FB Twitter

Pebbles Cottage

Pebbles Cottage

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.4
Location
4.6
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.5


  • Modern detached bungalow
  • Quiet cul-de-sac location
  • 1 mile to amenities of Seahouses
  • Ideal base for walkers, birdwatchers & cyclists
  • Wi-fi
  • Garden
  • Private parking
  • Flexible changeover days
  • Low Season Short Breaks available
  • No pets

October 2nd to October 7th - a short overdue break.

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent place to stay, albeit a little expensive, but otherwise perfect. Everything was in working order, comfortable beds [the right length - we are both tall], in the right place and we could be back soon. We would certainly recommend it to our 4 children and their families and everyone else. Many thanks - it was great!

Edward from Great Glen stayed at Pebbles Cottage for 4 nights in October 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 40 days ago
Many thanks for the review and excellent recommendation. We hope to see you back at Pebbles soon and hopefully your families in the future.

A Great Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Pebbles Cottage before and as the location is perfect for visiting the north and south of Northumberland we booked it again.
We were very satisfied with Pebbles Cottage and it's location provides easy access to Berwick in the north Almouth to the south and of course all the other places there are to visit such as Alnwick Castle Gardens.
We had a great time


Alastair from Huddersfield stayed at Pebbles Cottage for 7 nights in July 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 117 days ago
Great to hear you enjoyed another holiday staying in Pebbles Cottage and that you have already booked to return again.

Dismayed to see houses built in front of the property since our last visit. Spoilt the stay for us.

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Apr 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
We have previously stayed at "Pebbles" in September 2012 and June 2013. We had a lovely time and the bungalow was great. It was newly decorated, clean and fully equipped.The situation was peaceful and quiet and no near neighbours so ideal for a real rest and break from it all. This was the reason we booked the same place again.
This time, we were very disappointed upon approach as, we saw that houses had been built right in front of it. It spoilt the view from the living room and kitchen and we felt very exposed as there had been no effort made to put up blinds/nets at the living room or front door. we had to leave the living room curtains drawn for the week as there was a company of workmen there the entire week who were obviously there correcting and finishing of "snagging" work on the newly built houses which are now lived in.
There was constant movement back and forth from builders, workmen, householders (and another gardening company at a different property on one of the days ) in our eye line for the whole time we were in.
The workmen worked on various properties sawing the tops off fence posts, hammering , chipping off dried mortar blobs from stonework, jet washing the road, going up and down ladders and various other smaller jobs. There were between one and three men working at any one time on tasks and large delivery lorries( twice in the times we were at home) and our view was made worse by the concrete mixer, tools, their cars and lots of wooden pallets sticking up along the wall between them and us. The workmen used a garage right near us as a work base and regularly had meetings with the householders in their front garden to discuss progress etc
The worst day was Monday when three chaps laid a paved driveway yards from us and used a circular saw type cutter to cut and shape flags and a machine that tamped down the area to level it. This plus their general chatter and other neighbours cutting their lawn with a ride on mower, resulted in noise and vibration for the whole day( minus one hour at lunch time).
We had travelled a long way on the Saturday to get there and had done a lot of walking on Sunday and we had decided to have a relaxing day in the sun loungers. Not a chance! It would have been more relaxing at home or on Piccadilly station.
We also saw that the general feel of the place, especially the garden, has been let slip and sadly the image it now presents is not a welcoming one. It says to us "don't really care".
For example the picture you have which shows a little boat at the front of the property is no longer a true likeness....it has gone to seed, the paint has all flaked off , it has weeds growing in and looks a mess.
The planters outside the front door have dandelions and moss in them and a large pile of garden waste has been left piled up at the side of the house which is spoiling the view at that side.
Items inside the house are looking tired such as the rusty toilet cleaning brush set and there are rust stains on the kitchen sink from the metal drainer, the washing machine draw (where you put the powder in ) is yukky and mouldy and the kitchen drawer cutlery divider had other peoples food crumbs and detritus in it. The kitchen tap fitting is loose and moves when you try to turn the tap on.
Generally the house doesn't have the looked after feel that it used to have. For example there was aluminium foil lining the grill, (which when used should be replaced each time...)after we grilled our tea we removed the foil when we were washing up but it was very stuck down so looked as if it had not been replaced after use for a while and when we went to the drawer where the rolls of foil and cling film etc are usually kept there was no foil for us to use. There were no black bin liners available and no bathroom cleaner. The whirly drier outside is hanging at a strange angle as it has come loose at the base so doesn't spin round when you hang the clothes out on it.
One of the larger issues is the patio doors. There was a notice made from bit of cardboard and sellotape which said "Do not use the right hand door and be careful of the wind catching the left one" I would have thought that a £400 stay would have entitled us to use the patio freely as we had nice weather and wanted to open them and sit outside. If the owner knows there is a problem with the wind catching the door then it should be his responsibility to fix some sort of hook or stopper to prevent damage. When we did open the door there were spiders nest /cobweb type black mess in the corners and door lock edges.....
On the whole we were not happy with this stay and would not book to stay there again.
We do realise that the situation with the workmen was beyond the control of yourselves and the bungalow owners so that is the reason we have not complained .
I think having looked at other properties in the area and at what other companies have on their books with regard to décor etc the owners need to buck their ideas up and do a proper spring plant up, lick of paint etc and put into place a proper stock up routine.
I suppose if we had not been there before we would not have been so disappointed as we wouldn't have known any different.



Guest from Glossop stayed at Pebbles Cottage for 7 nights in April 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 215 days ago
Thank you for your criticisms, we do our best to provide a good holiday experience and in reviewing all of our other feedback it seems we do in most cases. The owners have addressed your concerns about the garden and patio doors, though it’s a shame you didn’t feel able to tell Wal about the problems you were having when he visited you early in your stay. They are however delighted that your scored them 4 on cleanliness and comfort as they do pride themselves on those aspects of provision. We wish you well and hope you have great holidays in the future. Whilst the owners have asked us to convey the above, we at Stay Northumbria would ask that anyone considering booking Pebbles to please check the photographs on our website which, contrary to this guests' feedback, are are a true representation of the cottage and it's surrounds and the newly painted little boat with it's natural grasses and seaside plants.

Lovely cosy cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cosy cottage. Everything there that we needed . Very clean. Ample parking. Beautiful views of the surrounding countryside. Will definitely be returning.

Guest from Nelson stayed at Pebbles Cottage for 7 nights in October 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your complimentary review of your recent stay at Pebbles Cottage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and we hope you will be able to return sometime.

An excellent stay in Seahouses

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very enjoyable holiday, the accomodation was excellent and well located for touring the area.
It was clean and well equipped with all requirements being met


Susan from Huddersfield stayed at Pebbles Cottage for 7 nights in September 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for the review and for recommending Pebbles Cottage.

Lovely place to stay.

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Sep 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely stay here. Very close all of the attractions and amenities.Peaceful and a lovely view to look out on.Everything you needed was supplied for you and a lovely welcome package too.

Donna from Heanor stayed at Pebbles Cottage for 14 nights in August 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the review. After discussing the lower score of 3 for comfort the guest advised they were used to a larger bed at home.

Summer Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
For us this is an excellent location close to Seahouses with plenty of walks from the doorstep and easy access for the Northumbriam Coast. The cottage is comfortable and has a bright welcoming atmosphere which we enjoyed returning to for this holiday.

Stephen from Solihull stayed at Pebbles Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your review - we are pleased that you enjoyed your return visit to Pebbles Cottage and the Seahouses area.

Family mini break

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent booking process. Beautiful cottage equipped with everything needed to enable us to have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Excellent location with beautiful peaceful surroundings. Would happily return.

Guest from Chester le Street stayed at Pebbles Cottage for 3 nights in May 2016


Just what we wanted

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Dec 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Just a weekend break......just what we wanted....Pebbles continues to provide us with a comfortable, reasonable priced bolt hole. It's a corner of Seahouses that's peaceful and quiet .

Guest from Chorley stayed at Pebbles Cottage for 3 nights in November 2015


A week in seahouses and surrounding area.

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First visit to this area,found both accommodation and attractions first class. Only one small criticism is that a new bath mat would be appreciated. Only having one week to explore we shall look forward to returning to seahouses and pebbles cottage.




Christine from Belper stayed at Pebbles Cottage for 7 nights in October 2015


Pebbles Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Overall very good quality. Good value for money, Location off any busy road and within short distance of the coast.
Facilities within the cottage good.


Brian from Yoxall, Burton On Trent stayed at Pebbles Cottage for 7 nights in August 2015


Ideal Property for Family Breaks

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Modern bungalow (in which everything is well-maintained) including a good sized enclosed lawned garden to the rear. Situated in a lovely quiet location great for the driving to the beach (around 3 mins away) and many other attractions. Ideal for families; Fab for cycling too, there's ample room in the garage for bikes, the nearest shop is around a mile away (in Seahouses) and it's much quicker to cycle in to pick up provisions than drive; plus there are plenty of quiet country roads to make some great routes (pretty flat along the coast or head inland for more challenging rides).

Olaf from Chorley stayed at Pebbles Cottage for 14 nights in August 2015


A lovey cottage in a peaceful area

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Pebbles Cottage is about a 15 min walk to Seahouses centre, but it is worth the walk. The cottage is cosy with lovely views over the neighbouring fields and is peaceful and clean. A comfortable and welcoming stay and we would definitely come back.

Guest from Stockport stayed at Pebbles Cottage for 7 nights in August 2015


Comfortable and well equipped

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Aug 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The property is very nicely maintained and equipped inside with everything we could want being provided to a very good standard. Wi-fi and a decent TV were much appreciated. It is difficult to find fault with the property from a comfort point of view. The owners have thought of everything that visitors might possibly need and, should anything else be required, leave contact details. There is ample parking on site and a large secure garden for children to play safely. We appreciated that the owner came to check that everything was ok. On a negative point, the front paved area was looking a little shabby. Also (and I appreciate this is outside the control of the owner) there is an ongoing development on land next to, and overlooked by Pebbles, which did detract from the enjoyment of our stay to a certain extent. However there is still a lovely countryside view from the living room. Access to Seahouses, beaches etc is easy.

Guest from Leeds stayed at Pebbles Cottage for 7 nights in July 2015


Lovely holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our second visit to Pebbles Cottage. A very nice and well equipped modern bungalow in a pretty and quiet location. It was basically clean but although the walls had been freshly painted the woodwork was marked and in need of painting. Bed linen, pillows and towels though spotlessly clean were past their best. Nevertheless, we had a very pleasant holiday and Pebbles Cottage is spacious and comfortable. Wifi availability and welcome pack was greatly appreciated.


Guest from Market Rasen stayed at Pebbles Cottage for 7 nights in July 2015


Pebbles Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jul 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The bungalow is in a lovely position overlooking fields and a mile from the centre of Seahouses, there are quite a few different ways to walk into the centre from the bungalow which made it interesting. It is really quiet and if the weather had been better we would have sat outside more.
The bungalow is very well equipped, everything worked and it feels spacious and light and well cared for.
The beds are very firm, which suited one of us but not the other! If you prefer medium beds then it might be useful to take a mattress topper as we used the duvets from the spare bed on top of the mattress to make it more comfortable.
The lounge furniture is also not brilliant for anyone with a bad back but there are lots of cushions.
We really enjoyed our stay.


Guest from Shipley stayed at Pebbles Cottage for 7 nights in June 2015


Cottage Surprise

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was wonderful, totally piece full and cosy. It was nice to see the oven was gas and not electric. Anyone going it is ideal, cottage fine.

Guest from Ripley stayed at Pebbles Cottage for 7 nights in May 2015


Pebbles Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 13 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for exploring the area. The cottage is well equipped,cosy and comfortable with lovely views. Our first visit to Northumberland and it will certainly not be our last. There is much to see and do in the area but managed to explore quite a bit despite the inclement weather! The coastline is stunning along with amazing beaches and picturesque villages, what more could you want.

Guest from Nr Atherstone stayed at Pebbles Cottage for 7 nights in May 2015


Pebbles Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 06 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very pleasant well maintained cottage and good base for travelling around the area. Good views to the rear over fields. Nice quiet location with no passing traffic.

Guest from Sevenoaks stayed at Pebbles Cottage for 7 nights in April 2015


Warm and comfortable

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Mar 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pebbles is a lovely little bungalow located in a quiet corner of North Sunderland. Even on the coldest winter days it remains warm and comfortable.
It is only a short walk from the shops and the harbour and provides the ideal base for local attractions.
This has been our fourth visit in as many years.....this says it all.


Guest from Chorley stayed at Pebbles Cottage for 7 nights in March 2015