FB Twitter

Scriptorium 2

Scriptorium 2

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 6 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.3
Location
5.0
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.2


Click here to view full property details

'SCRIPTORIUM 2' - THE SCRIPTORIUM - 1 BEDROOM


PROPERTY FEATURES: STUNNING ARCHITECTURE - GARDEN
GROUP RESERVATIONS: COMBINE WITH THE CHAPTER HOUSE & THE SACRISTY

Scriptorium stay August 2017

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I am a 64 year old gran and stayed with my 8 year old grandson in Scriptorium 2 for 1 week in August 2017.
We were bowled over by the Highland Club history, facilities and location. Loved the Scriptorium with the character and quirky layout. My grandson thought the lounge was the best and the table tennis in the cloisters. We also played tennis and croquet. The Sciptorium was clean, and had everything we needed including wi fi, freeview TV (both vital to an 8 year old addicted to u tube and kids TV). I loved the feather duvet and pillows.
I think if I had any negatives at all it would be that I would have liked more loo paper and a change of towels midweek. I also didnt like having to lug my binbags to the end of the drive!! Sadly the pool was not available. Would have been nice.
Highland Club was ideally siutated for us at the end of Loch Ness, we caught the Harry Potter steam train from Fort William to Mallaig and also 'did' the gondola up the Nevis range. But we could also go the other way to Inverness. Highly recommend the RIB boat trip from Fort Augustus on Loch Ness - loved it so much we went twice!!
Also the Boathouse restaurant is good, but book ahead for a window seat.




Wished I could have stayed longer

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The bed was a bit lumpy, and there were some spots where paint was peeling or the plaster was cracked. Despite this, this is one of our favorite places we've ever stayed. The building was beautiful, and it was lovely to be able to walk down to Loch Ness. The property manager Sue Bruce was very nice and helpful and did a brilliant job of showing us around. Wished we had been able to stay longer and would stay again!



A special and unusual place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jan 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The Abbey is spectacular and the location on the banks of Loch Ness is really hard to beat. There's something quite magical about being able to wander around the cloisters at night, and if you want somewhere atmospheric it's perfect. The Scriptorium apartment is cosy and well-equipped, with one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. I can't say much about the facilities - pool table, table-tennis, tennis court, various other outdoor things - as we didn't use them (it was the Scottish Highlands in December), and it was a shame that the pool/sauna were out of action due to a fire, as they'd have been most welcome. But these things happen. It didn't spoil our stay. We were given a warm welcome from Sue, and a useful tour. The Boat House restaurant looked really nice, but we'd taken enough Christmas food with us to feed a small army, and the apartment's kitchen, though small, was totally up to the job of cooking Christmas dinner. The Abbey is really just a step away from Fort Augustus, with shops, pubs/restaurants/cafes, and more options for lovely Highland walks than you could possibly cover in a short break. The only thing missing? Snow. But you can't book the weather!



wonderful place, lovely stay

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Dec 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Only needed better clean of the extractor hood and look for the maintenance of wood part of the shower. The appartment was perfect.



An excellent holiday resort

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Oct 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The abbey is an excellent venue for a peaceful retreat away from a busy world. The surrounding area is spectacular with plenty to do . However at the time if our stay there had been a fire in the pool area which meant that we were unable to use the facilities that we wanted to use the most . The offer of a refund was warmly welcomed as we did incur additional expenditure as a result of this and unfortunately the administration if an "urgent " refund was very slow ! Nevertheless we arrived earlier than expected and the property manager was very welcoming and let us into our apartment early . We have had a fantastic holiday and would definately recommend the venue and hope to return ( facilities being available next time )!



Great rental in a central location

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Scriptorium 2 is a perfect spot for 2. The accommodations are quiet and beautiful. There is plenty of room in the rental and it is located in a great spot to explore the area from Skye to Inverness to Fort William. The old monastery is a marvelous location right on Loch Ness and across the street from the Fort Augustus locks.