FB Twitter

Cutlar's Lodge

Cutlar's Lodge

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 34 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


A pretty cottage set in its own fully enclosed gardens overlooking the wild flower meadow. It's a glorious walk to the seashore and a 2-3 minute amble to the landscaped loch and pavilion. Cutlar's Lodge has oodles of character and cosiness. The sitting room has a welcoming open fire and we provide unlimited logs.

Our perfect wedding & baby naming ceremony venue

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most fantastic holiday, intimate wedding ceremony & baby naming ceremony.
The cottage is so clean, homely & well-equipped.
Our ceremony was held by the loch - just perfect! Nothing was too much trouble for Melinda.


Sue from Birmingham stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in June 2015


Melinda replied 2 days ago
Hello dear Sue! So many congratulations to you and Gary on your marriage. I feel so privileged to have met you and your family and to have seen how beautifully you planned your wedding and baby naming ceremony. It was lovely how you all walked down to the loch through the wild flower meadow with the sound of the piper leading the way. Enchanting. I'm very happy that Cutlar's Lodge suited you so well.

A fantastic getaway cottage!

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently had a small family wedding at the Orroland estate and some of our guests stayed at Cutlar's lodge for a week. They all thought it was a beautiful cottage in wonderful surroundings. They commented on how there was a great balance between a country cottage style with modern fittings. It was comfortable and immaculate throughout. The team at Orroland ensured that everything was going well and we knew they were on hand to help with anything our guests required which helped us to relax for our wedding! We would definitely recommend a stay at Cutlar's lodge or any of the other sites on the estate.

Guest from Swansea stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in May 2015


Melinda replied 19 days ago
It was such a pleasure to provide the location for your wedding and we're very happy your guests found Cutlar's 'comfortable' and 'immaculate'. Perfecting these two core practical elements and delivering them with genuine interest in our guests is second-nature and what we strive for every time. Thank you for choosing Orroland and for letting us join in the fun of your wedding planning.

A wonderful week

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful week spent in Cutlar's Lodge. Just as we remembered it - a comfortable home from home. The bathroom has been replaced since our last visit 4 years ago and is a welcome improvement. A peaceful and relaxing house with outlooks over the beautiful landscaped gardens and the sea. My favourite spot in the morning is the sunny porch to enjoy a coffee and read a few chapters of a book before the kids rise. Who could ask for more?

Guest from Doncaster stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in May 2015


Fiona and Bob replied 25 days ago
What a fantastic review , thank you so much. We are pleased you found Cutlar's Lodge a home from home experience, it is extremely important to us that you felt so comfortable here. What a great little spot the reading porch is with wonderful views! The comments you left in the visitors book are brilliant for future guests to read with great recommendations for local activities and beaches. I hope you manage to return before another 4 years pass by. Fiona and Bob

Well equiped and comfortable

Review submitted on Sat, 23 May 2015
4.2
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cutlars Lodge is well equiped and maintained to a high standard and it is in a delightful and peacefull setting. Our weather was rather cool and changeable so it was good to come back to somewhere warm and comfortable. Fiona and Bob (the housekeeper and gamekeeper) could not have been more welcoming and helpful. We hope to return soon!

Guest from Kendal stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in May 2015


Fiona and Bob replied 36 days ago
It would be great to see you both again later in the year when there will be a noticeable change in the wildlife habitat for you to photograph. Do remember that you won't need to bring your “cottage set up” box of goodies, as like you mention there is everything you need at Cutlar's Lodge! I hope you loaded up the log fire, used an abundance of the free firewood and kindling provided and twiddled the thermostat so you could enjoy the unlimited central heating when indoors. We enjoyed showing you all the best wildlife spots at Orroland and look forward to more outdoor expeditions with you both. Fiona and Bob

Fabulous Break

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Apr 2015
4.3
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent week at Orroland where both the accommodation and the estate were brilliant. We love this area of Scotland and it's great to know that gems like this exist. The lodge is especially good for dog lovers with fantastic walks right from the door and a huge variety of walks just a short drive away. Orroland is only 15 minutes drive away from both Kirkcudbright and Castle Douglas and only half an hour from the Galloway Forest Park (for dark skies experience). Thoroughly recomment Orroland for all lovers of peace and quiet.

Guest from Southport stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in April 2015


Fiona and Bob replied 64 days ago
Thank you for your review and also the lovely comments in the visitors book for future guests to read. It's nice to know you appreciated all the details, like providing sharp knives! Little Dexter seemed very content in his surroundings, with his private fully-enclosed garden and so many lovely walks at Orroland. Best wishes, Fiona and Bob

Orroland and Cutler's Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had driven past the gate posts to Orroland on many occasions (very Bram Stoker) and imposing and finally made the decision to test the waters. It is such a pity we did not do so when we first saw them!

This place is mind-blowing. The owners have gone to great lengths and beyond to provide a magical place to holiday in. The thought and hard work that has gone into it is unbelievable. A beach hut and garden for all to use complete with chairs and tables on a fabulous sun deck, a cabin on the shores of a loch complete with tables, chairs, barbecue and boat, a bat tower, a tump (swirly hill to walk up), a large pond, impressive garden ornaments ..... I could go on but would not be able to do the place justice!

The cottages are beautiful. We stayed in Cutler's Lodge and there is nothing we could add to make it more enjoyable. Fabulous place with fabulous views over the gardens. We were lucky to have sun and 70 degree temperatures so had breakfast on the lawn every day - sun, warmth, views to die for and nature at its best with birdsong as background music - heaven. We walked around the tump; love it. We did the beach walk a few times and relaxed in the beach hut with our white German Shepherd which was brilliant! We sat in the cabin at the loch but the boat was too strenuous! Oh yes, and we used the games room under Cutler's Lodge. I did say everything had been thought of didn't I?

Don't want too many people to know about Orroland as we need to book again for later in the year!


Guest from Wirral stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in April 2015


Fiona and Bob replied 65 days ago
Thank you so much for such a descriptive review of your week spent at Orroland. Breakfast in the garden listening to the songbirds in mid-April, how wonderful! You seemed to enjoy all that Orroland has to offer our guests, beautiful scenery, fun gardens to explore, an unusual breath-taking shore and all the wildlife on your doorstep. Maybe a row in the boat next time! Fiona and Bob

Easter at Cutlers Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lodge is a charming house full of character and warmth. The surroundings are beautiful and the owners are more than welcoming. We recommend this holiday location to a family who appreciates nature and adventure.

Guest from Bedford stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in April 2015


Fiona and Bob replied 80 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful review. We're very happy that it worked so well for you to host your family celebration at Orroland, with your family staying at Orroland Lodge and Cutlar's Lodge. It's a good time of year for nature lovers to be able to appreciate all the wonderful surroundings and wildlife. We are delighted you all enjoyed your celebration and holiday here. Fiona and Bob

Fantastic lcottage and location

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were looking for a relaxing break in a quiet location and this ticked all the boxes and more. A fantastic cottage in a stunning location, we will definitely be back.

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 4 nights in March 2015


Fiona and Bob replied 99 days ago
Thank you for your fantastic review and comments in the visitors book. We are so pleased we satisfied all your needs and of course Duke’s needs too, your lovely dog who so much enjoyed his lead-free walks. We do hope you have managed to get him back on his lead on your return home! We look forward to seeing you again; whenever you feel the need for peace and tranquility you will certainly find it at Orroland.

Restful week in lovely cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a lovely restful week in an extremely comfortable cottage.
Miles (the Spaniel) thought he’d come to dog heaven and became very over- excited by all the new smells! We all really enjoyed the walks down to and around the beach – relaxing for us and lots of sniffing around for Miles.

If, like us, you have a lively , energetic dog I’d recommend the walk up Screel Hill. There has been a lot of wood harvesting recently so it is perhaps not looking its best, but the views were fantastic. Barhill Woods , just outside Kirkcudbright was also a good place for Miles to run around off his lead.


Guest from Lancaster stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in February 2015


Fiona replied 121 days ago
What a lovely review; thank you. We are so pleased you had a relaxing holiday here at Orroland. It really is a holiday for dogs as well as their humans isn't it, with lots of freedom to explore and sniff out the abundant wildlife on your doorstep. Thank you for recommending your favourite local walks for future guests.

A review from the authors of Slow Dumfries and Galloway (publishing April 2015, available on Amazon)

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Feb 2015
4.8
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came to Orroland knowing very little about it and in search of a week's pure rest and relaxation. It delivered on every point and exceeded our hopes. Cutlar's Lodge is one of the most comfortable holiday cottages we have ever stayed in (and we have tried many in all corners of the country). It is also full of character, from original fixtures such as the sitting room fireplace to the fittings such as full length curtains to keep out the cold. What we particularly enjoyed about it was that, while it's of a high standard, it is not crammed to the gunnels with either designer or Ikea gadgets and furniture. It is a homey place, somewhere in which to settle in, slow right down, and simply enjoy for what it is.

Guest from Moffat stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in January 2015


Melinda replied 151 days ago
What a compliment that you chose to stay at Cutlar's Lodge for your holiday after so many months of investigating the best places to stay and visit throughout Dumfries and Galloway. It feels like we've won an award! Thank you for your enthusiasm about Orroland. It will be so good for our guests to have your book as their guide to the region as I know you have left no stone unturned to help visitors discover the region's hidden corners. Pre-order Slow Travel Dumfries & Galloway here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Dumfries-Galloway-Slow-Travel-characterful/dp/1841628611/

Xmas at Orroland

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous cottage in beautiful grounds. Warm and comfortable. A warm welcome with thoughtful xmas goodies. Home made mince pies, seasonal hamper of jam, pickle, cheese, chocolates and wine. Decorated xmas tree and floral arrangement . Owners thought of everything. A very nice walk to the shore and lake. Would like to return in the summer.

Guest from Kirkcudbright stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in December 2014


Melinda replied 184 days ago
We're so happy you chose Cutlar's for your family Christmas and that you enjoyed your Orroland experience. Thank you.

We loved it!

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Dec 2014
4.8
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay, all the special touches were really appreciated, especially the toy box! My only tiny complaint is that it was very cold in the upstairs twin room, only 13 degrees overnight. The owners and housekeeper were very friendly and helpful. Our dog and and toddler loved all the open space and the walk to the beach. The bathroom and kitchen were spotless and very well equipped. Having unlimited logs for the fire was great as it was lit for most of our stay! Kirkcudbright had everything we needed. We would love to come back in the summer!

Guest from Bury St. Edmunds stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 4 nights in December 2014


Melinda replied 198 days ago
Thank you for your review and comments in the visitors book. We're very happy you felt so welcome. Glad you liked Fiona's home-made mince pies to get you in the Christmas mood! It's always a joy to hear how much the toys are enjoyed by youngsters and you made great use of that baby backpack to make the most of all the walks and freedom of having lots of space. Drat, we wish we'd thought about adjusting the temperature at night for you getting up in the night for your little girl; so easily altered.

time to relax

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great time we had,if we weren't out and about enjoying the views we were kicking off are shoe's putting are feet up and enjoying the peace and quiet what more can one ask for. ........

Janice from Chesterfield stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 5 nights in November 2014


Fabulous Cottage in Beautiful Location

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Nov 2014
4.8
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to this fabulous cottage. The location is just beautiful - set in the grounds of Orroland, the views in every direction are stunning. You can walk down to the private beach (rocky) and around the grounds, the owners have invested so much time and money into improving the whole site.

The cottage is spotlessly clean, very well equipped with a log fire (with free logs), excellent quality furnishings, bedding and towels. And a huge bath! It is also dog friendly.

Could not fault it in any way. Would highly recommend.


Guest from Crewe stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in November 2014


Melinda replied 234 days ago
I'm so glad you enjoyed your return visit to Cutlar's and found the cottage comfortable and homely. Thank you for sharing suggested walks with future guests via the visitors book; you've highlighted some of my favourites. In the days around bonfire night we provide a safe haven for guests with dogs fleeing fireworks. 100% firework-free!

Cutlar's Lodge Orroland

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Nov 2014
4.3
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An excellent cottage in an excellent location, the Orroland estate is a perfect place for a get- away- from -it - all holiday.

This property however would benefit from an addtional bathroom/toilet upstairs.


Guest from Bridlington stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in October 2014


our week in Cutlar's cottage Orroland

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing time in Orroland. We loved being out in the country with so much space to wander in. We loved being near the sea and having the freedom to explore the estate.

The cottage was brilliant with everything we needed and we enjoyed the log fires in the evening. Our 2 year old grandson loved all the toys provided and the garden was safe for him and our new puppy.

We walked and walked, even in the rain ,until the puppy was exhausted and so were we, but in a good way.

The local pub did good food and we had a great time visiting Maebey Farm Park and Threve castle.

I am sure we will be back - thank you


Guest from Stevenage stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in October 2014


Fiona and Bob replied 254 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased Cutlar's Lodge and the estate provided everything you needed for a fun family holiday. It was great to see little H so happy and jolly with all that Orroland has to offer and making full use of all the toys in the cottage. It's great that you enjoyed the log fires and made the most of the place. We're happy to hear you had a good experience at The Smugglers Inn in Auchencairn; important to be able to recommend our local pub.

Two and half hours from stress to relaxation!

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After a short trip in the car I arrived with my dog to see what I expected. A lovely house in a lovely location. I had walked the roads surrounding it on google maps, I had looked at the satellite images, I had looked at every photo on the Orroland web site. And now I was here! The hour long circular walk that is mentioned in the house folder is great as it's a quiet road. The walk down to the shore is also good although I did feel a bit isolated as a woman on her own as it's quite enclosed in the trees but that's just me. Great rock pools to explore and I'm sure if my dog hadn't jumped in them first I might have spotted something! The house itself is well equipped and very comfortable. The lemon drizzle cake was much appreciated and I didn't have to share lol. My husband asked if I brought a piece home for him - sorry : ) . Fiona I would love the recipe! I only had one slight hiccup and that was when a white terrier type dog jumped over the wall and nipped my dog but that could happen anywhere. I am looking forward to a return visit soon with my husband. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Cutlar's Lodge and would recommend it to anyone.

Suggestion - a tea tray would be useful unless I didn't find it, sitting in the garden was bliss in the sunshine with a pot of tea and a book, will bring my sun lounger next time!


Guest from Livingston stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 4 nights in September 2014


Fiona replied 277 days ago
Two and a half hours away for you to feel so relaxed and stress free, how wonderful. After your thorough research on Orroland we are so pleased it lived up to your expectations. I do hope that Sophie Doodle got a little taste of the lemon drizzle cake ... the recipe will be there on your arrival next time you visit! Thank you for your suggestion, we always listen and respond to feedback so a tray will be ready for your tea break in the sun and of course extra cake for your husband. Thank you for your understanding about the dog; no more walks round the lanes of Orroland - farm fields only.

Perfect cottage in beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cutler's Lodge is a beautiful cottage in a peaceful setting. It has every home comfort and is spotlessly clean. It is well equipped for a self catering holiday having all the usual pots, pans etc, The double bed was extremely comfy with quality bedding, ideal fir a good nights sleep! The cottage is set in an amazing spot with lots of space around the property as well as a huge garden. Perfect for a get away from it all holiday. Perfect space for our dog who loved the many walks in the area. Would definitely go back!

Diane from Leeds stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in September 2014


Fiona & Bob replied 283 days ago
What a fantastic review! Our future guests at Cutlar's Lodge will appreciate all the suggestions you left in the visitors book for places to explore in the local area that you, Kev and your fine dog Dougie enjoyed. So glad you enjoyed the space of Cutlar's Lodge; it's spacious for 6 let alone 2! Great that you noticed the comfort of the top of the range Hypnos bed, a good sleep will be just what was needed after all your adventures. Best wishes, Fiona and Bob

Our stay at Cutlars Lodge September 6th 2014

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place to chill out. Great for our 3 dogs. Every thing we needed was there. Weather brilliant. Didn't want to leave, The cottage was spotlessly clean.

Guest from Chorley stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in September 2014


Fiona Penrose replied 288 days ago
Thank you so much for this excellent review. We are so pleased that you, Richard and of course your adorable dogs Elijah, Delilah and Ezrah all had such a relaxing time at Orroland. How fantastic that you were able to recharge your batteries by exploring Orroland and all its interesting surroundings then relaxing by the log fire in the evenings. Hopefully the weather will be just as glorious the next time you all visit. Fiona

recommended for parties under 5

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Aug 2014
4.5
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have marked the comfort as ok - this is only due to the lack of seating for 6 people. The lounge area could only accommodate up to 5 on the sofa and chairs, luckily one of our party was unable to come at the last moment but if she came one person would have to sit on the floor.
Also, the amount of towels supplied (I know we could have requested more) there were no individual handtowels which would have been much more hygienic and could also be used to dry ones hair.

Other than these couple of issues, our stay was lovely, great personal touches such as having a dog lead to use in case we forgot ours and a little bowl of doggy treats plus the coffee and cake on arrival - very nice.
Would recommend to parties of 5 and under but not 6


Guest from Gloucester stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in August 2014


Melinda replied 326 days ago
Hello, I'm glad you liked the welcoming cake, real coffee and dog treats! It's always nice to arrive to something home-made isn't it. We provide matching 3-seater sofa and 2 armchairs in the sitting room. As the room is more spacious without the additional chair at times when it isn't needed we provide the comfortable seating for two additional guests in the porch, next door to the sitting room. Don't worry we wouldn't expect our guests to sit on the floor. Good idea about hand towels, now that you mention it I think it is quite wrong that we don't provide them for everyone, just in bathrooms and kitchens. I shall order more tomorrow.

LOVED it.

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We adored this holiday - fabulous cottage in a wonderful, idyllic location, and run by such friendly and fun hosts who seem to have made a real effort to consider exactly what you need on a family holiday. We, and our children, had a ball and will definitely be back. So, so much to see and explore. My favourite family break yet. Thank you so much!

Guest from Haddington stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in July 2014


Melinda replied 350 days ago
We loved having you at Orroland, such a fun-loving family fits in well here! Thank you for your wonderful review and we're so happy you had your best-yet family break here. Best wishes from us all, Melinda

Spoilt by this cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was the first cottage of four in our holidays and we don't see how the other cottages could be better or even equally good. It is just great.
The only thing what we could have wished for is a village a little bit closer. But that's just nitpicking.


Guest from Groningen stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in May 2014


Melinda replied more than 1 year ago
What a joy to hear that you were impressed by Cutlar's Lodge. I'm glad you found it a good base and it was fun that you shared images of your exploration of Orroland with us on Facebook while you were staying. The walk to the shore is always a firm favourite. Glad you found the hills and quiet country roads around us a good challenge for keeping up with your running. Yes, it's about 3.5 miles to Auchencairn and we're working on a supplier network so that local deliveries will help to bring the shops to Orroland! Fruit and veg from a nearby market gardener, butcher's meat, Tesco.com, ASDA and Majestic Wine deliveries can all be arranged and we're looking to extend this. We're listening to feedback and always grateful for it; watch this space! I hope you have a brilliant time on the rest of your grand tour of the UK. Melinda

wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
this has been our second visit to orroland, the house exceeded our expectations. we loved the decor and space the accommodation provided, how surprising to find everything on hand. the grounds are fantasic and we noticed a few new planting additions since last time. due to work commitments, as a widespread family we needed a peaceful and comfortable place to rest and gather on a relaxing family holiday, orroland is the perfect family retreat, we love it.
I love abbotsway for the family kitchen and layout, I love cutlers for the space and enclosed garden, I cannot choose between the two, however having a new addition to the family of an 18 week pup, he definately endorsed the garden, sorry grandad for the hole on the grass near the gate.
we will definately return, hopefully with not to many more additions to the family.
what a wonderful place to stay, thank you.


Guest from Newton Aycliffe stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in May 2014


Melinda replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your second stay at Orroland. I always find it so interesting to discover which of the two cottages, Abbotsway or Cutlar's, is favoured by families who have stayed in both. There is no pattern at all! It's so good that each of the cottages has its own character and styling, features and attractions so that each family can choose based on what's important to them. It's music to my ears that you like the decor and that you found it spacious for four adults. The fact that the garden kept your beautiful bouncy pup safe and free is the ultimate testimonial for any holiday cottage claiming a fully enclosed garden! Thank you for returning. Best wishes, Melinda

A beautiful place to unwind and connect with nature

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Apr 2014
4.8
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cutlars Lodge is located on a lovely exceptionally well maintained estate which meant that our family had freedom to explore attractive woodland and a rocky beach.There was also an unusual large spiral earthwork and ponds close by. The property had a modern dining kitchen and pleasant enclosed lawn for ball games. It was very tastefully decorated and the children enjoyed use of a games room as well as having fun lighting fires each evening. The property would suit people who like tranquility and have an interest in wildlife, walking and star gazing (the dark sky national park is nearby) . The nearest town is 20 mins drive away, there are a number of castles and gardens as well as beaches suitable for day trips and Loch Ken has a good adventure sports centre as well as red kites to observe.

Guest from Bradford stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 6 nights in April 2014


Melinda replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed impression of your stay for future guests. It's so helpful for people who haven't been before to read the experiences of those who have visited before them. I'm so glad you enjoyed the cottage, its environs at Orroland and also your exploration of Dumfries and Galloway. What good fortune that you were able to extend your stay by an extra night to make the most of your time at Cutlar's Lodge. Best wishes from us all, Melinda

Comfortable cottage in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all felt at home in this lovely cottage and the grounds are extremely well looked after. A lovely retreat with super walks on the doorstep. Pool table and table tennis ideal for rainy days.

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in April 2014


Melinda replied more than 1 year ago
We're so happy you loved your holiday at Orroland, thank you for your super review. I'm glad you came when the grounds are springing to life and that you made the most of the walks and games room. To hear that you felt at home in the cottage is the best compliment of all. Best wishes from us all, Melinda

Weekend Break

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Mar 2014
4.3
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great stay at Cutlar's Lodge with my husband and dog, very relaxing and peaceful, just what we wanted. The house was spotless and the grounds very well maintained, lovely walks and beautiful scenary. The chocolate brownies on arrival were a nice touch too!

Guest from Glasgow stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 3 nights in February 2014


Melinda replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. Our housekeeper is very meticulous and will be delighted you made special mention of how clean you found the cottage to be. A lot of effort goes into maintaining the grounds to a high standard too so it's a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed them.

Fab holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful New Year break, despite floods on the way, storms & car breaking down. The house was lovely & the welcome was brilliant, we felt at home immediately. Cheryl & Melinda couldn't have done more for us. The estate is beautiful, with lots to see & do, just wish we'd had longer to stay!

Guest from Newtonhill stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 4 nights in December 2013


Sheryl replied more than 1 year ago
Hello, It's good to know you got home safely after your car disaster and thank you for the excellent review of your stay at Cutlar's Lodge. It's lovely to hear that you found the cottage so welcoming and I'm glad you were able to enjoy this beautiful estate despite the weather conditions. What a great way to spend New Year's Eve, dancing around the kitchen to your favourite music! We hope to see you again. Best wishes, Sheryl.

Cutlars Lodge review

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jan 2014
4.5
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very relaxing and quiet, just what we wanted. Location was beautiful. Weather was a little hit and miss but what can you expect in December. A lovely pie/tart was waiting for us when we arrived, gorgeous !

Guest from Matlock stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in December 2013


Melinda replied more than 1 year ago
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Cutlar's Lodge. I'm glad you found the cottage a good base for a relaxing break and that you enjoyed your tasty treats. Great that you set off and explored our lovely location fully. I hope you were lucky enough to spot the otters on the shore.

Perfect for a family break

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our short break at lovely Cutlar's Lodge and were hugely impressed by the house and grounds. It was our first holiday with our 1 year old son and I thought it was the perfect place for a family holiday. The lodge had everything we needed from a highchair to a box full of toys, and was in immaculate condition. The sitting room is cosy, with a lovely fire, and the dining and kitchen areas are spacious. I loved everything about the accommodation. The setting is peaceful and a great place to get away from it all - my son enjoyed toddling around the grounds looking for pheasants. As well as relaxing in Orroland Estate (a rocky beach is a short walk from the lodge), it is a good base for exploring the local area. (I'd recommend the Colvend Coast and the Galloway Forest Park).

I would definitely recommend Cutlar's Lodge and look forward to another holiday there in the near future.




Guest from stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 3 nights in October 2013


Melinda replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your brilliant review of your stay at Cutlar's Lodge. I'm so pleased you enjoyed staying at Cutlar's and that you found it well equipped for your 1 year old son. I'm glad the toys kept him happy indoors and it sounds like the pheasants were a highlight out of doors. October is a lovely time of year at Orroland, with the Autumn colours, migrating birds, bright stars and log fires. I enjoyed meeting you all and it was great to discuss your interests and rummage through the leaflets to find the ones that would answer the brief. Great that you packed such a lot of exploration into your stay!

A beautiful cottage in a fantastic area

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Could not fault this cottage, exceptionally clean, everything is to a very high standard. A beautiful huge bath, lovely kitchen, an open fire with endless supply of logs, lovely comfy beds. Our dog also loved it. Lots of fabulous walks nearby, and the cottage is in beautiful grounds. Would highly recommend, and would love to return.


Guest from Crewe stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in November 2013


Sheryl replied more than 1 year ago
Hello, It was lovely to meet you both during your stay at Cutlar's Lodge and of course, your beautiful dog, Jack. I was delighted to read your excellent feedback, it is always nice to know that guests rate our standards so highly. We regularly upgrade the cottage furnishings, fixtures and fittings so it is great to hear you enjoyed our new sofa, bed and bath - I'm sure a nice long soak was in order after all of the walking around this beautiful part of the country. I hope you are able to make a return visit to Orroland, the open fire awaits!

A peaceful corner of Scotland

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Cutlars Cottage. A warm, inviting well equipped and spacious cottage in a beautiful part of Southern Scotland. Peaceful relaxation.

Guest from Loughborough stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 10 nights in October 2013


Sheryl replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to read your fantastic review of your stay at Cutlar's Lodge. I'm pleased that you and the dogs were able to enjoy the peaceful countryside setting we have here at Orroland. We look forward to seeing you again if you choose to make a return visit to Dumfries and Galloway.

September 21st to 28th 2013

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2013
4.5
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage in a fabulous area, very clean and well equipped, only let down by old lounge furniture! Very relaxing, will be going again sometime.

Guest from Newark stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in September 2013


Melinda replied more than 1 year ago
Hello John, thank you so much for reviewing your stay at Cutlar's Lodge. Great to hear you were pleased with the cottage, its location, cleanliness and equipment. I'm kicking myself about the sofa and armchairs letting the cottage down as I have ordered a sleek new three piece suite which is arriving in a couple of weeks! I'm so happy that you plan to return for more rest and relaxation when you'll have elegant and comfortable new lounge seating to enjoy.

Perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Aug 2013
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've been here the second time this year and liked very much again. Cutlers Lodge is just perfect for our whole family, including the dog. Thank you!

Guest from Darmstadt stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 21 nights in July 2013


Melinda Kennedy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for choosing to stay at Cutlar's Lodge two years running. It's great to have your feedback.

Cutler's Lodge at Orroland.

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Aug 2013
4.8
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect 'home from home ' experience with exceptional surroundings and wonderfully peaceful location. Cutler's Lodge is ideal for a stress free holiday. Long walks amongst the immaculately maintained gardens which emerge from a pretty wooded walk onto the sea shore. Log fire and everything at hand to ensure the best, relaxing holiday you would ever need.

Jacqui from Cannock stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 14 nights in August 2013


Melinda Kennedy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback. Peace, privacy, relaxation and exploration is what Orroland is all about.