FB Twitter

Gael Cham

Gael Cham

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 57 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.7
Location
4.6
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.4


Self catering log cabin situated adjacent to Croftside, Aviemore. 3 bedroom, double glazed, and well insulated ensuring maximum comfort with quality furnishings, fully equipped with a modern kitchen and flat panel TV with DVD player. Weekly lets & short breaks

Family Weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Visited Aviemore with our Daughter and Family, 4 adults, I child and small dog (in total). The cabin was easy to find and spacious enough for all of us.
As one previous reviewer pointed out, by the nature of log cabins, door closing and moving about sounds seem to carry ( little noisy) but this did not stop our enjoyment. Everyone still slept well and enjoyed the area.


William from Aberdeen stayed at Gael Cham for 4 nights in September 2017


Gael cham Aviemore

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Have stayed here before,with no problems,but upon arrival 22/07/17,I noticed the patio door lock to be broken.Phoning an out of hours number,answered by Jean,who was very nice.I was told by her nothing could be done now,but would pass the concern onto the relevant people.The next day,I received a text off Jean,saying nobody could come to the chalet that day,but would be out on the Monday.Well Monday came and no call or message off the agents,whether,anybody came to the chalet that day,I will never know.I think this was unacceptable,as the chalet was not safe,for the whole week I was there,because the patio door could not be looked securely.

Barry David from Liverpool stayed at Gael Cham for 7 nights in July 2017


Excellent lodge good for young family

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Well presented lodge with all the necessary amenities.

Only slight query is around the high chair and cot provision. Having been advised that these were not available, these items were actually in the lodge when we got there. This meant we had needlessly brought these bulky items with us in the car. A minor issue but thought was worth feeding back.


Andrew from stayed at Gael Cham for 7 nights in July 2017


Great holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fantastic lodge clean spacious great views from balcony large rooms the only thing id suggest is the 2 double rooms could do with somewhere to hang clothes as there is no hanging pole and 1 room could do with a mirror apart from that we wish we could of stayed longer would definatly consider coming back and will recommend this property

Gail from Renfrewshire Scotland stayed at Gael Cham for 7 nights in July 2017


Highly recommended

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic property, set in a private location, with fantastic views over the Cairngorms.

This was the second time I've stayed here and I will be back soon.



Wayne from Falkirk stayed at Gael Cham for 7 nights in June 2017


Great location

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, not far away from city center. It was clean and comfortable especially after a day out and about.


Marylin from M'scala stayed at Gael Cham for 3 nights in May 2017


Aviemore lodges

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent view of the cairngorms, 20 min walk into Aviemore (easy pace)
Will book again.
Recommend.


Paul from Luton stayed at Gael Cham for 3 nights in May 2017


Short break in Aviemore

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great location to stay in. A short walk to town and easy to drive out of. Very warm and comfortable, ( the squeaking bed in the master bedroom needs some attention though... ) Lovely views of the Cairngorms.

Peter from Rhyl stayed at Gael Cham for 4 nights in March 2017


Great chalet, great views!

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning chalet with amazing views of the mountains. Would love to go back, great accommodation, spacious and well equipped.

Sarah from stayed at Gael Cham for 3 nights in March 2017


Great place to stay other than heating and hot water.

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Mar 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location, the cabin itself is great but the heating is poor. It's either freezing or roasting hot due to electric storage heaters. Hot water runs out after one bath. I think in the summer it would be great. Close to town and the station, everything on your doorstep. Would I stay again, in the summer Yes

Kieron from London stayed at Gael Cham for 7 nights in March 2017


Stunning views , safe , quiet and comfortable.

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Feb 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning location, beside beautiful walks. Comfortable, home from home accommodation especially good for families. We were two adults and three children 11,10 and 8 . Nice beds, great wifi, warm house. We were only there two nights but if staying longer the only improvements we would suggest to the owners would be to get the creaky double bed fixed, purchase new towels and add another small sofa in the lounge as five of us struggled to get seated comfortable on the two existing small ones. Hot water could have been more plentiful. However we had a very nice stay in a fantastic area. Thanks .

Fiona from stayed at Gael Cham for 3 nights in February 2017


Lovely lodge in prime location

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely lodge in prime location! The only thing was the hot water played up a bit so we ended up with cold showers! But apart from that, loved it!!

Deirdre from Ballynahinch stayed at Gael Cham for 4 nights in February 2017


It was good

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Oct 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Aviemore was excellent, weather was excellent and the lodge was good.
If you are going to this lodge remember it has no soundproofing due to being all wood so if your party has an early riser (my 3 year old) everyone is up.


Guest from Armadale stayed at Gael Cham for 3 nights in October 2016


Comfortable lodge in a great location

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Oct 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Enjoyed our stay in Gael Cham lodge. Beds very comfortable although only comfortable seating in lounge area for 5 people which meant someone had always to sit on a dining chair. Also hot water only sufficient for 3 showers then others had to wait for water to heat up again. Not ideal on holiday. Did complain only to be told it didn't take long to heat. We felt perhaps there was a problem with the emersion heater but no one came to check. The location was perfect for walking to the centre of Aviemore. The other problem was the parking, although there was room to park 4 cars the adjacent lodge had 3 cars and we found it difficult to park our 2 cars close to our lodge door. The cleanliness was ok allthough pretty dusty under beds etc and we did find things which had been left by previous occupants under the couches. On the whole a comfortable lodge in a good location.

Joyce from Banff stayed at Gael Cham for 3 nights in October 2016


Spacious accommodation, everything was provided, great location.

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was plenty big enough for us. It was clean and tidy with everything we needed and it was especially handy having the washer tumble dryer too. The accommodation is very well located just a short car ride into the main town where we could get anything we needed. There's quite a big Tesco in town which was good for supplies. In the town is the Strathspey Railway line too so that was nice! In the accommodation the beds were comfortable and towels and linen were all available.

Louise from Westcliff-on-sea stayed at Gael Cham for 4 nights in September 2016


Ryder Cup weekend in Aviemore

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent service, we have stayed here twice in the last 4 years, fast wifi allows streaming sports & movies. Plenty parking spaces, comfortable and clean. Highly recommended. We'll be back.

James from Cambusbarron stayed at Gael Cham for 3 nights in September 2016


Great stay

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Would definately recommand! Everything was good! The only thing was maybe we could have had 2 towels each instead of one... but we managed as it was easy to dry them. The house is fanrastic with nice views too...if i go back to aviemore...i ll surly go back there!

Roberta from Qormi stayed at Gael Cham for 6 nights in September 2016


Gorcious view up to the mountains.

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our stay in the cozy cabin. The location was great for all our hikes or visits.
The view up to the Cairngorms was excellent, we even could decide when to live the cabin because we could assess the wheater situation.


Katrin from St. Gallen stayed at Gael Cham for 4 nights in September 2016


Excellent Chalet on the outskirts of Aviemore with ample accom for 6 Adults.

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Sep 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The Chalet was Very nice, Located in a private estate about a 1 mile walk from the centre of Aviemore.

The Chalet was comfortable and well equipped, It had everything we needed with the bonus of an excellent View from the outside eating area.

Kitchen and Dinning areas were very good, Lounge could do with an arm chair or a larger sofa as this is sold as being for 6 adults but one person had to use a dinning chair in the lounge as there were only a 2 and a 3 seater sofa.

My only complaint was that parking was very limited with the residents of the sister chalet next door having taken up all the parking spaces by the time we arrived. with a bit of negotiating and some shuffling of vehicles we managed to make it work.

On the Customer Service front the only contact I had was a phone call a couple of days prior to arrival to confirm I had the entry details. This was not a problem as we didn't have any issue that need resolved other than the parking which we managed to sort out with the people next door (Who were friendly, this may have been different if the had been unwilling to compromise). We had a contact number if we needed to contact the owner. Everything else was done online (which is not the most user friendly system to negotiate) View of the property details from the booking portal is not easy and getting to the login on the booking portal seem only to be possible through the link on the email, so be careful not to delete that email.

Costs were okay when share between 6 adults.

I would consider booking it again.



Scott from Glasgow stayed at Gael Cham for 3 nights in August 2016


Great lodge in great location

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The lodge is very spacious and easily accommodated our group of 2 adults and 3 kids. The residential area where the lodge is located is lovely and a 15 min walk to the town. There are also some lovely woodland walks behind the lodge if you want to take a scenic route. The lodge had everything we needed and there was nothing we would find fault with and will definitely use again.

Douglas from Denny stayed at Gael Cham for 7 nights in July 2016


Lovely, clean, spacious lodge!

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very pleased with the lodge. We weren't blessed with good weather and it was so nice to return to the comfort and warmth of the lodge after an outing. Only one minor complaint - the sky remote was battery was running low and the number 1 button did not register. It felt like a home from home and I would certainly consider staying there again if we ever return to Aviemore.

Elizabeth from Peterhead stayed at Gael Cham for 4 nights in June 2016


4 nights in Aviemore

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The property was easy to find and in a secluded quiet location. The accommodation was clean and tidy and we had all we needed. The fridge is small for 6 people, but we were only 4 so ok. The view from the balcony was great, across to the Cairngorm mountains. Would recommend this property as a great location to explore the area and only a short distance from the centre of town.

Robert from Sturminster Newton stayed at Gael Cham for 4 nights in June 2016


Wonderful views

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely large holiday home on edge of town in quiet location. Clean and well equipped. Very comfortable for six people .Balcony with stunning views to Cairngorms-couldn't ask for more!

Rosemary from Cupar stayed at Gael Cham for 7 nights in May 2016


A stay in Aviemore

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Apr 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A lovely house in a nice area with beautiful views of the mountains. House was generally clean however biscuit crumbs and papers in drawers below cutlery drawer. A few issues drawer broke in bedroom unable to open . Lock on patio door did not lock.Concerns chipped and dirty crockery in the cupboard which was distressing. No notes how to use washer / dryer. Need to change towels to bath sheets one bath towel and hand towel per person for one week not enough. No information on putting out bins they were overloaded. Plenty of hot water showers excellent beds very comfortable . Wifi great fab reception . Would recommend house to others but advise who cleans house to be more observant.

Margaret from Perth stayed at Gael Cham for 6 nights in April 2016


Cairngorm stay

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great location and really comfortable accommodation. Lovely and warm with all the facilities you need. Great views of the Cairngorm mountains. Easy to walk into Aviemore

Peter from Rhyl stayed at Gael Cham for 3 nights in March 2016


Ideal place to stay in Aviemore

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Feb 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The chalet was lovely, everything was included and was very clean. Would definitely return. There was adequate parking outside the chalet and was only a short walk to the village.

Guy from Bolton-le-sands stayed at Gael Cham for 5 nights in February 2016


Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cleanliness, comfort and location were excellent. Close proximity to Aviemore centre was a plus. On bus route to Inverness was very handy too.
Had small issue with hot water but on call maintenance (who was on call over Xmas etc) was there in literally 5 minutes, and he was extremely helpful (was only a switch put off by mistake) and friendly. One other thing wasnt really enough towels even for 3 persons in a 6 berth for 1 full week.


Guest from Pittenweem stayed at Gael Cham for 7 nights in December 2015


A lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Nov 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We were delighted with the accommodation, everything was clean,comfortable & tidy. We will definitely stay again and will be recommending to all our friends. A great base for getting around the area.

Heather from Wick stayed at Gael Cham for 4 nights in October 2015


Perfect accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation, home comforts and excellent location for a weekend break. I would recommend this accommodation to friends and family. Thank you for a great stay

Helen from Manchester stayed at Gael Cham for 3 nights in September 2015


Family stay at the lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A clean, comfortable, easy place to stay. I would recommend to family and friends. Hoping to stay next year. Stunning vews! Thank you. We will be back.

Emma from Stamford stayed at Gael Cham for 7 nights in August 2015


Family stay at the lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A clean, comfortable, easy place to stay. I would recommend to family and friends. Hoping to stay next year. Stunning vews! Thank you. We will be back.

Emma from Stamford stayed at Gael Cham for 7 nights in August 2015


Great stay at Gael Cham

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Very pleasant stay, clean with all mod cons. Was within easy walking distance to Aviemore town centre.

Fair price for a comfortable stay in a lovely lodge.


Guest from Dunfermline stayed at Gael Cham for 5 nights in August 2015


Family holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location was ideal and within walking distance of village centre. The lodge beautiful throughout and will certainly look into booking this for the future.

Guest from Paisley stayed at Gael Cham for 5 nights in July 2015


stay at Aviemore

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
excellent chalet,plenty of space,situated in a quite,residential,location,view over cairngorm mountain,is pretty good.only negative,is that the 2 twin rooms dont have a tall wardrobe,only chest off draws,otherwise no other complaints.Overall excellent accomodation.

Guest from Liverpool stayed at Gael Cham for 7 nights in July 2015


Spacious, comfortable cabin.

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here with my wife , 2 kids plus grand parents. Everyone loved the cabin overall. Plenty room and good location, 15 mins walk into town. Stunning views from the balcony of the Cairngorm mountains. ☺
Would definitely stay here again.


David from Elgin stayed at Gael Cham for 4 nights in July 2015


Great view, spacious log cabin

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a family with teenage children and this was a great place to stay. There was plenty of room in the open plan living area, even when we had friends over for dinner, and there is a small balcony with a great view of the hills. It is on the edge of the town so we tended to use our car rather than walk, and saved our energy for the many great activities available in the area. We went gorge-walking with Boots n Paddles and horse riding at Rothiemurchus and also had a great time at Loch Morlich and on the hills. The log cabin is situated in a residential area but compared very favourably to those on a local hotel resort! It was spacious and comfortable and well equipped.

Guest from Farnsfield stayed at Gael Cham for 5 nights in May 2015


enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Thu, 07 May 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay. The only negative was that the bed in the main bedroom had sunk in the middle and was uncomfortable. Views were great from the living room

Guest from Linlithgow stayed at Gael Cham for 4 nights in May 2015


lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very happy we chose this cottage for skiers and walkers in our group.
Would stay again.
Modern and cosy.
Very good value for money.
Dog friendly
Quiet neighbourhood


Johan from Pudsey stayed at Gael Cham for 6 nights in February 2015


Gael Cham aviemore

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Feb 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Gael Cham was a great place to stay for a couple of days skiing in aviemore. It was very comfortable and provided us and our 4 children with everything we required.

Guest from Glasgow stayed at Gael Cham for 3 nights in February 2015


A short 50th birthday break

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jan 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked just a view days before as the weather is so important when you go away to this location. It was very easy to book and the person my husband spoke to was very helpful.

We loved the house and the space it provided. I would like to mention that the duvet covers where very hot and heavy which stopped us from sleeping well. Even the kids age (9) and (12) asked if other covers were available as they were very hot during the night. The house could do with some small extras like tea candles and a lighter and may be some napkins. That does not cost a lot but just makes a difference. I took tea lights up but forgot the lighter so no romance at the first night.

The location is great as it is close to the town and safe for the kids to play around the house. We really relaxed and cooked every night as we were active during the day. All in all a great holiday and we will be back.

I forgot my own pillow and called the following day and it was delivered in a week which was excellent customer service.


Guest from Hawick stayed at Gael Cham for 3 nights in November 2014


Short and to the point

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jan 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic the views ,the location in fact everything about our stay was amazing .evendown to the welcome hamper we where provided with on arrival (the little things that count )

Simon from Connahs Quay stayed at Gael Cham for 14 nights in December 2014


Lovely lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Nov 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely few days at Gael Cham. Good location at the north end of Aviemore, lovely lodge with plenty room for a family of 5 and our dog. Had everything we needed. Would book this lodge again.

Guest from Kinross stayed at Gael Cham for 3 nights in October 2014


Birthday weekend in Aviemore

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Oct 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very very nice lodge in aviemore. Great location within walking distance of the town centre and would recommend it to anyone looking for lovely, warm and clean accommodation in aviemore.


David from Elgin stayed at Gael Cham for 3 nights in October 2014


Birthday weekend in Aviemore

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Oct 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very very nice lodge in aviemore. Great location within walking distance of the town centre and would recommend it to anyone looking for lovely, warm and clean accommodation in aviemore.


David from Elgin stayed at Gael Cham for 3 nights in October 2014


Lovely chalet interiors though not toddler proof!

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Sep 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful chalet inside though open plan kitchen with oven/grill and fridge at toddler level made for stressful meal times!! Also very low windows with no safety catches so many trapped fingers. Definite lack of bedroom storage - some drawers in main bedroom and wardrobes would be good. Extremely noisy/broken? bed frame in main bedroom. Communal dining/living room very nice and great outdoor veranda. Garden shared with neighbouring chalet and not enclosed so care required with dog/children straying.

Guest from St Andrews stayed at Gael Cham for 6 nights in September 2014


Great home.

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful, peaceful home from home. This is my second year at this property. Clean and very comfortably fits 6 adults.
We'll hopefully stay here again.


Guest from Bathgate stayed at Gael Cham for 3 nights in August 2014


Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a family break with 6 adults we were delighted with the size and location of the chalet. There was plenty of space for us all. The views from the balcony are amazing and the chalet is situated in a very quiet area. It is a perfect base from which to get out and see this amazing part of Scotland. We would definitely recommend Gael Cham to friends.

Guest from Glasgow stayed at Gael Cham for 3 nights in August 2014


Lovely holiday chalet

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Aug 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness and facilities provided in the chalet. The location was easy to find thanks to good directions provided. The chalet had wonderful views of the mountains and had plenty of walks nearby for the dog. We were impressed with the ease of booking and service provided.

Guest from Glenrothes stayed at Gael Cham for 7 nights in July 2014


Beautiful, scenic stay, we didn't want to leave!

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Jul 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a beautiful stay at Gael Cham. As soon as we walked in we were thoroughly impressed with the modern furnishings and gorgeous pine smell of the cabin. The view from the balcony is outstanding, overlooking the luscious Cairngorm Mountains. The only queries we hold are of the lack of coffee and tea. In all our previous experiences of self catering accommodation, we are provided with a small range of tea and coffee just to tie us over for a day or so until we get a chance to go to the shops. On arrival after a long trip, we couldn't locate a single tea bag! We questioned the cleaner who then gave us directions to the shop!! I feel for the tariff you pay, you should be at least given a couple of tea bags and coffee/sugar sachets!! We may have been spoilt at past accommodation lodges who even supply a fresh pint of milk for our tea! We also noticed a large amount of dust on the bed heads, behind the bedroom doors and on the top of the cooker. Other than this, we had an extremely pleasant stay and it was perfect for our family!

Guest from Montrose stayed at Gael Cham for 3 nights in July 2014


Luxury, spacious lodge ideal for what we needed!

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay in this beautiful lodge and were so delighted to arrive to find it looking even better than we had seen online. Lots of space for our 3 kids to play around in and each room was just perfect. The en-suite was fab and the open plan kitchen,dining and living space was ideal. Beautiful views from our balcony, very handy for getting into Aviemore & elsewhere. Felt tucked away enough to have our space and privacy too. Very accommodating staff when forgot to order travel cot. Wifi, washing machine and cleaning supplies to get us started were much appreciated too. Couldn't recommend this place enough.
Only small downside was there isn't much soundproofing between walls which meant when an early rising toddler woke so did the rest of the house. But we had a fab 10 day stay and have already recommended to other friends! Thank you!


Guest from Isle Of Tiree stayed at Gael Cham for 10 nights in June 2014


High quality lodge with outstanding views

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jul 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
My partner and I stayed in Gael Cham lodge for 3 nights in July 2014, along with our infant son. We had a lovely time and thought the cabin was very high quality.

Pros were: the location being within walkable distance of Aviemore town centre; the absolutely amazing view of Cairn Gorm and surrounding mountains from the balcony/livingroom; the high quality furniture, fittings and finishing; beautiful wooden flooring; lots of utensils/crockery in the kitchen; and the covered balcony.

Overall we were very happy with our stay. A few things to be aware of though: the shower door in the ensuite did not close properly and kept sticking; the door into the ensuite from the master bedroom would not close properly (I think the wood had expanded and it no longer fitted); there was a small wasps nest above the patio door on the balcony. We called to report this and someone came round and knocked it down, however, they left the nest itself lying on the balcony, which we then had to dispose of when we returned, and the wasps had not been dealt with, and were busy trying to rebuild their nest above the door. My partner eventually had to stand precariously on the outside table to try and kill the wasps himself as we could not open the patio doors or use the balcony with them flying about. We were disappointed in how this was handled; the available parking is shared with the neighbouring lodge - there is space for about 4 cars, but on occasion our neighbour had 3 cars parked there - if we had more than one car or visitors at that point we would have had nowhere to park. I would prefer private spaces for each lodge to guarantee a space; there is outside garden space but again, it is communal between the two lodges. Both the garden and rotary clothes line is at the back of the other lodge (and to the side of Gael Cham below the balcony) and we felt too uncomfortable to use it because it seemed to be an intrusion on the neighbours privacy. There was also no easy way to reach it from our lodge - although in theory it was shared, in reality it didn't seem that way; relatedly, if you like a lot of privacy, you may feel that the other lodge impinges on this a bit - we could see the other balcony/bedroom windows etc from our balcony, and they could likewise see us sitting on the balcony. Similarly, it would be possible for people from the neighbouring lodge to be below the balcony in the garden just a couple of feet away - not ideal if they like late night BBQs and you don't (which didn't happen to us - just an example); and finally, although it stated there was a hairdryer, I couldn't find this anywhere in the property - just the nozzle.

Having said all of this though I would recommend the lodge and we had a lovely time. I would definitely consider returning.


Guest from Glasgow stayed at Gael Cham for 3 nights in July 2014


excellent accomodation

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
very good location overlooking Caingorms, nice clean and well arranged chalet. superb service and well maintained. all necessary things in place and never felt away from home. wiil come back again

Guest from Bushey stayed at Gael Cham for 4 nights in June 2014


Secret location!

Review submitted on Wed, 21 May 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
With 2 couples and small child the lodge was spacious and cosy at the same time. It was in a housing estate but once inside the clear view to the Cairngorms gave the feeling of being on a hillside. Certain aspects of the lodge could do with renewing but I would recommend this beautiful lodge.

Guest from Glenrothes stayed at Gael Cham for 3 nights in March 2014


lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Mar 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
brilliant good location very nice and clean the only fault we found was that the double bed could do with anew mattress you kept rolling over to the middle but other than that very good will go again

Guest from stayed at Gael Cham for 3 nights in March 2014


Family break at Oct half term

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely lodge, beautifully finished and very spacious inside. Heated up very quickly and cosy throughout stay. Kitchen well equipped, with everything you would need. Ensuite and bathroom good quality and super showers. All very clean and well presented. Only fault was the mattress in the master bedroom was very soft and very dipped in the middle. I managed on it but my husband had to go to one of the spare beds! A shame because everything else was so comfortable and good quality.

Lodge is in perfect location for walking to the centre of Aviemore in around 15 mins. Super views from balcony to mountains and great skiing although a bit windy!

Set in the middle of a housing estate, so not particularly rural but very handy and close to all the amenities. If they sort the bed, we'll be back in a moment!! Only other niggle was they could do with a mirror in the main bedroom that you can reach from a power point for drying your hair!

All in all a great break in super surroundings and the property company were very attentive.

Thank you!



Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Gael Cham for 4 nights in February 2014


Gael Cham Short Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Oct 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Gael Cham for a short stay during October school holidays. Internally the cabin is excellent in every way with a very high standard of finish. We were 6 adults (3 couples) and although two couples were in twin bed rooms, the cabin did not feel at any time that it lacked space. The view across to cairngorm was fantastic and the access into Aviemore was just a 10min walk. If familiar with the Aviemore area, you will know that there is plenty to do in the immediate area making this location a perfect jumping off point. While most other places look for a minimum 1 week booking or have a nonsensical policy of specifically prohibiting non-family groups, the Gael Cham cabin and its sister cabin do not. The operators should be applauded for this laudable attitude to doing business which the rest of the Aviemore hospitality industry would do well to learn from. The only minor negative point (if pushed to give one) was the locality of the two cabins in a residential area. If you were looking for a secluded woodland country escape you would perhaps be a little disappointed with the proximity of normal family homes. However, given the value for money and the internal aesthetics of this property, this minor downside is easily compensated for. Overall a great short break accommodation choice, in our view scoring 9/10.

Guest from Linlithgow stayed at Gael Cham for 3 nights in October 2013


Gael Holiday Homes replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou for taking the time to review Gael Cham. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the cabin while visiting picturesque Aviemore and hope you will come back soon.

Stay at Gael Cham chalet, Aviemore

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Oct 2013
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Disappointed that the chalet was very cold when we arrived - even grandchildren said it was cold.
The lights in kitchen area were not working.
The shower in en-suite was pathetic.
The wall clock was not working and when we checked it discovered the battery had not been changed for ages and was corroded so we put in a new battery and it now works!
Felt that it needed a few things added - such as bins in bathrooms or bedrooms and better bedside lights in master bedroom as the current ones are not very good for reading. Bed wasn't very comfortable either. It wouldn't really cost all that much but it would make a big difference to the enjoyment of people's stay.
There was also only one door key when there should have been two.


Guest from Aberlour stayed at Gael Cham for 3 nights in October 2013


Gael Holiday Homes replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Gael Cham. We are very sorry you were disappointed with the chalet and to read of the issues you report. We have passed these on to the owners so they may review your comments and contact you directly.