FB Twitter

Abbotsway Cottage

Abbotsway Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 34 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


A peaceful, private cottage which is a great favourite with families due to its excellent games room and spacious accommodation. There are 2 bath/shower rooms. A fully enclosed courtyard provides safe freedom for children and dogs. Wood burner with unlimited logs. Also popular with smaller parties and couples as one wing can be closed off giving a feeling of cosy intimacy.

Abbotsway Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful relaxing stay at Abbotsway Cottage. It is fitted out to a high standard and was ideal for catering for our two large dogs. The courtyard was secure for them to play in and stair gates were available on request.
The gardens and walking area around the lakes were well kept. We could not find fault in any way and will go back again. The location is ideally located to visit the region and surrounding towns.
Thoroughly enjoyed it.


Guest from Lincoln stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in June 2015


Melinda replied 58 days ago
Thank you for your review and an extra thank you for leaving Abbotsway SO immaculately after your stay; it was greatly appreciated. It was lovely to meet you and your fine dogs; I can see why they do well at competitions! I'm happy that you found our dog-friendly measures worked well for you and that you made the most of Orroland's central location for exploring Dumfries & Galloway.

Fantastic

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit to Orroland. Two couples with two dogs. What a fantastic cottage in beautiful grounds. Fiona and Bob could not do enough for us even thought we were not demanding of their time. The facilities at the cottage were excellent. The perfect accommodation for a week away from it all.

Della from Bagley stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in June 2015


Fiona & Bob replied 78 days ago
Wow, what can we say! The poem you wrote in the visitors book was amazing, no apology needed for Robert Burns fans! We're so happy the weather was perfect for all your walks and exploring the local villages and towns. Abbotsway is such a good cottage for two couples, with separate bedroom/bathroom wings and lovely social rooms to meet in the middle! You know where to come when you need a week away from it all, Abbotsway will be ready for you. Thank you Fiona and Bob

Absolutely fantastic

Review submitted on Sat, 02 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
beautiful cottage, wonderful estate, fantastic secluded location, extremely nice people. Couldn't have asked for better, very dog friendly, will return!!!

James from Hull stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 4 nights in April 2015


Melinda replied 121 days ago
James, thank you for your lovely review and we're so pleased you chose Abbotsway for your last-minute break. Great that you were able to take an extra night too and had such terrific weather. Many thanks for taking such an interest in the place and we very much hope to see you again in the future. All the best, Melinda

Perfect dog friendly cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 01 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The first time we have taken all three dogs away with us and it couldn’t have been better. The cottage is perfect and the whole weekend has been very relaxing for us all. Weather has been lovely even though the forecast was for rain, rain, rain. Only wish our stay was longer, I’m sure we’ll be back!

Guest from York stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 3 nights in April 2015


Fiona & Bob replied 124 days ago
How wonderful that you spent your first holiday with your three friendly dogs here at Orroland. The gardens and surroundings are perfect for tiring them out, Scooby must have loved the open space to have fun! It would seem you brought the sun, sun, sun with you; thank you! Fiona and Bob

Super pet friendly accommodation.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were two adult couples sharing the accommodation so to have the two bathrooms was really great. The enclosed courtyard was ideal for the dogs, lots of places to explore and have fun in. The cottage was equipped to a high standard, the beds were very comfortable, there was always plenty of hot water and the cottage was always warm. Tea and a lovely home-made cake was left out on the table for our arrival. There were lots of locals guides, restaurant menus and local o.s. maps for us to use plus Melinda and Fiona were about to ask for good walks and lovely beaches to visit with the dogs.

Guest from Biggar stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in April 2015


Fiona and Bob replied 133 days ago
What a fantastic review! Knowing your three lovely black Labradors were safe in the courtyard whilst you were relaxing in the house must have been reassuring. Good to know the new beds are comfortable, just what you need after all the walks you went on. Thank you for your hospitality when I came to say goodbye, it was lovely to meet you all. Fiona and Bob

Excellent stay at Abbotsway

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay at this well maintained and clean cottage, excellent facilities, beautifully furnished and In a lovely quiet peaceful and secluded setting. Pleasant walks down to the beach and round the Loch. It was an excellent choice to stay with our dogs as there was a practical utility room and outdoor kennel, plus a properly enclosed courtyard which made cleaning and drying easy. There was a delicious homemade cake and tea was set out for our arrival, Melinda was very welcoming and gave excellent advice about local eateries, shopping and walks.The area has some unspoilt towns with good shopping choices, and so many walks that it was difficult to choose which to do first. Thank you for our great holiday, we would love to return sometime.

Guest from Stratford Upon Avon stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in February 2015


Melinda replied 177 days ago
Thank you for your super review; it was a joy to read and such a help for future guests that you have provided details of the things you appreciated and how dog-friendly you found Abbotsway Cottage to be. I'm so pleased your first visit to Dumfries & Galloway has been such a good experience; thank you for choosing Orroland.

Winter Warmer

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Looked forward to our return visit to Abbotsway and it didn't disappoint, we arrived on Saturday to a well prepared home, everything you would expect to have at home is there ready to use, the cake which didn't last the night I might add was mm.
The log fire is so warm the the back door had to be left open which our Irish and Welsh terriers loved. The weather was mostly good considering it was late February and the walks with the dogs on the estate and beach were brilliant. The new bathroom at the top of the house has been finished to a high standard and with the addition of new beds make this the ideal comfortable holiday home either in summer or winter.
Can't wait to visit again


Guest from Droitwich stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in February 2015


Melinda replied 177 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Abbotsway. I'm glad you like the new bathroom and that you found the new Hypnos beds comfortable. Only the best will do! We always aim to give returning guests some improvements to enjoy. Fiona is very happy that you liked her home-baked cake. Glad your dogs had a blast too. Best wishes, Melinda

Fantastic holiday cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you once again for a fantastic holiday in Orroland. The cottage as ever is wonderful. Love the new bathroom and had wonderful restful sleeps in the new beds.
We can highly recommend Griersons the butchers in Castle Douglas.
It was lovely to see you again Melinda. See you next year for visit No. 9. Everyone wants to come back including all our teenagers!
Thank you


Richard from Edinburgh stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 8 nights in February 2015


Melinda replied 188 days ago
Richard and Orla, thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. So glad you enjoyed the new bathroom and the top of the range Hypnos beds. Only the best will do. It's such a help for our future guests to get good tips about how to make the most of the area so thank you for recommending your favourite butcher. We really rate Grierson's too. Your 9th visit and still loved by your now teenagers; now that's a testimonial! We love having you; see you next year. x

Abbotsway Cottage - Fantastic Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you so much for a fantastic stay at Abbotsway Cottage. We have been to many cottages, but this cottage has been by far the best. We both have very busy jobs and looked forward to some peace & quiet and that is exactly what we got. The games room was enjoyed by my son and the rest of the family (was nice to get some quality family time). The dogs also had a great time at the beach and back at the cottage where it was safe for them to roam around the courtyard. We have to give this cottage a 10/10, so much so we have booked again for the summer.



Thank you again for a lovely break and a very welcoming arrival. See you in June 2015!



Guest from East Kilbride stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in February 2015


Melinda replied 197 days ago
What a lovely review; thank you for choosing Abbotsway, for loving Orroland and for booking to come back for more family fun in the summer. You've picked a great month; Orroland is magic in June. Best wishes, Melinda

Relaxing break, away from it all

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Feb 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here in January and so didn't expect good weather but we got snow, frosty mornings, sunny days and clear nights which made our stay at Orroland even more special as I expect they don't get snow too often on the coast here!

The cottage is well equipped, comfortable, warm and tastefully decorated. Miranda allowed us to bring four dogs and she was also flexible with our start day which meant we could stay for the week, she even kindly told us that as there was no booking after us, there was no rush for us to leave on our departure day.

The estate is beautiful and we enjoyed sundowners both in the summerhouse and the beach hut! We enjoyed the privacy of no near neighbours at Abbotsway and the courtyard which was great for the dogs first thing in the morning and last thing at night in the dark as it is secure.

The housekeeper was very friendly leaving us a delicious home baked cake upon arrival and she was always at hand but only if we needed her. We would love to return in spring to see the estate blooming. Thanks to all


Guest from Coppull Moor stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in January 2015


Melinda replied 208 days ago
Delighted you found Orroland a good base for your dog-friendly relaxation and gentle exploration. Happy to hear you made the most of our follies! Fiona is the queen of cakes. Do come back - maybe in mid-May when the bluebells are astonishing and the landscape is so vibrant. Or in July when the wildflower meadow is at its beautiful best.

Christmas at Orroland

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jan 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet another fabulous Christmas at Orroland, Abbotsway is always warm and welcoming, with wine and mince pies waiting for us and a lovely hamper of Christmas goodies from Melinda.
The wood burner kept us toastie on the cold evenings and the new settee is lovely and comfortable.
Even my two sons (ages 23 and 20) enjoy Christmas at Orroland!!
Definitely won't be our last visit.


Guest from Derby stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 13 nights in December 2014


Fiona and Bob replied 238 days ago
We are thrilled you have had such a fabulous Christmas at Orroland and that your two sons enjoyed it too. Christmas wouldn’t be the same without homemade mince pies! The endless supply of logs glowing in the burner to keep you toastie after your walks with your dog on the estate, just what’s needed. 7 holidays at Orroland; we very much hope to see you many more times in the future. Fiona & Bob

A birthday weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Dec 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked for mums special birthday, and more than pleasantly surprised with the cottage. Beautifully presented and in a lovely location there was nothing to fault and the whole family had a wonderful weekend. I have no hesitation in recommending this cottGe to you and have no doubt we will return.

Guest from Kilmarnock stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 3 nights in December 2014


Melinda replied 250 days ago
We're very happy you chose Abbotsway for your family celebration and that you were pleased with the house for your party of 7. Best wishes from us all, Melinda

Beautiful cottage in lovely surroundings

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I stayed at Abbotsway Cottage in November 2014 for my mother's and husband's birthdays. The cottage was in a glorious setting and was so cosy, peaceful and private. Everything was spotless and we had all the kitchen facilities we needed to make a lovely meal. We were even greeted with a delicious cake and coffee on arrival. We hope to return again soon, and would definitely recommend Orroland and especially Abbotsway Cottage to families and those wanting a stylish retreat.

Guest from County Durham stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 3 nights in November 2014


Fiona and Bob replied 274 days ago
Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are so pleased you chose to stay at Orroland to celebrate your mother’s and husband’s birthdays. Being able to enjoy the tranquility of the cottage and the estate, how relaxing for the whole family. We hope to see you again very soon, possibly for yours and your father’s birthdays?!

Relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location is excellent for a quiet break away with the dogs. Plenty walks for the dogs. Cottage has absolutely everything you could need would vidit again.

Brenda from Glasgow stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 2 nights in November 2014


Melinda replied 291 days ago
Brenda, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Abbotsway. Glad you found it a good holiday for dogs as well as yourselves and that you felt the cottage was well equipped and homely for a relaxing break. Hopefully you'll be able to stay longer next time.

Excellent "Get Away From It All" Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Orroland Estate is beautiful with lots of walks and use of the Pavilion on the loch and the Beach Hut. A very romantic place to be. The cottage was well equipped, comfortable and warm. The Games Room was an added bonus for teenagers in the party. Only short 10 min drive into Kirkcudbright meant you were still within reasonable distance for local amenities. Would recommend this holiday to folk who enjoy having freedom and space in a countryside setting.

Guest from Mauchline stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in October 2014


Fiona and Bob replied 315 days ago
We are so pleased you chose to stay at Abbotsway to celebrate your wedding. What a wonderful way to spend the evening of your wedding day at the beach hut. Very romantic to watch the sun setting with a glass of champagne on such a special occasion. The table tennis and pool table are always a bonus for children! We're glad Orroland offered all the freedom you could possibly want, with adventure and exploration of the estate from the moment you open the door. Best wishes, Fiona and Bob

Dream home from home

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Abbotsway Cottage is a place to recharge your batteries. Location is fantastic as you can find so much to do on your door step or just wonder the grounds. Wildlife in abundance, dolphins, deer, hares bats and owls. For star gazers the light free nights are fab. The cottage is a home from home. A comfortable lounge with a wonderful log fire to dream away the evenings. A great house keeping team if required. This is our third trip and not our last.

Guest from Hungerford stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 14 nights in August 2014


Melinda replied 345 days ago
I'm so pleased you got such pleasure from the naturally inspiring environment and wildlife of Orroland and Dumfries & Galloway. The dark skies are indeed remarkable with even brighter stars in the winter. It's lovely to know that you enjoy Abbotsway as a base for your exploration of the area and for rest and relaxation. 'Home from home' is music to my ears. Best wishes from us all, Melinda

Holiday at Abbotsway Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Aug 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful place, extremely peaceful. Fiona & Rob couldn't have done more for us. I have never been anywhere in the world where all the people in the surrounding area were so pleasant. Walking around the private estate with our dogs was amazing, with memories we will never forget.

Guest from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in July 2014


Melinda replied more than 1 year ago
Hello, it was good to speak just now and thank you for your review. I'm so pleased you found the people in the area so welcoming and friendly and that you have taken the time to praise Bob and Fiona; we couldn't do without them. Lovely that you made such good use of the gardens and grounds with your family and dogs.

Transformation from working farm to beautiful haven

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jul 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was lovely to return after 40 years to discover the peaceful safe environment is still here.The transformation from working farm to its current beautiful haven is down to the hard work and vision of the Kennedy family.This well equipped holiday home is all you could wish for,with very helpful hosts and a scrummy lemon cake on arrival. We made the most of the extensive grounds/estate,with pretty wild flower meadow, the tump,the pond,the loch and shore.Careful planting and beautiful flower beds,including the fern garden are the result of much care and attention.A charity garden opening was scheduled for Sunday 6th July and the garden looked spectacular.Our stay was enhanced by the generosity of our hosts and the sunny weather.We plan to return before another 40 years have elapsed.Look at the photos on the Orroland website,it really is as good as it looks.
Our holiday was also enjoyed by our 21 and 19 year old daughters and the games room is an added bonus.


Guest from Cheltenham stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in June 2014


Melinda replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your pleasure of the grounds at Orroland with future guests. There have certainly been a lot of changes in the intervening 40 years and it's a joy to hear that you enjoyed all the varied gardens and landscaping and found Abbotsway well equipped. Fiona is so pleased you enjoyed her lemon drizzle cake - she really is amazing at baking isn't she! Best wishes to you all from us all, Melinda

Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous time at Abbotsway Cottage. The cottage was very clean, well equipped and ideally placed on the estate. Having our own driveway and courtyard ensured total privacy. Our only neighbours were cows and rabbits in the field opposite. We enjoyed many walks from the doorstep and having the seashore to ourselves was a real treat. The sea views were amazing, the wildlife was incredible and the weather was superb. We would love to return again, (our previous visit was 12 years ago) so hopefully it will not be a 12 year wait for the next time!

Guest from Kettering stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 14 nights in June 2014


Fiona replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such an amazing review of your stay at Abbotsway Cottage. Being able to complete so many walks from the doorstep is a real bonus when you have had such a long drive to get here! Having the seashore to yourself, discovering the secret hideaways and waterfalls, what an adventure. We hope to see you soon and hopefully, you can bring the glorious weather with you again.

Abbotsway Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very Clean and well equipped cottage. Location great. Plenty of wildlife. Grounds excellent. Highly recommend.

Guest from Leicester stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in May 2014


Melinda replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you SO much for your wonderful review. I'm so glad you enjoyed staying at Abbotsway and that you were able to join in on your friends' annual holiday at Orroland. What is it now, 9 years running?! I think you had the best of Great Britain's weather too.

Abbotsway Cottage, Orroland

Review submitted on Tue, 27 May 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is in a stunningly beautiful location and was warm, spacious and comfortable. We particularly liked the bay window with the round table overlooking the fields and trees.
Although nearly all was either good or excellent there were a few areas that could have been a bit cleaner ie kitchen cupboards and pans. The games room was very dusty.
I chose this cottage because I need level access for a wheelchair/scooter and a bathroom with bath. The entrance was a bit of a problem for me with 2 smallish steps to negotiate. A ramped entrance to the utility area would help greatly. Otherwise the cottage was ideal for my needs and I would love to stay there again.

Judy Erwin
(guest of Cheryl Beillard)


Guest from Douglas stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 14 nights in May 2014


Melinda replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Judy, Thank you for taking the time to feed back to us after your stay. I'm glad you took pleasure from the environs of the cottage and that you found Sheryl helpful with your requests during your stay. I raced up to Abbotsway to see the present guests when I read about your housekeeping concerns as we always aim for as-new perfection. It was a relief to find they didn't think anything was wrong and that we are back up to our usual high standard; I'm awfully sorry that you found our attention to detail was not quite as it should have been for your arrival. I will see what can be done about providing a ramp for the little step into the kitchen; I can see that would be useful. Best wishes, Melinda

Luxury

Review submitted on Tue, 13 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything that we wanted in a holiday cottage. A warm welcome, comfortable cottage and in beautiful surroundings. What better place to relax. Great hospitality.

Guest from Carnforth stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in May 2014


Sheryl replied more than 1 year ago
What a great review of your stay at Abbotsway Cottage. I'm thrilled you found Orroland such a welcoming and peaceful place to stay for your spring bird watching break. I was so pleased that you were able to spot our resident partridge wandering the estate and able to tick them off your list of birds to find. As you have seen, Orroland is thriving with feathered friends from pheasant and partridge to buzzards, owls and a kestrel. It was lovely to hear that you were able to visit some of the beautiful areas that Dumfries and Galloway has to offer and spotted the red kites in their natural habitat. Thank you for leaving the cottage so immaculately on your departure, we really appreciate it. A warm welcome awaits here at Orroland if you choose to come and stay again.

The perfect last minute escape

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this property at the very last minute - and had expected when choosing somewhere to have to make some compromises. However, this was not the case with Abbotsway Cottage. It was perfect for us in every way. The care and attention was superb and we will be highly recommending and making every effort to return there ourselves. We have stayed in many cottages - this one will be hard to beat. The cottage and surroundings provided us with the relaxation we needed. Thank you very much.

Guest from Hebden Bridge stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 3 nights in April 2014


Sheryl replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to meet you all and thank you for such a good review of Abbotsway Cottage. I am really pleased you were happy with the house (including well stocked toy cupboard for the children!) and your choice of a self-catering cottage instead of a caravan site. As you have discovered, this is the perfect place for a relaxing break with plenty of peace, quiet and space for children to run and play. II was happy to hear that you enjoyed your walk around our quiet country lanes and were able to appreciate the beautiful scenery we have here at Orroland. Thank you for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy on your departure, we really appreciate it. With best wishes and hopes to see you again soon, Sheryl.

Fantastic cottage in a lovely location

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Apr 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After a long journey to Orroland we were very happy to find the cottage was very well presented. It was very clean and had all the little extras that you rarely get when self catering. The cake and tea / coffee was a very nice touch.

Guest from Leighton Buzzard stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in April 2014


Sheryl replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your fantastic review of your stay at Abbotsway Cottage. It is great to know that you appreciated our special touches, we always aim to provide a warm welcome. It was lovely to hear about your son's wedding, it sounded like the perfect day. What a great idea to have an owl for a ring bearer! We hope to see you again at Orroland. Best wishes, Sheryl

Abbotsway Advocates - The Chow Chows!!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another week of Paradise at the beautiful Abbotsway Cottage. So peaceful and tranquil, a wonderful walk to the private beach, warm and inviting accommodation, owned by a lovely family, who strive to please.

It must be noted we offered some minor tweak recommendations during our last visit and all have been implemented beautifully - WOW.

One would rarely find such positive aspects in everyway imaginable, anywhere in the UK, dog friendly or non dog friendly.

The Chow Chows love it...back in September, and seriously want to come 3 times a year now instead of 2!!

Thank you so much for a 10 out of 10 holiday.


Guest from Whalley, Clitheroe stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in March 2014


Melinda replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your absolutely lovely review. Paradise no less! I'm so glad you have found your ideal home-from-home at Abbotsway. I imagine you'll be feeling invigorated after all those wonderful walks and plenty of fresh sea air. Delighted to hear that your dogs love Orroland too! Please do come three times a year, that would be terrific.

Returning again to Orrloand

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's our 8th Visit to Orroland and we have booked for next year again- What more can I say!

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 9 nights in February 2014


Melinda replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. 9 half-term holidays at Orroland is surely the best 'review' there is! I'm glad the new sofa and armchairs were so comfortable that even the teenagers noticed! That's praise indeed. I wonder if they used the games room or the Wi-Fi more?! Great that you brought your bikes and headed off to the 7Stanes mountain biking trails at Dalbeattie. The trails provide such a good year-round activity for our guests; many bring kids bikes and hire adult bikes in Dalbeattie. Thank you for booking again for next year.

Gem of a cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived after dark, cottage lights and heating were on, the fire had been laid in the log stove and a home made chocolate cake placed on the table, milk in the fridge, what an excellent start! My husband and I spent a most enjoyable four nights in this delightful comfortable cottage. Its peaceful location, in Orroland, a short walk from the coast is beautiful. Wi fi signal is excellent. We hope to return again. The owner and I share the same Christian name - this isn't nepotism, we're not related.

Guest from Milton Keynes stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 4 nights in November 2013


Melinda replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your amazing feedback! I'm so glad you found Abbotsway welcoming and cosy when you arrived and that you enjoyed the cake. It's great to hear that you found the cottage comfortable and characterful and that you made the most of the grounds at Orroland as well as exploring the coastal area around us. I really hope you got to see the migratory birds on the move and I'm pleased you made the most of those amazingly clear dark sky nights in which the stars were so brilliant ... Orroland, centre of the universe?!

Abbotsway Cottage, Orroland

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great find. Lovely house in a wonderful location with your own games room. The cottage was spacious and warm and had lovely gardens and a sitting area with table and chairs outside. Arrived to find fresh flowers in the lounge and cake and drinks waiting for us in the kitchen. Lovely sitting area by the bay window in the lounge with table and chairs to sit and read or play some board games. So peaceful, just a great place to have a holiday. Lots to explore on the estate with plenty of wildlife to see and a great rocky beach which gave us hours of enjoyment. Cheryl was great, giving us information on places to eat out and places to go walking. We will definitely be back but next time for longer.

Guest from Cupar stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 4 nights in October 2013


Sheryl replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review of your stay at Abbotsway Cottage; I'm so pleased that Orroland was the perfect spot for your return to Dumfries and Galloway. I am thrilled that the house met your expectations and that you thought it has such a good layout for 5 adults. It was great to hear that you were able to meet up with old friends and visit local places that you used to love. Thank you for the information on the David Coulthard museum, I'll pass this recommendation on. It was lovely to meet you and I hope you are able to stay with us again ... a warm welcome awaits.

Abbotsway Cottage, Orroland

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2013
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our third year staying at Orroland having stayed previously at Cutlars Lodge and Abbotsway.

The estate is fantastic with its private road and private access to the beach.

Easy access to Kircudbright


Guest from Sale stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in August 2013


Melinda replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of Orroland following your third holiday here. It's such a pleasure to welcome familiar guests back and great that you've stayed at both cottages. I'm glad you made the most of the estate and enjoyed the beach. Kirkcudbright is such a lovely place and only 15-minutes drive from Orroland; with a good choice of restaurants and artists' influence, it's a joy to explore. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes from us all, Melinda

Orroland Estate

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You want to get away and live in peace quiet and serenity then look no further than the Orroland Estate. With numerous accommodation potential, the shore an explorers walk away and wildlife to delight in the Estate provides a wealth of opportunity. The unicorn leads the way to the spiral hill pass the beehives to the boathouse. A welcoming visit by Melinda when you arrive and a quick check by her when you leave that all was ok than you are left in peace to explore all that surrounds you. We have arrived home fresh and revitalised and have already made enquiries for next year. If you are looking at this review then do nothing more book the holiday of a lifetime (one warning though be prepared for weather of uncertain fortune for being in Dumfries & Galloway anything is possible but then beer/sunshine or a blazing fire/wee dram ce la vie!)

Guest from Skipton stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in September 2013


Melinda replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your fabulous feedback; we're so pleased you had a lovely time exploring Orroland and the local area and that Abbotsway suited you well. It's a great layout for accommodating 3 generations. So good to hear that you're feeling properly rested and refreshed.

Orroland is a perfect haven of escapism from day to day routine activities

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Orroland gets 5 stars for 1) Excellent cleanliness 2) Beautiful remote location with very well planned grounds within the estate 3) Warm and welcoming, both property and owners! 4) Fantastic for the 3 Chow Chow dogs 5) A wonderful base location if you wish to travel 6) Attention to detail is first class - carefully selected eye catching flowers and a very special delicious chocolate cake.

We will never stay in a luxury hotel / guest house again, we are totally smitten and we are also very fussy so these accolades are based upon true experiences and honesty.

Thank you so much Orroland people, you are truly wonderful!!!!

See you in 2014.......


Guest from Whalley, Clitheroe stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in August 2013


Melinda Kennedy replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Carole Ann, Thank you so much for giving us this lovely review of your stay at Abbotsway. I'm so happy you found Orroland such an ideal base for your holiday. It was great to have you and your beautiful dogs at Orroland and thank you for booking again for next year.

Excellent week - return visit to the same cottage did not disappoint

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2013
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage is in an excellent location. We are a family of keen cyclists and find the roads round here quiet and suitable for our 8 and 10 year old. This cottage, being the highest up of the three on the estate is easiest for getting out (the others would begin every ride with a very steep start!). Plenty to do in the local area if you like outdoor pursuits or simply going to the beach - but not for those wanting the city lights. Hosts are very welcoming and cottage well equipped with lots of space to spread out.

Guest from Darlington stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in April 2013


A week to remember.

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Sep 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property was snugly warm and very well equipped.
The owners were welcoming and on hand for a problem, not that we had any.
The location is just stunning and peaceful. Lots to do and visit locally especially
for garden lovers.
A bonus is that the sun shone every day.
Jayne


Guest from Mold stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in June 2013


Melinda Kennedy replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Jayne, We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday at Orroland and that you found Abbotsway snug and a good base for exploring the region's gardens and nurseries. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Orroland in the future. Best wishes, Melinda

relaxing holiday in peacefull setting

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Aug 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There is not much to say about Abbotsway Cottage because it was perfect for us and we could not find anything to be improved.
Very warm welcome.
Spacious kitchen and living room with fresh flowers and log fire.
Very quiet location with pheasants and cows looking through your windows.
Stunning rocky beaches close by.
Perfect for a relaxed stay with all modern comfort.
Small fenced court to let the dogs out. Perfect for dog owners and for families with kids.
WiFi is excellent but no mobile phone access available.
We enjoyed our stay very much and do highly recommend this place!


Owners and people of the local pub at Auchencairn are also giving a warm and friendly welcome to guests and dogs. The cleanness there is highly improveable. We enjoyed one evening there. Food there is OK but not worth to be mentioned. Still we'd recommend going there because of the friendlyness of the local people.

The best food experience we have ever made in UK was at Balcary Country House Hotel which is just a 10 minutes drive from Orroland. They are offering a five star kitchen on highest level. This place is worth to be visited if you like places with excellent food served with creativity in a relaxed but elegant atmosphere. Dress code is 'smart casual' (without Jeans) and men are mostly wearing ties. Most of the guests there are residents and over 50. The bar offers a huge selection of Scottish single malts. The staff is very friendly just the wine glasses (for the red) could have been bigger and of better quality. Menue changes every day. Nice views to Balcary bay and a stunning sunset. Booking highly reccommendet.

Circutbright is a very nice and clean town, with nice little shops, not to far away and worth to be visited.

We'd also recommend visiting the ruins of Dundrennan Abbey and the local beaches.

Michael+Renate (married couple 50+, with two dogs)


Guest from Kierling stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in June 2013


Melinda Kennedy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about Abbotsway. We're so pleased you found it welcoming, comfortable and spacious. Many of our guests are families with children and/or dog owners so having an enclosed space providing safe freedom is very important. Great that you have shared tips about places you went and nearby restaurants/pubs.