FB Twitter

Fletchers Combe Farmhouse

Fletchers Combe Farmhouse

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.4
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Beautiful Victorian Farmhouse in a secluded valley in the heart of the stunning South Hams, Devon. A great property for family holidays and getting away with those friends you haven't spent enough time with recently! The farmhouse has it's own gardens as well as 70 acres of farmland to explore and a well equipped games room. Space for the kids and relaxation for the adults.

Little gem

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely everything was perfect from start to finish, even the rain couldn't spoil our stay, we only wish we had booked for longer and would definitely go back again.

Alison from Basingstoke stayed at Fletchers Combe Farmhouse for 3 nights in March 2017


Wonderful week at Fletchers

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the farmhouse with our 3 children 11,9 and 6. Had a brilliant time! House had everything we needed and lots of home comforts. Lovely rooms- great website still doesn't do it justice. Di and her husband were professional, friendly and helpful in sorting out a heating issue in the first day. Boys loved boating on pond,games room and bikes. Dog loved beautiful walks on the doorstep. Spotted deer in adjacent field. It is remote and the final track a bit hairy but that added to the charm. Local area packed with low cost things to do. All of us very sad to leave and already looking at we can return.

Rachael from Sedlescombe stayed at Fletchers Combe Farmhouse for 7 nights in October 2016


A perfect retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect house and grounds and location. It was very tempting to spend the whole holiday just at the house - lovely garden, terrace, pond etc. and great walks straight from the property. Every single room is lovely. Our (clean and (mostly) well-behaved) dogs were very welcome and the enclosed front garden meant we could relax. Well equipped; clean; warm. Welcome cake most appreciated!! We didn't leave ourselves enough time to make use of the excellent games room - thankfully we had great weather, so spent our waking hours outdoors.

Guest from Swanland stayed at Fletchers Combe Farmhouse for 7 nights in September 2016


An amazing get-away

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really loved our week away at Fletchers Combe and were really impressed with the level of detail regarding our comfort. Loved the carrot cake, the soap dispensers, the roll top bath, the boat on the pond (my nearly 10 year old particularly loved this!) the luxurious sofas and the mattresses on the beds were cloud like! We all slept so well! Di and her husband were very responsive to our questions and queries and lovely people to boot. The garden was amazing and beautifully kept with fruit trees, grasses, pond plants and much more. It was eden, and we felt we'd really got away from it all.

We felt very cut off in terms of communication - our phones did not pick up any signal - even if we walked to the gate or further up the road. Not our host's fault at all - more down to BT mobile! However, our eldest son has a life threatening allergy and we have a very over active 7 year old. We weren't too sure how we would deal with an emergency if one arose and this made us slightly anxious. It would be great to have phone in the house for this purpose. Maybe with an honesty box to cover costs or a pay phone? Not sure what would work best but this would have reassured us a little.

The reason I have given a 'ok' for location was because we hadn't quite appreciated how precarious/limiting the route to the cottage would be. Walking on the road, especially if a car came round the corner, was very risky. There was no room to get out of the way if needs be. For this reason, we chose not to cycle with the children from the house. Also, due to young bulls in the fields around us, we weren't able to walk cross country. On speaking to a farmer (we think) with a dog one morning he kindly explained that there was a lively bull he was trying to herd through with no success. He suggested that we were particularly careful with the children. So again, we decided not to take the risk.

My husband also had an unfortunate encounter on the final day, when a local family (we know this as they asked if my husband was local and when he said no, they said they were and asked him to move) demanded that he backed over half a mile uphill and around corners when they had just passed a passing place further down the lane. Despite asking them if they would mind backing a short distance down hill to the nearby passing place, they refused. I would imagine that being local they are relative experts at backing up down the lane whereas my husband certainly isn't! Very stressful and sadly this coloured how we felt about the accessibility of Fletchers Combe.


Zoe from Abingdon stayed at Fletchers Combe Farmhouse for 7 nights in August 2016


The perfect holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really can't praise Fletchers Combe enough. Felt at home as soon as we arrived. It's a beautiful farmhouse, decorated authentically, and decorated as a home rather than a holiday home. Farmhouse kitchen, luxurious showers, roll top bath, and four poster beds made us feel instantly relaxed. All helped of course by the amazing location. Surrounded by beautiful gardens, and countryside, both my family, and my dogs, loved trying out the walks recommend by the owners.
Really think we've found our perfect holiday getaway!


Keith from Bishops Stortford stayed at Fletchers Combe Farmhouse for 7 nights in July 2016


Amazing!!!

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing stay at Flethers Combe Farmhouse, we were wow'd from the moment we pulled into the driveway.....the house is beautiful as are the grounds. It was very clean, spacious, and full of character. Outside was great for the two toddlers and dog, completely secluded and safe for them to run around. Fletchers Combe was just perfect & we are already looking to book up again - we couldnt have asked for anything more, we loved it! :-)

Michelle from Southampton stayed at Fletchers Combe Farmhouse for 3 nights in July 2016


Family Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arrival we all had the WOW! Factor. A lovely big farmhouse with lots of character, furnished very well to suit the character of the house. Loved the "His Masters Voice gramophone" with Nipper the dog, would have been great to have played some old records on it.

We loved the log burners too, the smell of woodsmoke really added to the authenticity of the place.
Well equipped kitchen with everything we needed, the carrot cake was to die for thank you, with a lovely big table with loads of space for us all (7 adults) to sit round.

Plenty of books, DVDs, games if you need them,satellite television in both kitchen and lounge.
We had a baby and a dog with us, both were catered for very well with a travel cot supplied (on request) for baby and doggy bits and bobs for the dog. Also had a secure garden for the dog.

We also used the games room which was great, hadn't played ping pong or bar football for years.

The only down side was the access, very narrow country lanes.
That aside, we all throughly enjoyed our stay at Fletchers Combe Farmhouse.

Thank you



John from Bourne stayed at Fletchers Combe Farmhouse for 7 nights in July 2016


idyllic

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location, once you have found it! Really hidden away, a gem. Very well thought out as to what families may need inc good quality bats, balls, games room etc. Incredible amount of bird life. Beauty all around. A Jane Austen type home. (mind your head on the low doorways) You can do walks from the house and there is plenty to do in Devon anyway. Idyllic is the word!

Guest from Birmingham stayed at Fletchers Combe Farmhouse for 7 nights in May 2016


Dutch friends' Visit

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our friends were delighted with the location and style of accommodation. As a party of i6 we were especially pleased with the two areas where we could eat together. The rooms were individually very comfortable and we found everything we needed. Could not ask for better from such a place, and our friends really enjoyed the ambiance and surrounding countryside. We also were very grateful to the housekeeper who could not have been more helpful.

Colin from Reading stayed at Fletchers Combe Farmhouse for 3 nights in May 2016


Truly amazing

Review submitted on Wed, 18 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow, what a amazing stay, can not fault the place, the location and such lovely friendly people.
The house was so nice and clean inside and outside with the garden and picturesque views.
Both Di and Simon are lovely people who are so helpful, I just can not big up this place enough.
I would highly recommend this to anyone if you want a brilliant time away with lots of local attractions so near aswell.
Will be back with family and cant wait to re visit


Dean from Edenbridge stayed at Fletchers Combe Farmhouse for 4 nights in May 2016


The best experience of a holiday in Devon, Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This amazing farmhouse was set in beautiful surroundings with excellent facilities, the perfect family holiday and the dog-friendly approach was very welcome, with goodies supplied for both the 2-legged and 4-legged inhabitants.



Theresa from West Drayton stayed at Fletchers Combe Farmhouse for 7 nights in April 2016


An enduring rural idyll

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was a rare opportunity to get all the family together and it could not have been a more stunning venue, inside and out, from the roaring fire to the roll-top bath, the sumptuous beds, the big kitchen table, the wonderful garden teeming with wildlife and the myriad of beautiful walks without having to go near your car... what's not to like? The manager, the lovely Di, was so accommodating and welcoming to us and our dogs and it immediately felt like home... albeit it far nicer!

Kate from stayed at Fletchers Combe Farmhouse for 2 nights in March 2016


Weekend Family Time

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Feb 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent the weekend in the luxurious barn - superb accommodation set in beautiful country side. Everything you want and need is there really is home from home comforts. Only problem we had is our 16 year old daughter wanted to stay and live there!!

Debby from Hartlebury stayed at Fletchers Combe Farmhouse for 2 nights in February 2016


New Years in Devon

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jan 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Farmhouse at Fletcher's Combe was lovely and homely, very cosy and welcoming and winter is a great time to stay to utilise the two log burners and the aga.

The location was good for exploring Devon, Totnes not far at all by car and the surrounding countryside was beautiful and great for walks with the dogs. It could be a bit tricky to find - We managed OK with our sat nav and the directions provided on the website however the Tesco delivery man got hopelessly lost and was 2 hours late, even the local Indian restaurant which is recommended in the guest book to deliver there had to call us for directions when he got near. The mobile reception is very poor as well and there is no landline in the house which doesn't help.

The games room was better than expected and the beds comfortable.

Di was really helpful in providing information prior to our stay she is really friendly and gets back to you super quickly. Another plus is how accommodating she is about dogs staying, even providing a nice welcome pack for them too! We also had a really lovely Christmas surprise of sweets, biscuits and pannatone waiting for us humans on arrival - Thanks Di!

The only negative comments surround the kitchen equipment - A lot of appliances weren't in the best of condition and could do with replacing. It was also a bit disappointing to find that many of the utensils, pots, pans and crockery needed a really good scrub before they could be used.

Apart from that we had a lovely stay and made the most of the facilities and cosy comfortable environment!


Guest from Hemingford Grey stayed at Fletchers Combe Farmhouse for 7 nights in December 2015


Di Wilkins replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Miranda. Thank you so much for submitting a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay (and the Christmas treats!) and thanks for the lovely comments on the house. I'm really sorry you experienced problems with some of the small appliances and had some issues with cleanliness of utensils. I will ensure that everything is thoroughly checked and replacements made as necessary. We are actually closed for the first two weeks of February for a new Howdens Kitchen to be fitted and I was planning on replacing a lot of kitchen equipment then. I do hope you'll return to see the transformation! We are aware that the kitchen in the Farmhouse has not been up to scratch so I have made it a priority for the coming season. Many thanks again for coming to Fletchers. Kindest regards, Di.

Beautiful house

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Dec 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the second time we had spent Christmas at fletcher's Combe and it was really beautiful. Di was extremely helpful and the house was wonderful, we had a lovely time.

Lindsey from London stayed at Fletchers Combe Farmhouse for 7 nights in December 2015


A very pleased repeat customer

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I don't think I can sum up our experience of Fletchers Combe any better by explaining that this was our third (and hopefully not last, by far) visit! We have previously stayed as a large group at Fletchers Combe Barn, which has made for some very enjoyable and very memorable family holidays.

This time, being only a group of four (plus two four-legged friends), we opted to stay at the Farmhouse, and we were not disappointed at all. Offering a different, but still fantastic, experience, we would definitely return to either choice of accommodation again.

From piling in visiting family members and holding BBQs for 20 people (and never tripping over each other at any point) in the Barn, to a cosy night in with the woodburner in the Farmhouse, our stays have been nothing but perfect on every occasion. Always very clean and welcoming on our arrival, with all the necessities to hand, Di does a brilliant job preparing for your stay and is always at-hand (but at an unobtrusive distance) if you need anything. With welcome packs full of information on local activities and amenities, acres of land at your fingertips, and even a selection of local takeaway menus, you're ready for your holiday from day 1, whether you opt to stay in and relax, or make the most of the nearby areas.

The family dogs also give the place their furry thumbs up - with fenced-in gardens, plenty of walking routes, and even the doggy essentials on hand (crates, bowls, even poo bags just in case!), it's the perfect dog-friendly holiday. A 25 minute drive to dog-friendly beaches, several dog-friendly pubs nearby, and if you do decide to have a bit of 'me' time, there are nearby kennels or pet-sitters to give you the chance to explore the venues that don't allow those of the canine type.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Fletchers Combe for all manners of holidays, whether it's small groups, large parties, with or without dogs. And we certainly hope to be back again soon!


Karly from Egham stayed at Fletchers Combe Farmhouse for 4 nights in October 2015


Excellent value

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay in June/July 2015
Di was very helpful, came to see us when we first arrived, explained everything and answered any questions. Was about every day and would help if needed.
The cottage is nearer a 10 minute drive from the main road as the roads are very narrow, and keep your fingers crossed nothing coming the other way. But a beautiful location, very quiet and very relaxing. The duck pond outside the back door was always teeming with wildlife, from moorhens to dragon flies, and a constant source of pleasure to Milly our labradoodle.
The farmhouse was both well maintained, clean and spacious. Wifi was a bit hit and miss, but generally was fine, and for a telephone signal I had to walk to the top of the garden, but we were on holiday and making phone calls was not a priority.
Good games room with table tennis, skittles and table football. Totnes a nice town with a wide range of different shops and plenty of local pubs serving good food.
Would strongly recommend this property


Simon from Nr Oldham stayed at Fletchers Combe Farmhouse for 14 nights in June 2015


Wonderful stay !

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time we come here from France, really an amazing place ! Very calm and quiet, the best sleeping nights ever ! Lovely settings and furniture, fully equipped inside and outside, everything is made to make you feel comfortable and "at home". Stunning views around. We also enjoyed the games room ! Great location for exploring the surrounding area and enjoying peace and quiet. Close to the coast and beaches, lots of things to do and visit around... And many thanks to Di for her warm welcome !

Claude from stayed at Fletchers Combe Farmhouse for 6 nights in July 2015