FB Twitter

Yurt Otto

Yurt Otto

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 35 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


Our beautiful yurts have been handmade on the Isle of Wight and sit in a private field up behind the farm. They're perfect for couples and small families sleeping up to 6 in one kingsize double bed and four single mattresses on a mezzanine deck.

Lovely few days

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a family of 3 we had a lovely few days staying in the yurt. It was cosy and had everything we needed. The games room was a real bonus.

Lynne from Louth stayed at Yurt Otto for 3 nights in September 2020


A great experience

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First experience of glamping but not our last and don't think we could have done better than the garlic farm

Jane from Worthing stayed at Yurt Otto for 3 nights in September 2020


Beautiful location - friendly and helpful owners

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful well equipped Yurts, with superb outdoor facilities.
The Yurts at the Garlic farm are well spaced to allow for privacy and provide excellent interior and exterior facilities - everything was done to ensure we would be comfortable and safe. A shame the weekend we stayed was a little cool as to relax in the hammocks and spend more time in the outdoor space on a warm day would have been lovely. That said inside the Yurts are beautiful, and getting cosy with the log burner alight on a cold autumn evening gets a bug thumbs up

Games room is also well equipped and for the days we stayed we had trouble extracting the children from this room!

Excellent communication from the owners from booking until we returned home

Thank you


Guest from stayed at Yurt Otto for 2 nights in September 2020


Perfect venue for a short break

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hosts were welcoming and there was lots of helpful information in the yurt , great location and outdoor space combined with simple comfort and nice touches

Judith from Bradmore, Nottingham stayed at Yurt Otto for 4 nights in September 2020


Luxury Yurt

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I stayed in Otto yurt for 7 days. It was utter bliss from the moment we arrived. Our Yurt was comfortable, clean and included everything needed for a luxurious yurting holiday. The highlights for us were the peacocks and peahens who visited us every day, toasting marshmallows at night, feeling completely sheltered from everyday stresses and being able to easily visit the excellent amenities at The Garlic Farm; wild flowers walks, restaurant and their shop.

Michael from Uxbridge stayed at Yurt Otto for 7 nights in September 2020


Fantastic break

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The yurt was great with everything you could need. We sat outside by the fire pit on an evening after having a bbq. With 2 teens the games room and tennis court was a huge hit. We were unable to book for the pizza night as it was full but we did have a couple of breakfasts at the garlic farm cafe which were delicious. The yurts are great for a short family break.

Leisha from Braithwell Rotherham stayed at Yurt Otto for 3 nights in August 2020


Well kitted out and comfortable yurt in great location

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our week at The Garlic Farm. The yurt was comfortable and had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. Use of the tennis courts and games room was a real bonus and the hammocks were a nice touch. I would definitely recommend it as a base for exploring the island.

Valerie from Dorking stayed at Yurt Otto for 7 nights in August 2020


Fabulous!

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Every tiny detail had been thought of here. It was absolutely fantastic - the yurt was beautiful and the surrounding farm great for walks and exploring. Cant wait to come back. Cant fault anything.

Kate from London stayed at Yurt Otto for 2 nights in July 2020


Cosy and comfortable

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
First time glamping and we enjoyed our stay of 2 nights here. The accommodation was clean, comfortable and well stocked with the basics. The log burner was a much needed feature and the kids enjoyed toasting marshmallows. The games room was also well stocked and was great entertainment for us all. The garlic farm itself was lovely to mooch around. We enjoyed tasting the produce and bought quite a lot! We drove to surrounding areas went on some great hikes and sampled a couple of good local pubs. Would also be interesting to visit at a different time of year.

Amanda from Berkhamsted stayed at Yurt Otto for 2 nights in October 2019


Wonderful yurt in a special location

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Oct 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant week in our yurt, mixed weather didn't spoil it, rather it made the log burning stove more inviting. Quiet, beautiful location. The garlic farm shop and restaurant are fantastic. Our son loved sleeping up on the mezzanine, and star gazing by the fire at night.

Catherine from Caterham stayed at Yurt Otto for 7 nights in October 2019


Yurt Otto at the Garlic Farm

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place to escape from modern life and relax. Great facilities, friendly people and lots of garlic!

Paul from Wolverhampton stayed at Yurt Otto for 3 nights in October 2019


A nice surprise

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at the Garlic Farm before but never in a yurt so we weren't sure what to expect. The yurts were well designed, very comfortable and with the wood burner lit, very cosy. They came fully stocked with everything we need and helped us have a relaxing few days on the Island.

Paul from Medstead stayed at Yurt Otto for 2 nights in September 2019


Perfect in every way

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
the Isle of Wight has clearly embraced the concept of glamping as we passed several groups of yurts, teepees, eco lodges and safari tents on our trips around the island, all clustered close together in fields near the road. In contrast, the garlic farm yurts occupy a huge space in an idyllic valley, each yurt cleverly positioned so that you feel completely private, even when sitting outside drinking a glass of wine by your own personal fire pit. First impressions wow and things just get better the more you explore, starting with the fairy lights around the door, the hammock and BBQ, the tub of lovely herbs by the door and did I mention the fire pit?! Inside it is small but perfectly formed with cosy rugs, log burning stove, hot showers, little kitchen, hot water bottles and comfy beds but it is the thoughtful extras that make it so wonderful like the milk in the fridge, the flowers on the table and the endless supply of fire wood that encourages you to light the stove whenever you fancy it. The owners appeared within half an hour of us arriving to check that we had settled in and had everything we needed. Add to this, the excellent games room for the children (with table tennis, table football and a Wii), kids playground and tennis court and you have happy children and grown ups. The garlic farm itself is next door selling wonderful garlicky products (plus a few holiday home essentials) and with a fabulous restaurant which was clearly (and deservedly) extremely popular as it was busy even for breakfast. We were planning our next visit before we had even left. Thank you - we can’t wait to come again.

Charlotte from Alton stayed at Yurt Otto for 4 nights in August 2019


Our perfect family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing holiday. We completely fell in love with our Yurt. Such a perfect setting and perfect location, we were close to many of the attractions on the island and there was lots to do on the farm too. Can’t wait to go back!!!

Sarah from Winchester stayed at Yurt Otto for 4 nights in August 2019


Brilliant!

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant location - perfect for families with small children or just a couple of adults.
Games room, football pitch, tennis court and lovely secluded walks within the complex.
Great BBQ/dining area which makes a family event really easy to organise.
Cafe provides a good selection and variety of options to suit all tastes.
Very well managed by owners.


Sarah from stayed at Yurt Otto for 4 nights in August 2019


Family Gathering

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful stay! This was our first visit to the Garlic Farm yurts as part of a family group of 18. This was the perfect location, the yurt exceeded our expectations with all the little extra touches. It was very comfortable for our family of 4, lots of open green space, beautiful flowers and wildlife, a fabulous communal area with fire pit, fairy lights and dining table. The kids loved playing tennis and the games room. We also enjoyed fishing on the nearby lake and the pizza and jazz evening. It was so relaxing and staff were so welcoming and friendly. Thank you, we will definitely be back.


Dan from Windsor stayed at Yurt Otto for 3 nights in July 2019


A well equipped and spacious yurt

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for three nights (five adults) and it was brilliant. We just about squeezed three adults upstairs but it was pretty cosy. The yurts are nice and private and we were surprised at how well stocked they were and the quality and care that has obviously gone into the furnishings.

We absolutely loved sitting around the fire (the outdoor space is amazing) and we cooked two of three nights with no issues.



Rebecca from Corsham stayed at Yurt Otto for 3 nights in July 2019


Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful stay at the Garlic Farm. The yurt was brilliant, glamping at its best. Our children loved sleeping on the mezzanine floor and the rabbits, peacocks and squirrels that they were able to get so close to during our stay (they are proper 'city kids'). No WiFi in the yurt means that you can unplug a little (a very good thing). We loved having a fire in the fire pit every night (the children had so much fun gathering the kindling and wood to burn) and we also made use of the well stocked communal area to have a barbecue with friends on our last night. All-in-all, a fab time, and I would definitely recommend staying here!

Elizabeth from Geneve stayed at Yurt Otto for 4 nights in July 2019


Melanie replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your great review Elizabeth, we greatly appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again in the near future! Hope the rest of your holiday is going well! Kind Regards, Melanie

Brilliant stay

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in the yurts- they’re equipped with everything you need for self catering and are so comfortable to stay in. We also really liked the aesthetic of the yurts, which made them feel very homely!

Alexander from stayed at Yurt Otto for 5 nights in June 2019


Short break in yurt

Review submitted on Thu, 02 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the perfect long weekend at the garlic farm.The yurt was fabulous so much better than we expected.It had everything you needed inside and outside.The restaurant was excellent as always. The weather not the best but this cannot be helped !!. Will definitely be back and have recommended it to lots of people.

Rebecca from Kingston Upon Thames stayed at Yurt Otto for 3 nights in April 2019


Melanie replied more than 1 year ago
I'm sorry for the late reply Rebecca... I just wanted to say thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We hope to see you again soon :) Kind Regards, Melanie

Fantastic Yurt Experience

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great experience staying in the Yurt for 3 nights, they are equipped with everything you need, small kitchen area, fridge, wood burning stove - extra logs and sticks are available a short distance away, hot water bottles. I opted for the 'bed on the shelf' which was actually very cosy and comfortable whilst my friend slept downstairs. There is a nice outdoor area which we didn't use as it was too cold but we did make use of the games rooms, equipped with table tennis, Wii and TV.
The Garlic Farm restaurant also serves lovely meals and we enjoyed some live music whilst we were there too, lots more to see on the farm, including tasting everything made with garlic!!
All the staff we spoke to were very friendly and helpful.


Sandra from Matlock stayed at Yurt Otto for 3 nights in April 2019


Melanie replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Sandra! Sorry for the late reply but I still wanted to thank you for your kind words, we truly appreciate your comments and hope to see you again! Kind Regards, Melanie

Absolutely perfect few days away,

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed in the yurts, and we will definitely be back!
Everyone is lovely, the yurts and communal barbecue area are perfect for a group, ( we had three yurts) and weather permitting, you could easily stay at the yurts and relax by the campfire! No need to travel far!
Would highly recommend the restaurant at the garlic farm too, fantastic food and always lots going on. Many thanks Hugo and Mel .


Caroline from stayed at Yurt Otto for 3 nights in April 2019


a

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I only want to answer the multiple choice questions and I need to fill this spaces here is some writing

Guest from Canterbury stayed at Yurt Otto for 7 nights in October 2018


October stay

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A wonderful location to stay to explore the island. E stayed the first weekend of October, one wet day which was fine as we had the log burner to keep up warm. We cooked our own meals there easily with the kitchen facilities. The second day was gorgeous and perfect for the garlic breakfast and exploring the island. Very spacious yurt with lots to do.

Ella from Southampton stayed at Yurt Otto for 2 nights in October 2018


Melanie replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. It's so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon. Melanie

Summer holiday fun!

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful short break staying in Middle Yurt at the Garlic Farm. The yurt was perfect for a family of 4. It was well equipped and very cosy. The children loved sleeping upstairs in their own little "den". The games room was a big hit and we have some great memories of the "magic" family supper in the restaurant. We hope to be back before too long.

Lucy from Old Basing stayed at Yurt Otto for 4 nights in August 2018


Lovely glamping experience!

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We stayed in one of the yurts this summer and really enjoyed "glamping" at the Garlic Farm. The yurt was absolutely lovely, and all the small details (fresh milk in the fridge, wood for the stove, and - of course - a clove of garlic) make this really worth your while. In the evenings you can enjoy the communal bbq space or make a lovely fire outside the tent, and when the weather gets a bit chilly, the yurt gets all nice and cosy with a lovely wood burner inside. The beds were good and the yurt was actually quite spacious. We can also recommend having lunch at the Garlic Farm Restaurant and buying local products at the store. All in all an amazing experience that we would recommend to anyone!

Mitte from Mortsel stayed at Yurt Otto for 4 nights in August 2018


Fabulous - just hope nobody else finds this!

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Garlic Farm is really a one off! The Yurt concept is superbly implemented creating a tranquil holiday experience. Three grand children aged 1, 5 and 7 were in seventh heaven interacting with free ranging peacocks, red squirrels, a very sensible play area, games room and the added benefit of a tennis court (for the uber competitive 7 year old)..
Very relaxed cafe with great staff providing simple appropriate food options. The new communal BBQ for use by all the Yurts is an excellent addition.


Sarah from stayed at Yurt Otto for 3 nights in August 2018


Perfect Holiday!

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The yurts at the Garlic Farm are absolutely stunning. An amazing location with good access across the island and surroundings that mean you can really relax as well as having excellent amenities within a short walk. No stone has been left unturned when providing everything needed for a memorable stay. We will definitely recommend to others, and will certainly be visiting again ourselves. Hats off to all involved, you have a truly stunning farm in the heart of a truly stunning island.

Adam from stayed at Yurt Otto for 7 nights in July 2018


A fabulous stay in a fabulous yurt

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 3 nights at the end of July in Middle Yurt. It was just as lovely as it looked on the website and we were not disappointed. Comfy beds, a hot shower and flushing loo were all available in the yurt, plus outdoor seating, hammocks, a fire pit (which we cooked on) and a BBQ outside. We enjoyed having morning visits from peacocks and evening drinks in the delightful and newly constructed communal seating / gas BBQ area. A very peaceful location - we heard nothing from the other 3 yurts which were occupied. Breakfast in The Garlic Farm restaurant was awesome. Hugo was very helpful, both before (we got great rates on the ferry booking) and during our stay. Overall, fabulous and we want to stay again.

Rebekah from Manchester stayed at Yurt Otto for 3 nights in July 2018


The Upper Yurt, a really chilled out break.

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We felt welcomed and at home from the moment we arrived. Our three year old son thought everything was simply brilliant. Especially our hammock and our evening campfires. The four Yurts are only a few minutes walk from the Garlic Farm itself but beautifully secluded in their own private field. The king sized bed was very soft. There was always hot water and the shower was excellent. The bed linen and towels were super clean and fresh and there were clothes hangers. The kitchen was tidy and had most thing we needed and we only had to ask if it didn’t. We had a truly great holiday and look forward to staying there again.

Zoe from Chichester stayed at Yurt Otto for 4 nights in June 2018


Amazing views!

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I don't even know where to start!!! We had the most amazing time at the Garlic Farm.
Hugo was very welcome to us and showed us around even tho we came rather late in the evening, From the start we where extremely happy with the yurt but as we used the facilities we just felt in love.
There is so many bunnies around, the games area is perfect and the walks around are amazing.
I must say breakfast there is great and as it is a family run business you can see how everything is extremely well looked after.

Make sure you try the garlic Mayo!


Carol from London stayed at Yurt Otto for 2 nights in May 2018


Second stay in 6 months

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 2nd stay in 6 months. We enjoyed it very much last October that we went back in April with 2 other families. It's fun for the kids to run around in the field and they were so impressed by the magical experience of living in a yurt! We often go away but rarely stay in the same place more than once, however this is the place we have returned as soon as we could and we can see more returns in the future!

Yi-chieh from London stayed at Yurt Otto for 2 nights in April 2018


Middle yurt garlic farm

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Apr 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great family bonding playing board games and lack of WiFi and TV. Fun cooking on the bbq in the rain but the log burner and fire pit kept spirits high. Lovely location but surprised at traffic noise. The general peaceful environment only served to make the vehicles more apparent but only a small issue. Children loved the space and quirky Yurt layout.
I recommend a break here to win back old family values.


Clive from Staines stayed at Yurt Otto for 3 nights in April 2018


70th birthday trip with family

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gorgeous place to stay. Kids had an amazing time playing in the woods behind the yurts and the games room.

We were lucky enough to be there on an evening when the restaurant was open and there was entertainment from a magician - enjoyed by all ages.

Hugo and Jenny were fabulous hosts and really went to every effort to make our stay enjoyable.

The red squirrel trail nearby was a brilliant cycle ride (safe and mostly flat) - our 5 year old even managed a 4mike cycle ride with no problems.

Would definitely recommend this place and would love to go back.


Sarah from a stayed at Yurt Otto for 4 nights in April 2018


An amazing stay in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed over the Easter bank holiday and had the most wonderful time. Every effort was made to keep us warm and comfortable and the farm itself is lovely. We enjoyed a great meal at the garlic farm restaurant - as well as a delicious brunch! Can't wait to come back.

Clara from a stayed at Yurt Otto for 3 nights in March 2018