FB Twitter

The Old Windmill,Self Catering

The Old Windmill,Self Catering

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 119 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


The Old Windmill, Aylsham, Norfolk NRll 6NB. Halfway between Norwich and the coast at Cromer.

Built in 1826 it was a working flour mill for almost 100 years. The Mill was then derelict for more than 80 years, and has now been converted into luxurious self catering accommodation for 6 people. The accommodation is on 4 floors linked by normal domestic stairs.
Aylsham is ideally placed in the centre of North Norfolk. Explore the coast, the Broads and the city of Norwich.

The best holiday let in Norfolk,

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Janet and Tim provide everything you need to make your stay comfortable, nothing is too much trouble. The Mill is our favourite holiday let and we are frequent visitors, we love it. Here's to next time :0



Great location and lovely accomodation

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Windmill exceeded our expectations in all respects. It was very clean, very comfortable, well appointed and in a very good location. It was an easy walk into the town where there were most facilities including grocery shops and restaurants. It was also an easy drive to both the coast and The Broads.
The sheltered courtyard garden and the use of a BBQ were very much appreciated. All in all to be highly recommended.




Great self catering holiday accomodation

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at The Old Windmill three times now over the course of 10 years. It is one of our all time favourite places to stay. Tim and Janet are a pleasure to deal with and Aylsham is a great base from which to explore North Norfolk. Staying in a round building seems to exert a particularly relaxing effect on us; I'm sure we'll be back one day.



A week in a windmill

Review submitted on Tue, 23 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the owners we knew that we were going to enjoy our week in North Norfolk. We took our bikes and there was ample room in the ground floor utility for storage. The convenience of a washer dryer and dishwasher was greatly appreciated. The bed was comfy and there was more than ample bits and pieces ie salt, pepper, tea bags, coffee milk and the like to ease us into our vacation. We cycled or walked from the door every day which is so refreshing to go away and leave the car on the drive. The owners were next door and we were invited to 'knock on' if we had any issues but all went well. We can highly recommend this holiday let and the location.



A historic and beautifully restored old windmill conveniently situated on the outskirts of Aylsham

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Windmill is extremely well resourced and spotlessly clean. We were a party of 3 adults interested in National Trust Properties and Nature Reserves and found the Mill conveniently situated to visit a selection of venues. We also appreciated being within easy walking distance of the centre of Aylsham for meals in the evening and for rolls and pastries from the bakeries in the morning. Tim and Janet were helpful and friendly without being obtrusive and we were impressed with the welcome pack which was left for us to enjoy. We would certainly recommend the Old Windmill to anyone wanting a holiday in a historic, quirky and comfortable home.



Another fabulous stay in unique property

Review submitted on Thu, 04 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 2nd visit and once again we had a great time. Everything so comfortable, great location and we managed to find the sneaky grey mouse to win a prize! The kids and adults loved it alike. We went to Holkham Hall, Bewilderwood and Sandringham all within easy reach of the property. Janet and Tim put so much effort into the property and it really shows. So much so we have booked for May 2018 so highly recommend!



What a wonderful home

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have recently stayed for a week in this beautiful windmill with our grown up children, it had everything you would need for a real chill out week, all 6 of us love to cook and we never once struggled for equipment. As we don't manage to all get together very often, I had done some research on what there is to do in the local area but we didn't do any of it as the weather was very kind and we were just sitting around chatting and playing board games (or completing a tricky jigsaw - which became a bit of a marathon). The beds were all very comfy and everything was very nice and clean.



Friendly luxury

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at the Old Windmill. Tim and Janet were friendly and welcoming, and the windmill itself was delightful. We are hoping to return some day.



A Windmill of Wonder !!

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had the pleasure of staying at Aylsham Windmill for a week. What a great place. Very quiet location in lovely surroundings. The layout is brilliant and every need was catered for. Nice touch with the welcome pack. Plenty of books and dvd's at our disposal. We thought it might be a bit chilly given the nature of the building, but it was really warm and cosy (had to turn the heating down !!). The utility room on the ground floor is really useful, as it meant we could leave all our walking boots/coats in there, and the additional fridge/freezer came in handy too. Although we didn't use the washer/dryer/dishwasher, it was great to have them just in case. I can't think of anything that could be added to make it better ... no improvements required. Only slight problem was with the internet connection, but that was due to a fault with the provider. Searching for the "hidden visitors" was great fun - something I'm sure no guest could resist joining in !! All in all thoroughly enjoyable. Thanks Tim and Janet.



Tim & Janet replied 93 days ago
Thanks for your great review. Glad you had a good week. Sorry about the Wi-Fi, all fine now! It was only down for a day - possibly we just should have restarted the router extender.

Short break at The Old Mill Aylsham

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic right from the moment Tim and Janet gave us such a warm welcome. The Old Windmill is a building full of character which has been restored to a very high standard. It's cosy and has all the facilities needed for a great break. The attention to detail sets the Old Mill apart from other holiday lets. Aylsham is well placed to visit Norwich or the North Norfolk coast, the town itself is very pleasant and has a nice range of pubs and restaurants. If you like large portions of good food - try the Black Boys in Aylsham town center.

I would not hesitate to highly recommend The Old Mill as a 1st class holiday cottage.




Tim & Janet replied 95 days ago
Thank you so much. Great to meet you both, really glad you enjoyed it! Best wishes Tim & Janet.

A special place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolute brilliant stay in this delightful windmill
From the moment we pulled up outside we were totally bowled over
Janet and Tim had provided a welcome pack of goodies and also other little touches like toiletries and tissues etc were an added bonus throughout the windmill
We would highly recommend this beautiful place to stay cosy with all creature comforts of home




Tim & Janet replied 112 days ago
Many thanks for your very kind review! Really glad the 3 of you enjoyed your stay, and the weather was pretty good too. Best wishes Tim & Janet

Fabulous weekend away

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved it. Beautiful, clean, superb welcome and well equipped enough to cook a small roast.
Incredible building lovingly restored to top quality home away from home.
Can't wait to go back.




Tim & Janet replied 115 days ago
Thank you Dawn, glad you all enjoyed your get together. xx

A real home from home

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked this initially as a romantic getaway over valentines, but ended as a family holiday with Sister in law and husband, which was really nice.
The property is a fantastically well converted windmill, with all the expected circular rooms and stairs. It was very well appointed and had all the comforts of home.
It was spotless, had a welcome pack of tea, coffee, milk and nibbles, and even a bottle of sparkling wine.
Everything worked, and had lovely hot water, and the bath and showers were perfect.
Perfect for 4, maybe a bit tight for 6 if cooking every day, as oven was a little small. (we had 6 for sunday dinner)
Big thanks to a our hosts for a really great week, and lucky with great weather too.




Tim & Janet replied 120 days ago
Many thanks for your fine review. You have prompted us in to getting a new oven! Proper double oven, still with grill, but 2nd oven can be used independently. So much more oven volume. Don't feel guilty though - it's been on our mind for a while now you just gave us a reminder! Happy travelling - see you again one day.

3 night stay at Aylsham Windmill

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic stay at Aylsham Windmill, Tim and Janet the owners made us feel very welcome nothing was too much trouble. Lovely surprise to find a cold bottle of bubbles in the fridge, tea coffee cake biscuits and sweets was a very nice touch. The Windmill has everything you need all to a very high standard, very comfortable beds. Location perfect for days outs and Aylsham 10 minutes down the road, recommend Black Boys public house for evening meal (need to book), we enjoyed our stay at the Windmill very much and did not want to leave.



Tim & Janet replied 132 days ago
Thank you ladies for a lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your break away. Best wishes Tim & Janet

Marvellous!

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything we hoped for and nothing we feared. Looks great from the outside and inside warm, well insulated and heated. Excellent facilities and comfortable furnishing with little extras to make it fun to stay. The location is really good Aylsham is a delightfully friendly little market town.



Tim & Janet replied 139 days ago
So glad you both enjoyed your week. Thank you for taking the time to review. Best wishes from us both.

Just Perfect ....

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time I have stayed at The Old WIndmill and returning for a third time in November 2017. Would love to visit more often - absolutely fabulous. Better than 5* in every respect. Janet and Tim are delightful, helpful, thoughtful and have thought about everything that one might need for either a short weekend stay or a much longer stay. Thanks J 7 T; very much appreciated. Verna K



Jant & Tim replied 139 days ago
Thanks again! See you later in the year, hope all goes well in the meantime.

Visiting family for Xmas 2016

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Janet and Tim were extremely thoughtful in providing the welcome gifts and home comforts you miss when travelling. The accommodation was perfect for our family of four adults. We would highly recommend The Old Windmill for any travellers or holiday makers.



Tim & Janet replied 139 days ago
So glad your trip to Europe was a success! Hope the journey back was ok. Not too hot now we hope?

Fantabulous stay

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay in this wonderfully restored old mill. Super clean, comfortable and well equipped. The owners could not have been more helpful. Highly recommended xxxx



Tim & Janet replied 139 days ago
Thank you, glad you were able to relax for a while! See you in February.

New Year stay at Windmill

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at the windmill over New Year. It had everything you could ever need in it. Owners are lovely people. Only a 10 min walk into Aylsham. Very cosy place to stay.



Tim & Janet replied 167 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review. Happy New Year to you all !

Pre christmas girlie break

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time at the Old Windmill, great location within 10 minutes of the lovely town of Aylsham and the Black Boys Inn. Taxi ride to Norwich only 30 minutes , great shopping and theatre. Very comfortable and cosy in the windmill, plenty of games for evenings in, plenty of wine and comfy beds what more could you want!!



Tim & Janet replied 195 days ago
Many thanks Ladies for a lovely review - our 100th!! Can't believe it. Glad you had a nice break.

Wedding Anniversary break

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been visiting the mill for the last 15 years and it never disappoints. Tim and Janet always make us welcome and the attention to detail is excellent.



Tim & Janet replied 221 days ago
Great to see you both again. Many thanks for your kind words. Love Tim & Janet.

Perfect in every respect.

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely perfect. Everything catered for, Mill was absolute delight to stay in. Was so pleased that I will be going back in January 2017.



Tim & Janet replied 221 days ago
Thank you so much for your delightful review! Look forward to seeing you again next year. Best wishes from us both.

Lovely place for a getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very cool place to stay with all amenities you could think of, and ones you didn't know you needed until you saw it there. Totally recommend




Tim & Janet replied 234 days ago
So glad the two of you had a relaxing break. Hope to see you again! Best wishes Tim & Janet

The best self catering experience ever!…

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well, I just have to say that this is the very best self catering accommodation we have ever rented. Tim and Janet, you are far too modest in your achievements as to what you have created. The windmill is beautiful inside and out. It is amazingly well equipped and I could not find a single thing I missed from home. Chris and I both came away thinking we wanted to live there forever. Thank you for your wonderful kindness and allowing us to stay at your amazing accommodation. Thank you also for the amazing welcome gifts .... It seemed so apt to open the bottle of bubbles upon arrival that you had put in the fridge for us!
Only problem? We will find it hard for the future to find accommodation to match the perfect standards you have set!

BTW, loved the Danielle mirrors .... First thing I did on returning was to try and buy one.

A fantastic stay in your windmill!




Tim & Janet replied 289 days ago
Well, thank you indeed! Probably the best review......... So glad we were able to accommodate you for your much needed break! Hope you returned home relaxed and raring to go!?

Home from home and then some.

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Exceptional holiday home. Exceptional welcome package. Exceptional owners, where nothing was too much.Can not wait to return. Thank you very much for all the care and attention you showed all the family.



Tim & Janet replied 234 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. Glad the family enjoyed their stay.

Fantastic windmill experience

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I've always wanted to live in a windmill or a lighthouse since I was a little kid and I found this place whilst deciding where to take the family this summer.
Staying in England for a holiday is always a gamble but it all paid off for us here.
This windmill has been beautifully converted and we found it very comfortable for the 6 of us.
The hosts Tim and Janet were extremely friendly and helpful and left us a very nice welcome pack on arrival, even some bubbly to celebrate.
They had placed little toy animals in all the nooks and crannies of the windmill and we had fun finding them all.
Aylsham itself is a lovely little town also and we were well placed both for a short walk to the shops and also to drive to on e of many amazing sandy beaches.
All in all a fantastic holiday in an amazing windmill. A marvellous experience, thoroughly recommended!




Our Week At the Old Windmill in Alysham

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic experience in staying at this converted Windmill. We were looking for something a little different and it delivered, it's the kind of place you see on telly presented by George Clarke or Kevin McLeod and was spot on. The place was full of character, steeped in history, very quiet/private and an excellent location for reaching places we'd targeted for days out. The weather held good and that was the cherry on the top.



Tim & Janet replied 309 days ago
So glad you all enjoyed your stay. Many thanks for a lovely review.

Great time at the Windmill

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The windmill had everything we needed for our self catering holiday. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners. Would recommend the windmill to anyone looking for a relaxing comfortable holiday with family and friends.



Tim & Janet replied 309 days ago
Great to meet you all. Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed your summer break.

Great place to stay.

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Windmill is a great base for a holiday. The windmill is very comfortable and a lovely change from a traditional house. It is also conveniently located for travel in all directions.



Tim & Janet replied 344 days ago
Thanks for reviewing! Glad you all had a good break.

Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quiet, well equipped and nicely decorated Windmill, fun to stay in and within walking distance of a lovely Market Town. Good centre for quite a few places of interest without having to travel too far. Very friendly and helpful owners. A nice part of England to visit.



Tim & Janet replied 353 days ago
Thank you for reviewing. Glad you all had a chance to meet up for a special birthday. And the weather behaved reasonably! Best wishes Tim & Janet

A windy Whitsun week

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We received a warm and friendly welcome from Tim and Janet and soon settled in to this magnificent, restored, Windmill.
As our bedroom - very comfortable with a bath and shower ensuite - was at the top of 41 steps we knew we could keep fit!
Coming up to the first floor there was a large, comfortable, and well laid out living room and well equipped kitchen; the whole giving plenty of room for the six of us. The second floor had two good size double bedrooms with a Jack & Jill bathroom.
Everything was spotless although how they keep the dust down amongst the enormouse collection of tiny china animals, which appeared in every nook and cranny, I don't know!
We parked our two cars at the front door. The walk to Aylsham was indeed only 15 minutes where there is a couple of supermarkets as well as Pubs and Tea shops.
You are well placed for a 15 minute drive to Cromer (excellent Fish) or a similar time to drive to Norwich. We spent a day taking the Bure Valley railway to Wroxham and then a cruise on the Broards - well worth it, as was our visit to Blickling Hall.
As the title suggests we had pretty awful weather, but enjoyed our stay in the area and, especially, Tim and Janet's lovely Windmill.
We would certainly recommend The Old Windmill to our friends!




June Weekend Break

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in this wonderful windmill for a June weekend with two other couples and couldn't fault it. The windmill has been beautifully converted and has everything you need for your stay, both inside and out, eg games, maps, deckchairs, BBQ etc. There was a lovely welcome pack and the owners were really helpful, especially when our car broke down on the morning of our departure. The accomodation is in a great position for exploring the area - inland and coastal - and the town has enough pubs and restaurants that you are able to leave the car behind in the evenings.



Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you. Glad you all enjoyed the area, and got home safely! Best wishes Tim & Janet

Great week

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect from start to finish ideal for two couples.Friendly welcome would use this property again.Aylsham visitor centre charming.Ross boat trips from Hosey with fantastic views of marsh harriers.



Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your review. Will pass comments on to the Visitor / Heritage centre. Best wishes Tim & Janet

A very comfortable and friendly place to stay, an enjoyable holiday for all.

Review submitted on Sun, 01 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very happy and comfortable stay at the windmill, the welcome pack was a lovely surprise after the journey. There were many thoughtful extras provided too.



Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both for a lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your break.

Windmill

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place to stay in a great location near Aylsham. Janet & Tim always make you feel welcome with a generous welcome pack. Children will love searching for the hidden mouse with the pink nose, and will get a prize if they find it, Bedrooms very comfortable, the windmill is a great place to relax



Just perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Four ladies celebrating 60th birthdays . The windmill was perfect and we wanted for nothing . Janet and Tim have thought of everything. Excellent ...



Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Perfect review from perfect guests. All perfectly fine! Thank you and many happy returns!

A Long Weekend at the Mill

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a very enjoyable weekend at the Mill. The owners Tim & Janet made us very welcome. It was nice that they provide the option for short stays and even give a discount for low occupancy (there were 2 of us and the Mill sleeps 6). The facilities are excellent and the welcoming gifts were very much appreciated. The conversion/restoration of the Mill is superb. I'm sure we'll be back. Thank you Tim & Janet.



Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Really pleased you enjoyed your weekend. Hope to see you soon! Best wishes. Tim & Janet

Relaxing Chill Out

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

This was a return visit, once again it was excellent.
Everything you need is on hand.
We would recommend the The Old Windmill to anyone.
Thank you Tim and Janet we look forward to our next visit.




A fabulous weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were staying in the windmill to celebrate my husband's birthday and the windmill couldn't have been a better spot for the weekend. It was beautifully renovated and equipped with more than we could possibly need to make the time comfortable. Tim and Janet were fantastic; answering my many queries before we arrived and then providing us with kind gifts of cake, bubbles, milk and biscuits on arrival. Thoroughly recommended from us!!



Fantastic short break

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Windmill is gorgeous, and the owners, Janet & Tim, were lovely. Showed us around the place and gave us lots of information. Sweet treats & milk in the fridge were a nice touch. The kitchen is stocked with everything you would need to cook, including a full spice rack, which I also think is a thoughtful added touch. Highly recommend the Old Windmill for a unique place to stay.



Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both for your review. Glad you found us for your short break!

Winter Break

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This unusual accommodation was delightful to stay in and was very well equipped. The location is well placed for visiting attractions nearby. Would recommend.



Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks from us both. So glad you enjoyed your week. Weather was pretty good too on the whole!

Fantastic!

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place. Great welcome (and lovely welcome gifts too). Everything you would need for a comfortable stay. We all had a lovely time and even got a bit of sunshine - although a rainy day makes you appreciate the windmill even more. Thank you.



Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you! Glad you enjoyed your winter break. Best wishes from us both.

New year stay

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of six of us, all adults, stayed here over New year. The windmill has been very well renovated, all the rooms were lovely, the beds were comfortable and the owners have thought of everything you could possibly need. There were all the amenities we needed for self catering, loads of dishes, utensils, crockery etc. They provided a welcome pack of tea, coffee, cake, chocolates and biscuits plus fresh milk and a bottle of bubbly in the fridge. Towels, tea towels etc were also provided. There is also a utility room with washing machine, tumble drier etc.. and there was even a Christmas tree plus decorations to give it that festive feel. The windmill is located on the outskirts of town, a five minute walk to the nearest pub and a slow ten minute walk to the charming town centre where there are pubs, restaurants, supermarkets, tea rooms etc.. Aylsham is a small market town, situated mid way between Norwich and Cromer so the windmill is ideally located to tour the north Norfolk countryside. My only negative remark would be that the gas oven and grill seemed painfully slow cooking anything, although I am used to electric cooking so maybe this is normal. Highly recommended for a quirky break from the norm



Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. Glad you were able to celebrate New Year in a Windmill! Have checked oven - seems ok. Perhaps the controls could be clearer though? I think you're right - electric fan ovens are far superior to gas in my opinion. But I like a gas hob. Maybe next time....

A perfect holiday holiday rental with a difference

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A delightfully different holiday rental !! Beautifully restored. Comfortable, cosy and warm. A perfect place, with a difference for a family get together. Location - excellent -close to Norwich - Cromer - the Broads. Great place for winter or summer breaks.



Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you and the family managed to meet up for Christmas. Great to meet you all.Thank you for your review.

Our home from home

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming to the mill since 2001' when it was first renovated.
Sometimes on our own ( myself and my wife Diane) and also for holidays with other members of our family.
We all find it a really relaxing place to stay and a complete holiday.
Tim and Janet are the perfect host's . They will always go the extra mile for your comfort and enjoyment.




Consistently excellent in all fronts

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was yet another return visit from six fussy ladies
We could think of nowhere else where we would be guaranteed a warm, cosy welcome in November- complete with cake from the farmers' market
Attention to detail evident - kitchen equipped to meet every need , extra bedding and immaculate bathrooms .
Hard to find somewhere else in this league that is maintained to such a high standard




Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you ladies (we wouldn't have said you were fussy!). Lovely to see you again. Our best wishes Tim & Janet

A great place for a short break to explore Norwich and the Norfolk Broads.

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Nov 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a great couple of days at the Old Windmill, and really enjoyed this spacious and quirky accommodation. It was convenient for exploring Norwich and the Norfolk Broads at our own pace, and we were made to feel really welcome. I would recommend it anyone without hesitation.



Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your review, and you recommendation! So glad the two of you had a relaxing break. Best wishes Tim & Janet

Excellent place to stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The kids were so excited to be staying in a windmill, whether or not it was in Amsterdam. Aylsham is just as good. Centrally located for lots of activities and near enough to amenities should they be required. The windmill itself was cosy (despite it blowing a gale outside) and really well equipped, I loved the fact you didn't need to remember washing up liquid, toilet roll, kitchen roll etc etc. The beds were very comfy and the windmill was spotlessly clean. The owners Janet and Tim had thought of everything - and the children loved hunting for all the little animals around the mill (forget the children, so did I). All in all a very lovely place to stay and we are looking to book again!



Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Great review - Thank you! Really pleased you all enjoyed your stay in Aylsham. See you again! Best wishes Tim & Janet.

Top notch!

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed everything about our stay. A very warm and friendly welcome and a much appreciated welcome pack. Cosy and comfortable, very well equipped, good location. We were so relaxed it felt like a week rather than 3 days. Highly recommended and we hope to return.




Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you and your pal enjoyed the short break. Thank you for reviewing. See you again! Best wishes Tim & Janet

Review of Old Windmill Aylsham

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Nov 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived early but the windmill was ready to receive us and the owner's welcome was warm and very helpful. The little extras (cake, wine and sweets) were much appreciated. All rooms were spotlessly clean, and the mill is located close to a local facilities (supermarket, banks); very helpful for holiday lets. I would recommend this cottage to family groups.



Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review! So glad you all enjoyed you half term break. Best wishes Tim & Janet

memorable birthday

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the windmill from 9th October to 12th October for one of our parties 60th birthday ! All 4 of us had a fabulous time ! The windmill is very comfortable and spotlessly clean with everything you need and more! We arrived to a very warm welcome with some lovely treats ,chocolates ,cake, biscuits and a lovely bottle of chilled Cava in the fridge. It is situated in a lovely area on the outskirts of the little town of Aylsham within easy walking distance . There is so much to see and do and we would definately like to stay again. Janet and Tim the owners should be very proud of their beautiful windmill .



Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
So glad the surprise venue for the birthday celebrations went down well, and you all had a great weekend. Look forward to seeing you all again. All the best, Tim & Janet

An idyllic Autumn break

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our week in Norfolk was blessed with almost unbroken sunshine, although a little chilly in the early mornings. The location of the Old Windmill is perfect, tucked out of the way down a lane, it is quiet and sylvan, an oasis of calm and still only a short walk from the town square. We even had a Tawny owl for company most nights.
The Old Windmill itself is great, a perfect mixture of old and new. Everything was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. We thought that the little animals that occupy every nook and cranny were fun and enjoyed looking for the little furry mouse (we did eventually find it).
The Kitchen had everything you could need and the lounge area very comfortable. all the bedrooms are quite spacious and well fitted, particularly the master room on the top floor. Our only observation (not a criticism) was the the showers were a little on the small side).
Overall, we had a most enjoyable time in Norfolk and would not hesitate to recommend the Old Windmill as a base for exploring the area (both on foot and by car). Highlights of our stay were Blicking Estate, Felbrigg Hall, the whole area around Blakeney Point. Norwich is a nice city to explore on foot (don't miss the cathedral or the castle).
Norfolk and the Old Windmill highly recommended.




Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comprehensive review! Really glad you all enjoyed your stay, and found Aylsham a good base for the area. Best wishes Tim & Janet

Great accommodation in an idyllic location

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The windmill has been superbly renovated to create luxury class accommodation. The owners have thought of everything. We loved it. A 26 mile traffic-free cycle route nearby was an added bonus.



Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both for this. Glad you enjoyed the cycling. Hope to see you again one day. Best wishes, Tim & Janet

Holiday at the windmill

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from a very enjoyable week at the windmill with our four cousins
The welcome pack was very much appreciated as was the greeting from Tim&Janet
We all found everything ,provided to make our stay like home from home
And would certainly recommend the windmill to our family& friends and hope to return in the future




Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your review - glad you all had a good week catching up.. Hope to see you again. Best wishes Tim & Janet.

All good

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Impressive, private, well furnished, very comfortable special place to stay! The owners welcoming and helpful without being intrusive and provide some lovely thoughtful touches. Made for a memorable holiday. Thankyou



Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you! Glad you all had a good time. Best wishes from us both.

Fantastic accommodation couldn't ask for more.

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay in this lovely old windmill. Aylsham and Blickling Hall are within walking distance and we were perfectly placed to visit the surrounding area. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable and quite unique. We would recommend the windmill to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday in North Norfolk. Many thanks to Tim and Janet for providing such fantastic accommodation.



Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for taking the time to write this fine review! Very glad you all enjoyed your stay. Best wishes Tim & Janet

Best holiday ever, great accommodation and wonderful weather.

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have just returned home after a fantastic week in the Old Windmill at Aylsham, Norfolk. Couldn't have asked for better accommodation - clean, comfortable, wonderful extras when we arrived (chocolate, tea, coffee, milk and Cava in the fridge and a tasty Norfolk fruit cake), cupboard full of board games which we thoroughly enjoyed and the fun of hunting for a mouse, black cat with red scarf and a baby hedgehog in all the nooks and crannies around the windmill! We were blessed with very good weather and made the most of the secluded patio and the spotless barbecue. We had some great days out and found good food wherever we went, but, most of all, it was great to relax in the windmill and find our inner child! None of us wanted to go home and we would recommend the Old Windmill unreservedly to everyone. Many thanks for such a great week.

Jennie, Terry, Nicola, Susan and Leigh - from Chessington, Tolworth and Southampton.




Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Probably our 'Best review ever' !! Thank you all. Delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. Our best wishes, Tim & Janet

Fantastic week in this wonderful windmill!

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well equipped accommodation, everything you could need has been thought of. Really fun to stay in such a unique building, that has been lovingly restored. Great location with lots to do in the local area. Very friendly and welcoming owners.



Janet & Tim replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review the Windmill. So glad you enjoyed your stay, and found lots to do! Best wishes from us both.

Lovely location and wonderful service

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friends and I had wonderful weekend staying in this converted windmill. Owners Tim&Janet we're inviting and helpful. Will definitely visit again!!!



Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. So glad you all enjoyed your girls break! See you soon we hope. Best wishes Tim & Janet.

Great place and great owners!

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Windmill is a wonderful place, and the owners, Janet & Tim are great people. It is very well situated - relatively close to the coast, the Broads, and to Norwich. Aylsham is a nice town with many amenities. The Windmill is a very charming place, and sleeps 6 people very comfortably. It is very well equipped. We rented it for a month, and had various people staying with us for shorter periods. Our friends & family loved it too! We all would definitely stay there again.



Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Great to have such nice people stay for a whole month! - Clever idea, have your own base but still get to see all the family.

This is how holidays should be...................

Review submitted on Thu, 21 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I wish all holiday accommodation was to this high standard. Friends came over to join us and all were impressed and we wouldn't hesitate in recommending the Windmill to anyone. Many thanks to Tim and Janet for their hard work and attention to detail. A longer stay would have been nice.



Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
What can we say? Lovely to hear from you!

A short break at The Old Windmill, Aylsham, North Norfolk.

Review submitted on Tue, 05 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Windmill was a wonderful place to stay. Everything we needed was provided and the Awards the owners have been given are well deserved. We look forward to staying there again.



An All round great holiday!

Review submitted on Fri, 01 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Windmill is a super place to stay. The owners are very welcoming and friendly, nothing is too much trouble.. They even put in little extras like a box of chocs, and a welcome pack of Tea, Milk and biscuits. The place is very clean, and there is plenty of info on what to do/places to go and see around the area. Great fun, would thoroughly recommend for a lovely holiday!



Janet & Tim replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both!. so glad you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes Janet & Tim

A wonderful stay in Aylsham at The Old Windmill

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We wanted somewhere different to take our friends for their Golden Wedding Anniversary, what more can I say it was absolutely excellent and our friends where so surprised at what we had found for their celebrations.



Fantastic holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This for us was a perfect holiday and the uniqueness of the accommodation added that extra bit of sparkle. Our sons aged 5 and 6 loved the Windmill and did not want to leave. Everything was provided, even shower gel and beach towels and there were plenty of games to entertain the boys and also use of beach toys too. We loved the area and were able to walk straight from the windmill to nearby NT property Blickling, where we spent a pleasant day. The weather was great so we enjoyed Cromer, East Runton and Holkham beaches too and found plenty to see and do. After 15 years of going on self catering holidays we have not stayed anywhere that was so clean and spotless, with everything we needed sorted out. Tim and Janet were friendly hosts, but not instrusive and our stay was very peaceful. This was our first visit to Norfolk as we have tended to favour the rugged coastline and small beaches of the Aberporth area in Wales which are nearer to us. However, we were pleasantly suprised with the beauty of the area, and enjoyed the nature reserves at Blakeney too. Staying in a converted Windmill was such a unique experience and will make this holiday more memorable than some of our previous holidays - we won't struggle to remember where we stayed when we visited Alysham for the first time. I am sure we will be back to the Windmill because it was so good. It was suprisingly spacious and ours sons could not get enough of it. Fantastic!



Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Goodness! If we were to do a review of reviews this would definitely have 5/5. Thank you for taking the time to write in such detail. Impressed you managed to pack so much in to your stay. Best wishes, see you again, Janet & Tim

Fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at The Old Windmill - beautifully equipped, lots of space, great owners, both cosy and full of character. Aylsham a lovely little town and easily connected into all local attractions. Didnt expect to get 3 days on Cromer beach in April! Highly recommended!



Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review. Glad you and the children had such a good week. The weather here often is good in April - lets hope it lasts! Best wishes Tim & Janet

A Short Break in the Windmill

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I had a lovely couple of days stay here. Everything was perfect and the thoughtful gestures like chocolates and wine from Janet and Tim were the icing on the cake. We will definitely be going back.



Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both for your kind words. Shame your stay was so short! Hope to see you again. Best wishes Tim & Janet.

Couldn't have wished for anything more

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for a long weekend in March with friends and we could not have wished for anything more. The welcome was lovely, the welcome supplies Janet and Tim had left were very welcome - especially the chocolates and wine !! The windmill is so well equipped and comfortable and they have truly thought of everything - I would give this place 10 out of 10 and we will most definitely return for another visit - absolutely fantastic :-) We would highly recommend this property.




Janet & Tim replied more than 1 year ago
Couldn't want for a better review - thank you so much! Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes to all.

Wonderful unique holiday let

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very impressed with the windmill & it's location. We will definitely come back for another holiday.
The property was fully equipped, everything was thought of to make our stay very comfortable.




Janet & Tim replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's always a pleasure to hear from our guests. Nice to hear the 4 of you and a relaxing break. Look forward to seeing you next time!

Excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Mar 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came up to Norfolk for the weekend and had a lovely stay. The windmill is magical, and we enjoyed the house immensely. It was a perfect spot from which to visit all different parts of Norfolk. The owners are exceptionally kind, attentive, and have shown wonderfully good taste in preserving and renovating this building. While you are near neighbourhoods, we were not aware of neighbours at all, and even found the local village very helpful for its charming little shops. I travelled with my mother and my three children, all of whom loved our time at the windmill and would recommend it completely.



Janet & Tim replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed Aylsham and the Mill, and the birthday festivities were a success. Best wishes to you all.

Wonderful windmill weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
6 great friends enjoyed the unique and quirky experience of a stay at the Aylsham Windmill. Spacious and comfortable, we particularly liked the open plan ness of the lounge and kitchen area so we could all be together ( seeing as most chat and action isaround food and drink). wide carpeted stairs whirl you up and up to the top where we had a lovely kingsize bedroom with ensuite facilities. (2 other double and twin bedrooms on the floor below) we visited Cromer, walked on the beach and had tasty eats at the lifeboat station. Fabulous weekend. Great hosts.



Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
What is Fabulous review - thank you. So glad you enjoyed your break, it was a pleasure to meet your pals!

Excellent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent last weekend at the The Old Windmill, we had one of the best weekends away we've had in a long time.

The windmill was lovely better than I had thought when booking. Even though it snowed while we were there it was lovely and warm with a cozy fill in the windmill.
Spent hours finding all the little animals hiding in all the little nocks & crannies.

Janet & Tim were the best hosts & very helpful.

If we spend another weekend in this area we would definitely look in to booking the Old Windmill again.




Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you all for such a nice review. Glad you had a good weekend. Best wishes from us both.

Cozy and full of character

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jan 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The tower is comfortable and cozy. It has modern features but retains the character and charm of the tower with some nice quirks. The owners were friendly, helpful and welcoming. We knew they were available if needed but after getting us settled they left us to it which we appreciated. We found the place relaxing and waned to spend as much time in as we could! We had a great stay and the location was as hoped-full of character and memorable. Just what we wanted for this birthday trip .



Janet & Tim replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your short birthday break, and were able to relax for a while! With our best wishes, Janet & Tim

An excellent place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at the Old Windmill over the New Year period was extremely enjoyable and this started with a warm welcome on our arrival from the owners, Janet and Tim, along with all the ingredients required for our first cup of tea (along with a little something extra for New Year).
The accommodation was of a very high standard and my children (who are actually adults) enjoyed looking for all the little friends placed around the Mill.
This is definitely a place I would recommend to those I know and those I don't.
Hopefully we will be back at a later date.




Janet & Tim replied more than 1 year ago
We're really pleased that you all enjoyed seeing in the New Year at the Windmill. Thank you for your kind words. Hope to see you again. Best wishes from us both.

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jan 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 4 nights at the Windmill over Christmas and were not disappointed. It's in a fantastic location on the edge of Aylsham: Close enough for all the amenities yet far enough away for real peace and quiet. Not a bad distance for a drive to the coast and Norwich too.

We found the windmill to be very well equipped indeed: A real home from home.

The little personal touches from the owners like Prosecco, Christmas crackers, chocolates, panettone etc were lovely and much appreciated.

Great communication from the owners too. Happy to answer questions about both the property and area and always so quick to reply. Provided us with lots of extra information too.

The only tiny negative was that we had a problem with the oven and things took longer to cook than usual. On Christmas morning I discovered this was because the latch on the door wasn't working properly. We didn't want to disturb the owners on Christmas day so my husband had a look at it and managed to fix it.

One little suggestion to make a great venue even better would be a more comprehensive itinerary on the website to save bothering the owners. We knew we'd be cooking Christmas Day and Boxing Day dinners in the property so needed to know if the kitchen was equipped to cope or whether we'd need to take some of our own equipment. Consequently I emailed Janet a few times with various queries. I needn't have worried: Everything we could have possible wanted was provided.

We would happily recommend this property.

Thanks for having us!

Kind Regards Clare, Dave, Chris, Stella, Spencer & Georgia




Janet & Tim replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write your comprehensive review! So sorry you had problems with the oven. Must confess it is a while since we checked the oven door! It was very thoughtful of you not to want to disturb us on Christmas morning, we wouldn't have hesitated to come to your aid as best we could! The gas pressure here is not brilliant either especially Christmas day I guess. Think next time we'll go for an electric fan oven with gas hob. Glad you enjoyed the area. Best wishes from us both.

Wonderful

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were looking forward to staying in the Old Windmill and was overwhelmed with the standard of absolutely everything. The place is immaculate, there is absolutely everything you would need for your stay, however long. Everything from the lounge to the bedroom to the bathrooms was comfy and cosy and there is a lovely little courtyard to sit when the weather suits. There was a 'welcome' package waiting and other little quirky points of interest. Sadly, we were only there for two nights and would love to have stayed longer. Janet and Tim were very friendly and helpful. We even received a letter in the post well before our booked date enclosing a map of the area and acknowledging payment which was a very nice touch. I cannot recommend The Old Mill highly enough, you couldn't fail to be impressed and enjoy your stay. We most certainly will be going back for a longer stay. Madeline and Steve



Janet & Tim replied more than 1 year ago
Wow! What can we say except were so pleased you enjoyed the Mill, and thank you! Hope to see you again soon.

Great weekend in Aylsham...

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Dec 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived in Aylesham the evening they switched the Christmas lights on.
It was a prelude to a sparking weekend in the old windmill.
The renovations are superb and the quirky nature of the building was what we wanted and we were not disappointed.
Quirky and confortable, with great support from Tim and Janet.
Will def recommend to our friends .




Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you all have a good Christmas.

Ninth visit

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our ninth visit to the Windmill, so no need to say any more but as I need to use more characters, the Windmill is an excellent place to stay!



Janet & Tim replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you again Ladies. Good to see you again. Hope you all have a good Christmas. x

We loved it

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a weekend in The Windmill, Nov 2014. Can't praise the property or Janet and Tim highly enough. We were able to book for breakfast despite being self-catering. A lovely treat in a fabulous building.



Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both. So glad you enjoyed your birthday treat - one of many we understand! Many happy returns.

A wonderful weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful weekend at the Windmill, would highly recommend
Tim and Jan the owners were very friendly and a gave us a great welcome.
Everything u need and more is at the Windmill and if u need anything they were on hand ( thank u for the )






Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks all for your lovely review. Sorry your visit was so short, hope to see you all again soon!

The Perfect Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Mill is sure to please anyone wanting a relaxing stay in a lovely location & place with so much character, it is utterly charming.

We have stayed many times & is our favourite place in all of the UK.

You will want to return.

David & Diane Lee & families, Fair Oak Hampshire.




Janet & Tim replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to see you all again. Once again the October weather was pretty good. Best wishes from us both.

Fabulous place!

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a marvellous week in the Old Windmill - the property is wonderfully quirky and had everything that we needed for our stay. And don't miss The Feathers pub!



Fabulous place!

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a marvellous week in the Old Windmill - the property is wonderfully quirky and had everything that we needed for our stay. And don't miss The Feathers pub!



Janet & Tim replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you all for such a nice review. Will make sure the staff at The Feathers see it as well! So glad you enjoyed your time in Aylsham.

Fantastic break

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I were looking for a unique building and a good location to take a short break. We found The Old Windmill website, it looked great so we went ahead and booked. What can I say, it was absolutely fantastic. A beautifully renovated windmill, the owners have worked hard to make it a great renovation, with a touch of luxury and uniqueness. Very relaxing and Tim and Janet were very friendly and their fastidious to detail, and with the prime concern of the visitor to enjoy their stay was warmingly felt along with their welcome pack. My husband and I wanted a peaceful and relaxing break and that is exactly what we got. The town of Aylsham was a 6 - 10 minute walk as was the Bure railway. Will be going again.



Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for a fabulous review. So glad you both enjoyed a much deserved break. Hope to see you again. Best wishes Janet & Tim

what a lovely surprise.

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ours was a last minute booking and we were delighted with the standard of accommodation. There was tea coffee and biscuits to help us recover from the long drive and even some bubbly in the fridge. Janet and Tim did everything to make us feel welcome from the start and because we didn't require any further assistance, left us to enjoy our short break. The perfect hosts. Highly recommended for couples or families



Janet replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you all enjoyed you break. Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. Hope to see you again one day. Best wishes Janet & Tim

An autumn break

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is easy to identify the old windmill from some distance as it stands several floors higher than the surrounding property. It has been beautifuly converted for holiday use. The kitchen and living area on the first floor are well appointed with everything you need for a self-catering holiday, including games and DVDs.
Everything was provided, including linen towels and beach towels (though not used by us) and a gas barbecue. The owners, Janet and Tim were very welcoming, giving advice about the areaand providing a generous welcome pack of milk, tea, coffee, biscuits, cake and a bottle of sparkling wine.

It's a 10 minute walk into Aylsham town centre with a decent supply of small shops, including a superb bakers. There is a regular bus route to Norwich and Blickling Hall is within walking distance and certainly worth a visit.

Would happily recommend the area and in particular The Old Windmill.




Janet & Tim replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to prepare this review. so glad you all had a good time in Aylsham

A lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hidden away down a quiet lane, the Old Windmill more than lived up to our high expectations. The owners, Janet and Tim were welcoming and helpful and we were soon settled in with a glass of wine on the sun-trap patio. The Windmill is quirky, warm and very well equipped and we thoroughly enjoyed our week there. The location is ideal. being close to Norwich and The Broads. Aylsham itself is a lovely village with good eating places, many supermarkets and coffee shops.



Janet & Tim replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your review. Glad you all enjoyed your week. Best wishes from us both.

Round Living

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here as a family, and were delighted with the property. The children loved the quirky nature of the building, and my wife wanted to live there. Wooden beamed ceilings and round rooms all accounted for a quirky and wonderful stay.

The long twisting winding staircase with its menagerie of small animals was great fun for the children, especially the hunt for 3 special characters. it seems to have become a tradition with previous guests to leave one of your own, so we joined in.

North Norfolfk is a delight with some amazing beaches, history, and beautiful too. Bure Valley Railway into Wroxham can be walked to with a boat trip at the other end. Aylsham is a pretty little Market town with some pleasant hostolries too!!

I discovered The Old Windmill quite by accident, but am so glad I did. Highly recommended and not a bad a price for the standard of the accomadation.




Janet & Tim replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your fine review. So glad the children had a good time as well. See you again one day.

First Rate Quirky Accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Took all the family here to celebrate a 60th birthday and we had a brilliant time. This quirky accommodation was spotless, well furnished & superbly equipped (apart from kitchen tongs - a necessity in my book!) and in a brilliant location within easy walking distance of Aylsham which had good shops, pubs and excellent Indian restaurant. Would thoroughly recommend it to my friends.



Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you all. Glad you enjoyed your birthday celebrations with the family. Tongs will be purchased ! (Damn thought we'd got everything!). hope to see you again one day.

Wonderful windmill!

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolutely wonderful stay in The Old Windmill. It has been converted to an extremely high standard throughout, and has everything provided you could possibly need - even beach towels! It is spacious and comfortable. The owners who live next door are extremely helpful and friendly, and made us feel very welcome. They have provided lots of very useful information about local restaurants, places to visit, maps, etc., and there is a cupboard full of games which kept us entertained after long days exploring the local area. They have also put in a place a fun little treasure hunt! It was in a great location for us - loads of places to visit. We didn't get to everywhere we wanted to visit, so will have to make a return visit!!



Janet & Tim replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much. We hope to see you again for your return visit!

The windmill

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As soon as we walked in we loved it. Comfortable, clean, all the little gifts were very thoughtful. Janet and tim made us feel very welcome. Would recommend this to everyone. Well worth a stay.



Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you and the family enjoyed your stay in Aylsham. Thank you for such a great review. Hope to see you all again sometime!

A fabulous place

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is without doubt the best holiday rental we've ever stayed in. It is beautifully presented, thoughtfully laid out, provides everything you could possibly need (you only need take clothes!), is spotlessly clean AND it's a windmill!

Janet and Tim are perfect hosts, on hand when you need them without being intrusive and full of local knowledge.

Aylsham is a good location to reach city, coast and countryside so something for everyone.

We highly recommend you book it now before someone else does!




Janet & Tim replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Much appreciated. So glad you all enjoyed you stay. Hope to see you all again soon.

Review

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Aug 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very nicely and comfortably renovated mill at the edge of Aylsham. Very well equiped up to modern standards (including wifi). Perfect basis to visit the many attractions of northern Norfolk.




Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks to our lovely visitors from Belgium for their fine review. So glad you and all the family enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to meet you all. Best wishes from us both.

A Perfect Break

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family had a wonderful time at The Old Windmill. The owners, Tim and Janet, were very friendly, helpful and had thought of everything to ensure a wonderful holiday. The accommodation was spotlessly clean, very comfortable with lots of local information provided - we couldn't have asked for anything more.

The property is in a great location for both Norwich and the coast. Aylsham itself is a lovely little town with lots of facilities.

My children enjoyed every minute of their stay here and were very sad to leave, I was berated for not booking a fortnight! They loved all the little figures dotted around the place and as we failed to find the cat with the scarf, we will have to return.











Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your fine review! Hope your trip to France was as enjoyable, and you're still enjoying the good weather. Best wishes Tim & Janet

Surprisingly spacious, quality accomodation

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Jul 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The windmill accomodation was excellent quality, very clean and surprisingly pleasantly spacious and bright.
Windmills require a lot of upkeep and this one was well converted and cared for.
A great location - central for most of Norfolk with the coast, broads and Norwich all a short drive away.
The booking and administration was very efficient.
The owners were welcoming and informative in their preliminary tour and available to speak to thereafter although were not needed.




Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your super review. We're Glad the 3 of you had a good time. Best wishes Janet & Tim.

A lovely place to stay .

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week staying in The Old Widmill,our daughter and son and their partners joined us for the weekend, there was plenty of space for the six of us.
We were made feel very wecome by Janet and Tim, the welcome pack was most appreciated. The Windmill had everything we needed, even towels for the beach. We found lots of places to go for a walk and the Windmill is in the ideal place to visit the Broads, the beaches and National Trust properties.We would definately stay there agaiin fact my husband would love to live there !




Janet & Tim replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both. Very sensible option - have the family join you for the weekend, then have the rest of the week to yourselves! So glad you all enjoyed it, many thanks for your kind comments.

We couldn't have asked for more

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the Old Windmill absolutely fantastic as a base for exploring North Norfolk. In a tranquil location, but only a short walk from town, it's like a home from home - lovingly restored (and it's impressive to see how much work went into it), a bit quirky, and with every modern convenience provided. There was more than enough space for two adults and three teens to not get under each other's feet, and being such an unusual place to stay it's been a really memorable experience. Tim and Janet, the owners, were extremely helpful and went well beyond the call of duty with lovely little touches - a bottle of Cava and chocolates to greet us, a lot of information about the area, and a supply of films and books for the inevitable day that rained. Many thanks for a great holiday!



Very well apppinted retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 19 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A well appointed converted windmill which was very spacious set over 4 floors. The windmill has been converted to a very high standard and very thoughtfully laid out. Every thing we needed was there and with a few interesting extras too, like all the very small model animals in the crevices found in the uneven brickwork. We never did find the little grey mouse to win the prize!! The location was beautifully quiet and many interesting places in North Norfolk were within easy reach. Just one note of caution (very much with tongue in cheek) you will come away fitter than when you went as there are 41 stairs from bottom to top! An ideal place for a relaxing break.



Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both for your lovely review. Hope to see you again soon.

Lovely and unusual accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 08 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place to stay. The children loved the fact it was a windmill! Everything we could possibly need was provided and more - truffles and fizzy wine were a lovely treat!



Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you all for your comments. Very glad you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes Janet & Tim

Windmill Writings

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Five of us went for a relaxing writing retreat at the Windmill, and we enjoyed ourselves immensely. The living room was our base of operations, and we wrote, cooked food, and played board games (both ours, and the windmill's). Writing all day requires a good night's sleep, and the windmill certainly provided -- the bedrooms were a perfect size, comfortable, and full of character. Each of us picked out a little ceramic animal that was our favourite (you'll understand when you arrive). My favourites were the hippos, or perhaps, the larger and more obtrusive brass snail.

The windmill was well-located for getting around on foot: we walked to the local Tesco and farmer's market for food, and were able to do a number of medium-to-long walks along the weaver's way and other paths in and out of town. We didn't get to do too much else around town or around Norfolk, but that's more a function of what we were there to do (work!).

All in all the windmill was a fantastic place to stay.





Un- Doubtedly Perfection

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment when the windmill is in sight, the excitement kicks in... Entry into the windmill opens up to exceptionally clean accommodation, with the welcome pack provided it was ideal.

The windmill fits both family young and old alike. The surrounding sounds were of birds singing, very tranquil. plenty of maps, excursion material, books and games are provided in addition to the animal quiz.

Lots of lovely walks nearby.


The excellent hosts Tim & Janet are attentive but not intrusive.

would recommend.




A joy to visit.

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic time had by all four of us. Lovely building and conversion, owners very friendly, helpful and quick to respond to our queries. Great to have the welcome pack, and not missing anything we needed. We all hope to come back.



Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you all. so glad you had a great time.

Excellent value and beautiful windmill

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all felt relaxed the moment we entered the windmill. It has an atmosphere that can't help but make you feel relaxed. We has a wonderful holiday. We were overwhelmed by the generous welcome pack and friendly nature of the owners. A thoroughly fantastic windmill, we just wish we had longer there!



Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you! So glad you all enjoyed your stay. Weather behaved itself as well!

Excellent base for lovely part of Norfolk

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely, quirky place to stay for spring break. Janet and Tim very friendly and helpful. The windmill is warm, well appointed and equipped, everything that you could possibly want is provided. We had a week's holiday in part to visit relatives but also to spend some time walking. Although the windmill itself is no longer on the edge of the village, Alysham is well placed. The Bure Valley railway starts there and Blickling Hall is only a couple of miles away across the fields. All our walks, each about 10 to 12 miles in length, started and finished at the windmill so the car was little used, although we appreciate that those with children may wish to visit the beach. Take OS Explorer maps 252 and 238 and enjoy the glorious countryside. Tim and Janet provide Landranger Maps that cover a wider area in less detail but still good. We are already looking at our diary to see when we can next stay. Thank you for a lovely break!



Wonderful stay at the Old Windmill

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thought The Old Windmill looked lovely from the photos, and we most certainly weren't disappointed when we saw it for real. Wonderfully restored, tastefully decorated, well kept and clean, contained everything we could have possibly needed, very comfortable beds and (one of my biggest gripes) proper, fluffy bath sheets (none of those silly, thin, teatowel sized ones). Well placed for visits around the area. Owners lived just behind the windmill, should we have needed anything, however it was all so perfect that the only time we saw them was to give the key back at the end of our stay. Would have no hesitation on going back or recommending.



Janet & Tim replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you all for your lovely review.

Excellent windmill conversion.

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely conversion of a windmill. Very comfortable and well equipped. Very special touches with the cava, cake and chocolates. We have stayed in many holiday lets and this was by far the best for comfort and equipment provided. Extremely friendly and helpful people from the start when booking and on arrival. They even kindly let us arrive early as previously no one was staying there.



Perfect weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about the stay was fantastic. Excellent attention to detail. Janet and Tim were great. Very clean, comfortable and well maintained. Perfect.



Change of pace, change of scene

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place to be comfortable and relaxed in. Honestly, the windmill feels like home the moment you are shown around with wide eyed amazement by the owners. Who, having restored the building into what it is today clearly love the place and made it so easy for us to love it too. Its a great base for country pubs, historic halls and of course the coast. Thank you for a great weekend. Can't praise the old windmill and its owners enough. Would definitely return.



Tim & Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your fabulous feedback. So glad you enjoyed your stay so much!

Alysham Windmill

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jan 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Exellent accommodation with really friendly owners willing to accommodate your needs. Very good quality of accommodation and convienent for town centre



The Old Windmill, Self-catering

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jan 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well equipped and comfortable accommodation in an excellent location. Everything you need in the way of provisions is available in the local town centre which is within 10 minutes walk. The owners of the accommodation were very helpful and friendly.



Janet replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks. So glad you both enjoyed your Christmas break, and the weather was kind to us this year!

Home from Home

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the perfect holiday getaway, so cosy & warm & perfect for relaxing & chilling.

It so quiet & peaceful & the owners, Tim & Janet Bower, are the perfect hosts.

Enjoy this fabulous Mill, you will want to come back again & again.

We have just enjoyed our tenth visit.




Janet & Tim replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind words! Lovely to see you both again. Have a good Christmas. See you and the family next year.

Relaxing Week

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect place for us to stay. A great location for visiting local attractions such as Blickling Hall, bird watching along the North Norfolk coast and the Broads, walking and visiting Norwich.



Janet replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you both enjoyed your time in Aylsham, and managed to pack a lot in to your week. Thank you for your lovely review.

Sewing break with friends

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Nov 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 8th visit. The windmill suits us just fine as we can all be together all day, even when cooking and there is space for us to do our patchwork. Aylsham is a lovely town and close to lots of places to visit.





Janet & Tim replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you ladies. Lovely to see you again.

Our third stay at "The Old Windmill"

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Oct 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As the title indicates, this was the third time that my wife and I have stayed at "The Mill".

It is a building that is a monument to its builders and to all involved in its conversion into an unusual, comfortable holiday "cottage".

Obviously, being on four floors, it will not be suitable for all, but the staircases are of a "normal" design (no ladders!). The kitchen, lounge areas and bedrooms (with en suite bathrooms) are roomy and well equipped.

Janet and Tim Bower are great hosts and the description of the Mill on their website gives an accurate impression.

Unsurprisingly, we look forward to our next stay.




Janet & Tim replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your kind words. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Peaceful, Spacious and Comfortable Windmill Accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Oct 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Windmill at Aylsham is a perfect retreat. We have stayed there twice with our 3 teenagers and found it suited our needs really well. The accommodation has all the self catering facilities that you could need and, spread over 4 floors, gives everyone the chance to claim a spot as their own. The location of the Old Windmill, on the edge of the market town of Aylsham does require the daily use of a car, which was fine with us. We kept all our beach paraphernalia in a top box anyway so it was always there if needed. We would definitely recommend.



September break

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our holiday at the Old Windmill. It far outweighed our expectations. Everything in the Mill was to the highest standard and Tim and Janet made us very welcome. We would recommend it to anyone looking for something a bit different.



Fantastic

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were looking for somewhere different to stay and we saw the windmill in Aylsham. I thought this is the place for us, so I went and booked it for the first week in October. I was NOT dissapointed, we all had a wonderful week very clean, comfortable and everything there that you could want. The owners who live on site are just wonderful people and nothing is too much trouble and make you welcome with a nice bottle of wine and fruit cake on your arrival. The windmill is homely and spacious and in a great location. Hope to go back next year.



Wonderful stay at the Old Mill

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved staying at the Mill. Everything you need to make the stay enjoyable. Loved the little animals everywhere. Great fun. Comfortable beds and sofas. Owners very helpful and able to provide little extras and useful info about the area.
Lovely area to stay in. Went to Blakeney Point and saw loads of wild life. All the Norfolk coast is really beautiful. Blickling Hall a great place to visit too.
Super visit! Will come again.




An ideal place to stay in Norfolk

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Windmill is an unusual but brilliant place to stay. We were extremely comfortable there and owners (on site) were very helpful at all times. Everything we had expected to be provided for us in the property was provided, and more besides.
Aylsham is absolutely ideally situated for visiting so many of the best places in Norfolk...mostly within a 30 - 40 minute drive. We enjoyed days on the North Norfolk coast (for swimming, birdwatching, walking and the excellent north Norfolk Steam railway). Wroxham was not far away for the Broads and we had a great day there pottering around in boats and watching the wildlife. Altogether, this was one of the best self-catering holidays we have enjoyed.




Janet Bower replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for such a perfect start to our SuperControl Upfront reviews! We're really pleased you all enjoyed your time in Aylsham. Look forward to seeing you again.