FB Twitter

Kingfisher Lodge

Kingfisher Lodge

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 34 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
5.0


Occupancy: 4 + 2 person

Kingfisher Lodge - Gold Award winning luxury lodge with hot tub available.

Ground floor king bedroom and family wet room, with shower and bath. Fully equipped kitchen including dishwasher and fridge freezer. Open plan living/dining area with wood burner, Freeview TV, DVD/CD player and board games, leading to private decking.

First floor double bedroom with en suite bathroom. First floor mezzanine with bean bags, double sofa bed and door to front balcony.

Spacious utility room with washing and drying facilities, and cycle storage.

Free WiFi.

Private parking.

The perfect getaway.

Excellent Cozy Winter Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We could not have asked for a better place to stay for 4 nights during a cold, crisp, frosty January. As soon as we walked in we were struck by its warmth and cosiness - the underfloor heating was a complete treat for us. The lodge is spacious and uncluttered but still retains a snug atmosphere. The decor is simple and stylish and the large modern bathrooms are immaculate. The kitchen is fully stocked with good quality equipment and the upstairs den area provides a great space to relax. With temperatures below freezing, I didn't think we would be rushing to use the outdoor hot tub. But we were soon risking a short chilly dash across the 3m which separates the hot tub from the front door, to immerse ourselves in the hot bubbling water. Another huge treat.
Mill Meadow is brilliantly run by Chris & Suzanne, who answered every enquiry immediately, both before and during our stay.
Overall, I highly recommend a stay at any of the fabulous Mill Meadow lodges, with a particular recommendation for Kingfisher Lodge.




Much needed break

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mill Medow is wonderful , this is the secound time I have been here and it certainly won't be the last . Fabulous hosts and surroundings .



Fantastic Christmas

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jan 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came over for Christmas with my family and brought my French partners 2 children for their first UK Christmas! They were in heaven! They enjoyed the area and being so close to all amenities we never felt isolated with a young family..they loved the chalet style and couldn't keep them out of the Hot Tub! Very warm inviting comfortable house!! We even had a Christmas tree all decorated on arrival..lovely touch!!
As a large family of 4 with dogs as well it was a perfect spot to enjoy all the local countryside and great walks.
Our host Suzanne and Chris were just fantastic and always available if needed for any support or advice!
Thank you for making our Christmas one we all won't forget!!




Wonderful stay at Kingfisher

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have returned from a wonderful stay at the Kingfisher lodge. From the moment we arrived, we were looked after by Chris and Suzanne, who are great hosts and take great care to ensure your stay is as enjoyable as can be. The hot tub was the star of the show and is a wonderful place to relax after a hard day watching junior cricket!

We cannot wait to return next year!




superb accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 11 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a family of 4 and had a lovely, peaceful long weekend in the Kingfisher lodge. It felt so comfortable that even the kids were planning on moving in! Lodge very well kept and had everything you needed.



Douglas and Merryn Smith's Golden Wedding Anniversary

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our four children could not have arranged a better celebration for us than the long weekend we and our our extended family of 15 plus 2 dogs, enjoyed at the Mill Meadow from 1st to 4th April this year, 2016. They selected this locality as we were married in St Mary's church in Kingston St Mary in 1966 when Merryn's parents lived at Timbercombe House, 4 miles away up on the edge of the Quantocks.

Sue was was very good at settling us and our dog, Jess, into "Kingfisher" and, later, we were delighted to receive celebratery chocolates and flower from Sue and Chris- such a kind action.

We wish the Mill Meadow all good fortune

Doug and Merryn Smith .




Beautiful lodge in great location

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for 5 nights whilst visiting family.
The lodge itself is immaculate and extremely well equipped.
Surrounded by beautiful countryside ,it is dog friendly and a wonderful place to relax and enjoy nature.
Suzanne, the lodge owner/ housekeeper is very friendly and helpful.
We didn't use the hot tub, but I imagine it is great, we will hopefully be back and take advantage of it.
Would thoroughly recommend.




Wonderfull Retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mill Meadows is easily accessible from the M5 yet you feel like you are a million miles from the outside world, it’s the perfect get-away. The lodges are nothing short of amazing; clean, modern and luxurious.

My only minor gripe would be that check-in isn’t a bit earlier, perhaps 3pm. That said, we will definitely be returning!




Christmas break

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jan 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A group of us booked 3 lodges for the Christmas period. They were lovely and it was a great way to spend the festive period. The kitchens were all well stocked with utilities. Would recommend.



Our Stay in the Kingfisher Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Kingfisher Lodge was in excellent condition, with everything as advertised and in full working condition. We were greeted and given a full run down of how everything worked, which was very useful.

We really enjoyed our stay there. The surroundings are amazing, and the little pub in the village is well worth a visit.

I would definately recommend staying at Mill Meadow, and i am sure we will return at some point in the future.




Mill Meadows Lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was just what we were looking for!! Most relaxing weekend we have had.. Took my wife to be away for her birthday weekend ( 30th ). They left us a lovely birthday card, home made cup cakes and bottle of bubbly!! customer service and friendly people that made us feel really welcome.. Looking forward to our next visit....



Luxurious and relaxing

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely relaxing time. Hot tub was fab. Jean who greeted us and showed us round was great. Definitely be visiting again. A modern luxurious cabin the best we have stayed in.



We had a fantastic stay for a honeymoon and hopefully would love to return for our anniversary

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Jean was fantastic and very helpful, she even left a bottle of prosecco on the table the next morning, very lovely, personal touch. The kitchen was perfect and contained everything we needed. Jo was very efficient when we ran out of wood for the log burner. The bed was comfortable with lovely cosy duvet and pillows.
The hot tub added a brilliant touch. Can't speak highly enough of this property




Paradise lodge in Taunton

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We cant express enough how satisfied we are with MillMeadow. Set in a beautiful location by the private lake, stunning views and very quiet. The lodges are of high quality and fitted out to a high standard. The staff are amazing and very friendly. This is a place we plan on coming back to many times.



Kingfisher lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 5 nights at the beginning of October. Had a warm welcome and were shown around the lodge which was very impressive. The kitchen was fully equipped and we did not want for anything.
The wet room was fantastic, the bed was comfortable and we had a great stay. We will def' return and have already recommended it to a number of friends.




Hen Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came as a group of 12 and stayed in two of these beautiful lodges between the Friday and Monday. We couldn't of asked for a better stay, we arrived to an immaculate lodge and a tub of freshly baked cookies and anything we needed over the weekend was not too much trouble for Suzanne. The surrounding area is lovely with all amenities within a close walk or drive. I would highly recommend Mill Meadow as the lodges are fantastic and the customer service provided from initial enquiry to the day we left was brilliant. Thank you for making my best friends hen weekend one to remember.



Wedding stay

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Mill Meadow for my wedding with the family. Could not fault it at all! We had 3 lodges in total. We were made very welcome with some goodies in the fridge. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious and the setting and surroundings were beautiful.
A wonderful relaxing place to get ready for my wedding day-many thanks!




5 nights at Kingfisher

Review submitted on Tue, 19 May 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great property. Hot Tub was an added bonus. Difficult to get into the hot tub, the steps seemed to be at the wrong side, so you were stepping into a deep place, the staggered steps were at the other side of the hot tub. Definately a lack of "hooks" to hang things on, especially in the bathroom on the ground floor. No where to hang your dressing gown or towel.



Lovely peaceful location

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was a very nice place to stay - very quiet, peaceful and private.

Nicely furnished.

The only downside was that sound travelled very easily between the ground floor and upstairs bedroom. It would be very difficult for anyone to sleep on the mezzanine whilst anyone else was up, either in the evening or in the morning.

I couldn't find any scales which would have been useful, failing that a standard size tablespoon would have helped in calculating weights of ingredients. A hand whisk, rather than the tiny drinks whisk, would also be useful.

Other than that, plenty of crockery, pots and pans.




Great moments

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Kingston was wonderful in Kingfisher Lodge.
We are french, we came for the second time and we might come for a third time!

It was great, thank you again.

Pierre




Valentine's Weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked a 2 night stay at Kingfisher Lodge with our dog Spike for valentines weekend. Very friendly greeting from Suzanne & a lovely surprise of cupcakes, flowers & champagne!

Beautiful lodge, lots of space and one of the most well equipped kitchens ever. We had such a lovely Valentine's Day, a windy dog walk on the fossil beach at Doniford Bay followed by lunch with Spike at Blagdon Inn which has to be the best sea bass I've had & they were so welcoming to us bringing Spike. We then had a couples hot stone massage at our lodge courtesy of Beautyworx a local Taunton business, highly recommended, followed by a dip in the hot tub. It really was a perfect day.

The only areas for improvement would be some secure fencing to create an enclosed garden area for dogs & kids to play in, this would also provide more privacy in the hot tub. Also, it would be nice if we were able to leave our dog in the lodge at times when it really is impossible to take your dog, maybe providing dog crates would be useful or a stair gate to fit between the kitchen & dining area as this would also help keep dogs off the furniture during the night which we found a challenge, we improvised by moving the chairs to block access to the sofa lol!

Overall it was an amazing stay & would definitely return but maybe without our dog and bring our son instead, bringing both wouldn't be fair on our son as we would have to do dog friendly activities only which are limited.

Many thanks Mill Meadow!




Wonderful cosy cottage at excellent price

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great value for such a lovely comfortable and clean cabin.
Hot tub definitely worth the small extra charge!!
Love the log burner after taking the dogs for a nice log walk in the Quantocks in winter months.such a great thing to come home to.
Kitchen so well equipped and Suzanne so friendly and helpful and not at all intrusive.
Will definitely be back!




Fantastic accommodation with everything you need

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Mill meadow to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary with our 4 children aged 6weeks -10years. The lodge was equity with everything you need, it was clean and beautifully presented. There was a basket of logs, kindling and newspaper for the log burner aswell. Customer service from Suzanne was 5/5 and the hine made cookies were lovely. I have been telling everyone about Mill Meadow!



Fantastic accommodation with everything you need

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Mill meadow to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary with our 4 children aged 6weeks -10years. The lodge was equity with everything you need, it was clean and beautifully presented. There was a basket of logs, kindling and newspaper for the log burner aswell. Customer service from Suzanne was 5/5 and the hine made cookies were lovely. I have been telling everyone about Mill Meadow!



Idulic place for rest

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in Kingfisher Lodge was wonderful! Idyllic Lodge in idyllic locations.
The accommodation is perfect for family. Suzanne and Chris make you very welcome and the accommodation is spotlessly clean with everything you need. Hot tub, fishing, cycling, beautiful walks ...
Thank you!




A Peaceful Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Relaxing holiday in peaceful location in which to explore Somerset. Experienced lake fishing for the first time and can't wait to go back. Thank you Mill Meadow team.



A Peaceful Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Relaxing holiday in peaceful location in which to explore Somerset. Experienced lake fishing for the first time and can't wait to go back. Thank you Mill Meadow team.



A Peaceful Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Relaxing holiday in peaceful location in which to explore Somerset. Experienced lake fishing for the first time and can't wait to go back. Thank you Mill Meadow team.



A Peaceful Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Relaxing holiday in peaceful location in which to explore Somerset. Experienced lake fishing for the first time and can't wait to go back. Thank you Mill Meadow team.



a very peaceful stay

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at mill meadow and were very impressed with the standard of cleanliness throughout. Wonderful to arrive to fresh milk and home made biscuits after a long car journey. We felt very relaxed as soon as we arrived. The location is excellent for visiting attractions in the area. Hot tub was a real treat after long days sightseeing. Furniture and fittings of a high standard so made us very comfortable and at home.



Perfect Break

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 4th time returning to the wonderful Mill Meadow. Can't recommend highly enough for relaxing, high quality stay or as a starting place for exploring The Quantocks.



Couldn't recommend it more

Review submitted on Thu, 29 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a geat stay, chilling out surrounded by beautiful greenery and lots of little birds.

The lodge was spacious, well-equipped and comfortable and the staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. They were also flexible and responsive. Worth asking if you want a later check-out.

Suzanne and Chris are very much hosts rather than businesspeople, as exemplified by the fresh flowers, home-made biscuits and local apple juice waiting for us in the lodge.





Highly reccommended, a wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 20 May 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful lodges with excellent facilities. Made to feel completely at home with everything you would ever need and a few extra treats. Mill Meadow couldn’t do enough for us and were on call for all our needs and made us feel incredibly at home.
We stayed here for our wedding and it really was the perfect end to a perfect weekend. Thinking of coming back for our one year anniversary!
Truly lovely place to stay, enjoyed every second.




Review of Kingfisher Lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 15 May 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location for access to Taunton, picking up someone from station!
Good location within Somerset and easy road routes to get around yet still a nice rural location.
Plenty of good walks from door with well maintained footpaths, plenty of local information guides available in lodge.
Hot tub was excellent having it maintained for you just made it even better!!!