FB Twitter

Swallows Barn

Swallows Barn

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


Occupancy: 4 + 2 person

Swallows Barn - luxury, timber clad, semi-detached cottage.

Spacious ground floor lounge/kitchen/dining area with double sofa bed, Freeview TV, DVD/CD player and boards games. Fully equipped kitchen with fridge, freezer, dishwasher and washing machine. Entrance lobby with WC. Air source heat pump heating and cooling system.

First floor master bedroom with king bed, en suite bathroom and spectacular lake views. Second king bedroom with en suite shower room.

Garden area with seating. Designated parking bays.

Free WiFi.

Fabulous!

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had such a great time staying at Swallows Barn. Really loved the location and the cottage was perfect for us.



Time at Mill Meadows Swallows Barn

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I really enjoyed my stay, it was nice and quiet which was what I needed, and the staff were very helpful.



Lovely place

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay.
Helen was really helpful.
Lovely touch a bottle of champagne in the fridge
Hot tub was great




From tears to happy memories

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I lost my husband in July, we had previously had holidays at Mill Meadow. On my return I felt a calm peace and began to remember all the happy times. Everything at Swallows Barn was perfect and helped sort the upsets.
Thank Tou




Not a boot camp after all - a lovely cottage and location

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Sep 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The omens were not good. After making the booking we were told we must give not only the names of all staying in the house but also any visitors during our weekend. The "Welcome" e-mail was not so much welcoming as a list of rules and regulations - it outlined "fines" which would be inflicted for make-up on towels/sheets (£25 minimum), not sorting rubbish in accordance with their recycling rules and other regulations such as "no shoes upstairs". No access on arrival until 4pm! It all sounded as though we were going to be staying in a boot camp rather than having a relaxing, enjoyable few days - especially irritating as the rent was not cheap and extras such as hot tubs, taking a dog and use of a barbecue attracted additional charges.

We have stayed in many self-catering places in the past and perfectly understand the need for owners to protect their properties with some rules but the Mill Meadow approach - including the rather unhelpfully late check-in time - does tend to seem a bit OCD.

Fortunately, when we actually spent the weekend there, the cottage was excellent; clean, comfortable, spacious and well supplied with everything we needed. There was a plentiful supply of local information including maps and books of walks as well as efficient Wifi access. The surrounding garden/lake area was lovely and there was a useful sitting area outside.




Excellent - Extra special touches

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very friendly welcome on arrival. With freshly made flapjacks, delicious Somerset apple juice and milk in the lodge for us to enjoy. A beautifully well maintained, clean and light lodge amongst thoughtfully arranged mature landscaping. We fished the small but pretty lake and caught between 5lb and 8lb fish. Location was good and not far for us to get to the Cricket Festival at Kings College in Taunton every day. The lodge was well equipped with everything we might need to cook in the kitchen, games for the children to play (Uno was especially popular), hair driers, ironing board and books on local attractions and walks. We valued the information file and went to the local pub and some of the restaurants listed in there. We valued the extra touches which made our stay even more enjoyable. Excellent in all areas!



Great place!

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous accomodation and beautiful spot. Chris and Suzanne are fabulous hosts and always ensure your atay is the best it can be! Will definitely return again!



Really enjoyed our short break

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our short break we stayed for the weekend for a friends party. The lodge was great exactly what we needed but wish it had a hot tub. We had baby twins and Mill Meadows was able to supply 2 cots and 2 high chairs. We really want to return.



upfront reviews

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect. very tranquil, lovely special touches in the welcoming pack & equipped to a high standard. Great bird watching, walks etc. Hestercombe gardens nearby well worth a visit.



Holiday stay in the Quantocks

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable two bedroom house situated in beautiful area and great as a walking centre. Also not far from the coast and several National Trust properties. Driving takes a little time as all the surrounding roads are narrow with blind bends.
The development has an eco theme and takes recycling very seriously - we were very happy to oblige as we have the same view at home. There are some great pubs around and about as well.




Excellent in every respect.....

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jan 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very comfortable and relaxing place to stay. We used three lodges and had a brilliant Christmas celebration. Well equipped with the luxury of hot tubs, the attention to detail was first class.



Another great stay.

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here with family for two nights. It was a very pleasant stay excellent accomadation. The beds were extremely comfortable and we enjoyed the shower in our room. The kitchen was very well equipped and the dining and living spaces had ample room. Parking right outside. Lovely area for sitting outside when the weather is good.Also was able to bring our well behaved dog.



November break

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Swallows Barn, the owners were very helpful .
Swallows Barn was really clean, comfortable and warm.
Mill Meadow looked beautiful this time of year with all the Autumn Colour.




I stayed at swallows barn between house moves, the location and amenities were fabulous

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A most comfortable stay at swallows barn helped by the friendliness of Suzanne and the staff, an excellent location very well equipped truely a home from home, highly recommended



Location not good as to much travelling to see sights.

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Nov 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay but nothing around apart from travelling around 45 mins. To an hour to visit places, apart from the steam train which was 20 mins travelling.



OUR GRANDDAUGHTERS WEDDING

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
vIRTUALLY ALL OF OUR FAMILY AND SOME FRIENDS STAYED AT MILL MEADOW FOR 3 DAYS FOR THE OCCASION ,TAKING ALL OF THE ACCOMODATION, SUCH A PLEASANT COMFORTABLE AND SAFE PLACE. THE CHILDREN LOVED IT..
ALL OF THE LODGES WERE OF FANTASTIC QUALITY.
THE HOT TUBS WERE IN CONSTANT USE BY THE YOUNGER FOLK.
WE WERE ABLE TO CONGREGATE AT ANY OF THE LODGES EATING AND DRINKING AS A FAMILY WONDERFULL
THE STAFF HELPED TO MAKE THE STAY VERY SPECIAL.
IM SURE MOST OF THE FAMILY WILL BE VISITING AGAIN
THANK YOU MILL MEADOW
.




Fabulous

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mill Meadows is a wonderful place to holiday. Great location especially for those involved in West Cricket Festival, clean, modern and perfect in every way!



Fabulous

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mill Meadows is a wonderful place to holiday. Great location especially for those involved in West Cricket Festival, clean, modern and perfect in every way!



Swallows Barn

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just had our third visit to Meadow Mill which speaks for itself.
You will want for nothing.
It's a magical place and if you are looking for that corner of Heaven look no further.




Swallows Barn July 15

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jul 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation and location for the Taunton Cricket Festival. One slight criticism was the uncomfortable beds but appreciating that can be a personal opinion it was good overall and would use again.



A happy haven for a family wedding..

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jun 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent a very happy three days for a family wedding. Swallows Barn was comfortable, clean and peaceful. The welcome pack of tea, biscuits and coffee was very much appreciated.



A little piece of paradise and tranquility

Review submitted on Fri, 23 May 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would certainly recommend Mill Meadow to anyone. Great place. Suzanne and the staff really went out of their way to help us out during a very difficult time for us. Beautiful place and perfect for a relaxing getaway or family and friends get together. Everything there for a great stay and a fantastic location.



Super Weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 19 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous weekend. Couldn't have asked for more. Cottage beautiful, everything you required was available. Lovely walk round the pond. Spent time at the beach. The dog had a whale of a time. We all enjoyed watching.



Highly Recommended

Review submitted on Tue, 13 May 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Swallows Barn is one of a small complex of holiday lodges situated in beautiful landscaped grounds. The lodge itself was well presented and probably the cleanest our family has come across in 30 years of renting holiday accommodation. The owners obviously care about their properties and couldn't have been more helpful with anything we needed. Taunton is a great centre for visiting Cheddar Gorge and Caves, Glastonbury and Wells, the Jurassic Coast, North Devon Coast etc. etc.
A week wasn't nearly long enough................