FB Twitter

The Haven

The Haven

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 25 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.4
Location
5.0
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.7


  • Fantastic location less than 50 yards from the beach
  • Every front window has a view of the sea
  • Stripped pine floors throughout
  • Open plan lounge diner
  • Wi-fi
  • Open fire
  • South facing enclosed garden at the rear
  • Garage for storage use
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • 2 medium well behaved dogs welcome
  • Flexible changeover days
  • Low Season Short Breaks available

first class

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Extremely comfortably house with everything you could wish for, it was the highlight of the holiday. Beautiful location with great views. we found the information provided about the area very helpful especially which pub would accept dogs. we have booked for next year

Carole from Barrow-in-Furness stayed at The Haven for 7 nights in September 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied 10 days ago
"Highlight of the holiday" wow, thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Great location

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our stay at the Haven was a lovely experience in terms of location comfort and convenience a couple of additions would have helped such as a tumble dryer and cloths line.

If I can be super critical a new front door and the removal of the brick flower bed in the centre of the drive will allow more room for loading and unloading the car


Gary from Hednesford stayed at The Haven for 7 nights in July 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied 54 days ago
Pleased you had a lovely comfortable stay in The Haven. Unfortunately the property does not have a Tumble Drier but it does have an extendable clothes line at the rear of the house and a Sheila Maid overhead drier in the Utility Room.

Fantastic location, dog friendly comfortable house.

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Haven is set in a fantastic location with lovely beaches on the doorstep. Well equipped,clean cottage with welcoming K9 dog pack too! We would definitely stay here again.

Lynda from Airdrie stayed at The Haven for 7 nights in June 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied 96 days ago
Many thanks for the great review and recommendation. We would love you to come and stay again in the future.

Beautiful cottage in perfect beach-side location

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Haven is in a perfect location facing the sea with direct access to the beach opposite. The house was spotlessly clean and well equipped although we didn't use the garden due to lack of garden furniture. The beds were far too soft for our taste, sofas a bit tired and not too comfy and wine glasses very small. But these were all minor points. We loved staying there and would come back. The doggy welcome pack was a nice touch

Ruth from Bishop's Stortford stayed at The Haven for 7 nights in May 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied 110 days ago
Many thanks for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We have checked the rear garden and there is a table & bench seating, along with a garden seat. I have asked the housekeeping staff to take a look at the wine glasses, as there should be both red & white glasses. We very much look forward to welcome back to The Haven or another 1 of our properties in the future. Best Regards.

The Haven; a stones throw from the sea

Review submitted on Wed, 03 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here at the end of April, its our second time in this cottage and we have also stayed in the next door property,
The Haven is a great holiday cottage, its set just back from the sea front where you can here the waves crashing against the rocks. The layout is open plan, light and airy. The garage has a door that enters a good sized utility which is perfect when your dogs are wet or sandy, we could wash and dry them in the garage and then enter the house. The house is very warm and has all the usual facilities you would expect in a holiday cottage.

Beadnell is a great area to explore the local beaches, coastal walks, castles, gardens, pubs and cafes, we have visited Northumbria for the last 5 years and never get bored of the scenery, dog friendly beaches, pubs, shops and people, all very friendly and helpful, we will be back for many more holidays


Dave from Kincardine stayed at The Haven for 7 nights in April 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied 144 days ago
Many thanks for the review. Delighted that you and your dogs enjoyed another stay at The Haven and all that Northumberland has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

You will certainly wish to stay again.

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Apr 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved house. Garden ideal for us and our dog.beach and rock pools just across road great if not good at walking far. Ideal for walk to harbour and local pubs at night.we loved to sit in garden on clear night thousands of stars just amazing. Only down side just the two of us we find it a bit expensive. But saying that I'm sure we will go again.

Eileen from Mexborough stayed at The Haven for 7 nights in March 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 168 days ago
Many thanks for your lovely review of your recent stay at The Haven. We are very pleased that you enjoyed both the house and its location and hope to welcome you back sometime.

An enjoyable Christmas at the Haven

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Haven was as the name suggests, somewhere to get away from everything, rest and recharge. The cottage was clean and well equipped for both us and our two dogs. The location could not be better with the beach, pub, bistro style cafe, restaurant and interestingly, well stocked local shop all within minutes walk. Beadnell is for us, the perfect location being within easy driving distance of all the interesting sights and places in Northumberland. The Stay Northumbria staff could not have been more helpful and the Christmas decorations were much appreciated. There are two things we can constructively criticise: First, the brick built square in the middle of the driveway makes it almost impossible to open the car doors so getting in and out of the car especially with the dogs is a nightmare.why not remove it? Second, like so many of the holiday lets we have stayed in the furniture is very uncomfortable. Ok if you just sit for a few minutes but if you want to have an evening in front of the fire with a glass or three of wine the low back sofas make you pay for it. But, to end on a positive note we and the dogs would thoroughly recommend the Haven and Stay Northumbria.

David from Reading stayed at The Haven for 10 nights in December 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied 257 days ago
Thank you for the review and recommendation of both The Haven and Stay Northumbria. Your constructive comments have been noted and the owners are aware but pleased that these did not spoil your Christmas stay.

Home from home....

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our return visit did not disappoint. We did have a nasty storm that provided us with an internal water feature- staff attendee the property within 4 hours of us reporting this the next day.
It is lovely to be welcomed with milk and biscuits ( human and dog).
We hope to return next year.


Philip from Manchester stayed at The Haven for 14 nights in November 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied 299 days ago
Unfortunately the severe high winds and lashing rain caused water leak. Although Stay Northumbria offered to move you next door to Topcliffe you decided to stay on at The Haven and as the storm subsided so did the problem which is now being investigated. We do hope you return again next year for your 3rd visit to The Haven.

5 nights this November

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and our young Labrador loved our short break at The Haven. I spent all of my school holidays in Beadnell at our family caravan and The Haven provided a perfect place from which to revisit this beautiful area of Northumberland. The cottage was comfortable and had everything that we needed for the 5 nights we were there. I loved the utility room which enabled us to dry off, especially the dog, from our walks on the beach. But my favourite thing by far was the open log fire which we lit every night. The heating in the property is hot and I did eventually turn almost all of the radiators off, as it was so warm, but this did not stop us lighting and enjoying the comfort of the open fire.
The back garden was enclosed and nicely set out and it would be lovely in the summer. Good situation, sea view and small beach opposite the cottage, good beach for a morning walk with the dog.
Would definitely like to stay here again.


Dawn from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at The Haven for 5 nights in November 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied 308 days ago
Thank you for your glowing review of your recent stay at The Haven - we are delighted that you enjoyed the facilities of the cottage and reminiscing about the area.

Lovely spacious cottage with beautiful views

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Family of four - two adults and two teenagers and one dog...
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Haven, we found the cottage to be very spacious, clean and tidy with everything you could possibly need for a holiday provided including a BBQ. The utility was a great space and we used it to dry off wet towels etc from the beach, it was also a good size for our dog to sleep in. The garage also came in useful for storing bikes and chairs/windbreak etc for the beach.
The position of the cottage was excellent with uninterrupted beautiful views of the sea from the lounge, dining area and both bedrooms, you literally walked over the road and you're on the beach. There is a shop 2 minutes along the road offering all the supplies you may need and just a short walk to a cafe and 2 pubs offering lovely food.
The only negative comment I would make was that it could do with a little tidy up, it was mentioned when we booked it is due for refurbishment over winter 2016 so if we preferred we could have next door which had already been done for a shorter holiday. We decided to stick with The Haven and glad we did. It was only the smallest things like dripping tap and they wouldn't put me off booking again even before refurbishment.

Overall excellent cottage and we'll definitely be back.


Nicola from Pontefract stayed at The Haven for 7 nights in August 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Haven and for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Just the job

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Your reviewThe Haven provides the ideal base to explore the surrounding coast. It boasts excellent views and easy access to the beach. The whole house is clean spacious and tidy. Ideal if you have dogs. Everything has been thought through to make your holiday perfect. An excellent choice for a well deserved break.

Phil from Hullbridge stayed at The Haven for 7 nights in June 2016


Beach front Heaven at the Haven

Review submitted on Wed, 11 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the sister property next door last time but far prefer this cottage, the layout was great, very open plan and dog friendly. There was a main door into the garage and an internal door into the utility so no muck was trailed into the house, it also meant we could clean the dogs in the Garage if it was raining.
The bathroom is a good size also although the extractor fan runs on a bit too long on the timer if you put the light on during the night (small fixable problem)
The kitchen is quite small but more than adequate as we ate out every night bar one
We would book again


Dave from Kincardine stayed at The Haven for 7 nights in April 2016


Sea view, comfortable and we'll run.

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Apr 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean.
Well kept. Wifi.
Opposite the sea. (Lots of rock pools)
Well stocked with pots and pans etc.
Quiet location. No coffee shops though.
Nothing in beadnell, just beautiful beaches for miles- all year dog friendly.
Welcome pack was generous.
Lovely location.
Very soft beds.


Karen from Buxton stayed at The Haven for 3 nights in April 2016


The Stay Northumbria Team on behalf of the owner replied more than 1 year ago
Really pleased that you all enjoyed your stay. Just for reference for future guests - Beadnell is a seaside village, it does have a small shop, for essential daily requirements like milk and bread. In the older part of the village near the church you'll find the Craster Arms pub which serves good food, The Beadnell Towers Hotel which serves both bar and restaurant food, and shows leading sporting events in the bar. In addition there is the Salt Water Cafe which is open from 8am daily serving breakfasts, morning coffee, great cakes, lunches, afternoon teas and is also open for qulaity evening meals. So, may be next visit Mrs. G - look forward to welcoming you back.

Winter stay

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great house; we stayed in the depths of winter and it was warm and welcoming when we arrived. Lovely open fire, comfortable sofas, well equipped kitchen, great views, comfortable bedrooms - all these are important and they were all there! We had some lovely walks despite the time of year and would recommend walking along the coast to low newton by the sea and having a lovely lunch in the ship inn.

Harriet from Edinburgh stayed at The Haven for 3 nights in February 2016


A haven in the storm (s)

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Nov 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Haven was warm and comfortable especially as we were visited by the storms Abigail and Barney.
Clean and well presented.
Plenty of complimentary items for humans and dogs!!
We have already booked for next year.


Philip from Manchester stayed at The Haven for 14 nights in November 2015


An excellent place to stay.

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Nov 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location, close to amenities, clean and cosy atmosphere within the cottage, everything provided that one could need.
Would certainly stay there again.


Irene from Ashton Under Lyne stayed at The Haven for 3 nights in October 2015


Cosy cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Nov 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice place, warm, cosy and clean, perfect location, would stay again. Children really enjoyed it too. Kitchen was well stocked with utensils, pans etc, welcome pack was a nice touch. Garden was nice and well kept.

Lee from Terrington stayed at The Haven for 7 nights in October 2015


Haven stay August 2015

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a wonderful holiday in Beadnell. The Haven is in an excellent location for beaches and restaurants. The property itself is very clean and well supplied. It could be improved further by the addition of a tumble dryer. We would highly recommend this property to people with children and/or pets.


Guest from Liverpool stayed at The Haven for 7 nights in August 2015


Very good

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good position, clean, good facilities.
Excellent customer service - documentation, information.
TV a bit small for the room size!
Spot lighting inadequate for reading - had to move.


Guest from Northwich stayed at The Haven for 7 nights in July 2015


Great location

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a very enjoyable week .The property was clean and comfortable although the small rear garden
could do with sprucing up.Its main asset is its position facing the beach with wonderful views.It was great to wake up
to see the sun rise over the sea.The location is ideal for exploring a very beautiful county with miles of dog friendly beaches.


Guest from Chesterfield stayed at The Haven for 7 nights in July 2015


Haven in Beadnell

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location. . Appreciated comfortable sofas which were not bed setees. This property didn't feel (as many holiday rentals do) that the space was used to obtain maximum capacity at the expense of comfort. We had everything we needed and had a very relaxing stay. Would happily return.

Guest from Middlesbrough stayed at The Haven for 6 nights in July 2015


great location

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jul 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The best aspect of The Haven is it's location with views over and easy access to the beach. We felt it could do with updating now through out and the barbecue mentioned in the hand book would have been welcome.

Anne from York stayed at The Haven for 7 nights in July 2015


Perfect Location in a quiet street, facing the sea

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jul 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Haven is a spaceous semi, well-equipped, comfortable and well-furnished, with an impressive free staircase leading up to the bedrooms. However, as there are not any possible barriers, it is a bit difficult to prevent a dog (which is supposed to be welcome) from joining its masters upstairs, unless you put it in a "prison" (the utility room) downstairs.
We confess that we solved the proplem, by allowing our beardie upstairs at night (after rolling up the carpets there) and making sure she never got on one of the beds, as well as by thorougly hoovering the floors before our departure. It should be added that she does not tend to get into the sea.
The beds were too soft for us to be comfortable in, but that, of course, is a matter of taste, the WIFI functioned well, only the TV screen could definitely be little larger. The heating was ok, although the system it works on - you get heat at fixed times, wether you want it or not - is neither very environment-friendly nor economic.
You have great views of the sea from all rooms and just have to cross the - very quiet - road to get to the rocky/ pebbly / sandy beach (with the sand limited to the upper parts).
All in all the Haven is a very recommendable place to which we might return in one or two years-


Guest from Boehl-iggelheim stayed at The Haven for 9 nights in June 2015


First visit to Northumberland

Review submitted on Thu, 14 May 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were blessed by superb weather and found The Haven a comfortable and relaxing house in a fabulous position. Our experience was memorable and we will try to get back again.

Guest from St Savinien stayed at The Haven for 7 nights in April 2015


Better than home from home!

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's much nicer than being at home. Lovely cottage, roomy, comfortable, bright and warm. Superb views. Great utility room for the dogs. Never want to go home!

Guest from Washington stayed at The Haven for 4 nights in March 2015