FB Twitter

Old Post Office Cottage

Old Post Office Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.7
Location
4.3
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


  • Traditional end of terrace country cottage
  • On the doorstep of Northumberland National Park
  • Ideal location to explore hills or coast
  • Wi-fi
  • Log burner
  • Garden
  • Parking for 2 cars
  • Telephone for incoming/emergency calls
  • Change over Saturday
  • Low Season Short Breaks available
  • No pets

Sunny Northumberland

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really enjoyable few days at the cottage. The location was central to the places we wanted to visit and the roads easy to drive,( you do need a sat-nav). It was also easy to find the first day after our long drive up from the south coast. We had a welcome telephone call from the owner to make sure all was well which it was. Very clean cottage very with every thing you could possibly need.

Maureen from Fareham stayed at Old Post Office Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied 188 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review of the Old Post Office Cottage, the owners are always so welcoming and the property is centrally located for visiting all areas of Northumberland.

Family of 4 staying at the old post office cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely little cottage in a good location to explore Northumberland. Welcome pack and welcome call a nice thought on our arrival. Cottage was clean, tidy and provisions laid on.

Paul from Harrogate stayed at Old Post Office Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied 200 days ago
Many thanks for your lovely review. The owners are really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday & look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

A fantastic family holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great location to access everything Northumbria has to offer. The owners were very helpful and we were made to feel extremely welcome. Stoking up the wood fire in the evenings kept us toast after many grand adventures. Will definitely be back.



Mike from York stayed at Old Post Office Cottage for 7 nights in April 2016


Lovely cosy cottage, great location, helpful owners

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is lovely and cosy, easy to find and in a great location in Powburn. It also has off road parking. The fire was already lit for us when we arrived (nice touch!) and the owner rang us to check everything was okay and was there anything else we needed help with. He was so caring and rang us again on new year's day just to check again if we needed any assistance with anything so we definitely felt looked after! The owners had also left us some biscuits, wine, fizz and eggs from the farm which again is a lovely touch on your arrival that just makes everything feel that little bit more special. The cottage has a lot of charm, is well stocked for pretty much all the essentials you might need. The fire was a highlight as added to the coziness and there were additional electric heaters in case you really feel the cold. It's easy to access main attractions and the coast, it was about 20mins drive into Alnwick and we also drove out to Craster which is a great harbour spot! A great stay, would definitely return.

Emily from Sutton Coldfield stayed at Old Post Office Cottage for 4 nights in December 2015


Lovely stay in a great location - look forward to returning again!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted with our stay at the cottage - the owners had very kindly visited before we arrived and lit the fire and provided us with eggs and provisions for our first evening. The cottage was immaculate and very comfortable. The beds were very comfortable, the lounge cosy with the fire on and a plentiful supply of logs and coal for a fire each evening. The cottage is located in a great location to explore the local area - we were within 30 minutes of Bamborough Castle, Alnwick and Seahouses for days out.

All in all a great stay, and we look forward to returning soon.



Michael from Glossop stayed at Old Post Office Cottage for 7 nights in October 2015


90 out of 100

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
great value .for money good location for us to explore the local area .every thing you need for a good holiday ,would recommend to anyone in fact this was one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in so always refreshed in the morning.

Paul from Swinton stayed at Old Post Office Cottage for 7 nights in September 2015


nice cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
comfortable cottage .quite noisy from traffic though didn't like bare bathroom window and there was no dryer .cottage itself very well equipped and clean .nice phone call from owner on arrival and welcome goodies.

Guest from Southport stayed at Old Post Office Cottage for 5 nights in September 2015


Stay Northumbria on behalf of the owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your positive feedback. We just wish to comment on the points you have raised, whilst the property is located on the roadside this is obvious from the web page and the map which you can click. Everyone’s perception of noise is different depending on what you are used to. You are the first guest to have commented on this and the windows are double glazed in order to keep noise to a minimum. Whilst the bathroom window is not over looked the owner points out that a Roman blind is there for those who require a little more privacy. There is a small drier situated in the outhouse which is lightweight and manoeuvrable for use in the house. our web page has been updated to reflect this.

A good holiday cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were very impressed by the the cottage and enjoyed our stay, but we were disappointed that the duvet in the smaller
bedroom was so much thinner than the one in the other. The cottage was excellently equipped in the kitchen and we had
plenty of towels. the shower over the bath was lovely. The lounge was very comfortable and well supplied with materials
to make a fire if needed.
We were pleasantly surprised by a phone call from the owners on the first night to see if we were all right.


Guest from Stoke On Trent stayed at Old Post Office Cottage for 4 nights in July 2015


Great location

Review submitted on Wed, 13 May 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Position great for the National Trust locations. Contacted by the the cottage owner soon after arriving who explained the heating system and recommended local attractions, most useful. The fuel for heating was well stocked and required during the first night as the temperature was very low.

Raymond from Basingstoke stayed at Old Post Office Cottage for 4 nights in May 2015