FB Twitter

Cutlar's Lodge

Cutlar's Lodge

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
5.0
Value
4.5


A pretty cottage set in its own fully enclosed gardens overlooking the wild flower meadow. It's a glorious walk to the seashore and a 2-3 minute amble to the landscaped loch and pavilion. Cutlar's Lodge has oodles of character and cosiness. The sitting room has a welcoming open fire and we provide unlimited logs.

recommended for parties under 5

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Aug 2014
4.5
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
I have marked the comfort as ok - this is only due to the lack of seating for 6 people. The lounge area could only accommodate up to 5 on the sofa and chairs, luckily one of our party was unable to come at the last moment but if she came one person would have to sit on the floor.
Also, the amount of towels supplied (I know we could have requested more) there were no individual handtowels which would have been much more hygienic and could also be used to dry ones hair.

Other than these couple of issues, our stay was lovely, great personal touches such as having a dog lead to use in case we forgot ours and a little bowl of doggy treats plus the coffee and cake on arrival - very nice.
Would recommend to parties of 5 and under but not 6


Guest from Gloucester stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in August 2014


Melinda replied 37 days ago
Hello, I'm glad you liked the welcoming cake, real coffee and dog treats! It's always nice to arrive to something home-made isn't it. We provide matching 3-seater sofa and 2 armchairs in the sitting room. As the room is more spacious without the additional chair at times when it isn't needed we provide the comfortable seating for two additional guests in the porch, next door to the sitting room. Don't worry we wouldn't expect our guests to sit on the floor. Good idea about hand towels, now that you mention it I think it is quite wrong that we don't provide them for everyone, just in bathrooms and kitchens. I shall order more tomorrow.

LOVED it.

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
We adored this holiday - fabulous cottage in a wonderful, idyllic location, and run by such friendly and fun hosts who seem to have made a real effort to consider exactly what you need on a family holiday. We, and our children, had a ball and will definitely be back. So, so much to see and explore. My favourite family break yet. Thank you so much!

Guest from Haddington stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in July 2014


Melinda replied 61 days ago
We loved having you at Orroland, such a fun-loving family fits in well here! Thank you for your wonderful review and we're so happy you had your best-yet family break here. Best wishes from us all, Melinda

Spoilt by this cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
It was the first cottage of four in our holidays and we don't see how the other cottages could be better or even equally good. It is just great.
The only thing what we could have wished for is a village a little bit closer. But that's just nitpicking.


Guest from Groningen stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in May 2014


Melinda replied 98 days ago
What a joy to hear that you were impressed by Cutlar's Lodge. I'm glad you found it a good base and it was fun that you shared images of your exploration of Orroland with us on Facebook while you were staying. The walk to the shore is always a firm favourite. Glad you found the hills and quiet country roads around us a good challenge for keeping up with your running. Yes, it's about 3.5 miles to Auchencairn and we're working on a supplier network so that local deliveries will help to bring the shops to Orroland! Fruit and veg from a nearby market gardener, butcher's meat, Tesco.com, ASDA and Majestic Wine deliveries can all be arranged and we're looking to extend this. We're listening to feedback and always grateful for it; watch this space! I hope you have a brilliant time on the rest of your grand tour of the UK. Melinda

wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
this has been our second visit to orroland, the house exceeded our expectations. we loved the decor and space the accommodation provided, how surprising to find everything on hand. the grounds are fantasic and we noticed a few new planting additions since last time. due to work commitments, as a widespread family we needed a peaceful and comfortable place to rest and gather on a relaxing family holiday, orroland is the perfect family retreat, we love it.
I love abbotsway for the family kitchen and layout, I love cutlers for the space and enclosed garden, I cannot choose between the two, however having a new addition to the family of an 18 week pup, he definately endorsed the garden, sorry grandad for the hole on the grass near the gate.
we will definately return, hopefully with not to many more additions to the family.
what a wonderful place to stay, thank you.


Guest from Newton Aycliffe stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in May 2014


Melinda replied 102 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your second stay at Orroland. I always find it so interesting to discover which of the two cottages, Abbotsway or Cutlar's, is favoured by families who have stayed in both. There is no pattern at all! It's so good that each of the cottages has its own character and styling, features and attractions so that each family can choose based on what's important to them. It's music to my ears that you like the decor and that you found it spacious for four adults. The fact that the garden kept your beautiful bouncy pup safe and free is the ultimate testimonial for any holiday cottage claiming a fully enclosed garden! Thank you for returning. Best wishes, Melinda

A beautiful place to unwind and connect with nature

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Apr 2014
4.8
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Cutlars Lodge is located on a lovely exceptionally well maintained estate which meant that our family had freedom to explore attractive woodland and a rocky beach.There was also an unusual large spiral earthwork and ponds close by. The property had a modern dining kitchen and pleasant enclosed lawn for ball games. It was very tastefully decorated and the children enjoyed use of a games room as well as having fun lighting fires each evening. The property would suit people who like tranquility and have an interest in wildlife, walking and star gazing (the dark sky national park is nearby) . The nearest town is 20 mins drive away, there are a number of castles and gardens as well as beaches suitable for day trips and Loch Ken has a good adventure sports centre as well as red kites to observe.

Guest from Bradford stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 6 nights in April 2014


Melinda replied 141 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed impression of your stay for future guests. It's so helpful for people who haven't been before to read the experiences of those who have visited before them. I'm so glad you enjoyed the cottage, its environs at Orroland and also your exploration of Dumfries and Galloway. What good fortune that you were able to extend your stay by an extra night to make the most of your time at Cutlar's Lodge. Best wishes from us all, Melinda

Comfortable cottage in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
We all felt at home in this lovely cottage and the grounds are extremely well looked after. A lovely retreat with super walks on the doorstep. Pool table and table tennis ideal for rainy days.

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in April 2014


Melinda replied 147 days ago
We're so happy you loved your holiday at Orroland, thank you for your super review. I'm glad you came when the grounds are springing to life and that you made the most of the walks and games room. To hear that you felt at home in the cottage is the best compliment of all. Best wishes from us all, Melinda

Weekend Break

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Mar 2014
4.3
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Had a great stay at Cutlar's Lodge with my husband and dog, very relaxing and peaceful, just what we wanted. The house was spotless and the grounds very well maintained, lovely walks and beautiful scenary. The chocolate brownies on arrival were a nice touch too!

Guest from Glasgow stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 3 nights in February 2014


Melinda replied 192 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. Our housekeeper is very meticulous and will be delighted you made special mention of how clean you found the cottage to be. A lot of effort goes into maintaining the grounds to a high standard too so it's a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed them.

Fab holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Had a wonderful New Year break, despite floods on the way, storms & car breaking down. The house was lovely & the welcome was brilliant, we felt at home immediately. Cheryl & Melinda couldn't have done more for us. The estate is beautiful, with lots to see & do, just wish we'd had longer to stay!

Guest from Newtonhill stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 4 nights in December 2013


Sheryl replied 246 days ago
Hello, It's good to know you got home safely after your car disaster and thank you for the excellent review of your stay at Cutlar's Lodge. It's lovely to hear that you found the cottage so welcoming and I'm glad you were able to enjoy this beautiful estate despite the weather conditions. What a great way to spend New Year's Eve, dancing around the kitchen to your favourite music! We hope to see you again. Best wishes, Sheryl.

Cutlars Lodge review

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jan 2014
4.5
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Very relaxing and quiet, just what we wanted. Location was beautiful. Weather was a little hit and miss but what can you expect in December. A lovely pie/tart was waiting for us when we arrived, gorgeous !

Guest from Matlock stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in December 2013


Melinda replied 257 days ago
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Cutlar's Lodge. I'm glad you found the cottage a good base for a relaxing break and that you enjoyed your tasty treats. Great that you set off and explored our lovely location fully. I hope you were lucky enough to spot the otters on the shore.

Perfect for a family break

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
We loved our short break at lovely Cutlar's Lodge and were hugely impressed by the house and grounds. It was our first holiday with our 1 year old son and I thought it was the perfect place for a family holiday. The lodge had everything we needed from a highchair to a box full of toys, and was in immaculate condition. The sitting room is cosy, with a lovely fire, and the dining and kitchen areas are spacious. I loved everything about the accommodation. The setting is peaceful and a great place to get away from it all - my son enjoyed toddling around the grounds looking for pheasants. As well as relaxing in Orroland Estate (a rocky beach is a short walk from the lodge), it is a good base for exploring the local area. (I'd recommend the Colvend Coast and the Galloway Forest Park).

I would definitely recommend Cutlar's Lodge and look forward to another holiday there in the near future.




Guest from stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 3 nights in October 2013


Melinda replied 301 days ago
Thank you for your brilliant review of your stay at Cutlar's Lodge. I'm so pleased you enjoyed staying at Cutlar's and that you found it well equipped for your 1 year old son. I'm glad the toys kept him happy indoors and it sounds like the pheasants were a highlight out of doors. October is a lovely time of year at Orroland, with the Autumn colours, migrating birds, bright stars and log fires. I enjoyed meeting you all and it was great to discuss your interests and rummage through the leaflets to find the ones that would answer the brief. Great that you packed such a lot of exploration into your stay!

A beautiful cottage in a fantastic area

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Could not fault this cottage, exceptionally clean, everything is to a very high standard. A beautiful huge bath, lovely kitchen, an open fire with endless supply of logs, lovely comfy beds. Our dog also loved it. Lots of fabulous walks nearby, and the cottage is in beautiful grounds. Would highly recommend, and would love to return.


Guest from Crewe stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in November 2013


Sheryl replied 309 days ago
Hello, It was lovely to meet you both during your stay at Cutlar's Lodge and of course, your beautiful dog, Jack. I was delighted to read your excellent feedback, it is always nice to know that guests rate our standards so highly. We regularly upgrade the cottage furnishings, fixtures and fittings so it is great to hear you enjoyed our new sofa, bed and bath - I'm sure a nice long soak was in order after all of the walking around this beautiful part of the country. I hope you are able to make a return visit to Orroland, the open fire awaits!

A peaceful corner of Scotland

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Cutlars Cottage. A warm, inviting well equipped and spacious cottage in a beautiful part of Southern Scotland. Peaceful relaxation.

Guest from Loughborough stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 10 nights in October 2013


Sheryl replied 324 days ago
It was lovely to read your fantastic review of your stay at Cutlar's Lodge. I'm pleased that you and the dogs were able to enjoy the peaceful countryside setting we have here at Orroland. We look forward to seeing you again if you choose to make a return visit to Dumfries and Galloway.

September 21st to 28th 2013

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2013
4.5
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
A lovely cottage in a fabulous area, very clean and well equipped, only let down by old lounge furniture! Very relaxing, will be going again sometime.

Guest from Newark stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 7 nights in September 2013


Melinda replied 352 days ago
Hello John, thank you so much for reviewing your stay at Cutlar's Lodge. Great to hear you were pleased with the cottage, its location, cleanliness and equipment. I'm kicking myself about the sofa and armchairs letting the cottage down as I have ordered a sleek new three piece suite which is arriving in a couple of weeks! I'm so happy that you plan to return for more rest and relaxation when you'll have elegant and comfortable new lounge seating to enjoy.

Perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Aug 2013
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
We've been here the second time this year and liked very much again. Cutlers Lodge is just perfect for our whole family, including the dog. Thank you!

Guest from Darmstadt stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 21 nights in July 2013


Melinda Kennedy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for choosing to stay at Cutlar's Lodge two years running. It's great to have your feedback.

Cutler's Lodge at Orroland.

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Aug 2013
4.8
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
The perfect 'home from home ' experience with exceptional surroundings and wonderfully peaceful location. Cutler's Lodge is ideal for a stress free holiday. Long walks amongst the immaculately maintained gardens which emerge from a pretty wooded walk onto the sea shore. Log fire and everything at hand to ensure the best, relaxing holiday you would ever need.

Jacqui from Cannock stayed at Cutlar's Lodge for 14 nights in August 2013


Melinda Kennedy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback. Peace, privacy, relaxation and exploration is what Orroland is all about.