FB Twitter

Coastguard Cottage

Coastguard Cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.8


  • Semi-detached falmily holiday home
  • Stunning location with direct access to the dunes
  • Conservatory & fantasic kicthen/dining area
  • Log burner (kitchen) & open fire (lounge)
  • Wi-fi
  • Large enclosed garden
  • Parking for up to 2 cars
  • 2 well behaved dogs welcome
  • Change over Saturday

Coastguard Cottage Bamburgh

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a very comfortable house situated in an ideal location. It's as close to the beach as you can get and within a short walk of the village centre.
We were extremely comfortable during the week we spent here. Every body including the dogs were well looked after in this superbly equipped cottage. We had a wonderful week.


Elizabeth from Faringdon stayed at Coastguard Cottage for 7 nights in September 2017


Stay northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 5 days ago
Coastguard Cottage is ideally located for access to the beach which dogs love. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you had a wonderful holiday.

Family holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
lovely cottage, lots of room for 8 adults and two dogs, everything was thought of, great location for village and beach.

Jackie from Linlithgow stayed at Coastguard Cottage for 7 nights in July 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 74 days ago
Many thanks for the review and recommendation. We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday.

Family holiday with children and grandchildren plus Rory the dog.

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful time, a wonderful house and location. Would love to visit again the future. Can not fault the accommodation and location.

Thank you I would highly recommend it to anyone.

David


David from Kendal stayed at Coastguard Cottage for 7 nights in June 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 89 days ago
As you say a great family holiday home! Delighted you all had a great time and enjoyed the house and its location. We would love to welcome you back again in the future.

Throughly enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another throughly enjoyable stay at coastguards cottage. When we needed help with the TV and other small issues , the serviceman came within 1/2 hour. Excellent service. We will return again.

Guest from Lindfield stayed at Coastguard Cottage for 7 nights in June 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 90 days ago
Many thanks for your review - we are pleased that you enjoyed another stay at Coastguard Cottage and look forward to welcoming you again.

Coastguard cottage Bamburgh is a delightful cottage with everything you need for the perfect holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 31 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful cottage in a lovely village which has tea rooms, restaurants and bars. The cottage is fully equipped Ithe everything you could need. Hope to return next year.

Elizabeth from Whitley Bay stayed at Coastguard Cottage for 7 nights in May 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd, on behalf of the owner replied 116 days ago
Many thanks for your lovely review & we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The owners of Coastguard Cottage have tried to think of everything to make guests comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back next year. Best Regards.

Family holiday May 2017

Review submitted on Wed, 17 May 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 3rd year running we have booked the Coastguard Cottage and have thoroughly enjoyed it yet again. We love the incredible location based at the foot of Bamburgh castle with only a few sand dunes separating the the cottage from the local flat stretch of beach which is ideal with pets.

The house itself is well laid out and well furnished. The TV's have been updated so for the odd day we had of bad weather this visit we laid up with a drink or two, a nice fire and watched Now TV boxed sets :)

The local village is very friendly and can't recommend the pubs and local butchers enough.

There is so much to do in Northumberland and the cottage is perfectly situated to get to many of the areas.


Andrew from Thurlstone stayed at Coastguard Cottage for 7 nights in May 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 131 days ago
Great to hear you enjoyed a third stay at Coastguard Cottage. The location is amazing as you say and the cottage itself is so cosy and welcoming. We look forward to you returning once again in the future.

Amazing cottage in fantastic location

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I absolutley love this place, we have now stayed 4 times, and have already booked for next year!
The cottage is always spotless, and there is plenty of space including a conservatory with is good to spend time reading in.
I don't think that you can find a better location in Bamburgh, the beach is located the other side of a sand dune, and the restaurants are in easy walking distance.


Sarah from Leicester stayed at Coastguard Cottage for 7 nights in April 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 133 days ago
We were pleased to welcome you back to Coastguards this May, Ms Wareing, and look forward to your return next year. The cottage can't get a better recommendation than someone returning year after year - we are delighted you love it so much.

Lovely cottage in a superb location

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was in immaculate condition when we arrived, and we have no complaints/issues about our stay. We were extremely fortunate in that we enjoyed excellent weather for most of our week there, and consequently used the cottage as a base rather than spending a high proportion of time there. Our one (albeit minor) thought re improving facilities was that Sky Sport TV could perhaps be provided to diversify TV choice in the event of more inclement conditions, particularly as several of our group are Sports enthusiasts, which probably applies to other visiting parties too?
The other thought is that we think that the hire cost of the cottage is a tad high --particularly in the winter months?

Thankyou for assisting our stay-- we may well repeat the exercise

Regards

Hugh Edmundson


J H from Morpeth stayed at Coastguard Cottage for 7 nights in April 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 159 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Coastguard Cottage is very popular and books up 12 months in advance. It is in an ideal location and is very well looked after family home. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.

Spacious, comfortable and dog friendly.

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I hIghly recommend this comfortable cottage. It's a bit like a tardis inside with plenty of rooms, all tastefully decorated. Comfortable and soft leather sofas, well equipped kitchen and lovely conservatory. The garden is fairly open and dog proof for a small dog not able to jump high. Larger dogs may escape. Lovely K9 welcome pack with treats, towels bowls and matts! Feels like a home from home with the beach and village centre short walks away. Can park two cars.

Kate from Seaford stayed at Coastguard Cottage for 7 nights in September 2016


Paradise in Northumberland

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Coastguards Cottage in Bamburgh really is a holiday gem. This large cottage is full of history and charm. It has been lovingly updated. It is spotlessly clean and designed in such a way to accommodate a large party of all ages with ease. The location is perfect - the beach, castle and village are literally on your doorstep and there is an abundance of interesting places to visit within a very short drive. The Northumberland coastline is magnificent and unspoilt. If you want a chilled out holiday this is the home and place to be.

Maggie from Buckingham stayed at Coastguard Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a glowing review and yes, we agree it is a piece of paradise in Northumberland!

Perfect location in Bamburgh

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is tucked behind the Bamburgh dunes and moments from the Castle Green. All the rooms were well furnished and everything necessary for a fun and comfortable family holiday had been provided, even a set of boules! The weather was wonderful, and we enjoyed everything from the train at Heatherslaw to the tour of the Castle, with a trip to the Farnes, another to Alnwick garden, and the walk to Dunstanburgh. There was excellent food at the Lord Crewe, ice-cream from the Wyndenwell, and lots of time on the beach just running, swimming or rockpooling. A great holiday

Deirdre from Glasgow stayed at Coastguard Cottage for 7 nights in June 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd, on behalf of the owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Coastguard Cottage & your game of boules! Coastguard Cottage is an excellent base in Bamburgh to explore the area as you found. We look forward to welcoming you all back in the very near future.

We would highly recommend this cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been to this cottage for some years now and have never had any problems the cottage Is most comfortable very clean and defiantly deserves its 5stars. The staff from tha letting agency have always been pleasant and helpful.. The location of the cottage is beautiful with the beach minutes away, we would highly recommend this cottage.

June from Edinburgh stayed at Coastguard Cottage for 7 nights in May 2016


Amazing location, I love this place!

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We love this place, the location is amazing and the property is always very clean.
We have now stayed in the property on 3 different occasions, and have already booked to stay again next year.
We always book the 1st week in May, to celebrate my Birthday, looking back at the costs, they have nearly doubled since our first stay in 2013. (2013 - £892, 2014 - £1,213, 2016 - £1,395, 2017 - £1,574.
For this amount of money it would be good if Sky was available in the house.
Also, it would be nice to have a hook on the back of the bathroom door, this would allow me to hang up my dressing gown whilst in the shower.


Sarah from Leicester stayed at Coastguard Cottage for 7 nights in April 2016


Very enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Thu, 05 May 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Throughly enjoyable stay in a well equipped cottage with a lovely quiet location next to the dunes and within easy walk of the village. We will definitely return.

Guest from Lindfield stayed at Coastguard Cottage for 7 nights in April 2016


Would recommend the property without hesitation.

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very high standard accommodation, suited our party of a group of friends very well. Would also be ideally located for family as large enclosed outdoor area and so close to beach, playground - away from traffic. The coastal walks were beautiful directly from the cottage. Bamburgh village very attractive - attractions included the church, excellent pubs and long established family butcher whose pies, sausage rolls and lamb cutlets were the best.

Val from Liverpool stayed at Coastguard Cottage for 7 nights in March 2016


Lovely house

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Mar 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house in a good location to access the castle, beach and the village though the views are restricted due to the mounds surrounding the back of the property. Plenty of room for 8 people and dogs. Lots of games and equipment at the house so you don't have to take much stuff with you.

Tanya from Telford stayed at Coastguard Cottage for 7 nights in March 2016


A pleasant holiday in a beautiful part of the world

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Nov 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
- Property very clean and well presented.
- Warm, cosy, well equipped.
- Great location: near beach and short walk into village to local shops
- A very peaceful setting


John from Pickering stayed at Coastguard Cottage for 14 nights in October 2015


Fantastic location

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Oct 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have holidayed in Bamburgh for many years and this is one of the best houses we have stayed in, if not the best. The location it the main attraction but it is comfortable, clean and well supplied. This is an old house and the rooms are not huge, there is not enough room for 8 people to sit in the lounge.

Steve from Aberdeen stayed at Coastguard Cottage for 7 nights in October 2015


A good experience because the house met our needs.

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Coastgaurd Cottage provided good facilities and met most of our needs. We were glad that the chairs in the conservatory had higher seats than those in the sitting room as this catered for all ages and states of mobility .
However, the house was over heated on arrival and the Conservatory lacked easy ventilation.
Found the lack of recycling hard as we are now so used to,doing this elsewhere.
We did find the double bed in the ensuite room creaky and lumpy.
Impressed by the number of toys, games , and extra supply of equipment.


Jean from Lee-on-the-solent stayed at Coastguard Cottage for 7 nights in August 2015


Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It was everything we hoped it would be and the early morning strolls on the beach with the dogs were wonderful. We all hope to be back there next year


Guest from Stockport stayed at Coastguard Cottage for 7 nights in June 2015


Best location in Bamburgh

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed at a few lovely houses in Bamburgh, but you cannot beat this location. Lovely, comfortable and clean cottage with a great garden for the kids and dogs. Can't wait to go again!

Guest from Wilmslow stayed at Coastguard Cottage for 7 nights in April 2015


This is your new favourite coastal cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we began the process of hiring Coastguard Cottage for two families of four over Easter 2015, Stay Northumbria provided a first class customer experience. Straightforward, organised, and above all, friendly - the company made us feel welcome at the property before we even arrived.

The cottage is bright, well-appointed, and deceptively spacious - with more than enough room to accommodate our party (which included, collectively, four energetic children). Of particular note is the modern heating system, in what is essentially an older property. It is easy to control and incredibly efficient - keeping the house and its occupants very comfortable in all circumstances. The owners have taken everything into consideration - providing anything and everything you might need. From beach toys (including body boards), to Xbox, traditional games and barbecue - we found that our needs were more than taken care of.

The location is fantastic, with easy access to the beach, the village and the castle. This is a particularly magnificent part of the Northumberland coastline, and to be able to enjoy it in such a comfortable, convenient way makes Coastguard Cottage a winning holiday destination.


Guest from Bedale stayed at Coastguard Cottage for 7 nights in March 2015


Late winter refresher

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked Coastguard Cottage as a present for my husband to aid his recovery from a recent illness. The relaxed atmosphere and long beach walks were just what we, and our dog, needed. The cottage was large enough for our grandchildren to come and spend a few days with us - we enjoyed showing them the wonderful North East Coast.

Guest from Hexham stayed at Coastguard Cottage for 7 nights in March 2015