FB Twitter

Woodpecker Lodge

Woodpecker Lodge

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 49 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Occupancy: 4 + 2 person

Woodpecker Lodge - Gold Award winning luxury lodge with built in sauna and hot tub available.

Ground floor king bedroom and family wet room, with shower and infrared sauna. Fully equipped kitchen including dishwasher and fridge freezer. Open plan living/dining area with wood burner, Freeview TV, DVD/CD player and board games, leading to private decking.

First floor double bedroom with en suite bathroom. First floor mezzanine with bean bags, double sofa bed and door to front balcony.

Spacious utility room with washing machine and cycle storage.

Free WiFi.

Private parking.

Perfect for couples and families alike.

Our stay

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mill meadow is excellently located for Taunton and its in a wonderful location being at the foot of the Quantock Hills.Suzanne and Chris were incredibly helpful .The hot tub was a little luxury and was very well maintained.The facilities within the lodge itself were perfect and we wanted for nothing in our 2 week stay.
Our dogs enjoyed their stay too at Woodpecker lodge too.




Woodpecker

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay excellent service excellent rooms gardens and lake excellent near to tanton and
Other interesting places




Fantastic for a romantic break

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time and will definitely be going back, staff couldn't do enough for you and the facilities were great.



February break at Woodpecker Lodge, Mill Meadow

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Feb 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Woodpecker Lodge is a perfect base for a family to enjoy a relaxing break during the Winter. When it is cold outside, the lodge is warm and well-equipped. If you are looking for quality accommodation and plenty of space for up to 6 people (and their pets) then this lodge offers everything you need to rest and feel ready to explore the amazing surroundings.



Excellent place for family!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was superb. We loved our stay at Woodpecker. Suzanne was very friendly and helpful. I highly recommended Mill Meadow if you are looking for a place to stay in Taunton. It's quiet yet very convenient. I was totally amazed by its cleanliness. My kids had a very good time at the lodge. The room, the kitchen, the shower.... can't be better with Good luck.



Excellent New Years Accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A large group of us stayed for 3 nights over New Years. Suzanne was incredibly helpful in showing us around and making us feel welcome. The lodge's equipment was of an extremely high standard and the welcome pack is an added bonus.

We only managed a short walk in the local area, but that was because we were so cosy in the lodge. We'll definitely be back!




Amazing

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had the most magical Christmas holiday in woodpecker lodge. Such a wonderful place and people. Will definitely be returning



Lovely find for a late booking

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked late and the host was very acccommodating. On arrival the lodge was warm and welcoming and had everything we needed. The weather was lovely and we used the local guide books available in the lodge to walk and ride across the region. The hot tub was a welcome reward at the end of a busy day. Suzanne was attentive but didn't crowd us, and we had a great stay. Meadow Mill is somewhere we plan to return.



Excellent accommodation in very tranquil surroundings

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and my three children stayed at Mill Meadow over a weekend and we were so thrilled with our stay. Very accommodating hosts, great accommodation and a very enjoyable and relaxing time had by us all. My daughter (6) asked if it could be our new house when we left - fantastic....



Taunton cricket festival week

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hosts we very welcoming and couldn't do enough to help us (including housekeeping unpacking shopping which arrived early). Accommodation is spacious and exceptionally clean. We used the hot tub every day as well as the BBQ as we were blessed with good weather. Only a 10 min drive for Kings school (dependant on the traffic). Book ahead for local pub/restaurants as we hadn't and all were full on the Saturday night and booked up until the Wednesday. Ample washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets were provided, tea towels etc. Initial supply of toilet paper was provided but bring more if staying for longer than a weekend - all usual for self catering. Tranquil, idyllic setting. I would have loved there to have been proper bath sheets for towels as they were quite small and only enough for one per person for the week, which if you are using the hot tub as well, would have been nice to have had extra. We would have bought our own for the hut tub if we had known, but not a big issue. These lodgings will not disappoint.



Beautiful place to stay, but felt it was hard to relax with all the rules

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I honestly can't fault the lodges in terms of their set up, quality, facilities and location, but I have mixed feelings about the processes involved with the booking. I spent the duration of my wedding at the lodges, along with 20 others - and each of us found the rules that we were presented with throughout our stay quite intrusive. I was emailed ON MY WEDDING day asking for information about the people staying in one of the lodges. We were also repeatedly checked up on by those running the lodges. Whilst I appreciate this was not how it was intended to feel, I found myself deliberately hiding from those in charge in order to avoid another conversation about how the lodges were set up, who was in charge of what, when we would be departing etc. I just wanted to enjoy my wedding weekend and not feel quite so suffocated. Having said this - the staff made the effort to provide a bottle of champagne and a 'just married' sign at our lodge. Again - a lovely touch -but perhaps one that should have been sorted prior to arrival rather than having to enter the lodges after we had arrived. To sum up my thoughts - yes, the lodges are spectacular, but I felt, at times, an invasion of privacy meant I struggled to really get the most out of them.



Wedding stay

Review submitted on Fri, 27 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Woodpecker Lodge at Mill Meadow for almost a week, as we were getting married in Taunton and wanted somewhere to base ourselves with our friends and family around us. We couldn't have picked a better place, Mill Meadows was absolutely perfect. From start to finish we were looked after, felt completely relaxed and at home and Chris and Suzanne were fantastic. Woodpecker Lodge was perfect, clean, modern with an amazing log burner, and perfect for getting ready in the morning of the wedding. It was brilliant having our friends and family around us in the surrounding lodges, which were equally as fantastic, and everyone had a fab time (the hot tubs went down a treat too!). Thanks so much, we can't wait to return!!



100% recommend

Review submitted on Thu, 19 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful stay. The attention to detail in the lodges is fantastic- wonderfully clean, child friendly, accommodating. LOVE this place
Thank you




Weekend break with friends

Review submitted on Sun, 08 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been lucky enough to have stayed at Mill Meadow on a number of occasions and this weekend break with good friends was just as wonderful. First class accommodation in beautifully furnished lodges - it's the small details that make all the difference. Ideally situated for exploring the beautiful countryside and the coast is only 30 minutes drive away. The hot tub was very welcome after a day exploring. We'll be back. Thank you once again Suzanne, Chris and Joe.



Easter break

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Apr 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Warm and friendly welcome received when we arrived, lodge was stunning and very cosy. Loved the hot tub very relaxing! We all thoroughly had an amazing break.



Mid Week Break -15-18 March 2016

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent short Spring break to UK to catch up with family and friends. Ideal location and flexibility to meet and entertain visitors and have them stay over in a more relaxed casual non hotel setting. All requests were quickly dealt with by Suzanne, without any hassle. Three days - not enough time to explore this lovely (new to us) part of the English countryside and will need to be booking again in the near future, to explore the numerous walks, rides and local attractions that are at hand, as illustrated in the lodge information pack and can be seen in the Mill Meadow Facebook photo albums. Spring was in the air and managed to get the end of the snowdrops, the bright yellow daffodils and the lambs hopping in the surrounding fields. Braved the cold to get in the Hot tub -but lying back in the bubbling hot water, with kids also plucking up courage, laughing and looking up at the stars made it well worth it! Would not hesitate to recommend.




Fantastic

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely place , we couldn't of asked for anymore .
We wanted a nice relaxing weekend away and that is exactly what we got . We will be back without question . Just perfect .




Walking weekend with friends

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely weekend, going walking locally in the Quantocks. Woodpecker Lodge was ideal, clean, comfortable, good facilities, warm and cosy. The hot tub was lovely. My only comment would be that it would have been preferable if it had one double and one twin room, rather than two doubles. This would allow more flexibility.
But thanks for a great location for a walking weekend.




New Year Break

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jan 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Woodpecker Lodge over New Year and arrived at about 3.00pm. Before we arrived I had a text while traveling down to say that the lodge was ready for us. We were greeted by Suzanne who showed us around the lodge and said to contact her if we needed anything. All these little extras go a long way Suzanne also knew all our names.The lodge was beautiful and had everything we needed in it for our stay. On arrival was a pint of milk, tea, coffee ect and home made flapjacks which were a lovely little touch. When we needed logs for the log burner we just text and they arrived. The wifi was also great as we could look up places close to us. The walks around the village although very wet were stunning and in the summer must be exceptional. Mill Meadow is set in beautiful surrounding.
If your going to stay in one of these lodges over winter and are worried they will be cold, don't be because we couldn't believe how warm they were even without the log burner going.
Looking forward to our next stay.




Wonderful Woodpecker

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time of staying at Mill Meadow & we cannot recommend it enough. All lodges are very clean & homely, you relax as soon as you arrive. We stayed over Christmas & everything you could possibly need for cooking the full dinner is provided, not only that we had a beautiful Christmas tree as well. Worth every penny spent & will definitely be coming again in the future.



Our Christmas break

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great lodge in a lovely peaceful location. Nice walks nearby.
We thoroughly relaxed during our stay, We would highly recommend Mill meadow & look forward to our next stay there.




Another stay,a different lodge.

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can we say Mill Meadow for us is great that is why we return when we are able.
Suzanne, Chris and the team are all so helpful. With everything you need for a super stay. We arrived and the lights were on and the log burner was lit and lovely and cosy. We love coming here and we keep finding great places to visit nearby.
The Swan down the road is a great little pub to eat home cooked food, definetly worth a try.
We cannot wait to return and stay. All the lodges are of the same high standard.Thanks once again for another great stay.




Perfect

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location and facilities. The kitchen is perfect with all you need for self-catering. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The homemade biscuits were most appreciated. Thank you.



A relaxing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great location with all the mod cons - very clean and everything you could need. Great staff on site and amazing home made flapjacks as a welcome treat. Would stay again.

Anna and family




Special - wedding stay

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay.
Excellent location (very peaceful)
Excellent customer service.
Great relax.
Best memories.
Warm welcome.
Woodpecker lodge is in a great condition, very clean and spacious.
Personal touches from the Mill Meadow team was a very nice overwhelming.
Would recommend it to anyone.
We will be back definitely in the future. Thank you very much Suzzane and Chris.




SUPER LODGE!

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay with Mill Meadow and it didn't disappoint. Lodge was spotless and very comfortable. Kitchen is very well equipped and there was plenty of extra crockery and glasses for entertaining extra guests.
All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful, and in particular Suzanne, who showed us around the lodge and went out of her way to find a gold necklace that I had managed to loose and as it was of sentimental value I was extremely grateful for her help.
Hopefully next time we will be able to stay for a week and the sun will shine!




Mike and Zoe Wedding weekend accommodation for family of the groom

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mill Meadow Lodges were the perfect setting for our large family party over the weekend of our son Mike's wedding to Zoe.


Suzanne and Chris went the extra mile in order to make everything as comfortable as possible. The standard of the accommodation is excellent and really comfortable and the setting just lovely with the lake and surrounding grounds. My husband Tim and I saw a kingfisher flying across the lake when we walked over to explore on our arrival!

Suzanne even came up with the perfect solution for feeding what became a rapidly expanding supper party for Mike,best men, ushers and extended family the evening before the wedding. This took the form of "The Red Tricycle Catering Company" from Taunton who provided a lovely BBQ, complete with old fashioned bicycle dispensing ice creams for pudding.

This really is the most wonderful place to stay.




Woodpecker visit

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely properties and setting. Nicely furnished and well equipped kitchens. Helpful and friendly owners.

Only improvement to be made is a more comfortable mattress!




Fabulous lodge and location

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We returned on Friday after spending a week in Woodpecker Lodge. The lodge was very clean,spacious and modern with complimentary tea,coffee,milk,apple juice,homemade biscuits and a lovely vase full of sweet peas on our arrival. The lodges are very private and ours had the added luxury of a generous sized hot tub (maintained twice daily) and a sauna. We are very keen on wildlife and had the privilege of a resident grey squirrel, loads of garden birds, 2 bees nests that incidentally were oblivious to us as they were busy doing what bees do and a family of swallows nesting in the apex.Fishing on site is excellent the lake is very well kept and well stocked and the scenery surrounding the lake which is where we walked our dog is absolutely stunning.There are loads of tourist attractions, shops and pubs in the close vicinity. Suzanne and Chris the proprietors were extremely friendly,polite and helpful and they are very eco aware and recycle wherever possible.Me,Tim and Emmy our staffie had a fabulous time here and as can be seen on Mill Meadows facebook page Emmy really didn't want to leave. We will definitely return.



Hen Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came as a group of 12 and stayed in two of these beautiful lodges between the Friday and Monday. We couldn't of asked for a better stay, we arrived to an immaculate lodge and a tub of freshly baked cookies and anything we needed over the weekend was not too much trouble for Suzanne. The surrounding area is lovely with all amenities within a close walk or drive. I would highly recommend Mill Meadow as the lodges are fantastic and the customer service provided from initial enquiry to the day we left was brilliant. Thank you for making my best friends hen weekend one to remember.



An awesome relaxed hen weekend!

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful weekend at Woodpecker. Very relaxed environment, with great facilities and can comfortably sleep 6 adults. The area is just lovely and the local pub, the Swan, is great (for veggies too!) with v generous portions! Guidebooks for local walks, and maps, are supplied at the lodge, and we also had some handy tips from the friendly chaps who run the place. Taunton train station is literally 10 mins drive away.

Some constructive feedback would be to state on the webpage that the hot tub - although totally fab! - is supposed to fit no more than 3 people in at a time. We also ran out of loo roll!

I couldn't recommend this highly enough! I was googling a lot of similar places and the prices seem very competitive as well. Thanks Mill Meadow!




An awesome relaxed hen weekend!

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful weekend at Woodpecker. Very relaxed environment, with great facilities and can comfortably sleep 6 adults. The area is just lovely and the local pub, the Swan, is great (for veggies too!) with v generous portions! Guidebooks for local walks, and maps, are supplied at the lodge, and we also had some handy tips from the friendly chaps who run the place. Taunton train station is literally 10 mins drive away.

Some constructive feedback would be to state on the webpage that the hot tub - although totally fab! - is supposed to fit no more than 3 people in at a time. We also ran out of loo roll!

I couldn't recommend this highly enough! I was googling a lot of similar places and the prices seem very competitive as well. Thanks Mill Meadow!




Easter visit

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was very clean and comfortable, we have stayed there on a few occasions and it never disappoints. In addition the weather was great for walking in the area, will be back.



Thrilled that we stayed

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Mill Meadow as we had a wedding in the area on the Saturday. Woodpecker Lodge was pristine. Lovely location and peaceful. Worked well with having 2 young children and very accommodating with providing children's beds. Very well run by the owners, Suzanne and Chris. Definitely go back. Wish we'd stayed longer than a weekend.



John and Michelle

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Mar 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Woodpecker for two weeks while cleaning up our new house. I was sorry to leave at the end, it is warm, comfortable and has great showers.

John and Michelle from Park End




Recent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Returned for another trip and as previous visits Woodpecker was very good, with the cold weather my daughter loved the woodburner, definitely will be back.



Excellent Getaway Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jan 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really clean spacious & well equipped Cottage. Very quiet. Very helpful owners. Highly recommended.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return again. Great alternative to hotels for events in Taunton.




Uni girls catch up

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Dec 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a party of 5 girls and Woodpecker lodge provided the perfect chill out place for us to all catch up and remenisce over the last 10 years.

Looking up at the stars from the hot tub was most definitely THE highlight of the weekend. In fact it was so good we hope to stay again for New Year!




a great stay

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here as part of our wedding celebrations and found the accommodation was a very high standard and extremely well equipped. The owners and staff are excellent and very helpful. There were also some lovely personal touches for when we arrived back from our big day. I can not recommend Mill Meadow highly enough.



Woodpecker lodge, mill meadow

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great week, woodpecker lodge was fantastic, the welcome we had from Suzanne was lovely, the home made cookies were a personal touch.
Will be going back soon




Short break

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very relaxing short break to recharge our batteries. Beautiful lodge (immaculate and finished to the highest standard), fully equipped with everything you could think of (even a set of kitchen scales which came in useful after blackberry picking one afternoon - and the result - a blackberry and apple crumble!). We took advantage of the hot tub - and in the chillier September evenings we lit the log burner in the lodge - very cosy. The welcome pack was very comprehensive, full of useful local information - walks, amenities, instructions. The area has so much to offer for all ages and nothing is too much trouble for the owners. Can't wait to return - in fact we have booked again for next May - bringing the family with us!



A very good place de stay for relax and visit Somerset

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Aug 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mill Meadow is a peaceful place. We are french and we enjoy this part of England. We had a good stay and will come back next time to have an another cabin. Thanks Suzanne.



Amazing...

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 3 nights here with our 1 year old and 3 year old children. We had an absolutely amazing time. The house was immaculately clean, almost like new. The design of the house was so lovely, nice and cosy. The stair gates were a great bonus esp for our two little ones...we didn't have to be worrying about them upstairs. We would defo recommend this for a holiday, we wish we had stayed for a week at least. Nice area and so many things to do. We went to the Fleet Air Arm Museum and went on the steam train trip to Dunster...fabulous walks around the castle. Really picturesque!!
We would highly recommend this place to stay.
The only thing we didn't like was the house got very warm at night. Our daughter has eczema and it flairs up when she gets very hot.




Lovely bank holiday stay

Review submitted on Thu, 29 May 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely lodge, very comfortable, lots of space, excellent facilities in the kitchens and bathrooms. Very warm welcome from the owners on the first day with tea, milk etc provided and the kettle boiling and homemade biscuits! LovelyOnly complaint would be that the blinds don't really keep out the morning sunlight.



Car free holiday with a car

Review submitted on Wed, 28 May 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is a really nice place to stay with all modern comforts. The staff is very friendly. It is even a relatively sustainable form of holiday (with recycling etc.). But in the end, it is better if you have a car. You cannot transport much on the bicycles (which can be rented), the bicycles were not actually in a shape that invites longer tours, and the next supermarket is too far to walk (and downhill).

Despite all efforts, if you really want to make the world a better place, you should not stay at the Woodpecker Lodge. If you are happy with a slightly more environmentally friendly (but still environmentally damaging) alternative to the more environmentally damaging normal type of holiday home, then get in your car and enjoy a lovely stay at the Woodpecker Lodge.




Highly recommended, a wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 20 May 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful lodges with excellent facilities. Made to feel completely at home with everything you would ever need and a few extra treats. Mill Meadow couldn’t do enough for us and were on call for all our needs and made us feel incredibly at home.
We stayed here for our wedding and it really was the perfect end to a perfect weekend. Thinking of coming back for our one year anniversary!
Truly lovely place to stay, enjoyed every second.




Stay at Woodpecker Lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 15 May 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My daughter and I can only say our stay at the lodge was excellent, very clean and the staff were friendly, lovely location, sitting round the pond in the sunshine was very relaxing. Would most definately not hesitate to return.



Exellent stay

Review submitted on Wed, 14 May 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Mill Meadow's Woodpecker Lodge was outstanding in everyway. We could not have asked for more. Quality and attention to detail was brilliant and the level of service was appropriate to ensure that we had information where needed but left to our own devices to enjoy our time.

The holiday was above our normal budget but we could not fault it and it was definitely worth the extra we spent.




Weekend Break

Review submitted on Tue, 13 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Woodpecker Lodge for a long weekend in March (our yearly girls get-together). We were greeted upon our arrival and made to feel very welcome. The lodge was very tastefully furnished whilst being extremely comfortable. It was immaculately clean and the beds were beautifully made up. We did a couple of walks in the lovely countryside (lots of information available in the lodge on eateries and places to visit in the area) and spent two lovely evenings sat in the hot tubs under the stars! Would highly recommend a visit to Mill Meadow - the attention to the little details makes for an extra special stay. Can't wait to return.