience with strangers.

The e-mailed documentation from the ILT was comprehensive and accurate. Payment is via credit card over the web in advance. There are separate managers for each unit. You are required to contact the respective manager 4 days before arrival to arrange for checkin. e-mail and phone numbers were provided. I e-mailed them and both promptly responded. Both had the surname of Butler but the contact information was different.

When I heard back from them, Ger Butler, the manager for Unit 2, responded that he would handle the checkin for both units and to just call him when we arrived in Clonakilty. We were 15 minutes later than we expected but he was there to welcome us.

It turns out that the other manager is Ger's sister-in-law so combining the checkin was no problem. Ger just lives about 5 minutes away.

My son-in-law's family is from Galley Head not 2 miles from the lighthouse so Ger was familiar with the family. As Ger said, we had "connections." We spent 30 minutes visiting with Ger and his partner Marie after we arrived.

Ger has a special connection to the lighthouse. His father was the lightkeeper and Ger and his 14 siblings grew up there! He said that as they slept 4 to the bed, cold was never a problem. I asked him which room had been his and he said he had slept everywhere.

At that time the structure was divided into several areas. The westernmost room is now the kitchen for Unit 2. Previously it was an oil room. The breakfast table in this kitchen has the best view in the houses. The 2 units were separated and the principal lightkeeper lived in what is now Unit 2 and the assistant lived in Unit 1. When Ger's father was promoted, they had to move from Unit 1 to Unit 2. Eventually with automation there was only one lightkeeper and there was a door cut between the units and his family had access to both units.

There is an enclosed corridor from the houses to the lighthouse. Today it has the electronics for the cellular towers. When we asked Ger what it had been used for previously he said that it provided a protected walkway from the houses to the lighthouse for safety in the winter winds. He showed us the worn marks on the stair posts where they wedged a board to keep the door from being blown open by the winter winds. He ought to write a book.

Each unit has 2 bedrooms, one with a double bed and the other with 2 twins. Each unit has a large den and a large kitchen. Unit 1's kitchen is slightly bigger and has a larger breakfast table. Both have complete appliances including oven, stove, small refrigerator/freezer, dishwasher, microwave, cooking utensils and china and flatware. Ger said there was a washer and dryer in a house outside but we didn't use these.

The feeling of the interior is like a newly refinished farm house filled with antique furniture and games for the whole family. The floors are wide boards and freshly painted. I had read on the Internet other visitors' stories about having to learn how to operate the heating. During our visit the heating was by radiator and programmed automatically. We never had to operate or change the heating.

Don't worry about the light from the lighthouse keeping you awake. There are heavy solid shutters on every window. But the beam of light is substantially above the house so the light is not a problem.

I had also read that there was no cellular service at the lighthouse. That demonstrates the construction of the structure. There are numerous cell towers nearby including several ON the lighthouse proper. The problem with cellular service is that the outside walls of the structure are 30" thick effectively blocking the cellular signals when inside. Even if you stand at a window you need to try several windows to get one that has exposure to the cellular carrier you need to use. Standing by the window in the bathroom on the north side of Unit 1 I only got EDGE signal and actually couldn't make a phone call. I walked out of the bathroom and stood by the window at the top of the stairs facing south towards the lighthouse and got HSPA+.

Similarly the inside walls block Wi-Fi signal. I had rented a Vodafone hotspot from Hertz. Even when I placed it near a window where it could see the appropriate cellular tower the Wi-Fi signal wouldn't penetrate the house. It was in Unit 2's foyer and I couldn't see it from Unit 1's bedroom.

Remember that the units are "self catering" and come prepared. Assume that you need to bring everything. We rented both units and found 1 hair dryer in Unit 2. We went into Clonakilty and grocery shopped. Ross Carberry is about the same distance. Beware that the roads are NARROW. On the road up to the lighthouse ignore the "Private Property" sign. There are 2 locked gates that the keys to the units will open. Be sure to lock them behind you to keep out the sightseers. Even with them locked we had a group of tourists walk up. They weren't any trouble and I didn't blame them for seeking that view.

The drive into either Clonakilty or Ross Carberry is about 10 miles of mostly one lane roads. The last mile into the lighthouse is full of potholes. I found a GPS indispensable although it generated different routes going into Clonakilty as opposed to coming from Clonakilty to the lighthouse.

Be sure and let Ger share his incredible knowledge about the history and operation of the Galley Head lighthouse and the other lighthouses in the area. That won't take much prodding. Ger himself worked for the Commission of Irish Lights for 21 years.

I had seen information on the Internet that said that the Galley Head lighthouse was going to be turned off. Ger said that that wasn't true. At some point in the future it will be converted to an LED light source. This will greatly simplify the operation as the LEDs won't have to rotate, just blink. When I asked him when this would happen he said that it would happen when he ran out of bulbs! He said he had 6 spares now. He said that due to the fees from the cellular towers that the lighthouse is actually a money maker.

The light on Galley Head blinks 5 times every 20 seconds. It is painted white with a black ring just under the lights. This is the signature of the Galley Head lighthouse. The black ring was added some years ago to hide the discoloration running down from the catwalk around the lights. When this was done the Commission of Irish Lights had to notify all seamen.

Red Strand beach is about 2 miles away and was good for an afternoon of splashing. At the end of May it was too cold to get in the water.

We had pizza in Richey's in Clonakilty as recommended by Marie. We had lunch in the Celtic Ross Hotel in Ross Carberry. We had dinner in O'Donovan's Hotel in Clonakilty. The dining room hadn't opened for the summer so we ate in the bar. Don't confuse O'Donovan's Hotel in Clonakilty with O'Donovan's Fisher Cross bar near the lighthouse. Dennis O'Donovan doesn't serve pub grub in his bar but his Guinnesses are wonderful.

The house is surrounded by a cliff wall that varies in height from 4-6 ft. with flowers growing in the cracks. Beyond this wall is an amazing view of the northern Atlantic. The grass is green. The rocks are black. The sea is blue. The sea gulls are white. Incredible! Dolphins, whales and seals are reportedly often seen in the waters but we didn't see any. Within easy walking distance are pastures of sheep and ancient ruins. A perfect place for "exploring" as my granddaughter calls it. This is a place to escape from the real world.

On our first visit to Ireland we just visited Galley Head. On this trip we stayed there for 2 nights. On our next trip to Ireland this will be our destination spot. We just need to plan it for while Ger Butler is still managing it.


Guest from Southaven stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in May 2015


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and for all the great feedback , it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties , delighted to hear you liked chatting to Gerard and hearing all about the Lighthouse, would love you to come back and stay with us in the future.

Galley Head

Review submitted on Sun, 10 May 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Though the location of the property is spectacular and isolated ,we found that walking routes were very limited unless you drive at least 5 kilometres. There was no immediate access to the sea as private property notices blocked it.

There was little indication on web site that the two houses have significant differences, one house offering more space and wonderful views from the kitchen.. If booking again I would like to know which house we are in.


Guest from Co stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in April 2015


Galley Head in the 21st Century

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Apr 2015
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I would suggest upgrading the shower in the bath as water pressure is very poor or preferably installing a stand alone unit, there is loads of room in the bathroom for it. The double bed upstairs is comfortable but very small. A tour of the lighthouse would be a nice touch. Is there a need for two sets of gates? (we where blessed with the weather but what if it was lashing rain??) Could they be automated? The locks on the gates need replacement as they are very stiff.



Guest from Glenamaddy stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in April 2015


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay at Galley Head Lightkeepers House 1 was. I would like to take a moment to address some of your comments. Regarding water pressure at the property although it is not super strong force due to the location of the property out on a headland, the strength is usually good. I will check to see if there was perhaps a loss of water pressure during your stay and follow up on that for you. You mentioned the 2 sets of gates leading up to the Lighthouse, yes these are necessary I am afraid. As Galley Head Lightkeeper's House 1 and 2 are located on a working lighthouse station access to these locations must be controlled. In order to ensure the security of these stations gates need to be erected. The salty air can mean the locks do get a little stiff but these are maintained on a regular basis to ensure guests can come and go freely during their stay. I will follow up and see perhaps if we can change the locks on the gates.

Breathtaking views wonderful location

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 2 nights in March and hoped for good weather. We were lucky and the views were magical, the lighthouse is a wonderful location. The rooms were comfortable, clean and homely. There was an issue with the heating which was sorted out quickly.

Guest from Dublin stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in March 2015


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay ay Galley , thank you for the lovely feedback, would love to see you back.

Yet another amazing Irish Landmark Trust property!

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Even on our approach to this property we were blown away. It is truly unique and very special. The introduction by the house manager was great as were learned about the history of the family and we were very very lucky to have a tour of the actual lighthouse with Gerald Butler! Made our stay! Really felt like home for 3 days. (wish it was! ;) The location is great too, with lots to do around. We will definitely be back to stay here again for longer next time.

Guest from stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in February 2015


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great feedback, so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, look forward to your return in the near future.

Very special!

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jan 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you really much for this special experience. Everything was perfect. We loved the location and accomodation. The house is well equipped and furnished with a lot of love. Gail is a great host.

Guest from stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in December 2014


fantastic!

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Dec 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a most enjoyable weekend. What a superb location with unsurpassed views. We will definitely stay again sometime. Many thanks to Gerard and Gail.

Joanne from Glanmire stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in November 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely feedback, delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon :)

Awesome

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Galley Head was terrific in every way. The house was cozy and comfortable, the sea was alive, and the lighthouse was extraordinary. The countryside is beautiful and we had several great day trips to surrounding towns and communities. A special thanks to Gail, who waited for us as we arrived late, and to Alex, who shared with us a personal insight into his mom and dad. We want to come back!

Guest from Villa Rica stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 4 nights in November 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review, it's always great to hear such positive feedback, looking forward to your return.

A lovely holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Dec 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gail and Gerald were terrific! And our stay did not disappoint. I can't think of a better place to "fall off the world". We will be back.

Kindly,
Meredith


Guest from RI stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in November 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the great feedback, look forward to your return.

The Best Place in Ireland!

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Galley Head Lighthouse is my favourite holiday stay in Ireland. The lovely Gail makes this so special for me and my friends with her warm smile and lightness of touch! I could run on and on with superlatives about the Galley. Every sense is heightened by the sound of the sea, the beam of the lighthouse and the peacefullness of the landscape. Thank you Irish Landmark Trust - you never let me down plus you make me very popular with my friends and family when I take them to an ILT property, especially this one!

Helen Z. Cronin
24 Kingston College
Mitchelstown
Co.Cork

025-85698


Guest from stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in November 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review, delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love you to come back perhaps at another one of our properties :)

Fabulous place to stay in a stunning location

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Nov 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been going to Galley Head now for 8 years and we absolutely love it. The location is amazing and the houses are lovely, Gail and Gerard (the owners) are great and extremely helpful.I would recommend it to anyone.

Guest from Inns Quay stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in November 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review,delighted you are coming back to us ,it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, cant wait till you return again :)

Our Time In Galley Head

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Nov 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in Galley Head. After a hectic year it was great to step back into peace and tranquillity. With amazing views the kids didn't even miss the Wifi! Remember to bring lots of books and take at least one visit to beautiful Clonakilty. Sleeping with the shutters open was great to watch the changing of colours on the wall, due to the reflected light of the Lighthouse. We would definitely recommend a stay in the cottage.

Guest from Dublin stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in October 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely comments, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, would love to see you back again soon.

Lovely stay at Galley Head

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Nov 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We didn't leave the property for the entire weekend. We stayed sitting by the fire and enjoyed watching the storm sea outside! The house is very comfortable and warm balancing tradition with modernity. All in all we had a very enjoyable stay and took loads of nice pictures to remember it by. Gail was very friendly and gave us some history on the lighthouse.

Guest from Clonakilty stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in October 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely feedback,delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Our weekend in Galley head.

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Galley head lighthouse and houses are very special. It gives you the opportunity to experience staying in a very special location. The accommodation was warm and clean and very tastefully furnished. I love the surrounding area as there is so much to do and coming back to the lighthouse was magical.
Helen and John. Dublin


Guest from Dundrum stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in October 2014


Magical Setting

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Galley Head was the highlight of our recent visit to Ireland. It is a spectacular setting and very peaceful. We appreciated learning about the Lighthouse from our hostess and knowing that the Butler family continues to be involved in its care. The accommodations were large and comfortable. The views from the house were wonderful, especially at sunset. We hope to return.

Guest from Bonney Lake stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in September 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review,delighted you enjoyed your stay,look forward to your return in the near future.

Amazing

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From start to finish our whole stay here was amazing. The house is so well kept, the views spectacular. We all just felt do at home here. Gerald, the lightkeeper was very informative and only too happy to answer all our questions. Stay here and you won't be sorry.

Kate from Carrigrohane stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in September 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely review,delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Great stay together with our best friends

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Sep 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect organisation (description of the route, phone numbers...) and nice contact before we arrived. We got a very warm welcome, all our questions were answered and we even were shown the lighthouse. Perfect location to spend some quiet, relaxed days, very comfortable and cosy. The views from the rooms are stunning, as is the whole location. We will recommend Galley head to our friends and family.

Guest from 86356 Neusäß stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in September 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the wonderful feedback,it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties.

Spectacular views. Cosy comfortable cottage. Clonakilty is a lovely town.

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Sep 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The views are spectacular. The house was very warm ,cosy and comfortable with an old world charm but with all modern conveniences. The Butlers who showed us around were very helpful and informative. We had excellent meals in An Sugan in Clonakilty and Deasys in Ring. We had lovely walks on deserted beaches and visited Bantry House. All in all a very relaxing enjoyable experience.

Guest from Dublin stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in August 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay,thank you for the lovely comments,would love you to return.

Galleyhead LightHouse 1

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a fantastic experience!!!!!

Welcomed by Gail who showed us around, provided info and key, and came to see us off when we left.

Also met Gerald, the light keeper, who took time out of his day to talk with us and give us a guided tour of the lighthouse. An truly amazing experience all round. My husband and i spent 2 nights here just after getting married and all the craziness of family. We didn't leave at all except to go for the odd walk. What a beautiful peaceful retreat, perfect place to watch a perfect sunset!!

Beautiful property and we met great people staying in lighthouse 2 who we hope to see again on a future trip to Germany:)


Guest from stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in August 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the wonderful feedback,it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties :)

Beautiful!

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Aug 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First, the negative: you will wish you had booked for at least twice as long. Now the positive: the property is beautiful, the kitchen excellently equipped and a pleasure to use, the beds comfortable, the bathroom enormous and sunny. The view is amazing. Highly recommended.

Guest from Wien stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 4 nights in July 2014


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
So happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay and thank you for such a lovely review. Please do try to come back and stay at another Irish Landmark property in the future. We would love for you to expire another property.

View from the bedroom

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Aug 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lightkeeper's house is situated on top of a cliff, overlooking the sea, in a quiet and peaceful area, which is not open to the public. Wonderful view from the bedroom; very friedly and helpful housekeeper.

Guest from Helmstedt stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 4 nights in August 2014


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing Galley Head Lightkeepers House 1. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the views from the bedroom. We look forward hearing from you again if you decide to stay in another Irish Landmark properties.

Perfect. One of the best places we've ever stayed. Period.

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying at the Galley Head Lightkeeper's House was a gift. The photos don't do this exquisite property justice. They can't. The sea, the fields, the crashing surf below, the beautiful and well-appointed house--all are too beautiful to be accurately described in words or to be captured in a photograph. Our extended family took over both sides of the house, Galley Head 1 and Galley Head 2, which, together, would have very comfortably slept eight people. Each side of the house, connected through a door in the living room, would serve as the ideal place for a family of four to stay. The property, which served as a perfect launching point for day trips around Cork County and the eastern part of Kerry County, was a terrific place to both begin and end the day. Our hosts, who know the property and area well, were kind, gracious, and welcoming. Both the place and the people made this a visit we'll never forget.

Guest from Los Angeles stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in July 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review and great comments, would love to see you back in the near future.

Loved out stay ☀️☺️

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Jul 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was like being in heaven, loved our stay. I thought check out time was a little early and they arrived 15 minutes early so I felt I couldn't have my breakfast in the sunny garden as was rushed to leave. Other than that Gail was very helpful with advice before and in arrival.

Guest from Rathgar stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in June 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you loved your stay, the check out time is early so the house can be ready for the next guests arriving.Hope you come back in the near future :)

A little taste of heaven

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Jul 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
John and I spent our 24th wedding anniversary here at Galley Head Lighthouse. I can only describe the experience as magical. On Saturday night we sat outside, beneath the lighthouse under a full moon, it was beautiful. Watching the beams from the lighthouse radiating for miles to see. I can still hear the whoosh of the prism spinning round and round, it was almost like a breath. I cannot recommend this experience highly enough. The hospitality of Gail Butler and the wonderful stories of life working on the lights from Gerard Butler make the experience more magical. As my husband aptly described, it was one for the bucket list! We will never forget this experience and can only hope to return again.
John and Theresa from Wexford


Guest from Dublin 1 stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in July 2014


Irene replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for such a lovely review John and Theresa. We are all delighted that you had such a wonderful experiance at Gally Head.

Really peaceful place

Review submitted on Sun, 11 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a marvelous time at Galley Head. The house and facilities are great particularly the open fire. It is lovely and peaceful and quiet. A great place to get away from it all and re-charge the batteries. We took a long walk to Long Strand and back through a combination of cliff walk, paths and roads all with beautiful scenery. We also took a car trip to Mizen Head where the scenery around the signal station is fantastic. Well worth a visit.



Guest from Dun Laoghaire, Glenageary stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in April 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this great feedback,delighted you enjoyed your stay. Hope you return soon.

Magical Galley Head Lighthouse

Review submitted on Sun, 04 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Galley Head Lighthoue was truly wonderful. Its setting and accommodations exceed all your expectations. We were greeted by Gail who's friendliness and knowledge set the tone for our visit as she gave us a history of the lighthouse keepers.
The views of land and sea are magnificent. At night the lighthouse which fills each window and front door sends beams of light far out to sea and you get a overriding sense of its security and protection. As I laid in bed wanting to watch the beams of light as they rotated, the magic of the lighthouse lulled me to sleep within minutes. Each night I tried and each night I lost.
The remote lighthouse is ideally situated for touring the southern region of Cork and Kerry. The coast is dotted with secluded beaches and has beautiful rugged bays to explore. There is much to see and do and we only scratched the surface in our four day visit. We were awed by Mizen Head, the most southerly tip of Ireland, and completely impressed with the famous Blarney Castle and the views of the parkland from its battlements. We travelled to Cobh and visited St Colman's cathedral which is beyond belief in beauty. The town of Kinsale was as pretty as written about. We also visited the Drombeg stone circle and sat and imagined the past. Galley Head offered us the perfect setting for viewing this historic, scenic, beautiful, fiendly, and magical region of Ireland. Thank you to The Irish Trust and Gail for for our perfect but all too short stay.


Guest from Mannitoba stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 4 nights in April 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review, we love to let guests enjoy our properties. Hope you return in the near future.

Great Stay in a unique setting

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Apr 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic 3 days in the cottage in Galley Head - kids loved it - really safe as it is all walled in and they could run around - close to Clonakility and Rosbarberry - amazing views - will definitely be back

Guest from Cork stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in April 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review, delighted you and the kids enjoyed your stay. Look forward to your return.

a magical place

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Apr 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked the Galley head for my 60th birthday. Although we live locally, my grandchildren and I always gazed wistfully from the beaches and dreamt of staying there. It was a surprise for them and the look of joy on their faces was delightful. Our stay dexceeded our expectations. We were blessed with wonderful weather. The views from the windows are unbelievable and the decor was in keeping. Gail the caretaker was charming and had even got in extra glasses for us to celebrate my birthday. it was an enchanting place. We were saddened by the news that the light is to be turned off as i think this will undoubttedly lessen the sense of magic . It feels like you are in an enchanted other world. We all long to return .When I suggested my 70th , my grandchildren said NO your 61 st !!. Thankyou

Guest from Reenascreena stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in March 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the wonderful feedback, delighted you and the grandchildren enjoyed your stay, Hope to see you back to celebrate your next birthday :)

Great Experience

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Apr 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a weekend at Galley Head.
Gail was very helpful and the house was in great condition.
I am looking forward to returning at the soonest opportunity.


Guest from Limerick stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in March 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted your stay was a great experience, hope to see you back soon.

v

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb

Guest from Orléans stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in April 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Love the photo thank you.

Escape from the ordinary

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Apr 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful location and setting. Gail was extremely helpful and informative. A gale blowing on the Sunday night made it difficult to sleep but all the more aware of why lighthouses were built and manned in the first place. In comparison to other Landmark properties I've stayed in the kitchen was rather poorly equipped i.e. only one wine glass and we struggled a little cooking dinner the first night as the rings on the oven were pretty ineffective. However, who can complain when you literally went from sunshine to rain to cloud to rainbows in the space of 20 minutes. Irish weather at its best!

Guest from Dublin stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in March 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely feedback,come back soon :)

A great experience

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Mar 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I really loved my visit to Galley Head. What stood out was the kindness, friendliness and helpfulness of Gail Butler the house manager and Gerald Butler the lighthouse keeper. Gail was so helpful with information on local places to eat and also visit (all of which were just as good she had described ). Gerald gave us really interesting information on the lighthouse and it's history which we enjoyed immensely. The highlight was a visit to the lighthouse.

What also blew me away was the sheer beauty of the area both around the lighthouse and around the area. We have all traveled over the years to many places but the beauty of the area surpassed anything we have seen anywhere. We genuinely hope to go back again and perhaps spend a little longer in the area the next time. I will recommend a visit to all my friends and family.


Guest from Howth stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in March 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely feedback,delighted you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back soon :)

Galley head

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful, peaceful place, managed by Gail and Gerald who are both lovely, friendly and knowledgable hosts. The lighthouse at night is really magical.

Guest from Gravesend stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 4 nights in March 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the feedback,delighted you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back soon.

A Breathtaking Spot

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Mar 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was my second time at Galley Head. The spot is magnificent. Perched on a high cliff on a spit of land jutting into the sea, when you awake in the morning and look out your bedroom window, you might easily think you are sailing the seas. Both cottages are clean and comfortable (the other one is slightly bigger). You can enjoy your evenings in front of a turf fire. There is no tv, no internet, and no phone reception, so a stay at Galley Head is definitely a (welcome) exercise in getting away. Bring your books, your music, and your walking shoes. The Irish Landmark Trust folks are warm and helpful, and Gail Butler, the person who meets you on site, is a lovely, charming person. Go to bed at night with the Galley Head beacon lighting up the sky (5 flashes every 20 seconds) and drift off to a great sleep.

Guest from Saint Cloud stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 3 nights in February 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great feedback, delighted you came back,hope to see you back again :)

A magic place

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lighthouse is above the cliffs, there is a panorama view to a spectacular landscape and between wind and waves there is a cosy atmosphere inside the rooms. We enjoyed our stay because this is really a place to relax and calm down.

Guest from stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in February 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the feedback,glad you enjoyed your stay :)

Pure bliss

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed in a number of the landmark properties before, my expectations were high. We even considered cancelling due to the extreme weather. But what a weekend!!! The sun literally came out as we caught our first sight of the lighthouse. Pure magic. The house is amazing, comfortable and warm. Suitable for a romantic hideaway or for a family holiday. We were sorry to leave so soon but will be back. We continue our mission to stay in all the landmark properties.

Cathrine from Dublin 9 stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in February 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted weather was nice for you, thank you for the great feedback and the lovely photo :)

Bucket list destination!!

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Gally Head during the recent storms that battered Ireland. We saw first hand what a force of nature the sea and the wind are. Our stay was awesome. We loved every minute of it. The house is an original. Even though the winds howled outside the house felt so solid and secure.To be able to live in such a close proximity to at a working lighthouse was truly a privilege. Definitely something everyone should have on their to do list


Guest from Enfield stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 2 nights in February 2014


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the feebcak ,hope you come back soon :).

Lighthouse stay

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jan 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
One of the most beautiful and excellent places we ever had in our travel life.
The location is absolutely stunning with the seaview, the cliffs and the backland of lush grean meadows. Sea changes color every hour, whales can be seen in the distance. The presence of the lighthouse (functioning) gives everything an extra romantic dimension. (ligth is not bothering inside the house at all). The house is modest but okay. Prepare youself for no televison or wifi; time for reading and family games and long walks in the countryside. Kitchen is good, though sparsely equiped. Lonely, but good shopping possibilities in Clonakilty within a half hour drive. We were staying with a group of 4 and would love to come back to this fantastic place. (owners very friendly and helpful, everything was taken care of)


Guest from Tilburg stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 4 nights in October 2013


Dairine Bennett - Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Hello and thank you for writing this review. A special thanks for sharing your beautiful photo! I'm delighted that you had such a great time in the house and we looking forward to your return. :-)

Galley Head

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jan 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The staff greeted us at the property, showed us how everything worked and had lit the fire, which was much needed on a cold November night. The property was equipped with everything we could need and was in good order. The furnishings were not the smartest but provided a cozy and comfortable setting. The surrounding scenery was stunning and there were a number of varied walks nearby.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly return.


Guest from Marlborough stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 4 nights in October 2013


Dairine Bennett - Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Galley and hope you will return soon!

Warm and cosy on a stormy night

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jan 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in Galley Head 1 + 2 over New Year's 2013/14. Lovely spacious houses. Since we were occupying both houses it was great to have an interconnecting door. We used the sitting room in House 2 and the kitchen in House 1 as they were the largest. But the views from the kitchen in House 2 are amazing! The houses were cosy with open fires and high comfortable beds. We used lots of self-catering accommodation in Ireland over the years and this was definitely the best. The heating was excellent - the house was almost too warm at times - and it was refreshing to have all utilities included in the price rather than the usual tedious meter reading on the last day. Gerry who looks after House 2 was extremely friendly and, having lived in the house himself, was a great source of information. We even ended up buying his book in Clonakilty! Gail who looks after House 1 was very accommodating and easy to deal with.

A few minor points:
Neither of the upstairs bathrooms had doors that locked. In House 1 the door opened even with the bolt closed and in House 2 there was no bolt at all. This wasn't an issue for us but it could be easily fixed.
Also the water pressure in the upstairs bathroom in House 2 was weak, really just a trickle - brushing teeth was a struggle and taking a shower was out of the question. Luckily the shower in the downstairs bathroom was excellent - and the door locked - so again, this didn't cause any major problems for us.
The electricity in the twin room in House 1 didn't work.

On the whole though an extremely enjoyable stay in a great location.


Guest from stayed at Galley Head 1- Lightkeeper's House for 4 nights in December 2013


Dairine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank for your comment. We are really delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Galley Head. We take into account your remarks concerning the problems you met, that is very helpful for us. Kind regards.