FB Twitter

Charnwood Cottage

Charnwood Cottage

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
84% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.1
Condition
4.3
Location
4.2
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.5


Charnwood cottage is a delightful character cottage that is pet friendly and offers all the home comforts set in the heart of the village of Brading.

Visit England Grading: 4 Star

A small cottages in a convenient location for exploring the the Island

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location. Brading village has good pubs. Clean cottage. Nice homely touches. Perfect for couples.



Very happy with our second (two week) holiday at this cottage.

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A well presented cottage, plenty big enough for two, in a part of the island we like. Woods and downs in walk-out-of-the-cottage range behind, super beach at Yaverland, complete with body-surfable waves, café and car park, maybe 10 minutes away in the car. Island Line railway for when one is feeling more adventurous - with a half hour service up and down the east coast of the island, running all day.

Car parking a five minute walk away, fine. Car park never full.

Stairs might be a bit awkward if you have mobility problems. Like bad hips or knees.

Newly opened serious gastro place (Heima) a five minute walk away. We had a very good meal there. Several other more modest places. Serious pies from the Bugle. Serious steak and kidney puddings from the chip shop.

We have stayed at Brading every year now for six or seven years. Great place for a holiday!




holiday visit to IoW

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a beautiful cottage, very clean and there were nice welcoming touches with doggy biscuits, wine, sweets and mike.

The IoW is small so the location is fine.

Personally I would like the parking to be closer - rhe car park took me 7 minutes to get to. Also I did not realise it but my wife and myself have to use the bathroom every night, the fact that we had to go down the steep stairs to downstairs was less than ideal.




Home from Home Holidays replied 98 days ago
Thank you very much for posting this review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Charnwood Cottage in Brading and we welcome you back for 2018. Your feedback has been referred to the owner and we are sorry to hear the arrangement was not 100% ideal. We do have a regular High Street office open during normal hours and our customer advice team are more than happy to help resolve and specific requirements prior to booking. 01983532385

Nice little cottage in a good location

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Smallish 2 bedroom cottage in a good location for exploring the Isle of Wight. Situated in a quiet back road, it's only a short walk to local pubs, cafe, shop, bus stops and train. Good value for money.




Home from Home Holidays replied 320 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to post this review, your feedback is imporant to us.

Good cottage in a good location

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Jul 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Smartly presented, comfortable and well-equipped cottage in an excellent location. Lots of stuff to do within easy reach, not least the excellent beach at Yaverland. And if you don't want to take the car, you can just walk up into the woods & downs behind. In our two weeks, we did not even make it as far west as Newport (which does have a large cinema if rain were to persist). But we did make it to the large Tesco a little bit to the north.

We tend to spend a fair bit of time in our holiday cottages and while this one was fine for the two of us, it might be a bit cosy for four adults. And the stairs could be challenging for someone with problems in that department.

PS: the car parking arrangements were absolutely fine. No problem at all.




Home from Home Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
We are please you enjoyed your stay at Charnwood Cottage and thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review.

Charnwood cottage-Brading

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our stay, its in a lovely location. The cottage is very well equipped and cosy. The welcome pack was a lovely suprise too :-) it had tea, coffee, milk, biscuits



We had a lovely stay in a lovely location.

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely little cottage, quite compact but was fine for three of us. Brilliant location. Amazing chip shop in high street. Brading is full of lovely friendly people.
I would love it if if the bedrooms could have blackout blinds installed.




Home from Home Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for you kind feedback it is much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday and welcome you back anytime.

Excellent location

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay here, the cottage was very cosy, sadly it was too warm to light the fire or we would have loved to! The welcome goodies are a lovely treat when you arrive, there was also milk in the fridge. The cottage had everything you would need, the kitchen is very well equipped. Wifi too. The location is excellent, very near to the local bus stops also. There are lovely walks in the vicinity of the cottage should you fancy an evening stroll. The chip shop on Brading High Street was lovely.



Our holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time staying at this holiday cottage. So much care had been taken to make sure everything we needed was there. The location was very peaceful but with shops nearby and it was easy to get around the island from there. The whole family really liked it from my teenage son who appreciated the wifi to my wife who liked the peaceful village.



Fantastic Owners, Good Location, Comfortable Holiday.

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great holiday at this charming cottage on beautiful Isle of Wight. The welcome was great - wine, chocolates, tea and coffee, milk - even a postcard for us to use (complete with stamp).

The cottage was cosy for the four of us (two adults and two teenage children) but provided everything we needed and could have wanted. The location is good for exploring and we enjoyed a number of days out travelling around the Island (do check out the Garlic Farm, the Sea Safari from Ventnor and Quarr Abbey, plus the lovely SteepHill Cove near Ventnor - well worth the walk to the hidden beach cove).

On the one day we had poor weather we enjoyed the FreeSat TV. Although our excursion for fish proved unsuccessful,it was good to have the patio on which to sit and a BBQ available (should we have caught any fish). The neighbours were charming, pointing out how the recycling worked and even dropped some fresh salad items picked from their garden for us to enjoy.

We had a slight problem with a gas leak (not to do with the property, but nearby) and the owners could not have been more helpful or concerned, and they quickly sorted out a for all the gas to be safety tested again - even though the leak was outside and on a neighbours property. It was good to know how kind, caring and eager they were to resolve the problem and ensure it had minimal impact on our stay.




Charnwood Zcottage

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jul 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage perfect for us visiting family nearby. Clean and plenty of linen and towels. Welcome pack a nice touch.
Would recommend for a short stay.......




Nice clean cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jun 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had lovely stay at charnwood cottage, excellent condition and plenty of pillows and linens. Cot bed was ready to use which was nice. Too bad no off street parking. Would be nice to have shower curtain too



No tv for 4 days...

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jun 2015
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
2.0
We enjoyed the Isle of Wight and appreciate the little extras that awaited us. However our stay was spoilt by a few things. We arrived at 8pm on the Friday to discover that the tv didn't work as well as that we couldn't put up the safety gate as some parts were missing. There was no emergency contact number only for a vet so we had to wait till after the bank holiday weekend to have it fixed. Parking was also a problem. In the information folder we were promise SKY but it was only freeview channels. ...overall a very disappointing experience. Customer service not very helpful as they were annoyed when I contacted them about the tv when I had no other contact number. And finally I had just been informed that I had to pay for the engineer call out!!!



Home from Home Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
The welcome folder in the property has all emergency contact details and also our out of office answer machine also gives you an emergency number to call. It's such a shame that you did not contact our out of hours number so that we could have resolved the issue of the television for you, as soon as we received your message on Tuesday after the bank holiday the television was sorted the same morning. We are also sorry that you thought the property has sky but it is currently being advertised on our website and in our 2015 brochure with freesat and not sky. Parking is nearby in a car park (2 minutes walk) and the car park voucher is left in the property for guests to use so you don't have to pay to park. With regards to the stair gate this is designed to be used at the top of the stairs and will not fit at the bottom which is why there is a door at the bottom of the stairs to use. We are extremely sorry that you felt dissatisfied with our service but we were acting on behalf of the owner of the property who felt she had good reason to charge for the call out and the broken remote control.

Cosy, comfortable, dog-friendly cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a quiet location with great walks right on your doorstep. Lots of little extras are supplied which made us feel very welcome (wine, milk, tea and coffee) and dogs are catered for, too, with dog treats and a muddy paws towel.

The village is nice with a friendly local pub and a great chippy.

Would highly recommend this cottage.




A great stay

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really liked this place and especially appreciated the efforts made to make it welcoming and homely. The house was cleaner and nicer than our own home and the beds were really comfortable. The kitchen was very well equipped and everything was easy to find. The only very slight negative was the TV was difficult to get to work sometimes which was an issue for our teenage son!!



Family holiday in IOW, 26th July - 2nd August

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Aug 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a family we really enjoyed our holiday in Charnwood Cottage. The cottage was so well equipped and very clean. The weather we had during the week was gorgeous, only breaking on the Saturday we returned home to South Wales. During our stay we visited Blackgang Chine, which proved to be very popular with our 5 year old Grandson. We spent a day in Ryde, which was delightful (apart from a decidedly unpleasant smell near the station end of the town). We also spent a lot of time in Sandown with the lovely beach there. On our visits to Sandown we had midday meals in the 'Legends' restaurant on the seafront (lovely crab and prawn salads) and afternoon cream tea in the Barnabys cafe. We spent a pleasant evening in Shanklin, and our final day in Newport. If I had one small gripe with the cottage, it would be that the toilet was downstairs and that there was only a shower over the bath. Obviously we understand the situation with limited room. This is our third holiday in the IOW over the years and we always enjoy it. Christine, Steve, Beci and Nathan (5).



charnwood cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 13 May 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we had a very good week at this cottage and would recommend the property to all,but perhaps not to anyone with small
children(quite steep stairs).property very quaint and comfortable,in a quiet peaceful area.location very handy for local bus
services only 4 or 5 mins walk to stops.




A delightful cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Tue, 06 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved Charnwood cottage. It was the perfect size for our little family (3 of us) and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Whilst there is not a lot to see in Brading the location is just perfect to explore the island from. We love Sandown & Shanklin which are just a short drive from brading. The cottage is excellently equipped and very welcoming, we will definitely be staying again.



pet friendly, human unfriendly.

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2013
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
2.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
previous occupants let their very smelly dog use the sofa as its bed. very unpleasant!!!
other rooms were ok.
wouldn't ever stay there again.
parking was also very difficult.




Home from Home Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
We are extremely sorry to hear of this. If you had let us know during your stay we could have arranged for a cleaner to attend.