FB Twitter

Barr Cottage

Barr Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
5.0
Location
4.7
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Barr Cottage is a steading conversion at Barr Farm on a ridge overlooking Loch Fyne to the West of Minard. It offers fabulous views down the Loch and to the hills and mountains beyond. It has been refurbished recently to a very high standard.

Barr Cottage has two spacious double bedrooms, a family bathroom including a double ended bath with rain shower over, a large dining kitchen with newly fitted units including a built in oven, microwave, fridge freezer and a separate ceramic hob. There is a dishwasher and washing machine to help with those essential chores.

Our Stay at Barr Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot say enough good things about the property and the welcome we received from John and Victoria.

A real home away from home in a beautiful part of Scotland.

Fantastic! Highly Recommended.




Best holiday lodge we have ever been

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is a romantic old cottage, but inside everything is new und very tidy. It is furnished with love and there was nothing we could have missed. The owners are very friendly and helpful, there even was a freshly baked cake and fresh flowers in a vase on the table. Outside you have a wonderful garden of your own and a garden table and chairs, and a wonderful look into the landscape on mountains and Loch Fyne.



Relaxing country cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We highly recommend Barr Cottage for a relaxing stay in a less visited part of Scotland. The setting was picturesque, with white sheep on green rolling hills, near many important prehistoric landmarks, quaint villages and good restaurants. Our hosts were wonderful! The cottage was immaculate and roomy. We would love to come back one day!



Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice renovated place and with it's own mood and atmosphere. We have found anything we needed, very tidy. You really feel welcome in this place!



excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was an excellent "find" because you never quite know, even with photos, what it will be like. The house was faultless, and the proprietor was delightful. We will be back.



The best you can get for your money

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything perfect.
Victoria and John are very careful and friendly hosts. They gave good informations for interesting places around.




May 2017

Review submitted on Sun, 28 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great welcome from the owners & another very comfortable and peaceful stay on this lovely cottage. Very recommended.



A really beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived at Barr Cottage we know that we were going to have a lovely stay. The owners were there to give us a very warm welcome and there was a lovely Easter egg sitting on the table with a welcome card. The garden is beautiful with red squirrels, woodpeckers and numerous other birds. The cottage was very warm, cosy and perfect for a holiday in Argyll.



Beautiful cottage in lovely location.

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Dec 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful cottage in a peaceful location. Close to both Inveraray and Lochilphead.
Crarae gardens about 1 mile away. Owners of the cottage couldn't be more welcoming and helpful.
Loads of historic sites nearby - Castles, stone circles cairns etc.
Also plenty of wildlife in the area and plenty bird species visiting the cottages bird feeders.
Would recommend this cottage to all age groups.




Great place to stay and relax for some days.

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We got a warm welcome and found a very clean and complete home for our holidays. The location is great for daytrips to Inveraray, Oban or the Secret Coast. A rainy cold day can be enjoyed in front of a warm fireplace.



Immaculate Well Equipped Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a fabulous few days stay at Barr Cottage with the compliment of amazingly sunny weather in October. The cottage is immaculate well equipeed and the whiskey cake that the owners provided went down a treat, Venture Boat Trip from Crinan was fantastic and would strongly recommend - we saw 4 Sea Eagles!! A lovely re-charge of the batteries - Thank you



Excellent Property

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were made to feel very welcome by our hosts. The cottage is lovely and in a good place for visiting many places in the surrounding area. We felt that the on-line photographs didn't do the property justice. We could have stayed a lot longer as we felt so relaxed and at home!



Extremely clean, warm and cosy cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property to go to if you are allergic to dogs, I have a severe allergy to dogs and it is difficult to find a holiday let where the owners are true to their word when they say no pets as some owners we have booked with, often allow their own pets. The owners live in an adjacent property and were extremely helpful and approachable yet allowed you to enjoy your holiday in peace. The cottage was warm and cosy a real home from home. There is an amazing shower which was extremely welcoming after a long day exploring the amazing countryside before settling down next to the wood burner in the cosy lounge with a dram or two. The property is extremely well equipped, exceptionally clean and a wonderful quite and peaceful place to stay. We enjoyed horse trekking, hiring a boat on Loch Awe and catching our fresh makerel supper in Tarbert. The cottage is set up on the hill and a very short walk down the private driveway gives you a fantastic view of Loch Fyne. I would recommend this cottage to stay in as an ideal base especially if you are sampling Scotland for the first time.



The most fantastic place to discover Argyll region !

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to the Barr cottage. We have satyed for 2 weeks this time and were not bored - perfect holidays for the family :-) This is definitely the most fantastic place to visit one of Scotland's most beautiful regions - Argyll. The cottage is perfectly arranged and equiped and the hosts - Victoria and John - most welcoming people ! We recommand Barr cottage to everyone :-)




Excelkent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An ideal place for a holiday. Comfortably furnished and equipped house. Lovely and very helpful owners. Very well-kept garden. The picturesque surroundings. Many attractions nearby. I would highly recommend!



A great base for exploring Argyll

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage has been renovated to a very high standard, is well equipped and nicely furnished, and is a very comfortable place for four adults or a family of four to stay. It has a spacious, well kept garden, plenty of off road parking, and lovely views down to Loch Fyne. The owners, John and Victoria, are welcoming and helpful without ever being intrusive. I would highly recommend Barr Cottage as a base for exploring Argyll.



A fabulous cottage in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the perfect cottage to get away from it all. The cottage deserves 5* as the owners have considered everything that you may need for a holiday. The property has recently been completely refurbished and is maintained to a high standard.
The area has great walks and places of interest. It is located in a 'foodies' paradise with so many choices of fabulous restaurants serving local produce. We highly recommend this property (and we are incredibly fussy) and will be returning very soon.




Delightful Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jun 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great location for exploring this part of Argyll, we concentrated mainly on the area around Lochgilphead, especially Kilmartin. The museum tearoom was delightful in the sunshine.The cottage was very well equipped and we enjoyed our stay. Didn't need to light the stove which was a bit disappointing!