FB Twitter

Platone Cottage

Platone Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.7


  • Traditional compact stone cottage
  • Tucked away off the main thoroughfare of the village
  • Easy walking distance to beach, estuary, pubs & restaurants
  • Small deck with garden furniture
  • 1 small well behaved dog is welcome
  • 1 designated car parking space
  • Change over Saturday
  • Low Season Short Breaks available

Lovely cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Apr 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Warm, clean and comfortable cottage. Parking space a bonus. Alnmouth lovely and incepredibly dog friendly.

Dulcie from Leeds stayed at Platone Cottage for 4 nights in March 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied 112 days ago
Thank you for the review and recommendation for Platone Cottage. Alnmouth along with the other villages and beaches in Northumberland is extremely dog friendly.

A lovely cottage for two

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was very well equipped and comfortably furnished. It was ideal for the two of us and our terrier Ted. The cottage is very convenient for the amenities that the wonderful village of Alnmouth has to offer. Special thanks to Mrs Isabel Chalmers for meeting and greeting us and to owner Mr Galbraith for popping in to check that all was in order.

Jeremy from Dinas Powys stayed at Platone Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied 330 days ago
Thank you for the lovely review, we are so pleased you had a super holiday at Platone Cottage and in the village of Alnmouth.

A week in summer in Platone cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week in August at Platone cottage and highly recommend it. There are 4 of us - 2 adults, one 5 year old child and one 15 month old. The location is great, tucked away, but only 1 minute walk to all the cafes and shops in Amble and about 4 minutes walk to the beach. The cottage is cosy in style and for size, though there is enough space to spend a wet afternoon inside together, but we found that to be a good incentive for getting out and exploring. We had a great stay at Platone, John the owner was very helpful and attentive, he provided high chair and stair gate for our youngest and offered a cot too. We'd definitely go back!

Alasdair from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Platone Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied 343 days ago
Many thanks for the lovely review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Platone Cottage and your holiday in Northumberland.

A lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely little cottage, tucked away in quiet location, small but perfectly formed. We totally enjoyed our stay at Platone and the owner was the perfect host. Alnmouth is a lovey holdiay destination.

Anita from HALIFAX stayed at Platone Cottage for 7 nights in June 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied more than 1 year ago
We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Platone Cottage, and its location in the village of Alnmouth.

Excellent cottage in great location

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent cottage in 'quaint' location, very well equiped, good access to village and local area.
Great value for money, can't fault it.
Alnmouth is a lovely spot;within easy reach of Alnwick, Warkworth and Amble, and it's only half an hour's drive to Lindisfarne.
Lots of beach at low tide, and it's great for just pottering or longer walks,


David from Castle Cary stayed at Platone Cottage for 7 nights in June 2016


Escape from reality

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful few days in this delightful cottage. Perfectly situated for the beach, shops, pubs and its in a quiet tucked away location.
The owner met us upon our arrival to show us around and give us some info on the area. The cottage was well stocked with basics and there was even a bottle of wine chilling in the fridge.
It was extremely clean and well maintained throughout.
We hope to return and would not hesitate in recommending this cottage and village.
We got home feeling rejuvenated.
Thank you.


Georgie from Oakham stayed at Platone Cottage for 7 nights in October 2015


Small but cosy cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Oct 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Platone is a charming but small cottage. It is quite narrow throughout but this adds to its uniqueness. Good for couples but might feel a bit cramped for larger parties. Good situation for access to the beach and town. Parking is a bit tight.

John from York stayed at Platone Cottage for 7 nights in October 2015


Platone Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cosy and comfortable. Great location in village centre. Alnmouth very friendly with good pubs and restaurants ideally placed. Beach perfect for dog lovers

Guest from Shepshed stayed at Platone Cottage for 7 nights in September 2015


Very nice

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Compact cottage equipped with all you need full sized fridge freezer the owners left us fresh milk teabags and coffe , short walk to pubs and shops has its own parking space. Would gladly return

Robert from Bradford stayed at Platone Cottage for 7 nights in August 2015


An absolutely Brilliant Place to Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a lovely homely cottage which was very well equipped, clean and just a minutes walk away from the Main Street and the main amenities. It was quiet, had its own private parking and we loved it. We must make mention of the owner John who made us very welcome and very kindly gave us a lift to and from the railway station for an excursion to Edinburgh. We would highly recommend this holiday rental and can't wait to return.

Liz from Durham stayed at Platone Cottage for 7 nights in July 2015


Platone Cottage - comments

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owners of the cottage, John and Barbara Galbraith, are very friendly and welcoming; we had not visited the area before so their advice on areas to visit and walk to was extremely helpful and made our holiday all the more enjoyable.

Guest from London stayed at Platone Cottage for 7 nights in August 2015


A Lovely Summer Break at Platone Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My daughter and I had a great week in Alnmouth in July. This was largely down to the lovely, well equipped cottage and the helpfulness of the owner - a real gentleman.

We would thoroughly recommend Platone Cottage and intend to go back there again in future.


Guest from Bo'ness stayed at Platone Cottage for 7 nights in July 2015


platone cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jul 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0

we found the cottage was very good nice and clean every thing you needed was there in the cottage will hopefully go back and stay again sometime in the future


Guest from Cleckheaton stayed at Platone Cottage for 7 nights in June 2015


platone cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful , clean, cosy property. Owners are so friendly and helpful. Lovely to arrive and have milk, tea bags and choccy biscuits . Oh and a lovely bottle of wine!

Kim from Durham stayed at Platone Cottage for 7 nights in June 2015


Excellent, once again

Review submitted on Sun, 17 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Platone Cottage provided a cosy and comfortable centre for our second visit in 3 years. Alnmouth is sufficiently busy (in April)to have good facilities for eating-out to supplement meals at this self-catering cottage. Car-parking area at the cottage is larger than before, but access remains too small for many larger cars and 4x4's. (A common problem in Alnmouth itself).
StayNorthumbria Website now much improved.


Guest from Dumfries stayed at Platone Cottage for 7 nights in April 2015


Review of Platone Cottage Alnmouth

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the 3rd time we have stayed in this cottage and it has always been very satisfactory in every respect.It is highly likely that we will return for another stay.

Guest from Beckenham stayed at Platone Cottage for 7 nights in April 2015


A quaint cottage in a beautiful dog-friendly seaside village

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Platone cottage was great for the 2 of us and the dog (bit of a squeeze if there were 4). The sun shone into the upstairs sitting room(otherwise a bedroom) to make a pleasant reading seat in the window bay. The cottage was well stocked with crockery, kitchen appliances, books, DVDs/CDs.
Alnmouth village has excellent shops, cafes and pubs/restaurants within a couple of minutes walk and the beaches are glorious.
A superb holiday location for hills or coast as well as places of interest from Cragside to Alnwick Gardens.


Guest from Linlithgow stayed at Platone Cottage for 7 nights in April 2015


little chilly

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Mar 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Overall we were pleased with our stay,however it was on cold side in the lounge. The area and beaches were very good. Parking a little difficult at times.

Guest from Northampton stayed at Platone Cottage for 4 nights in March 2015


Jackie Forsyth on behalf of Northumberland Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
As booking agent for the property, we contacted the owner about the guest's comments that it was cold. He believes it was because the thermostat was set too low as the cottage is usually very warm. If the guest had contacted either Northumberland Cottages/Stay Northumbria Ltd or the owner the problem could have been rectified during the stay. We have responded directly to the guest on the owner's behalf.