FB Twitter

Orroland Lodge

Orroland Lodge

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 60 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.4
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


Orroland Lodge is completely private, set in its own sheltered grounds with stunning sea views which can be enjoyed from the verandah and terrace. The sea shore can be reached by various private paths which wind down from the house. The accommodation is very spacious with 7 bedrooms and 6 bath/shower rooms. The large dining/party room can seat 30 guests, making it the ideal house for family reunions, celebrations and small weddings. Orroland Lodge can be let on its own or combined with one or both cottages depending on the size of your party.

First visit

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit to this lovely large house , bags of room for everyone
Well equipped kitchen , we liked the aga , huge comfy lounge , with log fires
Set in very private grounds away from the maddening crowds , but near enough to local towns , coffee shops & restaurants !
The weather was mainly kind so we enjoyed sittting out on the terrace enjoying the sea view
The whole family would return , perhaps for longer , a week seems a bit short for such a nice peaceful place


Peter from Blackburn stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in August 2017


Alice replied 28 days ago
Peter it was a pleasure to meet you, and we are so pleased you enjoyed Orroland Lodge. We welcome bookings of any length of stay for much of the year, so hopefully you'll be able to return for longer next time.

MAGIC!

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked all three properties at Orroland for the annual family re-union; this was a first visit. Our gathering had diverse backgrounds and ages between 1 and 77 and yet all were delighted with the location (although the 1-year-old was somewhat reticent on the subject). The properties were clean, comfortable, comprehensively equipped, prepared to a high standard and had that "difficult to achieve" feeling that it was your family home for the duration of stay. I go on holiday to "get away from it all" but, to the modern generation, the cold spots of useful broadband speeds might be an annoyance. However, add the child friendly and beautiful surrounds and easy access to some of the best of Galloway and it is hardly surprising that we intend going back next year.

Robert from Newton Stewart stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in August 2017


Alice replied 40 days ago
Robert, we're delighted with your glowing review. We're investigating what's needed to extend the wifi connection from most of the house to all areas of it.

13th year at Orroland- need I say more!!

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We (family and friends) have been going to Orroland for 13 years and have just booked for next year. Our eldest grandchildren were 5 years when we went the first time and are still keen at 18 years! Orroland is a unique and special place, we rarely go off site and spend our days playing badminton, cricket, rounders, archery, crabbing on the beach, kayaking, running, skipping ( we have some fitness fanatics), playing pool and generally relaxing. We all have busy lives and this is our catch-up and chill out time.All 14 of us are looking forward to next year and are hoping to add more friends in Cutlars lodge.


Guest from Leicester stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in July 2017


Alice replied 63 days ago
It is such a pleasure to read your review and also to have met you all year after year – watching your families grow and you enjoying all Orroland Lodge has to offer. Best wishes, Alice

A beautiful place

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here at the Lodge for a week with friends for a celebration. We were warmly welcomed with a cake! Orroland is such a beautiful picturesque setting. The weather was kind to,us and we were able to enjoy all of the gardens as well as the shoreline. We ate in at times making the most of the well sized kitchen and the Aga. We also had an exceptional chef for a special meal on one occasion in the enormous dining room. The bedrooms are spacious, many having an en suite facilities just next door. A showere is each of them would be an added bonus. There is plenty storage facilities with a boot room which is handy for humans and dogs, an extra utility room and a second small kitchen area. Plenty of fridges and washing/drying facilities. We all commented on how homely the Lodge was. We felt relaxed and at ease. The owners were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble they certainly wanted us to enjoy it all - and we did, the dogs especially enjoyed it. The grounds are just marvellous. So well kept.
I would recommend this most strongly to anyone wanting a peaceful setting which is not too remote from places to visit- there are many.


Isabel from Newport Pagnell stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in June 2017


Alice replied 98 days ago
Isabel, what a pleasure it is to have a party like yours who appreciate everything we try to put in place for your enjoyment and comfort. We also try and implement guests' hints and use these to upgrade the house all the time. Come back soon!

Family catch up

Review submitted on Wed, 24 May 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a fabulous weekend we had at orroland lodge. The location of the house is fantastic for large family gatherings and with our dogs and kids able to run free it was the perfect location. The beach hut is fantastic addition and we spent all of Saturday afternoon relaxing in the sun with everyone. The only thing that would be a great addition is more showers, with 14 adults, only having three showers was a bit of a nuisance. Other than that we had a great weekend.

Ruth from Cupar stayed at Orroland Lodge for 3 nights in May 2017


Alice replied 122 days ago
Ruth, thank you for your review. It is very satisfying to hear how you enjoyed your stay at Orroland Lodge. We have taken note of your hint re adding more than 3 showers to the mix in the 6 bath/shower rooms available. Thank you and best wishes, Alice

Mum and Dad's Diamond Wedding Anniversary

Review submitted on Wed, 10 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most wonderful relaxing and sunny, sunny weekend. Everything went to plan and the whole family enjoyed every minute. House had everything we needed and was amazing. Great walks and plenty to keep the children occupied. Everyone wondering when we going back!!!

Jane from Dumfries stayed at Orroland Lodge for 3 nights in May 2017


Alice replied 137 days ago
Jane, it was such a pleasure to see you all enjoying yourselves and all we offer at Orroland. You are certainly welcome back any time! Alice

Surpassed our rather high expectations for such a mixed age group

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all (10) agreed that it was the perfect place for our family celebration-spacious but comfortable and well equipped- in a beautiful setting. It was private but we knew help was on hand if required.

Grace from Glasgow stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in April 2017


Alice replied 156 days ago
Grace it was a pleasure to meet you all and see you enjoying Orroland Lodge. Your remarks are very rewarding.

Idyllic

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Apr 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
!We held a family celebration at Orroland Lodge with 3 generations enjoying and loving everything about the place. From the warm and informative detail and communication from Alice and Melinda before our arrival, to the lovely welcome it felt good - but that didn't prepare us for Orroland and its location, both of which are idyllic. Grant you we had glorious weather in God's own country which undoubtedly helped the feel good factor, but everything about the place and the area was perfect for us and we certainly hope to return.

Carol from Haddington stayed at Orroland Lodge for 3 nights in March 2017


Alice replied 171 days ago
Thank you for your encouraging review, Carol. We were so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Orroland Lodge and made use of all it has to offer.

Wish I could have stayed longer

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent property for large groups, plenty of space, wonderful facilities and considerate owners

Carole from Bedale stayed at Orroland Lodge for 3 nights in February 2017


Alice replied 206 days ago
We're happy to hear you loved your stay and found the lodge so spacious. It's a great layout for a large party in which you can always find somewhere quiet when wanted and enjoy large open rooms for gathering together in comfort. Happy to hear you relished the expansive sea views and that you hope to return. Thank you for choosing Orroland.

Perfect for our private outdoor wedding

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired our Orroland Lodge and the cottages for a week to take our whole family away for our wedding. We know Orroland very well but had never stayed at the lodge. Alice and Melinda were a huge help in enabling us to make our dream wedding using the lodge. The lodge made a great place to stay with our family and has beautiful views, everyone had enough space and privacy and there was plenty of places to explore and get away from the wedding pressures! Unfortunately the rain poured on the day of our lovely summer wedding, but the location was so beautiful it didn't matter. Everyone experienced the magic we loved about Orroland and it was everything we wanted (except dry!). The day after our wedding we watched porpoises on the beach with our family and friends.

Lucie from Wigan stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in July 2016


Alice replied 260 days ago
Hello Lucie and Martyn, what a lovely surprise to see your photographs. You were so brave with the weather and all you undertook with the tepee and other arrangements. We were all so happy that it went well and we look forward to seeing you again soon, with very best wishes from William and Alice.

Intimate wedding venue

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Orroland was the perfect location for our wedding set on private grounds with an enchanting old styled house with large rooms and ample bathrooms to meet the needs of our large families. We had the perfect small informal wedding there. We where made very welcome by Alice and the fact that our dogs where welcome too was perfect. I highly recommend Orroland for large families wanting to spend time together with or without an occasion to celebrate. We also hired Cutlar Lodge which was also well equipped, more modern and perfect for smaller groups.

Ian from Bonnyrigg stayed at Orroland Lodge for 3 nights in November 2016


Alice Kennedy replied 308 days ago
Ian, we're very happy you enjoyed Orroland so much and everything went so well for your wedding.

Suited us perfectl, large house, privacy when needed great location and responsive owners

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a family holiday catering for 10 adults and four children aged 2yrs to 10 yrs. The house met our needs and beyond with large comfortable public rooms, many bedrooms, generous kitchen and amazing dining space. All services were clearly explained and when the washing machine died a new one was supplied the following morning. We were met shortly after arrival and again before we left. The house was well heated and set in gloriously beautiful grounds with a cliff top location and access to the rocky shore.

I found some of the lounge chairs too low and a bit worn but all else was fine.


George from Birmingham stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in October 2016


Alice replied 328 days ago
To George and family, we were so pleased that the lodge suited your family so well, and it was lovely to see you all enjoying everything. Upgrading goes on all the time and this is a good time of year to concentrate on drawing room seating. Thank you.

A beautiful Location

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed with 14 Members of our Family and two dogs. children aged from 8-18 and without exception everyone loved Orroland Lodge. there was so much for the kids to do in a safe environment by themselves they really had a fantastic time. Woods, Waterfalls, a Pond a beach kids heaven. the Lodge has a homely feel whilst allowing everyone their space. We also had the luxury of very warm sunny days ,I will definitely be returning for another holiday.

Iain from Lisburn stayed at Orroland Lodge for 4 nights in August 2016


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased that you all enjoyed the very things we try to make enjoyable and accessible. It was sad that you had to leave earlier than planned, but hope for better luck next time.

12th year at Orroland

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As usual we all had a fantastic time! It is a great place for all three generations of our family to relax and have fun. The beach house , the loch and grounds. The rocky beach for crabbing and the pool table for our annual tournament, together with 'archery', cricket or rounders, badminton and board games, quizzes and cards. A great place to make your own entertainment. Oh! and we also have a few fitness fanatics who run and/or skip and do the 'insanity' fitness programmes. Everyone doing their own thing but coming together for lunch and the evening meal.
Val from Leicester




Val from Leicester stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in August 2016


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
It is always such fun to watch the Kisby team all doing their own thing at Orroland and also to see the twelve year progress of the family.

A Geeat Place for a Family Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We always find it difficult to find somewhere suitable for our annual family holiday with 7 adults, 5 children and a dog, and we were very pleased to discover Orroland, which ticked just about all the boxes - plenty of space, the right number of rooms, very well equipped and a location and sea views to kill for. The beach hut was a great bonus and the ideal location for the eldest granddaughter's 11th birthday BBQ.

The grounds around the house were perfect for exploring and games of cricket, and we were all delighted to see the red squirrels feeding; I just wish they had appeared more often! We found plenty to suit everybody in the surrounding area, ranging from water skiing to the daily red kite feeding at Bellymack farm (don't miss it!) to visiting ruined abbeys and castles to lazy days on nearby sandy beaches.

The only criticisms would be of the often unusably slow Internet connection and that the decoration in some parts of the house is looking a bit tired. However, these are far outweighed by the pluses and the support that the Kennedy family provided and we would be happy to stay there again.


David from Harrogate stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in July 2016


Alice Kennedy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you David and family for your lovely review. It's a pleasure to hear of how you made use of all Orroland has to offer. Yes, the decoration is always in hand; having perfected the drawing room this year, we move on to other areas, with the bathrooms next in line. Best wishes from us all, Alice

Lovely holiday in beautiful countryside

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's not easy to find a holiday destination for three generations of family, assembled from all parts of the globe for a reunion to celebrate several significant birthdays. Happily, we found Orroland and, from the first scan of the excellent website, we felt that we had chosen that elusive 'something for everyone' holiday destination (always accepting that one cannot legislate for the vagaries of the weather!) We greatly enjoyed the large common spaces; the kitchen, with its Aga, was the assembly room but we also made the most of the logs for the open fire in the sitting room on the night when we engaged the services of Evie (see Orroland website) to cook our farewell meal. The layout of Orroland Lodge is a little unconventional but we had studied the floor plan provided and had allocated rooms etc before we arrived.

Outside, the estate was beautiful and the walk down to the beach was a constant delight. Probably the highlight of the week was an exciting afternoon spent foraging from our backdoor with Mark (who also features on the website). Together, and with the assistance of Mark's delicious snacks and drinks, we worked our way down to the beach and back again, discussing and (sometimes) tasting foodstuffs that we had walked past without a second glance earlier in the week. We loved the surrounding villages and towns, finding something to do even in low cloud and grey seas.


A from Chester stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in July 2016


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
We were so pleased that Orroland Lodge gave you so much pleasure for your celebrations, and also that you went with Mark for his unique foraging adventure. How sensible to have Evie cook for you as it frees everybody up to enjoy things and relax.

Marvellous Time for Family at Orroland

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Maw, Paw and three daughters with partners, children and dogs enjoyed a superb week at Orroland to celebrate our 40th Anniversary. The 'house' has everything one needs to cook, eat, wine, dine, entertain and simply enjoy and is very safe for the kids to roam freely outside. To sit out in the afternoon and evening looking over the water just chilling was a delight while our 'campfires' on the beach were certainly a different sort of family get together. The bedrooms are such that you do not feel that you are living on top of each other and everyone enjoyed their 'own space'. It would be our intention to return at some time in the future. Thankyou.

Alexander from Glasgow stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in July 2016


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
We very much appreciate your comments about your stay at Orroland Lodge and are so glad you had a happy time. The beach fires are always fun with the added bonus of a different type of barbecue. Best wishes, Alice

Beautiful house and surroundings.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed as a family of 10 people, 2 dogs and a baby of 10 months. Beautiful, spacious house which meant we were not on top of each other. Peaceful atmosphere in the house which meant everyone slept well. The gardens and surroundings were lovely with outdoor tables and chairs and a lovely sea view. There was a walk down to the stony beach where there was a nice beach hut and a a beautifully landscaped fernery and garden with the most beautiful flowers. This was truly a labour of love. It was so peaceful to sit on the veranda of the beach house or the rocks and listen to the birds and the waves. I could have spent most of my time there. There was also a lake and a boating house which had a barbecue, tables and chairs and patio heaters. A boat was also provided. The landscaping around the lake was beautiful. Overall everything was perfect, except the weather but we are used to that and the little town of Kirkcudbright was near, also an adventure park for the younger members of our party.

Joyce from Selkirk stayed at Orroland Lodge for 5 nights in June 2016


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Joyce, thank you so much for your amazing review, which gives us great encouragement with our efforts to make Orroland Lodge a special place for a holiday or any other reason. With our very best wishes, Alice and William

Fabulous place for a relaxing break

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay here with family and friends for our wedding. It's a special place with lots of opportunities to relax and spend quality time with your guests. We all loved it and hope to return sometime. The owners were extremely helpful and did everything they could to make our stay exactly what we were looking for. The only problem we experienced was with the WiFi but I understand that that is being addressed.

Jane from Stockport stayed at Orroland Lodge for 6 nights in June 2016


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Jane for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you and I'm so glad our background arrangements for your wedding went well.

A fantastic. spacious and well-equiped property

Review submitted on Mon, 23 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Orroland Lodge was brilliant for my group of friends as it is spacious, comfortable, and well equipped with plenty of chairs, china, cutlery, etc. The views from the back rooms across the Solway Firth are spectacular, and the Cumbrian mountains can be seen in the distance. The fact that there are plenty of twin rooms makes Orroland Lodge almost unique as it is hard to find properties with beds preferred by my group anywhere. There are plenty of toilets which is important, and also plenty of bathroom/shower rooms so there hasn't been any queuing up at all. We made good use of the American style fridge/freezer and extra fridge, as well as the Aga in the kitchen.
The coastline in Dumfries and Galloway is great for walking, and as there is plenty to see in different places.
Thank you


Guest from Christchurch stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in May 2016


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
It is such a pleasure to receive your super review. I am very glad it all went so well for you all and I was so glad to meet you. Best wishes, Alice

Orroland Easter stay

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely getaway for all ages, had a lovely time, we had a great day at the lake house with the bbq however the beach house is no good if elderly or find it difficult to walk, only went once and didn't try it again but no complaints and would recommend it to others

Sonia from Sunderland stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in April 2016


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
Sonia, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Orroland Lodge and made use of the facilities at the loch. We are sorry your elderly guests had difficulty getting to the shore. It's certainly more of a fun romp down a cliff than a convenient place to get to. With best wishes from us all, Alice

A beautiful house in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jan 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent two weeks over Christmas and the New Year at Orraland Lodge. It was our second holiday there and we knew it wouldn't disappoint !
The owners made us feel very welcome and we're just a phone call away if we needed them.
The house itself is stunning and we felt immediately at home .
There was plenty of room for us , a family party of five adults, five children and two dogs. With space to relax and enjoy the magnificent views over the sea.
The kitchen is blessed with an AGA , lovely to cook with !! Conventional oven & microwaves too.
Despite blustery weather we were able to enjoy the beach and the summerhouse. The children were safe to explore the area & enjoyed walking the dogs on the estate roads.
There are red squirrels in the garden which were a joy to watch.
Will we be returning to Orroland ? A resounding YES!,


Jane from Leek stayed at Orroland Lodge for 14 nights in December 2015


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Jane, it was such a pleasure to have your family at Orroland Lodge for Christmas and New Year and also to receive your lovely review. You bravely put up with Storm Frank and went on to enjoy the outside life at the lodge. Also it was such a welcome to walk in to the lodge and find you had left it clean and tidy – thank you. Best wishes to you all for 2016, Alice

We have been before and it feels like home now

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant time.The weather was excellent and the views stunning.We are definitely going back. Every time we stay there has been an addition to the premises or an alteration which it makes a difference.The outside Patio was just 10 out of 10.

Ron from Nottingham stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in October 2015


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
Ron it was with pleasure to welcome you again together with your friends plus dogs and we were so pleased you enjoyed everything. Alice

One of my favourite UK destinations!!

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was my 2nd time to Oroland lodge for a girly weekend away. The lodge itself is stunning, as are the surroundings, and we were blessed with great weather this time too! The lodge is equipped with everything you need and more, it is peaceful and relaxing and the views are stunning. The owners checked in to make sure we had everything we need and the cake that was baked by the housekeeper for our arrival was a lovely touch! We had good use of the beach house on this visit, but it would equally have been fine if weather as poor as it is all under cover. Caterbirds took good care of us on the Friday night and I would also recommend Peter and his team if anyone is looking for caterers during their stay! I hope to be back to Orroland soon and would recommend it to anyone (albeit selfishly I dont want too many people to know about it as if it gets much more popular I might struggle to get a booking!!)

Thanks again for everything and hope to see you soon

x


Nicola from Edinburgh stayed at Orroland Lodge for 3 nights in September 2015


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
Nicola, thank you so much for your lovely review which provides such good information for future guests. We look forward to your next visit :)

Country retreat with changing views over the Solway Firth

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a relaxing "escape to the country" pent some days just enjoying the Lodge with it's views and extensive grounds especially the track to the shore. Other days visiting the various Historic Scotland castles and Abbeys in the area , an afternoon's hill walk up Screel Hill, a lazy wander round the headland at Balcary point, a land Rover tour with deer coming up to the van at Sandyhills, and Grass sledging and archery at Laggan outdoor centre.
Lots of comfortable space here for our group to spread out, and importantly lots of bathrooms no waiting in the morning , and wifi to keep an eye on the weather.

Dumfries and Galloway is a forgotten corner of Britain with a lot of unspoilt places to explore.

We had a great holiday here.


Kenneth from North Shields stayed at Orroland Lodge for 14 nights in September 2015


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
Ken, thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased you found so many attractions in the area to make it fun. The climb up Screel is very rewarding with the local and distant views amazing. Also we were thrilled with your photographic results which covered so much including a red squirrel in the garden.

Excellent for just some or all of the family.

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay very much. There was lots of wildlife around the cottage and the view over the sea was perfect. All the place needs is a pool and a hot tub and it would become an exclusive get away location, although as it stands you will be hard pressed to find anything better.

There are plenty of places to sit inside and outside.

Privacy was second to none as the cottage is a mile or so down a private road.


Michael from Jeddah stayed at Orroland Lodge for 2 nights in September 2015


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
We were so pleased you enjoyed your very last minute stay, and took advantage of all Orroland Lodge can offer, including a trip to the Mull of Galloway. A big note has been taken about the hot tub and pool! We shall do our best to add the hot tub, at least, and also a barbecue area. Perhaps the biomass fuel system can play a big part in all this. We shall investigate it all.

Orroland for Gran's 80th

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at Orroland. The weather was wonderful so we spent most of the weekend on the terrace overlooking the Solway Firth, so beautiful.
We enjoyed walking round the estate and foraging on the beach.
The house had everything we required for our celebrations and we were all very comfortable. Lots of space for everyone.
A wonderful location and house for a family get together.


Susan from Linlithgow stayed at Orroland Lodge for 3 nights in August 2015


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Susan, thank you so much for your lovely review. We were so happy that you enjoyed the grounds, which we try to keep well maintained, and the shore which is so full of interest. It is rewarding that you planned your celebration here after a previous visit to Cutlar's Lodge.

A week in August

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property and grounds are beautifully maintained and the facilities (washing machines, baths etc) are abundant. The setting near the sea is wonderful and the gardens are lovely. Privacy is good. Lots of things of interest in the area. Overall, a terrific place for a family holiday.

Guest from York stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in August 2015


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
It is very rewarding to hear that all our efforts to maintain a high standard in Orroland Lodge and the surrounding grounds have given your adults, children and dogs so much pleasure. Also that you enjoyed your visits to the summer house on the shore and the places of interest that abound in the area.

Golden wedding Anniversary celebration

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The whole family enjoyed a wonderful week at Orroland Lodge to celebrate my parents Golden Wedding Anniversary. It is a magical place, a beautiful house with stunning scenery and gorgeous grounds. The only thing that could have been improved was the weather but we had a wonderful time despite this. Everyone was so helpful when booking, providing us with useful information especially sally the housekeeper who spent time helping me to plan a special surprise on arrival for my parents. She prepared a wonderful Golden Wedding display with chocolates and champagne. Fantastic! Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us so we could have a special and memorable time as a family. I would highly recommend Orroland Lodge to anyone.

Guest from Middlesbrough stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in July 2015


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
We are so delighted with your review and also that everything went so well for your celebrations at the lodge. Thank you for your message about passing on recommendations to your friends. Alice

11 years at Orroland

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The fact that we have been going to Orroland for 11 years and have booked for 2016 and 2017 says it all! The whole family have a wonderful time there!

Guest from Leicester stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in July 2015


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
As usual it was a pleasure to welcome the Kisby family and we were so pleased that you all had a really good time at Orroland Lodge. We are more than delighted that you have already booked further visits.

Excellent base for our golf

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent week at Orroland Lodge. It provided a great base for playing golf on the Solway firth. Would particularly recommend Southerness and Powfoot as really good links courses.

We used Caterbirds for three nights and they provided a cooked and two ready meals for us. They are excellent with home cooked food tasting great.

The accommodation suited our needs absolutely and Our hosts Alice and Willoam were available when necessary.

Would fully recommend.

Adrian Booth

Kenilworth Warwickshire


Guest from Kenilworth stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in June 2015


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
Adrian it is marvellous to hear your feedback from your stay at Orroland Lodge, and also that the golf went so well and you wisely chose to have catering done by Caterbirds which certainly helps to make the evenings more pleasurable. Thank you again, William and Alice

Yet another beautiful holiday at Orroland

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we have been coming to Orroland Lodge now for a lot of years - its the kind of place you could never get sick of going to! The house is kept to a very high standard and the surrounding countryside is lovely. Its a place for all ages. Love every minute I spend up there.

Guest from Hexham stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in June 2015


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
Linda, once again after many years it has been a pleasure to have you all staying at Orroland Lodge. You always seem such a happy group and I am so pleased to have your feedback. Thank you from William and Alice

A perfect location for an intimate wedding!

Review submitted on Fri, 22 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Orroland exceeded our expectations for our wedding. All of our guests loved staying in such a beautiful location and we loved having the freedom to make the wedding unique to us. The venue is simply stunning and you can clearly see the huge amount of work the Kennedy family have put into making the estate what it is today. From our initial contact, the owners have gone out of their way to help and advise us about local contacts for the wedding. They were also incredibly accommodating to our ideas for making the wedding exactly how we wanted it (a feature we found lacking in nearly every other wedding venue!!!). We cannot wait to visit again in the future and thank you for helping us to achieve the intimate wedding we had always dreamed of!

Guest from Swansea stayed at Orroland Lodge for 4 nights in May 2015


Melinda and Fiona replied more than 1 year ago
Wow! What an amazing review. We really enjoyed being part of your wedding planning. With so many excellent wedding suppliers near us it was easy to provide you with great contacts to help you achieve your vision for exactly how your wedding day should be. We’re very happy to have had our first ever falconry display thanks to you; we had three red kites circling our wood this morning as it happens. Thank you for your appreciation of all the work that goes on here, for your enthusiastic feedback and for those slices of absolutely scrummy wedding cake. All the best from us all, Melinda and Fiona

Family reunion and wedding orroland and Cutlars

Review submitted on Wed, 20 May 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Location excellent.
Lodge could do with a refresh.
Few minor things all quickly sorted out, but otherwise a great time.
Fantastic log fire and very cosy stay



Guest from Kilmacolm stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in May 2015


Fiona and Bob replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. Congratulations on your marriage; we were thrilled the sun came out so you could be married on the terrace, making the most of the spectacular location and views with your family. When you have been out and about exploring the log fire is so welcoming to arrive back to isn't it. We take on board your comments regarding a freshen up and work has started on a schedule of decorating. Glad we were on hand to do all that was needed on your special day. Fiona and Bob

Birthday treat

Review submitted on Fri, 08 May 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
House was beautiful but a little tired in some areas. We had a mouse in the kitchen on our first night. When we told the owner she didn't seem to believe us. Really put a dampener on our trip.

Guest from Port Glasgow stayed at Orroland Lodge for 2 nights in April 2015


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
I could not be more sorry that you had such an awful time with the mouse, and I am sorry too that I gave the wrong impression. I was horrified that such a thing had happened as we keep a strict eye on these things. I hope you have some happy memories of your stay.

Fab family get together in a wonderful house set in a stunning location

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week March/April at Orroland Lodge, there were 12 of us with an age range from 25 to 90 and everyone throughly enjoyed themselves. The location set above the beach has stunning views over the Solway Firth to Cumbria not always visible while we were there.
When I walked through the doors for the first time I couldn't believe how big the house was and how warm it was. The whole time we were there we were never cold, in fact we spent most of our time in tshirts whilts in the house, while the wind, rain and snow blew outside. We had lovely walks on the beach, and around the beautiful grounds. Every morning we were entertained by the red squirrels having breakfast. Our dogs loved the gardens, and the boot room was a great place to dry them off in before they came into the kitchen and snuggled in front of the Aga.
All the bedrooms a very spacious as are the downstairs bathrooms. The two upstairs shower rooms are small but adequate and if you need more room the downstairs wet room is great. The sitting room is vast and many an evening was spent playing Articulate with much cheating and laughter. The kitchen is well equipped and we all took turns in cooking.
To sum up the week, good food, good wine, good company, lots of laughter all set in a wonderful location in a stunning house. Thank you


Guest from Minehead stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in March 2015


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
Your review gives us a great deal of satisfaction and you highlight all the things on offer which we try to continually improve. Thank you for this. Alice

Well worth it!!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Something for all; children, adults and dogs. Spacious accommodation that more than facilitated our large group with very friendly owners/keepers. We certainly benefited from some excellent weather that allowed some stunning views across the Solway. A shame the beach wasn't easier to walk, but would definitely return.

Guest from Bedford stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in April 2015


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit to Orroland Lodge and made good use of the house and its surroundings. As you say, the beach at Orroland is more geared to exploration and adventure than long distance walking, with archeologically interesting rock formations, fossils, weird shaped rocks and tide-pools to poke about in. I do hope you enjoyed the blend of our rocky shoreline and the wide-open spaces of the many nearby sandy beaches 20-30 minutes away.

Location second to none

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Mar 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful large house for family gathering. Fantastic views and privacy. Perfect location. House full of character. Interior not as new as the photos suggest but that didn't bother us. All firewood supplied for the roaring fire. Hope to return next year.

Guest from Stirling stayed at Orroland Lodge for 3 nights in March 2015


Alice Kennedy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for you nice comments and I am so glad you enjoyed your weekend. We do try to maintain and update the furnishings and decor; indeed the decorator has been up a ladder in the house for several days this week and we are presently upgrading a shower room. We'll continue to work away and welcome the hint to pay close attention.

weekend for family shooting party

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
one of the best shooting weekends we ever had . Location of the Lodge was very convenient. The owners were extremely nice and very helpful and the house provides everything a large group of guests needed

Guest from Swinbrook stayed at Orroland Lodge for 2 nights in January 2015


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your encouraging review, and we are very pleased that you found the lodge such an excellent venue for your shooting party.

An Excellent Venue

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jan 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Orroland Lodge is a magnificent house, in a wonderful setting. The facilities are excellent, everything you need is available. The AGA in the kitchen is fantastic, and was more than adequate for our Christmas meals. Obviously, visiting over the Christmas period, meant some poor weather, but we were still able to go for walks in the magnificent grounds, visit the shore line, and on very wet days, there were books and games provided to keep adults and children happy.

My only very minor criticism, was the very slow wifi, and no mobile service. But the wifi did work, you just had to be patient, and it was rather nice not to have mobile phones ringing.

We enjoyed our visit to Orroland Lodge, and plan to return, very soon.


Guest from Leek stayed at Orroland Lodge for 8 nights in December 2014


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
Always an adventurous time to get away for Christmas and we are so glad that you all had a good time. We will certainly take more advice about how the wifi can be improved, but as you say perhaps it is a holiday to have a break from continuous ringing.

An early Christmas family get together

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Dec 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had the best time @ Orroland Lodge,it's warm, comfortable & well equipped,the grounds are splendid,
With amazing views,night walks with torches counting stars, our own mini
Tough Mudder competition,all went to create an unforgettable time.
Our family are aged from 70 to just one year old.

Thanks to the Kennedy family


Helen from Tranent stayed at Orroland Lodge for 3 nights in November 2014


Alice Kennedy replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased that everything went so well for your family party and that you enjoyed the grounds which Orroland offers for inventive games. It was also fun for you to have an early Christmas celebration making such good use of the facilities the house offers for such a party. Thank you for returning to Orroland, Alice

Fantastic Long Weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our group of 14 friends had a wonderful time at Orroland Lodge. Not only is the house exceedingly comfortable and welcoming to guests, every need is catered for. Add in a fantastic location and secluded grounds and the scene is set for a successful occasion. The Kennedy family are particularly helpful and friendly.

For that extra bit of luxury why not try Caterbirds catering from Castle Douglas who, based on our experience, are second to none and will deliver and serve fantastic food for your stay if required. Looking for a great day out? Travel 30 minutes northwest and be prepared to enjoy a fantastic day out with a difference at Laggan Outdoor, by Gatehouse of Fleet.

Every single one of my party enjoyed themselves to the full and had a weekend they will, I know, never forget!


Guest from Pool of Muckhart stayed at Orroland Lodge for 3 nights in November 2014


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
We really appreciated your lovely review and so glad you all enjoyed your holiday with a great contribution from Caterbirds.

RETURN TO ORROLAND

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second holiday in Orroland Lodge and it was just as enjoyable as last time. Alice and William are so supportive and enthusiastic - sharing stories of the estate and happy to give help and advice. We will be back again!

Guest from Glasgow stayed at Orroland Lodge for 3 nights in October 2014


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
We are so delighted that you and your group of artists enjoyed your second visit to Orroland. We were fascinated by your work and happy that the surroundings provide the subject matter you appreciate.

Family trip to celebrate Golden Wedding

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well equipped house in a fantastic location. 14 of us stayed with the youngest being 9 and the oldest 79 - there was something for everyone! Very helpful owners and staff - no enquiry was too much trouble to deal with. Would also recommend Caterbirds, Peter was very helpful and accommodating of our wishes. I'm sure we'll be back.

Guest from Kinross stayed at Orroland Lodge for 3 nights in September 2014


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
It is very rewarding to receive such a lovely review and learn that we have provided the setting for a happy weekend for your family.

Beautiful Place

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Sep 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The lodge itself is absolutely beautiful, and it is in one of the most stunning locations you could wish for. The atmosphere is very relaxed, and we all had such a wondeful time there. We will be back!

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Orroland Lodge for 2 nights in September 2014


Alice Kennedy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you; we are pleased you found the lodge a good place for your corporate do and look forward to welcoming you back.

Amazing weekend in your amazing lodge!

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place was perfect for relaxing with our group. People could walk around the grounds or chill in one of the many rooms. Well organised cupboards. Grwat space & bathroom/bed numbers. Only thing is maybe saying its charcoal bbq so people bring coal.

Karen from Martinborough stayed at Orroland Lodge for 2 nights in August 2014


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review, and we are so glad the lodge gave you the background you needed for your reunion with birthday parties. Charcoal can be rectified, but a future ambition is to build a ‘proper’ brick built barbecue which will be able to take any fuel – even the ample supply of sticks lying around in the woods. With good wishes to you all, Alice

Midweek corporate break

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Aug 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful house, well furnished, plenty of space. Used this as a team building excercise and my team left raving about the place, best meeting ever ! Would definitely use again - even to bring the family back this time !!

Daniel from South Lanarkshire stayed at Orroland Lodge for 2 nights in August 2014


The Perfect Family Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived at Orroland on a Saturday evening and stayed for a week. We loved every moment from then on. We walked on the seashore, we relaxed at the summer house, we had champagne and rowing boat races at the lake house. We cooked wonderful meals in the very well equipped kitchen. We slept soundly in the very comfortable bedrooms and in the silence that surrounded us. Our dogs had the freedom to run and play with no danger of traffic. There were 12 of us having a large family get together and it was the perfect place. We can't wait to go back. We were blessed with the weather but most of all we were blessed with the wonderful Orroland Lodge.

Guest from Crawley Down stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in August 2014


Alice Kennedy replied more than 1 year ago
It is such a pleasure to welcome parties like the Reid family reunion from Australia to Edinburgh, and find that they and their dogs have had such a brilliant time and made use of all the facilities we offer. Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday.

10 years - looking forward to the 11th !!

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jul 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This year was our 10th year at Orroland Lodge, this year we also had friends staying at Cutlar's Lodge (18 of us all together). We had a fantastic time as usual, the grandchildren were 5 years old when we first came - now at almost 16 they are still keen to come with us all next year. Each year something new and special has been added, the beach house, the new patio, new kitchen, the 'Hares' etc. There is always something for everyone to do, whether it is crabbing on the beach, taking the kayak out, a pool tournament, cricket and rounders or 'bows and arrows' ( you can't call it archery), or photographing the wildlife or running early in the morning !! There is also the shopping contingent ( the same two each year) who have sampled all the cafes and coffee shops in Kirkudbright and Castle Douglas. We have a thoroughly relaxing holiday in a beautiful setting and everyone looks forward to the following year. Highly recommended.

Guest from Leicester stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in May 2014


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
How lovely to hear appreciative remarks from a group who are now old friends; thank you. This makes us all the more determined to add 'something new and special' regularly. You really do make the most of the place!

A week at Orroland

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have visited this property a number of times and each time found it to be beautifully clean, well presented and providing all the features we required for a peaceful retreat, shielded from all the pressures surrounding more populated areas. The extensive gardens, which included wild flower meadows were particularly noteworthy this year. The addition of a new garden balcony overlooking the bay and with table and chairs was a particulare delight for breakfast meals and evening drinks. The property and large grounds are superb for those that would enjoy walking and the surrounding area is very well placed for bicycle, dog walking and fishing acivities.

The propoerty and grounds are a credit to the careful thought and detailed work invested by the owners over many decades.


Guest from Northwich stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in June 2014


Alice Kennedy replied more than 1 year ago
What a pleasure it has been to read your review. It shows us that all our efforts to make Orroland Lodge the best place to come to for a relaxing holiday with family and friends are winning through. We shall continue to add and improve everything possible.

Amazing stay at gorgeous location

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived at Orroland lodge to find a lovely homemade cake waiting for us. The lodge itself is absolutely gorgeous with stunning chandeliers. The views over the Solway are spectacular, so much so this was where we chose to have our wedding ceremony and wedding reception here. It was a fantastic location for our small wedding. We had a perfect day. Thereafter we enjoyed a trip down to the beach hut on the shore line and enjoyed a walk up to the pavilion and summer meadow. Everyone commented that Orroland was such a fantastic location.

The lodge itself is very spacious and provides excellent accommodation including large bath tubs and luxury Egyptian Cotton towels. We loved sitting out having breakfast on the patio overlooking the sea. It's simply an amazing place and we absolutely loved our time here and were very sad to leave.


Guest from Dumfries stayed at Orroland Lodge for 3 nights in June 2014


Alice Kennedy replied more than 1 year ago
How much we appreciate your marvellous review! We tried to make sure the house and grounds would be as immaculate as possible for your wedding, and are so grateful that this was all appreciated fully.

Fantastic setting for a family weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jun 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our family weekend at Orroland Lodge very much. We found that the large kitchen, dining and drawing rooms provided the perfect spaces for the family gathering and for the larger buffet lunch and party (30 people) on Saturday. Many of the guests were local people but were unaware of the Orroland Estate and were very impressed with the Lodge and its setting.

My family particularly enjoyed sitting out on the patio on sunny evenings and we had a very enjoyable barbecue on Sunday, when some of the men were also able to try their hand at fly fishing. My husband had some success, catching two fish of two and a half pounds each.

We enjoyed walking down to the beach and around the gardens and grounds and were very impressed with all the improvements that the Kennedy family have made to the estate in recent years.

A couple of the showers are a little dated and difficult to use, but I believe that there are plans for further refurbishment in those areas. Aside from that, the accommodation was very comfortable, practical, well equipped and clean.

I was also impressed with the speed with which the Kennedy family responded to my queries in the lead up to our stay.

Thanks again for providing such a lovely setting for our birthday celebrations.


Guest from Castle Douglas stayed at Orroland Lodge for 3 nights in June 2014


Alice Kennedy replied more than 1 year ago
Hello, thank you for your review and I was very happy to read all your nice comments in the visitor's book. We shall certainly be improving the showers - they came second to the biomass boiler! Thank you for leaving it all so clean and tidy which was very much appreciated. Best regards Alice

A little bit of paradise

Review submitted on Wed, 21 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I regularly enjoy holidays with large groups of family or friends and have visited many of Scotland's large holiday homes. It can be difficult finding a place that 'ticks all the boxes' for everyone. Orroland delivered in all areas of expectation- comfort, quality, location, facilities....
Our stay in Orroland Lodge was perfect. The lodge overlooks the sea with a patio and viewpoint leading directly from the lounge - delightful spot to sit and have morning coffee - is surrounded in a wealth of wooded and landscaped gardens abundant with bluebells and wild garlic (we visited in early May) and a delight for the bird watchers in our group.
We were a group of artists, so found the use of the pavilion as a studio with it's large log fire a real boon if the weather turned on us! There is also access down a winding path to the rocky beach - another stimulating space to enjoy.
The house is very comfortable with flexible accommodation and a well appointed kitchen - the Aga providing a constant homely warm welcome. The large dining room and lounge easily accommodated our group of 12 people.
We are hoping to organise another painting holiday soon and can envisage a long relationship with this little bit of paradise.


Guest from Glasgow stayed at Orroland Lodge for 3 nights in May 2014


Alice Kennedy replied more than 1 year ago
What a marvellous review from such a super group; thank you. You made terrific use of the house and the pavilion at the loch for your painting ... with very fine results. It is rewarding to have guests who enjoy the surroundings and wildlife so much.

Ruby Anniversary with family

Review submitted on Wed, 07 May 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Orroland Lodge I would recommend to anyone, young or old. Arrival in the sun to well-manicured drives and gardens was a joy. The staff were so helpful and friendly, nothing a problem.The lodge is well-equipped and comfortable. Great!

Archibald Craig from Ayr stayed at Orroland Lodge for 3 nights in May 2014


Beautiful house in a magical location

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Apr 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about Oroland was perfect , a beautiful house overlooking the Solway Firth with great views from almost every window , enough space so that even with 14 of our extended family there, it didn't feel cramped , and all set in the most fabulous huge private grounds with a lake , a pond and wonderful gardens.
We saw deer, red squirrels, buzzards and pheasants - all in the grounds!
Even with average weather (Scotland !) it didn't matter - we were all quite happy in and around the house on rainy days.

Loved it



Guest from Richmond stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in April 2014


Alice Kennedy replied more than 1 year ago
So very pleased that your party enjoyed Orroland Lodge so much, even though the weather was not very welcoming some of the days you were here. Also that you saw so much wildlife and appreciated the grounds. Thank you for coming!

a wonderful weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot recommend Orroland lodge enough for anyone looking for a relaxing away from it all holiday. We spent a lovely weekend there in the midst of a 75ml/hr coastal gale and were snug and cosy despite the size of the house. There were 14 of us there, and everyone agreed that it must be absolutely superb in the summer if it was this good in the depths of a very cold miserable Feb. It is a beautifully situated and extremely well appointed and , while we had the catering services of "caterbirds" who ,I may add, were excellent, self catering would never be a problem with the quantity and variety of crockery , equipment etc. available

Guest from Airdrie stayed at Orroland Lodge for 3 nights in February 2014


Alice Kennedy replied more than 1 year ago
To receive such a review gives us a tremendous feeling of gratitude and pride after our efforts to make Orroland Lodge a welcoming place to visit for all occasions. Thank you. I’m so glad you enjoyed the warmth and comfort in the lodge, provided by our new biomass central heating system, despite there being a huge coastal gale blowing outside! It's very good to hear that you thought our catering partners, Caterbirds were excellent too.

Impeccable comfort and hospitality in a truly spectacular setting

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family spent a week after the Christmas holidays at Orroland Lodge. Alice and William could not have been more gracious and considerate hosts. A lovely fire was already going in the fireplace when we arrived, along with bottles of wine and champagne to toast the New Year. The weather was wild that week, and when at one point, inevitably, the power went out, William and Alice offered to have a generator brought to the house. (Fortunately power was restored before that was necessary!) The public rooms of the house are warm and spacious, the bedrooms are cosy and comfortable, and the setting, on a cliff overlooking the Solway Firth, is breathtaking. The land around the lodge was such fun to explore, with fields, ponds, and a beautiful path down to the beach. We really appreciated the fact that dogs are allowed at the Lodge; our two Labradors enjoyed every moment of our stay, as did we all!

Guest from London stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in December 2013


Alice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving the lodge all spic and span, we are most grateful. My helpers also appreciate the bonus food you left for them. I do hope your run south was smooth. Memorable weather! The sea looks so dramatic when the wind gets up. Glad the dogs enjoyed their holiday too. With kind regards, Alice

Why do you need a title? It's just a review!

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Oct 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really appreciated the beautiful flowers in the sitting room and the yummy traybake. One or two beds were not really uncomfortable but very squeaky and could disturb your room-mate.

Guest from Ormskirk stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in October 2013


Wedding Anniversary

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Orroland was chosen as it was large enough for 13 of us who met to celebrate a 25 wedding anniversary. A perfect choice, welcoming, spacious, warm, very well equipped and roomy enough for us not to be on top of one and other. For peace and tranquility it could not be beaten. A place to return to again and again.

Guest from Sleaford stayed at Orroland Lodge for 7 nights in September 2013


Sheryl Wheeler replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to meet you during your stay at Orroland and thank you for the excellent review. I am so pleased that Orroland Lodge was the perfect setting for a family occasion as important as a wedding anniversary, not to mention the Murder Mystery party! It was lovely to hear that you found your accommodation so homely and comfortable and that you were able to enjoy our peaceful setting and see some of the wildlife residing here. I am delighted that Dumfries and Galloway met your expectations and a warm welcome awaits if you choose a return visit to Orroland.

Orroland Lodge - A real family holiday location!

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Aug 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family holiday at Orroland Lodge was everything we could have hoped for and more! From the moment we arrived we felt 'at home'. Orroland is ideal for extended families who like to holiday together. We love to spend time with our grown up children and our grandchildren but with 3 foster children of our own this can be difficult, unless we are able to find a suitable large property. Orroland was resoundingly voted the best property we have stayed in, and Dumfries and Galloway a perfect holiday location, with something for everyone. The only problem we found was leaving, and I would return in a heartbeat!



Guest from Tayport stayed at Orroland Lodge for 14 nights in July 2013


Melinda Kennedy replied more than 1 year ago
We're so happy you enjoyed your time at Orroland and that Orroland Lodge was voted your best holiday house ever. It's so motivating to know that. Thank you.