FB Twitter

Homildon Cottage

Homildon Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


  • Secluded detached 4 bedroom cottage on edge of the Northumberland National Park
  • Welcomes well behaved children & dogs.
  • Wi-Fi
  • Log burner
  • Aga
  • Off road parking
  • Low occupancy rates @ certain times
  • Accepts short breaks in low season
  • Peak season Saturday Changeover, flexibility at other times.

Everything we could have wished for - both inside and location

Review submitted on Sun, 14 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We entered through the Utility Room, to discover our dog's every comfort met, through the conservatory, into the lounge wowing all the way - however opening the door into the kitchen took us into a different dimension - a real family room with everything one could possibly imagine - the immediate response was "we'll stay forever". The rest of the house and gardens did nothing to dispel our first reaction - lovely beds, linen and towels. The position, sitting below Homildon Hill, is impressive, as is the whole area. When are 2018 bookings opening - can't wait!.

Roger from Newbury stayed at Homildon Cottage for 7 nights in April 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 15 days ago
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Homildon so much and thank you for such a glowing review. If you are considering a return next year, please do get in touch with Stay Northumbria and we'd be happy to provide you with a quote.

Homildon cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage ,in wonderful location(walks straight from door)but close to town amenities if needed.
Very well equipped,warm and cosy.
The owners had left a very generous welcome pack which was much appreciated.
We even had sunny weather for most of the week we stayed.
Hope to return !


Susan from Grantham stayed at Homildon Cottage for 7 nights in March 2017


Jon and Jasmine - owners of Homildon Cottage replied 54 days ago
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay, walks from the house and our welcome pack (we had a lot of fun choosing local produce to include!). We'd be delighted to welcome you again in the future.

Another breathtaking week at Homildon Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've just returned from our second week at Homildon and this one was just as blissful as the first. The views are breathtaking, I spent so much time sitting on the bench outside admiring the view but also staring out of the kitchen window watching the birds feeding.

Inspired by our last visit to Homildon I am now the proud owner of my own telescope which came to the house with me. I can't believe how dark it is around Wooler and it was so easy to pick out the colours in the stars and we had an amazing view of Jupiter from the front of the house. A telescope is provided at the house along with the necessary stargazing equipment but we didn't need it this time.

The house is so comfortable and well equipped. We particularly loved sitting by the AGA eating breakfast and enjoying the sunshine that streams in from the front of the house. The log fire made us very toasty on the cold nights. The utility room made it a breeze to clean the dogs up after their walks.

There are so many places to visit within an hours drive, both in Northumberland and in the borders, too many to list in a review.

Thanks again to the owners and to Caroline who made everything so lovely for our arrival, we'll be back again soon.


Louise from Olney stayed at Homildon Cottage for 7 nights in March 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd, on behalf of the owners replied 61 days ago
Very pleased to have been able to welcome you back to Homildon Cottage – and that you had another blissful week. We can (and often do) spend hours gazing at the heavens at Homildon, so best of luck with your new telescope! Many thanks for the review, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Pure perfection

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing cottage. Everything had been thoughtfully catered for even down to the smallest attention to detail. A true home for the week we stayed. Everything was done to the highest standards and the location, away from it all was heavenly. With so much to explore within 30 minutes drive we will definitely be back. We didn't want to leave!!

Emma from Halifax stayed at Homildon Cottage for 7 nights in February 2017


Jon & Jasmine, owners of Hamilton Cottage replied 89 days ago
Homildon Cottage is very much a home from home for us. So glad to have been able to share this with you – and that you loved it as much as we do. Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another stay sometime soon!

Beautiful cottage, stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Homildon Cottage is a very special place, its in a stunning location with views galore and walks from the door. We were even provided with a telescope for star gazing and who knew all of those stars were up there when you escape from light polluted areas. The cottage has a superb log burner for cozy evenings and a toasty aga in the kitchen which made the dogs happy. Fabulous cottage, we have already booked another week.

Louise from Olney stayed at Homildon Cottage for 5 nights in November 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 182 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay at Homildon Cottage. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the cottage and the area so much that you have already booked to come again. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Fantastic Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic Autumn break at Homildon Cottage, everything was perfect and very high spec. The Cottage is in a great place really quiet, lovely and warm and cosy. The welcome pack was a great surprise and a lovely thought, dogs appreciated theirs too! Everything was really luxurious great bed linen and towels. The whole family of 6 had a great time we will definitely recommend and return. Thank you.

Dawn from Kendal stayed at Homildon Cottage for 7 nights in October 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 196 days ago
Thank you for your review, and so glad you enjoyed your break. Autumn is a favourite time of the year for us, with the beguiling colours on the hills. Look forward to welcoming you back soon! Jon & Jasmin (owners of Homildon)

'Absolute Fabuous !'

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From first booking to leaving the cottage was really spot on. When we had paid the total amount for the holiday we received a 14 page information pack online, so we knew exactly what to expect - right down to the equipment in the kitchen. This greatly eased our packing process !
Everything you could possibly need was there for us - including for our four legged friend, who had her own welcome pack !
The house was so well thought out - sockets where you needed them , mirrors where you needed them ( so often a problem in holiday cottages ) lashings of hot water, a lovely big bath, a good shower, comfortable beds, books, dvd's, torches, picnic blankets etc etc......
And the location ! A few hundred yards up a country track, right on the edge of the Northumberland Park with a lovely walk to Humbleton Hill literally from the back door, yet a 20 minute walk to the centre of Wooler.
We cooked on the Aga all week, also a joy.

Really could find nothing wrong .....


David from Birmingham stayed at Homildon Cottage for 7 nights in September 2016


Stay Northumbria on behalf of the owners Jon & Jasmine replied 244 days ago
So glad you found the information pack useful in advance of your stay, and more importantly that you (and your dog!) enjoyed the stay itself. We agree it’s a very special spot – and hope to welcome you again in future.

Extremely well appointed house in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is extremely well appointed, comfortable and in a beautiful location. The kitchen is very cosy and the conservatory adds a lovely light room to the ample space. The house, utility room, garden and shed contain everything you could possibly need. The location is excellent for both the coast and the hills and conveniently close to Wooler for shops and cafes. There are lovely walks on the doorstep. We would have liked to have more time to explore the area from this base and to make more use of all the house has to offer.

Regina from Sheffield stayed at Homildon Cottage for 4 nights in September 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd, on behalf of the owner replied 252 days ago
Many thanks for your review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay & that Homildon Cottage suited your needs. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Very homely cottage in a fabulous location

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lovely secluded cottage is approached by a farm track which was regularly used by tractors, a quad-bike & a flock of sheep. The track was pocked with potholes, one of which was quite deep
The cottage was very homely & comfortable, surrounded by stunning gardens which were enjoyed by all & were child friendly on the whole
The kitchen was very well equipped with a cosy, welcoming AGA, loads of fridge & larder space but a little lacking in freezer space for our particular needs
The sitting room was comfortable & cosy & the conservatory was useful extra space for two small children. The utility room was well equipped & the extra toilet a real bonus
The main bathroom was lovely, bright, warm & modern with the cutest little window
If I'm going to be really picky,the master bedroom & en-suite were poorly lit & the bottom bed sheet pilled, but the other three bedrooms were light, bright & airy with lovely garden views
There were lots of extras in the stable & a real adventure (for small children) to get there
The welcome pack was amazing; the best we've ever had & very thoughtful with regard to small children
Finally, the cottage location was perfect for visiting the majority of Northumberland's tourist attractions


Guest from Dudley stayed at Homildon Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 271 days ago
The owners are glad you enjoyed your stay and found Homildon Cottage homely and accommodating. The owners say they love to cook themselves and are never happier than well bustling in front of the AGA! Much appreciate your feedback on the master bedroom which will be addressed by the owners. In the meantime they contacted the local Council again about the potholes and are pleased to say they were repaired on 02/09/16. Finally the owners are delighted you liked their welcome pack – they had a lot of fun sampling local produce to put it together – and look forward to welcoming you back at Homildon in the future.

Lovely holiday at Homildon Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Homildon Cottage at the beginning of August.
The cottage is wonderful. Everything you could possible wish for is there. Rooms were very comfortable, the kitchen extremely well equipped and the garden and surrounding countryside is beautiful.
The only downside is the very narrow lane leading to the cottage which is in poor condition. The potholes need dealing with, if only filling with gravel, as they are impossible to avoid.


Janet from Birmingham stayed at Homildon Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied 292 days ago
Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Homildon Cottage, and found it comfortable and well equipped. The owners believe the surrounding countryside truly is very special. As for the state of the lane, they have been in touch with the Council for some months about this so hope your comment will “add weight to the cause” when they follow it up again. UPDATE 05/09/16 - the lane has now been repaired by the council

Stay at Homildon cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A beautiful cottage very welcoming and lovely sized rooms.. The beds extremely comfortable lots to see and do especially if you are into walking the countryside is so beautiful. A very enjoyable stay.

Kathy from Liverpool stayed at Homildon Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied 307 days ago
Thank you for submitting a review about Homildon Cottage. It is ideally situated for country walks and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Delightful - Best cottage we've ever stayed in

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location - great, very quiet, only occasional walkers go past, walk out of garden to beautiful countryside. Shops and places to eat close by. Blissful, well maintained garden and stunning views.
Loved the cottage! Never have we visited a more well equipped kitchen and living spaces. A short sentence that doesn't describe how delightful it is to find everything you have at home .... and sharp knives! (Keeping the chefs happy). Loved that all 7 of us could sit at each of the two tables. All the beds were all extremely comfortable. Lovely bathroom and towels. Everything throughout the cottage was of a high quality.
Description for this cottage is 100% accurate but doesn't covey the quality found - we have been to many cottages that comply with the description but are so disappointing when we arrive to find the very minimal of facilities. Top of our list for a return visit.


Anita from Welwyn Garden City stayed at Homildon Cottage for 7 nights in June 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied 328 days ago
Many thanks for your glowing review. We are very pleased that you appreciated both the location and the cottage. Hopefully you will return again in the future.

Lovely cottage in an excellent location

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable and extremely well equipped cottage - the owner's have really thought about all the things you might need on a week away. However, the location of the cottage was the real highlight for us. The cottage is close to a largish town so doesn't feel at all isolated (it was a very pleasant 20 minute walk to Wooler where there were plenty of shops and pubs to get everything we needed for the week) but at the same time it's on the edge of the national park so there are miles of footpaths right from the door. We did a lovely 12 km one day and didn't have to cross, or even go near, a single road. Plus it's only a half hour drive to Bambrugh, Lindisfarne and Alnwick so you can easily explore the rest of the region. We had a fantastic week and would definitely like to return one day!

Hannah from York stayed at Homildon Cottage for 7 nights in June 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied 334 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. It’s great to learn that everything was provided for your stay and that you had a wonderful holiday. We would love to welcome you back for another stay in the future.

Perfect.

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing cottage... All your need are catered for, even the dogs!!

Lovely walks on door steps. Residents from the village we bump into we're all very friendly and happy to have a chat while out walking the dogs.

We had a problem with hot water and heating during our stay... But we phoned Caroline (the contact number left) and someone was round within 30 mins and the problem was sorted.

We will defiantly be back to stay again!!





Jenny from Chester le Street stayed at Homildon Cottage for 7 nights in June 2016


Excellent stay

Review submitted on Wed, 25 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found Homildon Cottage an excellent place to stay. The cottage itself is first class and would receive five star ratings in any review and the location is perfect. The scenery and serenity is superb with numerous paths out into the Northumberland National Park right on outside the door. Then, not far away, are places like Lindisfarne, Annick Gardens and Keilder. If the occasion arose we would go back and we are recommending Stay Northumbria Limited and Homildon Cottage to family, friends and neighbours.

Ann from Northampton stayed at Homildon Cottage for 7 nights in May 2016


Homildon Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely fabulous cottage in a wonderful location. Only 20 - 30 mins by car to the beautiful coastline of Northumbria. Countryside walks from the cottage door and peace and quiet in the garden. Wonderful to be able to stay in a cottage where the dogs are made as welcome as their owners !

Ronald from Oxford stayed at Homildon Cottage for 7 nights in October 2015


Perfect for us and the greyhounds

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was such a lovely cottage. The close proximity to the Northumberland National Park was just one of the great features. The garden was really homely and well-landscaped with lovely views. The AGA in the kitchen made the house really cosy and was really useful for slow cooking things. It slowed us down and made us appreciate the lovely kitchen and helped us relax. The living room had a cosy fire with logs etc provided - we were spoiled with good tv facilities (we don't have a telly at home). The gated and fenced garden was sufficiently secure for our two old greyhounds. The bathroom was really nice with underfloor heating (what a luxury)! There were so many nice little surprises and other items left by the owners - treats for the dogs + various other things such as dog beds and towels for us to use; some milk and lots of small local produce treats, such as honey, biscuits for cheese + a really nice ground coffee. Everything had been thought of and provided by the hosts so there is no need to take anything with you. It's also only 30 mins drive from fantastic beaches on the east coast.
Overall, we had a great, relaxing week - despite some really bad weather. The local amenities were more than sufficient for our needs.
We recommend the beaches for dog walks and it's worth a drive & trek to Duddo stone circle a few miles away. The Red Lion pub in Milford did great home-made pies - a recommendation in the extensive and well researched info pack in the cottage. Overall, a really great place to stay and would definitely go back again.


Dylan from Birmingham stayed at Homildon Cottage for 7 nights in September 2015


Great holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Homildon is a very well equipped, comfortable cottage with everything you need. Welcoming packs for humans and canines very enjoyable. Beautiful garden with plenty of running space for children and dogs, excellent for outside eating or quiet contemplation with a book. Although Homildon could be considered to be off the beaten track it's setting is beautiful with magnificent walks on the doorstep and easy access within minutes to the local town of Wooler for shopping and eating. An half hour drive sees you at the coast where our grandchildren had a ball on the lovely beaches, boat trips and exploring the splendid castles. If you want a bright lights holiday this is not for you but if you love the countryside, nature, walking and easy visits to the seaside I would recommend Homildon.

Guest from Barnsley stayed at Homildon Cottage for 7 nights in August 2015