FB Twitter

Dove Cottage

Dove Cottage

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 60 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.2
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.3
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


Dove Cottage, which sleeps 4, is a Grade II* curtilage listed cottage with an indoor heated swimming pool shared with other users of the Llanfendigaid site beside the sea at the southern end of the Snowdonia National Park.

Good stay

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Oct 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed staying here.
Nice accommodation and location for walks and even for the train to barmouth (or Birmingham).
Good value.


Derek from London stayed at Dove Cottage for 5 nights in October 2020


Wonderful relaxing short break

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was just as expected and the location blissfully remote.
The swimming pool is a massive bonus to the property and also Graham the manager is very helpful and pleasant.


Helen from Worcester stayed at Dove Cottage for 5 nights in September 2020


Clean, tastefully furnished cottage in very attractive setting with beautiful coastline nearby

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean, tastefully furnished cottage in very attractive setting with lots of beautiful coastline and interesting things to do nearby. We brought road bikes with us and over the week of our stay, spent two days cycling, (great scenery & quiet roads), two days walking and two days sight seeing. The latter included a trip to Harlech Castle via the coastal railway, which we very conveniently accessed by walking just 15 mins to Tonfanu station. Great to also have access to a pool across the road from the cottage, which although small was a very relaxing extra. The site manager, Graham was welcoming, friendly and helpful. The only significant negative from our experience was the low level of natural daylight and lack of views in the living area.

Bernadine from Richmond stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in September 2020


Wonderful holiday cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time. Amazing area for both beaches and mountain walks. Both Will (owner) and Graham (on site manager) really helpful. Cottage very comfortable with everything you need and a spectacular location. Many thanks for a wonderful stay. Hope to book again!

Samuel from Leeds stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


A beautiful part of the UK (tempted to keep it a secret)

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dove Cottage and the Llanfendigaid estate is in the most beautiful of locations. You can view the sea from the cottage and a spectacular view of the whole coastline from a few metres up the hill. We did a few great walks but I would also recommend bringing bicycles as there are a few locations for off-road cycling with the kids. Mid Wales is stunning and never overcrowded. Graham the site manager is a lovely chap - helpful and super friendly. He made us feel very welcome. And the owner Will was very responsive and gave great service to those booking at the end of the lock down, only requesting full payments once he was 100% sure visitors could stay.

Jo from London stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


Lovely break in the country

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Dove Cottage was the first place we had been to since lockdown began. It was a real breath of fresh air in every respect, just the change of scene we needed. It is set in a really peaceful location and I loved being able to see the sea from the hill behind the house.Just the right size for a family of four, with nice double bedroom and twin bedroom. The sitting room was cosy and we used the log burner for the fun of it, not because we really needed the heat! Wales was still not fully open at the time so we couldn't use the on-site pool - a shame as when I first booked it that was a big part of the attraction and I felt it would be worth the price. Of course it's no-one's fault, just unfortunate due to the pandemic. Graham the site manager was very friendly and helpful.

Kirstin from London stayed at Dove Cottage for 4 nights in July 2020


A fantastic spot for a family gathering

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dove cottage and the other 2 cottages and big house are in the most beautiful location in South Snowdonia with nice walks from the front door. The locations are separate so you don't have to go as a group, but we did and it was lovely to all congregate in the Cow Shed. Dove Cottage is more traditional with small windows so you don't get to see so much of the lovely views from inside. But it has a good layout with kitchen / living room upstairs. Graham is on site every weekday, a super helpful and friendly bloke!

Guest from Sutton Coldfield stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in July 2020


Bolt Hole in Storm Dennis!!!

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Mar 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dove Cottage is situated in a beautiful quiet part of the country perfect for a relaxing break. Great pool and WiFi !

Christopher from Leeds stayed at Dove Cottage for 8 nights in February 2020


Birthday weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dove cottage is a beautiful ‘upside down’ house that worked perfectly for a guest who struggles with stairs (as he could simply walk over to the big house to eat, lounge etc. Beautifully appointed and decorated. Highly recommended

Julie from Rochdale stayed at Dove Cottage for 3 nights in November 2019


Fab retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beauty on the door step of this amazing get away. Leave ur cares and worries behind. Highly recommend this as a place to come and stay

Philippa from Manchester stayed at Dove Cottage for 2 nights in November 2019


Lovely cottage in a perfect location

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in Dove Cottage which is a cosy upside down cottage with plenty of room. Clean and well maintained. Booking was straightforward with the very helpful owner Will and Graham, the site manager, was friendly and helpful throughout our short stay. Will definitely come again.

Sarah from Aberdyfi stayed at Dove Cottage for 3 nights in November 2019


Very disappointed in general maintenance and cleanliness of property

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Oct 2019
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Paintwork scuffed and not cleaned, marked and thick dust in places.
Bookcase, tables, chairs not cleaned.
Dust everywhere - skirting boards, furniture and cobwebs in places.
Windows dirty and some difficult to open.
Place mats not cleaned properly - food stains.
Carpet badly stained, as is settee.
No handle on the sieve (kitchen utensil).
The bins area was uncared for and untidy.

GOOD POINTS
Comfortable bed
Good bath


Derek from Penally stayed at Dove Cottage for 5 nights in October 2019


Will & Graham replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks very much for your review and am sorry you did not like what you found. We do try to make sure that it is presented in good nick every time and we obviously did not manage it on this occasion. We do encourage guests to tell us immediately if anything is wrong rather than wait until after they have left. We have a full time staff and lots of spares on site so we are generally able to sort out any issues very quickly if we know about them.

Happy week in Dove Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Splendid location for walks, bikerides and exploring northern Wales. We had a marvellous week. Logs and electicity included in a fair price. Very quiet, sleept well. Nice walk on the beach and in the Hills nearby. A request stop only 10 minutes by foot down the road. All well organized by the manager.

Johnny from Bergen stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in October 2019


lovely place

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely time with friends and family, kids loved the pool and all had an amazing time. Would def be recommending.

Zara from Southampton stayed at Dove Cottage for 2 nights in October 2019


A birthday weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We exclusively booked all the properties for a family gathering and can not recommend enough, stunning location and extremely comfortable accommodation. The beds are bed linen are very luxury and a real home from home. Will not hesitate to book again!

Grace from Stafford stayed at Dove Cottage for 3 nights in September 2019


Lovely stay with 2 year old

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose Dove cottage as our holiday destination with our two year old daughter. We were drawn to the close proximity of various lovely sand beaches for building sand castles and paddling. We found the swimming pool very handy and used it at least once every day. We also enjoyed the mini steam train rides nearby. The cottage itself is in a beautiful setting and had everything we needed for our stay. The stair gate, washing machine and dishwasher were very handy! When we had any down time in doors, the cosy sofas made us feel at home.
We would definitely recommend and stay again.


Sam from Liverpool stayed at Dove Cottage for 4 nights in September 2019


A beautiful, comfortable place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time in Dove Cottage and recommend it to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Snowdonia. It's very much in the deep countryside and the location is beautiful. Comfortable beds and sofas, a well stocked kitchen, a large bathroom. All great.

Ilana from London stayed at Dove Cottage for 6 nights in August 2019


A fabulous week in a great location. The cottage is lovely if a little tired in places.

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Been coming for a few years - ideal location if you want a quiet holiday where you and the kids are happy with good old fashioned activities like walking and exploring. Pool is great and clean. The cottage is well equipped although we needed to ask the manager for kitchenware that was missing (it had been taken to the main house and not returned) and the bed linen and bathroom are always nice and clean. If i am honest we have noticed since we first came four years ago that parts of the cottage are looking a little tired now and needs updating eg the flooring in the kitchen, and although everything was freshly cleaned when we arrived there might have been a little more attention paid to things like skirting boards and behind beds which were dusty and cobwebby. Obviously in an old converted property there will be spiders and dust but it wouldn't take long to vacuum/ dust behind beds and wipe skirting boards in the bedrooms. Also the fridge makes a low pitched throbbing noise which you can hear ALL NIGHT which is such a shame as the silence is incredible otherwise. I did raise this two years ago but alas the fridge is still noisy! Lastly the information folder in the cottage needs updating as it is out of date.
Otherwise a brilliant place to stay. Always sleep well here and the old fashioned vibe of the place is fantastic. The kids loved the rope swings (perhaps check the rope of the lower one!!) and the table tennis was a welcome addition. Again perhaps a quick sweep out of all the leaves and a wipe down of the table would just make it more inviting. We will definitely consider returning.


Guest from Barnstaple stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Beautiful cottage in idyllic location

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful week at Dove Cottage. It had everything you could need for a relaxing family holiday with the added character and charm you look for in a country cottage. The bonus was being so close to the indoor pool which our daughters loved! The cottage is in a very peaceful location and well situated for days out exploring this area of Welsh coastline. We will definitely be returning!

Ceri from Derby stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


a wonderful week

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in Dove Cottage and Wales.
thank you.
Dove Cottage is cozy and warm.
Heidi & Heiko


Heiko from Rangsdorf stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


Everything you need for a lovely holiday.

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at Dove cottage, it was easy to find, very cosy and the added bonus of a swimming pool made it a perfect week for us. Thank you to Graham for his friendly welcome and we will definitely be recommending Llanfendigaid to our friends and family.

Patricia from Leigh stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in May 2019


Home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful little cottage equipped with everything you need, a perfect home from home in a stunning location. The antique beds are a lovely feature too.

Alison from Llangollen stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in April 2019


X

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Could you please make it clear in your online information that any internet access is practically unavailable. Skype phones have not worked for years. This should be updated please. Had a good stay otherwise. Thanks.

Guest from Fareham stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in April 2019


Will replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Susan I am sorry the satellite broadband did not work well for you. It isn't bad when it is on form but is less reliable than I would like. As a result, we are in the (longwinded) process of installing ultra fast leased line technology with fibre optic linked directly to the main BT Colossus network backbone....and I expect it will be in by Sept at the latest at which point hopefully broadband performance issues will be a thing of the past!

Wonderful and relaxing stay.

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a relaxing holiday during the February half term, the cottage is very comfortable. The children enjoyed the pool and table tennis, (bats provided)
There are some really nice walks nearby, it is very tranquil nice to get away from all the hustle.
Graham is always on hand with advice.
We hope to return again.


Shamsun from Slough stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in February 2019


Preparation is Important

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Nov 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
On arrival we couldn’t find any TV instructions for the evening, there were 3 remote controls. Step by step instructions called for. The bathroom hot water tap was dripping, the shower waste was blocked and nearly overflowing, we reported everything and it was fixed on Monday while we were out. The lampshade at the top of the stairs needed replacing as the fabric had crumbled inside, it could only be seen when the light was on. The front small panel under the sink was broken. I did report the lampshade and the panel when we left by note, hopefully so that it could be fixed for the next occupants. Problems described were just an inconvenience but could have been avoidable with better preparation. Overall we were comfortable and enjoyed our stay in a beautiful setting. The weather was very good and we went out every day. The recommendations for restaurants were perfect.

Guest from Dorchester stayed at Dove Cottage for 6 nights in September 2018


Will replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Simon Thanks very much for your detailed review - always very useful to me in trying to keeping it at the right standard. I will make sure that we action the points you raise and review the checking process which clearly has missed some items on this occasion. Glad you had good weather and enjoyed the countryside though...

A very comfortable, well-maintained and well-appointed cottage in a peaceful and scenic location.

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dove Cottage at Llanfendigaid Estate was the perfect rural getaway for my 10-year-old daughter and I. Booking was straightforward, marketing materials accurately reflected the property, amenities and location, and contacts on-site and via email/phone were friendly and responsive. It was a great base from which to explore the stunning surroundings, and partake in some of the many child-friendly activities in the vicinity. Spending the whole day relaxing at the cottage, using the indoor heated pool and walking locally, was just as enjoyable as venturing further afield by car or train. The cottage was warm, clean, comfortable and well-appointed. We very much hope to return one day!

Suzanne from London stayed at Dove Cottage for 4 nights in October 2018


Super cosy

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic cosey cottage in a great location.

Fantastic views with a short walk to the beach wity plwnty of wildlife along thw route.


Christopher from Treorchy stayed at Dove Cottage for 3 nights in September 2018


a week with children

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
lovely week in nice cottage relaxing surroundings , went on a few days out, King Arthurs Labyrinth near and great day out, Aberdovey is a nice place / beach

Matt from Sheffield stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in July 2018


Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, comfortable and tastefully furnished cottage taken as part of the whole Llanfendigaid Estate for a week. Perfect for two couples or a family of four either as part of the whole estate or individually. Spacious upstairs kitchen and living area.

Great area with lots to do and tranquil surroundings.


John from Callander stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in July 2018


What a place

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great week we all had in Dove cottage & Stable cottage, home from home feeling, everything we needed to make the stay comfortable, location was great, wildlife was great, from the nosey squirrel to the dove hiding away and playing with its plastic jug, great to see, on site staff were absolutely brilliant, the swimming pool was an added bonus, after being out all day it was great to come back and have access to the pool for a swim.

Just wonderful


John from Leighton Buzzard stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in May 2018


Fabulous cottage in stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful holiday at Dove Cottage. It is well equipped, cosy and comfortable. The location is peaceful and the views superb. It is a bonus having a pool onsite too. There is loads to do in the surrounding area and we wo would love to come back in the future.

Liz from Eastleigh stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in April 2018


A wonderful New Years break

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired out the entire estate for a large party of us for a week over New Years. The accommodation was fantastic, with everything you needed and the manager of the Estate was incredibly helpful and attentive whenever we needed him during our stay. We would definitely recommend...and we would love to return!

Lyndsey from Wallingford stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in December 2017


Relaxing Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Nov 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed during October half term, we had a wonderful time, the cottage is very comfortable, the swimming pool was great, we had the pool to ourselves most of the time and there are plenty of inflatable toys for the children to have great fun with.

There are great walks nearby and beaches which were recommend by Graham.

A very relaxing holiday, would recommend.



Shamsun from Slough stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in October 2017


Comfortable and beautiful location

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Nov 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely’s place , lovely walks and good restaurants within a drive away. Great for an escape and accommodation is warm and comfortable.

Lydia from Leiston stayed at Dove Cottage for 5 nights in October 2017


Wonderful cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was brilliantly refurbished, with plenty of outside space and great facilities. We had highs and lows in terms of weather, but the accommodation provides all that you require, whatever the weather.

Joe from Whittington stayed at Dove Cottage for 3 nights in June 2017


Fab place!

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Dove Cottage, it was cozy and just perfect for our family of 5. The onsite indoor swimming pool was a huge perk as well as the quiet peaceful countryside and close proximity to the beaches and beautiful views. The cottage was equipped with every amenity you can think of, even including books and board games!
The one and only downer to our trip was our son's allergic reaction most probably to pollen in the area, but that wasn't really in anyone's control


Guest from Cardiff stayed at Dove Cottage for 3 nights in June 2017


Excellent stay at Dove Cottage as always.

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have used Llanfendigaid Estate, including Dove Cottage on numerous occasions and we are always very pleased with the condition. Any issues (usually problems caused by previous holidaymakers who have not reported it) are dealt with promptly by the Estate Manager, Graham.

Guest from Tywyn stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in May 2017


A Special Week

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We went to Llanfendigaid with our grown up sons, daughter in law and two small grandchildren. We booked two cottages next to each other.
The setting was perfect for us, and the children loved walking up the hills and playing on the tyre swing. We had BBQs and made good use of the (warm) swimming pool. The cottages are well equipped and comfortable. We slept really well and were able to share some great family meals round the big table at Dove Cottage.
WiFi is limited, but we were able to buy extra if we needed it.
Graham and Will were very welcoming and quick to respond to emails and phone calls. We felt well prepared for the visit with the pre-holiday information.
There is plenty to do in the local area, visiting lakes, train rides, castles and beaches. We shall return to explore more of this wonderful place.


Jane from Bedford stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in April 2017


Lovely, relaxing, comfortable place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired the whole of the estate to celebrate our birthdays with friends. We had a wonderful time. The cottages and house were clean, comfortable and well stocked good facilities for self catering. The swimming pool was great. All the cottages were lovely and the house had such character and atmosphere that it made everything special. The grounds and surrounding area were very peaceful. We would recommend this estate for a stay in any of the cottages and the house.

Lesley from Preston stayed at Dove Cottage for 5 nights in March 2017


Wonderful location

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyable stay, beautiful surroundings, staff extremely helpful., and friendly. Pool was a delight after a busy day shopping. Aberdovey a beautiful spot, recommend the gift shop Rustic Coast, all in all perfect can't wait to return.....thank you Will & Graham

Guest from Barmouth stayed at Dove Cottage for 2 nights in March 2017


Great time in Wales

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Feb 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful few days in Wales in a comfortable and well equipped cottage, the big bonus of this place is the pool!!

Claudia from Manchester stayed at Dove Cottage for 4 nights in February 2017


Very comfortable cottage with nearly all the home comforts.

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a really enjoyable stay. Cottage location was good for visiting so many places in Wales whether the weather was fine or damp!! Would have no qualms about recommending it to friends.

Janet from Hyde Heath stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Wonderful, fantastic, relaxing

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dove Cottage, Llanfendigaid is a lovely little (but more spacious that expected) cottage with all the necessary home comforts, and then some...sea views, swimming pool, beautiful surroundings and well located to visit the surrounding area. It really does deserve its label as a premier cottage, it is so well kept, comfortable, and we certainly felt at home. My expectations were exceeded in terms of what was provided on the premises.

The manager at the site is an absolute credit. We were aware he was about on a number of days, to be expected if the premises and estate are going to be maintained to such a high standard. He was always helpful and we never felt intruded upon.

It was great location to take our young son on his first family holiday. He loved hunting pine cones and watching the birds that feed at the front of the stable block. We really couldn't find any faults and would love to return.


Meriel from Northampton stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Lovely stay

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for four nights in Dove Cottage (family of four) and had a great time. The cottage is perfectly situated, with virtually no passing traffic, and no noise etc. from the other nearby properties (including the large house). The pool was fab and we had exclusive use, though this may not be the case during peak holiday periods. The upstairs open-plan kitchen / diner / lounge is extremely comfortable with all the amenities we required, including some great board games. We also enjoyed the outside areas.
Hopefully we will return in the future!


Guest from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Dove Cottage for 4 nights in July 2016


Great holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay. Kids loved the swimming pool.
Graham was lovely, always making sure everything was OK.
Great walks in surrounding area and very close to beach.


Guest from Nottingham stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in April 2016


A real gem of a cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage, very clean,warm and cosy. The kitchen was well equipped. The manager was very helpful and friendly on our arrival. The area is fabulous for walking, and with an conveniently timed trains from the nearby train station we walked the new Wales Coastal Path both up to Barmouth and down as far as Borth during our stay.

Wendy from Cardiff stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in March 2016


Winter half term break

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Feb 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely half term break at Dove Cottage. The cottage was clean and well equipped with everything we wanted. Our children (aged 4 and 6) loved the indoor pool which was invaluable, especially on the odd wet day we had. The cottage is ideally situated with walks from the door into the hills behind the estate and also down to the stoney beach. It is also only 15 mins walk or a short drive to Tonfanau railway station which is on the coastal railway line with short journey times to Tywyn and Aberdovey south and Barmouth and Harlech north. The train was a great way to get around and see the coastline in this area, so having the station so close was very handy. All in all, a great place to stay to see this part of Wales.

Robert from Witney stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in February 2016


Excellent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first time in the area and we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. Graham was very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. We used the pool on site frequently and often had it to ourselves. Having the beach so close by was great and the farm tea shop up the road was superb with very friendly people. There was lots to do and we could have stayed longer.
We have already recommended here to friends with similar aged children.


Paul from Buntingford stayed at Dove Cottage for 9 nights in August 2015


Beautiful estate & cottage in a beautiful location! Outstanding!

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Simply perfect! Great family holiday away from normal life! Clean, cosy cottage, very helpful and friendly staff! Can't wait to go back. 10 out of 10!

Ben from Wirral stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in October 2015


Great stay

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked dove cottage with the main house at Llanfendigaid estate for a hen do.

The accommodation was brilliant.the cottage was really nice and well equipped for self catering. The views around the estate were amazing and the customer service we received was fantastic.


Guest from Leicester stayed at Dove Cottage for 2 nights in September 2015


Coast and mountains all within reach

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying at Dove Cottage - very comfortable (especially the beds!), warm and cosy, a great location and the swimming pool is a real bonus. There is fantastic walking (Cadair Idris) and biking nearby and the coast is also very close to explore. If the weather turns there are plenty of options - train to Harlech, Aberdyfi, the Tywyn cinema - and it was beautifully dark and quiet at night. We were lucky with the weather; we even managed a BBQ! Altogether we had a very restful stay, busy enjoying the hills or beach during the day and relaxing at night.

Guest from Stockport stayed at Dove Cottage for 6 nights in August 2015


Dove cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jun 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The people who stayed in the cottage were happy with accommodation. They initially found it dark compared to the main house but slept well as a result of the bedroom being at the back. In Stable cottage we were disturbed by some nesting birds or squirrels!


Guest from Devizes, Wiltshire stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in May 2015


Perfect thanks!

Review submitted on Wed, 20 May 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The only tiny criticism of Dove Cottage is a slightly musty/damp smell in the twin bedroom - otherwise all good. We used it as overspill accommodation for the main house so can't comment on the kitchen etc

Guest from Tywyn stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in May 2015


Good comfortable base for touring Gwynedd

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Apr 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Dove Cottage for a week over Easter, and found it to be a good base. This isn't really a luxury cottage, but it was comfortable, practical and clean, so we felt quickly at home. The surrounding scenery of farmland and hills provides a good backdrop, and the cottage really is visited by doves on a regular basis, befitting its name! The upstairs is an open plan kitchen / sitting / dining area, with plenty room, the double bedroom has a large bed and reasonable storage, and the twin bedroom was quite compact but comfortable. There is a roomy bathroom, with a bath and shower; the latter only just had enough water pressure. We used the free internet, which seemed to be reliable for email and standard surfing. The pool, which is just across the lane from the cottage, was warm, and very popular with the youngest member of our party.

Guest from Stockport stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in April 2015


A wonderful place for a special family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Nov 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As we are such a big family (12 adults and 10 children) we booked all three properties.

My husband and I were in Dove Cottage and thought it was lovely. The bed was both beautiful and comfortable.

Most of our time was spent with the family in the big house.


Guest from Bideford stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in October 2014


An enjoyable stay,

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Oct 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at Dove cottage, but it could have been more comfotable with a little more attention to needs of holiday makers.The on-site manager was courteous and helpful.
We left a short list of the improvements .


Guest from Newcastle-under-lyme stayed at Dove Cottage for 7 nights in September 2014


A charming cottage in a good location.

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Sep 2014
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Overall a charming cottage in a good location and Graham made us feel very welcome.
The heated pool was a little on the chilly side (even for the kids at the end of August) and we struggled to research the area once we arrived as the wifi only worked for the first day (we could have done this before we came but as it was a last minute booking we thought we'd do the detailed research once we arrived and picked a cottage with wifi for this purpose). But these are just small factors in an otherwise lovely old cottage on the edge of Snowdonia within good reach of some very beautiful areas of North Wales.



Guest from Pickering stayed at Dove Cottage for 5 nights in August 2014


Dove tranquil cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Jun 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightfully peaceful. The cottage is well equipped and comfortable. Although there are two other lets and a caravan club area in close proximity, none are intrusive. Plenty of pleasant walks in the area & the local station within easy reach for trips future afield.

Guest from Maidstone stayed at Dove Cottage for 8 nights in June 2014


A lovely Welsh holiday by the sea

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Apr 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay. Dove Cottage used to be a real Dovecote though must have been a big one. Pretty stone cottage with a nice garden area at the back. Swimming pool was a bonus and kept the kids happy. Walks on the beach and in the hills were perfect and it is good for cycling too as the Wales coastal path (a lane at this point) runs next to the property. Graham is very helpful and welcoming too. Will certainly come back again.

Guest from Devizes stayed at Dove Cottage for 6 nights in April 2014


Beautiful setting, shame about condition of property

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Apr 2014
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Dove cottage is in a breathtaking location, close to the sea, rolling hills and great for visiting the many narrow gauge railways, unfortunately the property, is in need of updating and a thorough clean. It was very dirty throughout and some of the furniture is in need of repair to make it useable. In particular the washing machine needs attention to remove the mild from inside. My young family cannot recommend this property but we can recommend the area.

Guest from Kirtlington stayed at Dove Cottage for 5 nights in April 2014


Will Garton-Jones replied more than 1 year ago
The French family shared with me in more detail the sources of their concern have now been fully addressed though we accept that they should have been right in the first place. We are always grateful for and act on constructive criticism as soon as we receive it. The property was completely stripped and refurbished 12 months ago.