FB Twitter

Gruinyards

Gruinyards

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 5 reviews
80% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.6
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.8


Click here to view full property details

'GRUINYARDS' - THE MONASTERY - 2 BEDROOMS


PROPERTY FEATURES: STUNNING LOCH NESS VIEWS - WIFI - ORIGINAL FEATURES
GROUP RESERVATIONS: COMBINE WITH STRUAN, FRASER & ABBOTS' REST

The perfect stay on Loch Ness

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family of 4 had the most wonderful time staying at Gruinyards in the Highland Club in July. The apartment was well outfitted and the property and surrounding town are truly wonderful. We were blown away by the gorgeous scenery surrounding us. So thankful for a wonderful holiday in Scotland; we can't wait to come back!



Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied 81 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you had a wonderful holiday and hope you will return soon. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

Consistently spectacular

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gruinyards is consistently spectacular. My second time and I'll definitely be back. Wow doesn't cover it. Doesn't matter the weather the view the atmosphere the Abbey are all beyond awe inspiring. I highly recommend getting out after the sun goes down.stabding by the loch and watching the bats. What a surreal experience. I cannot say enough about this place. I cannot do it justice. It has to be seen and lived to be fully appreciated. Just wow.



Absolutely lived up to our expectations

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Gruinyards based on the view it offered of Loch Ness, so we were expecting to be blown away. But even on a grey rainy March day the sight out of the living room window exceeded all our expectations. Utterly, utterly amazing.

The apartment is also wonderful. The master bedroom is massive and comfortably furnished, with a luxurious en-suite - you can practically go for a swim in the claw-footed bathtub. The twin room was fairly compact but well laid out and extremely comfortable. The shower in the bathroom was hot and strong - what more do you need?

This apartment doesn't feel "posh". My friend and I are pretty down to earth and would have felt worried about breaking things if it had been too luxurious here, but in fact it was like staying at someone's nice home. The furniture was sturdy and practical, everything was nice quality. There's a very slight shabbiness round the edges which we thought added to the charm of the place. It's cosy and comfortable, a lovely place to just chill over a cup of tea or a glass of wine. And all the time that view is waiting for you.

One of the nice things about Gruinyards is the obvious thought and effort that's gone into making your stay pleasant. By this I mean shelves and bookcases with books, games, DVDs, for your entertainment; washing up liquid, kitchen roll and foil in the cupboards since they'r the sort of thing you forget to bring; even a pint of milk in the fridge and teabags & biscuits on the table. These little touches added up to make us feel like welcomed guests rather than just paying customers.

Fort Augustus itself is a lovely little town and the locals seemed pretty friendly.

We're both going to be sorry to leave this apartment tomorrow. If I get the opportunity to come back again I'll grab it with both hands. I really can't recommend it highly enough. After four nights I felt like my soul was soothed and was reluctant to leave. I loved it.




Owner Reply replied 205 days ago
Thank you for taking the trouble to report on your time at Gruinyards, we are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and felt at home there. It has always been important to us that it should be like a second home rather than a show-home and somewhere that people can feel comfortable with their families, whatever their age, and so your comments are really helpful in suggesting that we are getting the balance about right. Yours, the owner

Gruinyards

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Feb 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
You need to be able to handle the stairs but once in the lounge the view is well worth the climb. Super view down the Lock. Everything was clean and tidy on arrival. The apartment was well equipped, including tabs for both the dishwasher and washing machine. Both bathrooms were roomy as were the master bedroom and lounge.



Beautiful views

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a wonderful apartment, equipped with everything a family might need.It was warm and clean with the most beautiful views.
The sofas however, were very old and tatty looking. You couldn't really sit on the sofa bed without the cushions you sit on sliding off. I probably wouldn't book this apartment again on this basis, as a lot of time was spent as a family in the living area and the comfort is important.




Joanne Nicholson - customer services replied 352 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your feedback is very useful. I have spoken to the owner who fully appreciates the situation with the sofa and the cushions. As this has been an extremely popular property due to its outstanding views over Loch Ness there has been a lot of wear and tear on the sofa. Ironically, the owner had already ordered new cushions for the sofa but unfortunately these were not in place for your stay but have now arrived. I am pleased you had a wonderful holiday but wanted to let you know that this is no longer and issue if you wish to book this property on another occasion. Kindest regards Joanne Nicholson