FB Twitter

Abbotsway Cottage

Abbotsway Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.5


A peaceful, private cottage which is a great favourite with families due to its excellent games room and spacious accommodation. There are 2 bath/shower rooms. A fully enclosed courtyard provides safe freedom for children and dogs. Wood burner with unlimited logs. Also popular with smaller parties and couples as one wing can be closed off giving a feeling of cosy intimacy.

Dream home from home

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Abbotsway Cottage is a place to recharge your batteries. Location is fantastic as you can find so much to do on your door step or just wonder the grounds. Wildlife in abundance, dolphins, deer, hares bats and owls. For star gazers the light free nights are fab. The cottage is a home from home. A comfortable lounge with a wonderful log fire to dream away the evenings. A great house keeping team if required. This is our third trip and not our last.

Guest from Hungerford stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 14 nights in August 2014


Melinda replied 10 days ago
I'm so pleased you got such pleasure from the naturally inspiring environment and wildlife of Orroland and Dumfries & Galloway. The dark skies are indeed remarkable with even brighter stars in the winter. It's lovely to know that you enjoy Abbotsway as a base for your exploration of the area and for rest and relaxation. 'Home from home' is music to my ears. Best wishes from us all, Melinda

Holiday at Abbotsway Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Aug 2014
4.3
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Beautiful place, extremely peaceful. Fiona & Rob couldn't have done more for us. I have never been anywhere in the world where all the people in the surrounding area were so pleasant. Walking around the private estate with our dogs was amazing, with memories we will never forget.

Guest from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in July 2014


Melinda replied 51 days ago
Hello, it was good to speak just now and thank you for your review. I'm so pleased you found the people in the area so welcoming and friendly and that you have taken the time to praise Bob and Fiona; we couldn't do without them. Lovely that you made such good use of the gardens and grounds with your family and dogs.

Transformation from working farm to beautiful haven

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jul 2014
4.8
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
It was lovely to return after 40 years to discover the peaceful safe environment is still here.The transformation from working farm to its current beautiful haven is down to the hard work and vision of the Kennedy family.This well equipped holiday home is all you could wish for,with very helpful hosts and a scrummy lemon cake on arrival. We made the most of the extensive grounds/estate,with pretty wild flower meadow, the tump,the pond,the loch and shore.Careful planting and beautiful flower beds,including the fern garden are the result of much care and attention.A charity garden opening was scheduled for Sunday 6th July and the garden looked spectacular.Our stay was enhanced by the generosity of our hosts and the sunny weather.We plan to return before another 40 years have elapsed.Look at the photos on the Orroland website,it really is as good as it looks.
Our holiday was also enjoyed by our 21 and 19 year old daughters and the games room is an added bonus.


Guest from Cheltenham stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in June 2014


Melinda replied 86 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your pleasure of the grounds at Orroland with future guests. There have certainly been a lot of changes in the intervening 40 years and it's a joy to hear that you enjoyed all the varied gardens and landscaping and found Abbotsway well equipped. Fiona is so pleased you enjoyed her lemon drizzle cake - she really is amazing at baking isn't she! Best wishes to you all from us all, Melinda

Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
We had a fabulous time at Abbotsway Cottage. The cottage was very clean, well equipped and ideally placed on the estate. Having our own driveway and courtyard ensured total privacy. Our only neighbours were cows and rabbits in the field opposite. We enjoyed many walks from the doorstep and having the seashore to ourselves was a real treat. The sea views were amazing, the wildlife was incredible and the weather was superb. We would love to return again, (our previous visit was 12 years ago) so hopefully it will not be a 12 year wait for the next time!

Guest from Kettering stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 14 nights in June 2014


Fiona replied 92 days ago
Thank you for such an amazing review of your stay at Abbotsway Cottage. Being able to complete so many walks from the doorstep is a real bonus when you have had such a long drive to get here! Having the seashore to yourself, discovering the secret hideaways and waterfalls, what an adventure. We hope to see you soon and hopefully, you can bring the glorious weather with you again.

Abbotsway Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Very Clean and well equipped cottage. Location great. Plenty of wildlife. Grounds excellent. Highly recommend.

Guest from Leicester stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in May 2014


Melinda replied 122 days ago
Thank you SO much for your wonderful review. I'm so glad you enjoyed staying at Abbotsway and that you were able to join in on your friends' annual holiday at Orroland. What is it now, 9 years running?! I think you had the best of Great Britain's weather too.

Abbotsway Cottage, Orroland

Review submitted on Tue, 27 May 2014
4.3
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
The cottage is in a stunningly beautiful location and was warm, spacious and comfortable. We particularly liked the bay window with the round table overlooking the fields and trees.
Although nearly all was either good or excellent there were a few areas that could have been a bit cleaner ie kitchen cupboards and pans. The games room was very dusty.
I chose this cottage because I need level access for a wheelchair/scooter and a bathroom with bath. The entrance was a bit of a problem for me with 2 smallish steps to negotiate. A ramped entrance to the utility area would help greatly. Otherwise the cottage was ideal for my needs and I would love to stay there again.

Judy Erwin
(guest of Cheryl Beillard)


Guest from Douglas stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 14 nights in May 2014


Melinda replied 126 days ago
Hello Judy, Thank you for taking the time to feed back to us after your stay. I'm glad you took pleasure from the environs of the cottage and that you found Sheryl helpful with your requests during your stay. I raced up to Abbotsway to see the present guests when I read about your housekeeping concerns as we always aim for as-new perfection. It was a relief to find they didn't think anything was wrong and that we are back up to our usual high standard; I'm awfully sorry that you found our attention to detail was not quite as it should have been for your arrival. I will see what can be done about providing a ramp for the little step into the kitchen; I can see that would be useful. Best wishes, Melinda

Luxury

Review submitted on Tue, 13 May 2014
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Everything that we wanted in a holiday cottage. A warm welcome, comfortable cottage and in beautiful surroundings. What better place to relax. Great hospitality.

Guest from Carnforth stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in May 2014


Sheryl replied 141 days ago
What a great review of your stay at Abbotsway Cottage. I'm thrilled you found Orroland such a welcoming and peaceful place to stay for your spring bird watching break. I was so pleased that you were able to spot our resident partridge wandering the estate and able to tick them off your list of birds to find. As you have seen, Orroland is thriving with feathered friends from pheasant and partridge to buzzards, owls and a kestrel. It was lovely to hear that you were able to visit some of the beautiful areas that Dumfries and Galloway has to offer and spotted the red kites in their natural habitat. Thank you for leaving the cottage so immaculately on your departure, we really appreciate it. A warm welcome awaits here at Orroland if you choose to come and stay again.

The perfect last minute escape

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
We booked this property at the very last minute - and had expected when choosing somewhere to have to make some compromises. However, this was not the case with Abbotsway Cottage. It was perfect for us in every way. The care and attention was superb and we will be highly recommending and making every effort to return there ourselves. We have stayed in many cottages - this one will be hard to beat. The cottage and surroundings provided us with the relaxation we needed. Thank you very much.

Guest from Hebden Bridge stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 3 nights in April 2014


Sheryl replied 160 days ago
It was lovely to meet you all and thank you for such a good review of Abbotsway Cottage. I am really pleased you were happy with the house (including well stocked toy cupboard for the children!) and your choice of a self-catering cottage instead of a caravan site. As you have discovered, this is the perfect place for a relaxing break with plenty of peace, quiet and space for children to run and play. II was happy to hear that you enjoyed your walk around our quiet country lanes and were able to appreciate the beautiful scenery we have here at Orroland. Thank you for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy on your departure, we really appreciate it. With best wishes and hopes to see you again soon, Sheryl.

Fantastic cottage in a lovely location

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Apr 2014
4.8
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
After a long journey to Orroland we were very happy to find the cottage was very well presented. It was very clean and had all the little extras that you rarely get when self catering. The cake and tea / coffee was a very nice touch.

Guest from Leighton Buzzard stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in April 2014


Sheryl replied 168 days ago
Thank you for your fantastic review of your stay at Abbotsway Cottage. It is great to know that you appreciated our special touches, we always aim to provide a warm welcome. It was lovely to hear about your son's wedding, it sounded like the perfect day. What a great idea to have an owl for a ring bearer! We hope to see you again at Orroland. Best wishes, Sheryl

Abbotsway Advocates - The Chow Chows!!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Another week of Paradise at the beautiful Abbotsway Cottage. So peaceful and tranquil, a wonderful walk to the private beach, warm and inviting accommodation, owned by a lovely family, who strive to please.

It must be noted we offered some minor tweak recommendations during our last visit and all have been implemented beautifully - WOW.

One would rarely find such positive aspects in everyway imaginable, anywhere in the UK, dog friendly or non dog friendly.

The Chow Chows love it...back in September, and seriously want to come 3 times a year now instead of 2!!

Thank you so much for a 10 out of 10 holiday.


Guest from Whalley, Clitheroe stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in March 2014


Melinda replied 176 days ago
Thank you for your absolutely lovely review. Paradise no less! I'm so glad you have found your ideal home-from-home at Abbotsway. I imagine you'll be feeling invigorated after all those wonderful walks and plenty of fresh sea air. Delighted to hear that your dogs love Orroland too! Please do come three times a year, that would be terrific.

Returning again to Orrloand

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2014
4.8
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
It's our 8th Visit to Orroland and we have booked for next year again- What more can I say!

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 9 nights in February 2014


Melinda replied 218 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. 9 half-term holidays at Orroland is surely the best 'review' there is! I'm glad the new sofa and armchairs were so comfortable that even the teenagers noticed! That's praise indeed. I wonder if they used the games room or the Wi-Fi more?! Great that you brought your bikes and headed off to the 7Stanes mountain biking trails at Dalbeattie. The trails provide such a good year-round activity for our guests; many bring kids bikes and hire adult bikes in Dalbeattie. Thank you for booking again for next year.

Gem of a cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
We arrived after dark, cottage lights and heating were on, the fire had been laid in the log stove and a home made chocolate cake placed on the table, milk in the fridge, what an excellent start! My husband and I spent a most enjoyable four nights in this delightful comfortable cottage. Its peaceful location, in Orroland, a short walk from the coast is beautiful. Wi fi signal is excellent. We hope to return again. The owner and I share the same Christian name - this isn't nepotism, we're not related.

Guest from Milton Keynes stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 4 nights in November 2013


Melinda replied 302 days ago
Thank you so much for your amazing feedback! I'm so glad you found Abbotsway welcoming and cosy when you arrived and that you enjoyed the cake. It's great to hear that you found the cottage comfortable and characterful and that you made the most of the grounds at Orroland as well as exploring the coastal area around us. I really hope you got to see the migratory birds on the move and I'm pleased you made the most of those amazingly clear dark sky nights in which the stars were so brilliant ... Orroland, centre of the universe?!

Abbotsway Cottage, Orroland

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2013
4.8
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
What a great find. Lovely house in a wonderful location with your own games room. The cottage was spacious and warm and had lovely gardens and a sitting area with table and chairs outside. Arrived to find fresh flowers in the lounge and cake and drinks waiting for us in the kitchen. Lovely sitting area by the bay window in the lounge with table and chairs to sit and read or play some board games. So peaceful, just a great place to have a holiday. Lots to explore on the estate with plenty of wildlife to see and a great rocky beach which gave us hours of enjoyment. Cheryl was great, giving us information on places to eat out and places to go walking. We will definitely be back but next time for longer.

Guest from Cupar stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 4 nights in October 2013


Sheryl replied 352 days ago
Thank you for your excellent review of your stay at Abbotsway Cottage; I'm so pleased that Orroland was the perfect spot for your return to Dumfries and Galloway. I am thrilled that the house met your expectations and that you thought it has such a good layout for 5 adults. It was great to hear that you were able to meet up with old friends and visit local places that you used to love. Thank you for the information on the David Coulthard museum, I'll pass this recommendation on. It was lovely to meet you and I hope you are able to stay with us again ... a warm welcome awaits.

Abbotsway Cottage, Orroland

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2013
4.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Our third year staying at Orroland having stayed previously at Cutlars Lodge and Abbotsway.

The estate is fantastic with its private road and private access to the beach.

Easy access to Kircudbright


Guest from Sale stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in August 2013


Melinda replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of Orroland following your third holiday here. It's such a pleasure to welcome familiar guests back and great that you've stayed at both cottages. I'm glad you made the most of the estate and enjoyed the beach. Kirkcudbright is such a lovely place and only 15-minutes drive from Orroland; with a good choice of restaurants and artists' influence, it's a joy to explore. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes from us all, Melinda

Orroland Estate

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
You want to get away and live in peace quiet and serenity then look no further than the Orroland Estate. With numerous accommodation potential, the shore an explorers walk away and wildlife to delight in the Estate provides a wealth of opportunity. The unicorn leads the way to the spiral hill pass the beehives to the boathouse. A welcoming visit by Melinda when you arrive and a quick check by her when you leave that all was ok than you are left in peace to explore all that surrounds you. We have arrived home fresh and revitalised and have already made enquiries for next year. If you are looking at this review then do nothing more book the holiday of a lifetime (one warning though be prepared for weather of uncertain fortune for being in Dumfries & Galloway anything is possible but then beer/sunshine or a blazing fire/wee dram ce la vie!)

Guest from Skipton stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in September 2013


Melinda replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your fabulous feedback; we're so pleased you had a lovely time exploring Orroland and the local area and that Abbotsway suited you well. It's a great layout for accommodating 3 generations. So good to hear that you're feeling properly rested and refreshed.

Orroland is a perfect haven of escapism from day to day routine activities

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2013
4.8
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Orroland gets 5 stars for 1) Excellent cleanliness 2) Beautiful remote location with very well planned grounds within the estate 3) Warm and welcoming, both property and owners! 4) Fantastic for the 3 Chow Chow dogs 5) A wonderful base location if you wish to travel 6) Attention to detail is first class - carefully selected eye catching flowers and a very special delicious chocolate cake.

We will never stay in a luxury hotel / guest house again, we are totally smitten and we are also very fussy so these accolades are based upon true experiences and honesty.

Thank you so much Orroland people, you are truly wonderful!!!!

See you in 2014.......


Guest from Whalley, Clitheroe stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in August 2013


Melinda Kennedy replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Carole Ann, Thank you so much for giving us this lovely review of your stay at Abbotsway. I'm so happy you found Orroland such an ideal base for your holiday. It was great to have you and your beautiful dogs at Orroland and thank you for booking again for next year.

Excellent week - return visit to the same cottage did not disappoint

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2013
4.5
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Cottage is in an excellent location. We are a family of keen cyclists and find the roads round here quiet and suitable for our 8 and 10 year old. This cottage, being the highest up of the three on the estate is easiest for getting out (the others would begin every ride with a very steep start!). Plenty to do in the local area if you like outdoor pursuits or simply going to the beach - but not for those wanting the city lights. Hosts are very welcoming and cottage well equipped with lots of space to spread out.

Guest from Darlington stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in April 2013


A week to remember.

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Sep 2013
4.7
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
The property was snugly warm and very well equipped.
The owners were welcoming and on hand for a problem, not that we had any.
The location is just stunning and peaceful. Lots to do and visit locally especially
for garden lovers.
A bonus is that the sun shone every day.
Jayne


Guest from Mold stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in June 2013


Melinda Kennedy replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Jayne, We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday at Orroland and that you found Abbotsway snug and a good base for exploring the region's gardens and nurseries. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Orroland in the future. Best wishes, Melinda

relaxing holiday in peacefull setting

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Aug 2013
4.7
out of 5
Would recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
There is not much to say about Abbotsway Cottage because it was perfect for us and we could not find anything to be improved.
Very warm welcome.
Spacious kitchen and living room with fresh flowers and log fire.
Very quiet location with pheasants and cows looking through your windows.
Stunning rocky beaches close by.
Perfect for a relaxed stay with all modern comfort.
Small fenced court to let the dogs out. Perfect for dog owners and for families with kids.
WiFi is excellent but no mobile phone access available.
We enjoyed our stay very much and do highly recommend this place!


Owners and people of the local pub at Auchencairn are also giving a warm and friendly welcome to guests and dogs. The cleanness there is highly improveable. We enjoyed one evening there. Food there is OK but not worth to be mentioned. Still we'd recommend going there because of the friendlyness of the local people.

The best food experience we have ever made in UK was at Balcary Country House Hotel which is just a 10 minutes drive from Orroland. They are offering a five star kitchen on highest level. This place is worth to be visited if you like places with excellent food served with creativity in a relaxed but elegant atmosphere. Dress code is 'smart casual' (without Jeans) and men are mostly wearing ties. Most of the guests there are residents and over 50. The bar offers a huge selection of Scottish single malts. The staff is very friendly just the wine glasses (for the red) could have been bigger and of better quality. Menue changes every day. Nice views to Balcary bay and a stunning sunset. Booking highly reccommendet.

Circutbright is a very nice and clean town, with nice little shops, not to far away and worth to be visited.

We'd also recommend visiting the ruins of Dundrennan Abbey and the local beaches.

Michael+Renate (married couple 50+, with two dogs)


Guest from Kierling stayed at Abbotsway Cottage for 7 nights in June 2013


Melinda Kennedy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about Abbotsway. We're so pleased you found it welcoming, comfortable and spacious. Many of our guests are families with children and/or dog owners so having an enclosed space providing safe freedom is very important. Great that you have shared tips about places you went and nearby restaurants/pubs.