FB Twitter

Bega's Bead

Bega's Bead

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 30 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


  • Idyllic stone cottage in the Old Quarter of Seahouses
  • Children welcome
  • 3 bedrooms, 2 esuite
  • Beautiful enclosed sunny courtyard, with table & chairs
  • Easy walk to all amenities and beaches
  • Log burner
  • Wi-fi
  • 2/3 well behaved dogs are welcome (depending on size)
  • Parking for 2 cars
  • Flexible changeover days
  • Low Season Short Breaks available

Great location and accomodation for relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 11 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we've stayed at this property and all I can say is that its top notch. I'd definitely recommend the property to others, as the owners have spent a great deal of money and lots of care and attention to ensure all their guests enjoy their stay and that's just what we did enjoy our family holiday.
I'd definitely chose the accommodation again if we return to Seahouses, and considering we've been visiting this beautiful seaside resort for more than twenty years this is an excellent recommendation.
If you do book the property, I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.


Ian from Durham stayed at Bega's Bead for 7 nights in April 2017


Sty Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 45 days ago
Many thanks for your lovely review of your recent stay at Bega's Bead. We are pleased that you enjoyed it so much that you have already stayed twice and may even stay again - we can't get a better recommendation that that!

Excellent cottage provided with everything you could need and a welcome pack for the dogs

Review submitted on Tue, 09 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found Bega's Bead to be far more comfortable and welcoming than expected and it had everything we needed and more, being clean and warm. The location was lovely despite the very cold winds that we experienced, although we still had great walks on the many beautiful beaches nearby. It was great to return to a lovely bright cottage.

Christine from Leamington Spa stayed at Bega's Bead for 4 nights in April 2017


Stay Northumbria on behalf of the owners replied 49 days ago
Begas Bead is very welcoming especially on a cold, blustery day. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the walks on our wonderful beaches.

A fabulous place to explore and relax

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bega's Bead offered quality home comforts, was really well equipped and more than met our expectations.

Nicky from Stockport stayed at Bega's Bead for 7 nights in March 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 87 days ago
Thank you for your 5/5 review of your recent stay at Bega's Bead - we are so pleased that the cottage surpassed your expectations.

Lovely family holiday in Seahouses

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from our stay at Bega's Bead, and I have to say it's a lovely cottage in a great location. The cottage is very welcoming and equipped with everything you need for your holiday, we were very pleased with the cottage and would recommend to friends and family.
Seahouses is a lovely town with it's working harbour and plenty of friendly pubs, also a good location to explore the local area which has lots of interesting place close by.


Michael from Warrington stayed at Bega's Bead for 7 nights in March 2017


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 99 days ago
Many thanks for the review and recommendation. So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Begas Bead and discovering Northumberland.

Beautiful house in an excellent location

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Dec 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We often visit Northumbria and stay with family, but with growing children, we wanted some more space to ourselves,
Bega's Bead had more than enough space for us to spread out with the boys having their own bedrooms/bathrooms. It is beautifully furnished with everything we needed (and more). Very comfortable beds and lovely bathrooms - one for each bedroom. Two lovely living rooms with comfy sofas. Lovely big kitchen. Enjoyed the underfloor heating in December!
Even our dog was well catered for with a bowl and treats provided. Lovely mince pie treats on arrival for us too!
There was a small Christmas tree to make it feel festive (would have been nice to have a bigger tree and some fairy lights).
The location is great for the harbour, beach and local shops and it was lovely seeing the stars through the skylight windows.
Seahouses is a great location for exploring the Northumbrian coast including Bamburgh, Holy Island, Alnwick Gardens etc and further in-land.
We will definitely consider staying at Bega's Bead again and would highly recommend to others.
Perfect!


Susan from Prescot stayed at Bega's Bead for 3 nights in December 2016


Stay Northumbria on behalf of the owner replied 183 days ago
Thank you for the review and recommendation following your stay at Begas Bead. It is a lovely comfortable, spacious and welcoming property. We look forward to your return visit.

Winter break.

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Nov 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The weather was not kind to us during our stay in November but the cottage with its underfloor heating provided a very warm and cosy welcome after trips out. The facilities offered are excellent with space for everyone, (6 adults and 2 babies) a well equipped kitchen, bathrooms and lounge with games and books. The only negative is that there is parking for only 2 cars although it is only a few minutes walk to find street parking.

Ann from Nocton stayed at Bega's Bead for 6 nights in November 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 219 days ago
Thank you for your review of your recent holiday at Bega's Bead. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, despite poor weather! Yes, there is only space for 2 cars at the cottage, as stated on the website.

Best holiday cottage ever

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were overwhelmed by how well equipped this cottage was. The owners have thought of everything in making it a real home from home. The house was warm and was well positioned for all the local services. Dog friendly, even down to the doggy welcome packs which Cariad and Tegan enjoyed. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.



Siân from Northampton stayed at Bega's Bead for 7 nights in October 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 225 days ago
Thank you for the terrific review. The cottage is exactly as you say and it is the owners' home from home.

100/100

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage has everything you could possibly need, the location is perfect, and the service we received from stay Northumbria was excellent.

Michael from Ingbirchworth stayed at Bega's Bead for 7 nights in October 2016


A real home from home property

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is an amazing property. The weather was very wet for most of the week but as Bega's Bead was so comfortable this did not detract from our enjoyment. The home is so very well equipped there was nothing missing and the log fire was a big bonus to relax by and listen to the rain! Seahouses is a great base with plenty of shops for most needs. We would recommend St Aidan's Bistro in Seahouses (it has limited opening so check website), the food is delicious and very fresh.

Mike from Banningham stayed at Bega's Bead for 7 nights in October 2016


Stunning holiday home

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This house was stunning on entering the pictures didn't do it justice.
The kitchen was fully equipped with anything you would need with both a single fridge and American type fridge freezer .
The bedrooms were clean and tastefully decorated. Two double ensuite ( one could be changed to a twin) and a twin with a family bathroom with bath.
The two rooms downstairs had traditional furniture with a good sized tv in the large room.
There was table and chairs outside as well as a bbq for good weather.


Elizabeth from Barnsley stayed at Bega's Bead for 7 nights in September 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 266 days ago
Pleased you enjoyed your stay at Begas Bead, it is quite a house!

Review of Begas Bead Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was in a brilliant position for walking ~ eating out ~ shopping ~ boat trips and touring .My daughter visited Edinburgh.
The house was comfortable, well stocked with everything you needed from dog treats and towels to kitchen with every utensil needed and a starter of tea/coffee/sugar.Car parking and a secure court yard for the "doggie" children was also a bonus.It was renovated to a very high standard with a lot of thought going into what was done.Will visit again ~ wish it was closer !!


Carol from Craven Arms stayed at Bega's Bead for 7 nights in September 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 289 days ago
Many thanks for your 5* review of your recent stay at Bega's Bead. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the house and in Seahouses. We look forward to welcoming you back if you ever come up this way again!

Great place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place, excellent location and enough parking space for our 2 cars. Very comfy and certainly the best equipped cottage we have stayed in. We felt at home immediately and would thoroughly recommend to anyone.

Nige from Harrogate stayed at Bega's Bead for 7 nights in August 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owners replied 293 days ago
Thank you for the review and recommendation. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Lovely house in very good location

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great holiday in a fabulous house which was so well equipped with everything a family would need. We had a problem with the door lock but this was sorted out quickly for us by Jackie. We would recommend both the house and the company to anyone.

John from Scunthorpe stayed at Bega's Bead for 7 nights in August 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied 315 days ago
So pleased that you had a great holiday at Begas Bead and thank you for recommending both the property and Stay Northumbria.

Staying at Bega Bead

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very comfortable stay in this property. It was equipedto the highest standard and seemed newly refurbished and decorated. We had two young children in our group and they had a lovely time enjoying the spacious lounges and the games that were available. It is located close to all the facilities in Seahouses, but was in a quiet street that is part of the older area of the town.

Elizabeth from Stanford In The Vale stayed at Bega's Bead for 7 nights in July 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied 322 days ago
The current owners of Begas Bead have recently refurbished the property to a very high standard providing comfort and space. The central location is ideal for all village amenities. Thank you for the review.

Most beautiful holiday cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in. Beautifully decorated and furnished, very spacious, excellent location just a short stroll from the harbour. Incredibly well equipped so that even if it had rained all week there was plenty to keep us occupied - games, jigsaws, dvds, huge selection of books, enormous kitchen with every utensil you could possibly want. Loved waking every morning looking up at the sky through the skylights in the bedroom, and enjoyed eating in the little courtyard garden, although we didn't get to use the barbeque. There were 4 of us staying, but there was plenty of room for 6 or 8, with ample bathrooms and 2 lounges.
Seahouses is a lovely village with plenty of shops and places to eat. The harbour has trips to the Farne Islands to see all the seabird colonies and seals, which was the highlight of our trip, but there is so much else to see in the area with beautiful beaches, numerous castles and stunning countryside. A week was definitely not enough and we look forward to going back.


Robert from Burgess Hill stayed at Bega's Bead for 7 nights in June 2016


Exceeded expectations

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our first time taking the dog on holiday which was important to us. The cottage was amazing with all facilities you would need for a group of people. The spacious bedrooms, bathrooms and lounges were a bonus. The kitchen was extremely well equipped and as I had my elderly mother with us so was easier to eat in most nights as she was tired from all the sightseeing throughout the day. The cottage is located within walking distance of all amenities and the harbour where you can go on the trips to the islands. No hesitation in booking again. Ideal for a group of people or a large family.

Tez from Rugby stayed at Bega's Bead for 7 nights in July 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied 350 days ago
We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay at Begas Bead and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Many thanks.

Excellent accommodation, home from home,perfect location, well equipped, ideal for dogs, great value

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was very comfortable, well equipped and in a perfect location for us, just minutes from the sea front and town centre. Ideal for the dogs with the outside space. We have had a fabulous holiday and would definitely recommend Bega's Bead.

Cathrine from Leeds stayed at Bega's Bead for 7 nights in June 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd on behalf of the owner replied 364 days ago
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are delighted you had a fabulous holiday and look forward to welcoming you back to Begas Bead in the future.

A lovely house, close to the amenities of Seahouses

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was lovely and comfortable, my husband was extremely impressed with the large screen TV in the lounge! I only have 2 slight criticisms - the first being that there were no spare binliners and the other is that there was no dishcloth in the kitchen. Other than that the cottage was very well equipped.

Linda from Brundall, Norwich stayed at Bega's Bead for 7 nights in June 2016


Stay Northumbria Ltd replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your review. We apologise for the oversight of no spare bin liners or dishcloth being left out in the kitchen. However, if you had contacted whilst you were staying, we could have easily rectified the situation by bringing some down to you. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to 1 of our properties in the future.

Fantastic central location with excellent facilities, spacious and comfortable, we loved the snug!

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had a lovely stay here, the master room is great with the wet room, its very quiet too. We enjoyed the bbq and sitting with a glass off wine in the courtyard of an evening.

Making our own dinner was easy, I've never seen a kitchen with so much equipment! There are plenty of nice places to eat too, Bamburgh Castle has fantastic views in the beer garden.

Its a great location, close to the town, pubs etc and only a short walk to the beach.

A fantastic week, thankyou, we would definately return!!


Emma from Burton On Trent stayed at Bega's Bead for 7 nights in June 2016


Great for all, including two dogs

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage is comfortable and in a great location, plenty of space for six and two dogs. Very good shops for local produce, nice Indian for meal out, Italian at the back of the High Street also good. Beaches are wonderful, fantastic walks and rock pools to explore. Can't fault the area and people very friendly.
Staff at Staynorthumbria are excellent, this is the 5th holiday I have booked through them and I have booked Begas Bead again for next year...... what more can I say!!


Katharine from Sheffield stayed at Bega's Bead for 7 nights in May 2016


Beautiful Bega's Bead

Review submitted on Tue, 03 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
WOW! This place deserves it's excellent ratings that's for sure! As a self-proclaimed 'holiday snob', I am not easily pleased but this little gem ticked all of the boxes and more. The attention to detail was fantastic and extra touches meant that you were left wanting for nothing. We knew upon booking that we were close to the beach for our four legged family members but didn't realise just how close, it was an excellent location for both beach and cliff walks. The facilities in the cottage all worked perfectly and made for a very comfy and relaxing stay which we thoroughly enjoyed and would have no hesitation in returning here in future. All in all it's a big thank you to Bega's Bead for a lovely short break.

Rachel from York stayed at Bega's Bead for 4 nights in April 2016


Amazing house

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted with Bega's Bead. The photos online are beautiful but the house itself is even better! The decor is gorgeous and the furniture very comfortable.
It is very spacious (we were 4 adults and 2 children) and is equipped with everything, and more, that you would need.
Absolutely recommend a stay here, we are already planning a return visit.


Tamara from Strathblane stayed at Bega's Bead for 3 nights in April 2016


Family of four with 2 teenagers

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about the cottage was better than expected. Only felt that the cottage was too warm & the water seemed to be almost boiling from the taps/showers. However this in no way detracted from our stay. Wonderful week. Thank you.

Anne from Chester stayed at Bega's Bead for 7 nights in April 2016


Great property in an excellent location

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a very enjoyable week at Bega's Bead. The house is very well-appointed and was superbly presented when we arrived. It has virtually everything you could want from holiday accommodation and is barely a two-minute walk from the seafront at Seahouses. Very highly recommended.

Edward from Loughborough stayed at Bega's Bead for 7 nights in October 2015


An enjoyable break

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our family enjoyed a week's stay at Seahouses. The house was lovely with everything you could need catered for. Not a lot to do in Seahouses but the beach was fantastic, especially for our dog Charlie.

Philip from Port Seton stayed at Bega's Bead for 7 nights in October 2015


lovely light filled property, comfortable and spacious

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
4 of us (no pets) stayed in the property. We enjoyed and used both sitting rooms (rugby world cup on tv). The weather was fantastic all week (last week of Sept). It is only a short walk to the harbour - so often popped down to see the sunset. Stars and the eclipse of the moon were visible from the balcony (through the atrium glass). Walks along the beach in both directions were a delight. We also visited Holy Island and Cragside.

Guest from Stockport stayed at Bega's Bead for 7 nights in September 2015


A great week with friends

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Bega's Bead so that we could explore Some of Northumberkand and it came up trumps. It was comfy, cosy and well laid out.
We'd definitely consider basing ourselves there in the future.


John from Matlock stayed at Bega's Bead for 7 nights in September 2015


Marvellous!

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our recent stay at Bega’s Bead in Seahouses. The place was beautifully renovated, tastefully furnished and very well maintained. We especially appreciated the comfortable beds and pillows! The house is very spacious and easily accommodated four adults and one large dog!

It was also a real find having somewhere so close to Seahouses’ main street, with off-street parking and a lovely private patio garden - where we had breakfast. The old quarter is very picturesque and all the local amenities were within walking distance, including a Co-op for food shopping and a couple of nice pubs overlooking the harbour. The local beaches are superb - our dog loved those and we really appreciated how dog-friendly everwhere is.

Seahouses is a great location for day trips out all over Northumbria and Bega's Bead was a wonderful place to come home to and chill out every evening. the five of us had a marvellous time.


Guest from Sunderland stayed at Bega's Bead for 7 nights in July 2015


Bega's Bead

Review submitted on Sun, 17 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Bega's Bead as a base whilst assisting our son to move house. It proved to be a wonderful haven of comfort and luxury after a hard days painting! It was warm, very well equipped with plenty of hot water, comfortable beds, soft towels. The kitchen had ample equipment for cooking and serving meals and the proximity of the shops was a great help. In fact I think the Coop may be missing us this week!
Looking forward to returning to explore the area and relaxing in style in the cottage.


Guest from Retford stayed at Bega's Bead for 8 nights in May 2015


An outstanding holiday rental

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful, highly maintained, beautifully furnished holiday rental 5 mins to the harbour and main street.
We did not want for anything at all! The kitchen was very well equipped, super storage space and fridge space. Beautiful bedding and towels included in price and comfortable bed.

Highly recommended property.


Guest from Lichfield stayed at Bega's Bead for 7 nights in April 2015


Linda on behalf of Stay Northumbria Ltd replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a wonderful review of Bega's Bead - we look forward to welcoming you back sometime!