FB Twitter

Caladh

Caladh

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Click here to view full property details

'CALADH' - THE MONASTERY - 1 BEDROOM


PROPERTY FEATURES: WiFi - FULL SKY - SPACIOUS EXCEPTIONAL INTERIORS - VIEWS OF LOCH NESS
GROUP RESERVATIONS: COMBINE WITH THE SACRISTY & THE CHAPTER HOUSE

Absolutely awesome

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hard to describe how fantastic this place actually is. I loved every single thing about it and can't wait to return



Joanne Nicholson replied 26 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you had a wonderful holiday and that Caladh apartment exceeded your expectations. Our aim at Highland Club Direct is to provide a first class holiday for our guests. Caladh apartment is under new ownership and a number of extra items have been added to this property which will enhance the whole holiday experience. Here is the response from the new owners of Caladh who are fully engaged in both maintaining and taking Caladh forward in the future. "we are very pleased that our first guests so much enjoyed their stay and that they are thinking of returning." Kind regards Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

Great location at Loch Ness

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Luxury appartment with great view. It contained everything you can think of. Downside was the non-availability of the pool and the spa area. We don't know if we were informed prior to booking.



Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied 44 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Caladh apartment. We are pleased you had a wonderful holiday and the apartment had everything that you required. Naturally I was concerned to read that you may not have been aware of the non availability of the pool, sauna and steam room. This should not have been the case as it is not in our interest to mis lead people. The lack of pool facilities is advertised on our website also on all the booking information. I have checked all correspondence sent to you and this information was forthcoming. I am sorry that you have overlooked this but hope you will visit again soon once our pool is up and running. Kind regards Joanne Highland Club Direct

A very cosy place

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week at the Caladh property. It really felt like home, with all necessary facilities for cooking, washing, etc. It is a very spacious property with a large lounge and kitchen, another small area with a sofa, and two bathrooms. Very comfortable!



Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied 76 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you had a wonderful holiday and found this property comfortable. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

Caladh : a unique living space within a former Benedictine monastery

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent a delightful 8 days in Caladh (appropriately named as a haven). The first impression is one of space. You are immediately drawn to the high windows with their view across gardens to Loch Ness. The furnishings throughout perfectly complement the layout, featuring a tartan design. There is plenty of space in which to relax in the lounge. The kitchen/dining area is very well equipped. The sleeping area is situated on the Mezzanine, a short distance from a corridor that leads to a pleasant relaxing space with a sofa that can be converted into a bed.
There are plenty of facilities in and around the Abbey itself, with its large grounds. The village of Fort Augustus is just 5 minutes walk away. It has a fine butchers, grocery store and pubs. The Lock Inn is the best pub, whilst The Bothy has the widest range of beers. The finest resraurant can be found in The Lovat House Hotel. The village itself is dominated by the confluence of the Caledonian Canal and Loch Ness. There is always plenty of activity which makes for interesting viewing by landlubbers. A one hour informative cruise on Loch Ness is recommended.




Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied 92 days ago
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you had a lovely holiday and thank for your informative advice on restaurants in Fort Augustus. The apartment is as large as some of our 3 bedroom properties and has been decorated to an extremely high standard, we are pleased that you appreciated the spaciousness and comfort of the surrounding. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

An outstanding property in an excellent location.

Review submitted on Tue, 30 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It doesn't get any better than Caladh. This property is amazing, the layout is perfect for a couple or even a family. Wish e could have stayed longer.



Joanne Nicholson replied 141 days ago
Thank you for reviewing Caladh apartment, it is wonderful to hear you had a great holiday and hope you will return soon. Many thanks Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

A tranquil location

Review submitted on Wed, 10 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing views and fabulous accommodation. So quiet and peaceful. The location and setting couldn't be any more perfect to explore some of Scotland's finest gifts from nature. Am so glad we took the scenic route from Inverness as that was a treat in itself. It's wonderful how so much of the abbey's features remain unchanged.

The accommodation, the Caladh, was spacious, comfortable and clean with all mod cons except a microwave which was no big deal. We spent our waking hours snuggled in the window seats admiring the morning views, the birds and the rabbits. We enjoyed the glimpses of deer as we walked through the abbey grounds.

This was one break we were incredibly reluctant to end.




Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied 157 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You have encapsulated all the gifts we are blessed with here at the Abbey. We hope you will join us again soon. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

Beautiful apartment in a wonderful location

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a fantastic long weekend away in Caladh. The apartment is beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean, with incredible views over Loch Ness. There's lots of great walking to do in the local area and Fort Augustus makes an excellent base. The staff at Highland Club Direct were very helpful and accommodating and we definitely plan to return.



Jasmine - Customer services replied 210 days ago
Thank you for your feedback on Caladh apartment and for pointing out how fantastic this location is for all different levels of walks from easy strolls to more demanding longer walks. As you mentioned the apartment is extremely comfortable and I'm pleased you had a wonderful holiday.

Road trip with Nessie

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Never had such a great stay during my holiday. The view on the loch Ness was just awesome. The apartment was so comfy ! As many things, our stay had an end and it was hard to leave the abbey!



Joanne Nicholson replied 221 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Caladh apartment. We are so pleased you had a wonderful time in this unique and special property and hope you will book with us visit again.