FB Twitter

Burn Bank Cottage

Burn Bank Cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
89% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.7
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.6


  • Great location short drive from Bamburgh, Holy Island & beaches
  • Children & well behaved dogs (2 max) welcome
  • Wi-fi - mobile service some limitations.
  • Parking
  • Change over Saturday
  • Low Season Short Breaks

Our stay

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent base for visiting all the nearby attractions. It is a very quiet and comfortable location and most enjoyable relaxing in the conservatory in the evenings where we were joined by the bull from the field next door. We have no hesitation in recommending Burn Bank cottage.

Les from Harlow stayed at Burn Bank Cottage for 4 nights in September 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 212 days ago
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Burn Bank and would recommend it as a peaceful holiday base. Thank you for your review

No problems

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was very welcoming and we settled in right away. Everything had been provided. It was in a good place to be able to go out every day to visit the sights. We did not have any problems and would recommend the cottage.

Sheila from Blaenau Ffestiniog stayed at Burn Bank Cottage for 7 nights in June 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied 300 days ago
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are delighted that you found our country cottage welcoming and well equipped and that the location was good for visiting the sights.

So disappointed

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2016
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
2.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I have already spoken to your team at Northumberland coastal cottages and they have been very helpful.
I planned and looked forward to this visit for months. We had no Wfi this was very important to us as there was no mobile phone coverage and I use this to obtain information about the area and times weather etc. Because of this we were unable to land on the farne islands because of not being able to obtain the weather for the day. Also Alnwick garden was closed due to a garden party which we found out on arriving. I could have obtained all this from Wfi which was advertised as available The information leaflet said that if the previous owner had used up all the Wfi for the month it would not be accessible???.
there were no bbc channels on the TV even though I reset Tv several times. This was a little annoying as it was the football week.
The only walk from the cottages was not accessible due to calves in field which is fine. but I thought on info there would be other areas.
I also felt I was living in someone else's house which was a little uncomfortable. This makes me sound such a moaner but we were so disappointed after having planned this for so long.


Diane from Gloucester stayed at Burn Bank Cottage for 7 nights in June 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd, on behalf of the owner replied 306 days ago
Many thanks for your review & as it suggests you have already spoken to us. We were not aware that there was a problem with the wi-fi or the TV channels. We have now spoken to the owner at length & she has already increased the mobile wi-fi limit & is getting someone out to look at the TV/ariel. Also due to the location of Burn Bank being on a working farm there are often animals in the nearby fields. We do sincerely hope that your experience at Burn Bank has not put you off holidaying again in Northumberland. Therefore we very much look forward to helping you find a suitable property in the future. At least you now know we are on hand should anything untoward occur.

Review

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The beds were too hard for us. The BBC channels on the TV were either unobtainable or fairly poor. The WiFi gave out on Thursday with a message that the monthly limit had been reached. We did not download films games or anything like that we only used it for emails and facebook.

Guest from Spalding stayed at Burn Bank Cottage for 7 nights in June 2016


Stay Northumbria on behalf of the owner replied 306 days ago
Many thanks for your review. Unfortuantely we were not aware there was a problem with the TV channels or the wi-fi limit. After speaking with the owner she is getting the TV/ariel looked at & has increased the wi-fi limit.

A good location to access coast and national park

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first time in Northumberland and we loved it. The cottage is on a working farm and with a few other cottages so it was quiet, but you are not alone! We enjoyed the cows in the rear field. The location is great for accessing the beach and coastal castles but also pretty close to the National Park, where we went for a few walks. The cottage itself was well equipped and comfortable. We shall be going back.

Tom from Old Buckenham stayed at Burn Bank Cottage for 7 nights in May 2016


Burn Bank Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
B B Cottage, feels like home to all five of us, every time we stay there. Leaving is the hardest part. A truly perfect cottage in an idyllic setting.

Heidi from Chiddingstone Hoath stayed at Burn Bank Cottage for 7 nights in May 2016


Quiet relaxing spot

Review submitted on Thu, 26 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was a quiet and relaxing place to stay with lots of lovely walks both on site and in the nearby area. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend the cottage to anyone who wants to get away from the rat race for a while.

Sarah from Kingsbridge stayed at Burn Bank Cottage for 7 nights in May 2016


A brilliant get away from it all holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 18 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cannot express enough the great holiday we had at Burn Bank Cottage. The location was spot on, we felt relaxed and revived, close to moorland, coast and shops if you want retail therapy. Food fantastic in all pubs and cafes we visited. Dog friendly area. Thank you for such a great break.

David from Northampton stayed at Burn Bank Cottage for 7 nights in May 2016


Our stay in peaceful surroundings in a perfect location for walking and enjoying the countryside.

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My daughter, Budley (my springer) and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cottage was just what we wanted - such a quiet location and sitting in the conservatory was just wonderful (very warm, lovely views, plenty of wildlife such as roe deer and kestrels, and totally relaxing.)
We loved the surrounding areas too - Bambourgh and the walk from Beadnell to Low Newton.A fabulous holiday.


Margaret from Hemel Hempstead stayed at Burn Bank Cottage for 7 nights in April 2016


Good and not quite so good.

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Nov 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On this, our first visit to this cottage, we found quite an amount of cupboard space taken up by what appeared to be the owners food and drink items, including a full wine rack! Limiting the cupboard space available for our two week stay.

There was also some confusion as to where a change of linen for the second week was, after e-mailing the booking agency and speaking to the owners sister, this was resolved satisfactorily.

Other than these two criticisms, the cottage was excellent, more than warm enough, with us on most days having to reduce the heating. The conservatory was lovely with the open outlook, with deer seen on several occasions, and many birds also; the location for us was perfect, so peaceful with very little noise at all from the farm. We only wished we could have remained longer in the peaceful environment.

We would not hesitate to recommend this property to others.


Howard from Burton On Trent stayed at Burn Bank Cottage for 14 nights in October 2015


burn bank cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Burn bank Cottage was a lovely cottage very comfortable and set in a beautiful location . View from the conservatory / sunroom was excellent and you could see the deer and other wildlife. Only 20 min /30 min from the beautiful coastline at Bamburgh. Would come back.. Can definitely recommend it Hope to return.

Bob from York stayed at Burn Bank Cottage for 7 nights in October 2015


Lovely time at Burn Bank. Again!

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Sep 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our 5th stay here and that speaks for itself! We spent the week walking on the beach at Bamburgh, fishing at Chatton and watching the calves in the field from the conservatory.

Olwin from Newton Aycliffe stayed at Burn Bank Cottage for 7 nights in September 2015


Lovely cottage, in a stunning location

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This typical Northumbrian cottage, is ideally located and offers the most sensational conservatory to the rear of the property. We will definitely want to stay at Burn Bank Cottage again.

Guest from Chiddingstone Hoath stayed at Burn Bank Cottage for 7 nights in August 2015


Cosy comfort

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a lovely week in Notthumberland staying at Burn Bank Cottage. The location is beautiful on a working farm, but no noise or commotion so wonderfully relaxing and peaceful on an evening. Belford is a quick drive down the road where you can pick up pretty much everything you would need, and access to the rest of Northumberland is good with the A1 being another couple of minutes past Belford. A great place to holiday.

Jake from Troon stayed at Burn Bank Cottage for 7 nights in July 2015


Burn bank cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jul 2015
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Didn't feel welcome as no acknowledgment from the farm. There should also be some guidance on where you can walk on the farm in stead of feeling in the way. The place looked a little more weary than last year, dirty carpet in conservatory, kettle had a screw missing on the handle, leg on one of the chairs came off, had to screw it back on, wouldn't have given it a 4* rating this year. People usually stay on farms because they enjoy seeing the animals etc., everything was too far away this year. I won't be going back there for a third time.

Guest from Nottingham stayed at Burn Bank Cottage for 7 nights in July 2015


Great time (again!) - booked again for September

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love the cottage, the area, Steve fishes at Chatton, and everything is perfect. Particularly like the wifi as the o2 phone signal there is terrible!

Guest from Newton Aycliffe stayed at Burn Bank Cottage for 14 nights in May 2015


Going home!!

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have been lucky enough to have stayed here a few times now including Christmas last year and it is just like home nothing to much trouble everything you need and more. Wonderful working farm and yes you can feed the cows get fields to work through our boxer dog loved plus a great log burning Fire which is great to come back to on a cold evening. And of course the wonderful coast of northumberland too ideal for me as my family are from the area so a massive bonus for us will deafo return to burn bank . 100/100 happy!!!!!!

Guest from London stayed at Burn Bank Cottage for 7 nights in October 2014


Don't be put off by Robson Green

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you have never been to Northumberland you must go.. If you have visited before, go again, and let for Burn Bank Cottage be your base for exploring the area from Berwick to Amble, North to south and as far West as your fancy takes you.



Guest from Liverpool stayed at Burn Bank Cottage for 7 nights in August 2014