FB Twitter

Cwt Mochyn

Cwt Mochyn

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.7
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.9


Banceithin is a 10 acre smallholding nestled in a secluded valley in the heart of Welsh Wales, between the Cambrian Mountains to the east and Cardigan Bay to the west. We have two luxury self-catering cottages, Hen Ffermdy (sleeps 2) and Cwt Mochyn (sleeps 6); both are renovated traditional Welsh stone buildings with modern interior design and facilities blending with the character and original features with just the right amount of history left in the mix. We are Gold members of the Green Tourism Business Scheme and proud winners of their Best Self-Catering Accommodation Goldstar Award. The smallholding is a wildlife haven & in a dark skies area; perfect for birdwatching & stargazing.

Great short break

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was, as always, just really lovely - the cottage was wonderful, the setting is lovely, it makes for a very relaxing break.



stay at cwt Mochyn

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage to stay in. Peaceful and remote but not too far for supermarkets and pubs to eat out at. .David and Philippa made us very welcome and helpful.



Short family break

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage with breath taking views. The cottage has a warm homely feel and is decorated to a high standard. We loved the small holding and so did our young children. We visited the animals and explored the site. We enjoyed a picturesque BBQ on the evening which was provided with the cottage and a log fire. The beaches are just a short drive away and lots of fantastic walks. I have recommended already to all my friends, family and colleagues and hope to return again soon.



Short stay (not long enough)

Review submitted on Sat, 27 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

Absolutely perfect property which could not be improved upon in any way whatsoever. Everything you could possibly need is provided and we shall return again and again but for longer. Congratulations Philippa and David, you have got everything just right.




A relaxing Easter break

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location for a truly relaxing, get away from it all holiday. The digital detox was fine for the adults, but slightly more challenging for the teenagers, but they survived. Helping David deliver a lamb made up for not being to access internet 24/7.

The setting is stunning and the hosts are amazing. Philippa and David are on hand to assist if you need them and are extremely helpful.

Everything you can think of is there - well equipped cottage with top quality fixtures and fittings and a games room with something for all ages.

Thank you for a lovely stay on your small holding:)





What a wonderful week..

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really relaxing and comfortable stay in glorious sunshine. Dave and Philippa were great hosts and had thought of everything. We fell in love with this region of Wales and plan to return! Thank you.



A very relaxing week!

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay, a very lovely cottage in utterly peaceful surroundings. The breakfast pack we pre-ordered was as excellent as ever, as was the Lamb Bhuna we had from the freezer. So nice to just lounge around free of the demands of email and social media! Looking forward to our next visit.



Cwt Mochyn

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, warm, welcoming and well-equipped, we wanted for nothing and looked forward to returning each day. Have stayed in many holiday cottages and Cwt Mochyn has been one of the best.



Another relaxing getaway

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed in the smaller cottage for two, and thoroughly enjoyed that, we decided to try Cwt Mochyn this time.

Once again, could not fault the welcome, the surroundings and the cottage and its' facilities.

Although there were only the two of us, this cottage would be great to bring the family as there is so much to see and do, both at Banceithin, and in the local area.

Planning another visit.




A fantastic stay in Bethania

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Huge thank you for a fantastic stay at the Cwt mochyn holiday Cottage. We had an extended stay of Five weeks visiting family in the area From Australia and it really was a home from home.
The cottage is beautifully decorated, with really thoughtful touches throughout. From hot water bottles to Epsom salts in the bathroom. The cottage has a private outlook into farm land but situated near Phillippa & David's home if we needed anything. No wifi or mobile phone reception but it was great to get off line, catch up as a family, read books and watch movies. Love the 'bible' with all the suggestions of where to go and what to do. The games
Room
And market garden are a lovely addition and we loved being able to buy home cooked frozen meals & meat when we couldn't be bother to pop out. We also loved The Eco aspects of the cottage which is inline with how we live at home. The low toxic household products were brilliant and great for our small kids. Thoroughly recommend The cottages. Brilliant hosts who couldn't do enough for you and always fun to catch up with. I've no doubt we will back!




Perfect for cosy Autumn break.

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The renovation and ethos of this peacefully-situated smallholding is truly admirable. Banceithin is warm and comfortable, well furnished and decorated and there is a keen awareness of sustainability, conservation and of the locality. Delicious home-cooked food (including vegetarian), home-made sausages and organic bread are available in the deep freeze. There are freshly-laid eggs, jams and Banceithin's own vegetables available to buy. It is a great base for exploring Ceridigion either on foot or, as we did, by car. Lots to see and do locally - Cardigan Bay is nearby and there are good pubs and restaurants at Aberaeron and Tregaron.



A very relaxing break

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a peaceful location. Very welcoming host, who offer you the opportunity to wander anywhere on their small holding, so the first morning we did just that past the vegetable patch, poly tunnel, through the field with the sheep and then finally on the wet land to the corner with a bench my the stream. There is also a tree house and fire pit in the other direction. We fully utilised the hosts (Philippa and David)'s produce - fresh eggs from the hens who come to meet you every morning, delicious jam from fruit grown on their land, homemade bread, sausages from their pigs, cottage pie and apple pie. The cottage is 15 min drive from the nearest seaside village with a few restaurants and then 30 mins to the nearest main town but that's part of its attraction. There is a very comprehensive guide book in the cottage with information on everything in the cottage, menus from local restaurants, things to do and various walks including several from the cottage. I think this place is suitable for both couples and families, and I have to stay I have never felt so relaxed and at home staying in a UK cottage



Short of nothing.

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place to stay with every need thought of from dog requirements to our own. Beautiful and quiet . Owners very welcoming.





Lovely Relaxing Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have had a fantastic weeks Holiday. The location and cottage are beautiful, ideal for exploring the area. Our dogs were well looked after and the property is very dog friendly.
David and Philippa were lovely hosts and made us all feel very welcome. We would not hesitate to recommend them to others and we will definitely return.




Summer holidays

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage and surrounding area is just perfect. Very peaceful and relaxing. We loved everything about our stay. Easy access to lovely beaches. Miss having breakfast in the garden watching the red kites overhead.
Can't recommend this cottage enough!




Fantastic location for a family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cannot fault the attention to detail. The welcom pack was great really enjoyed the cake with our first cuppa. The accommodation provided everything we needed. The games room was a great facility for our family table tennis competition, inspired by the olympics! The availability of cooked foods meant a couple of easy nights in the kitchen!



A fantastic break away-from-it-all

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was very warm, comfortable and extremely well equipped. The information book was well organised and contained many helpful suggestions of local walks and places to eat. The circular walks around Banceithin and the views of the sunset over Ceredigion Bay were gorgeous. We particularly enjoyed watching the birds on the bird feeder and we were amused by the free roaming chickens mopping up any of the scattered seeds. We had a very good sighting of the barn owl crossing the garden one evening and hunting in the trees in the valley. We walked around the small holding most days, met the sheep and lambs and the weaners, and surveyed the fruit and veg plot and the bee hives. The produce for sale in the shop was delicious. David and Philippa were friendly and we were made to feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble for them. Their eco-lifestyle was evident everywhere. We would like to return one day and would recommend it to others as a good place to go and escape the bustle of everyday life.



Wonderful experience, great hosts, fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family stayed at Banceithin for 5 days in early April. It was wonderful from the moment we arrived. The location is fantastic - great views, surrounded by lovely countryside and farms, nicely "away from it all" but within a short drive to local villages and towns that we didn't feel too cut off.

The cottage was really good. Very tastefully converted from an old barn, very comfortable and all mod cons (except wifi - which we liked because it forced us to switch off completely while inside the cottage!). There was a basket of fresh fruit and some groceries waiting for us when we arrived (definitely worth ordering the delicious organic fruit basket and the breakfast pack with local bacon and sausages!). The hosts, Philippa and David, even brought us some freshly baked Welsh cakes that they had made that afternoon - a nice touch.

Banceithin was great for our young daughters (5 and 3 yrs old). Philippa and David very generously took us for a walk around the grounds, encouraging the children to play with Terri the dog (very friendly), 3 cats, feeding numerous chickens and sheep. We were lucky enough to be visiting during lambing season, and one of she sheep had twins while we were there (Philippa and David were kind enough to name the lambs after our daughters!).

We have nothing but the highest praise for Banceithin. A great escape from our hectic city life, very comfortable and with many thoughtful touches from the owners. Too many to mention, but I particularly liked the games room which also contains a self-service larder and freezer stocked with fresh local produce and home-made meals (I strongly recommend the cottage pie!); well-stocked DVDs and book library in the cottage; lots of games and activities for all weather; very comprehensive guest folders with a history of the property and recommendations for local walks, activities, restaurants and such like.

Last but not least, the hosts, Philippa and David, could not have been friendlier or more helpful. They made us feel very welcome and were wonderful with our daughters. I thoroughly recommend it!




Fantastic Place

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage has everything (and more) that you need for a relaxing break.and is ideal for a couple or a family. Everything is of a high standard and the setting is great. There is easy walking from the front door or the coast is only a few miles away. The food in the freezer was very welcolme and meant we didn't have to waste time in the shops. We hope to return in the future.